<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>&#26368;&#36817;&#22238;&#22797; &#20110; Aunt Agony &#37324; | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://zh.sgforums.com/forums/12/posts</link>
    <language>zh-CN</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://zh.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; jojobeach &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by rainee:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yea sadly got times when I think they just treat me as a source
of money as well. They kept saying they are doing it for my
well-being but sometimes I really doubt so.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;How do you think I can take control? I can't just quit my job
just like that, I am bonded to it for the next few years...so they
know I can't quit.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ofcors you can take control.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;There is always an exit clause to any contractual agreement.
Just because you are bonded does not mean you sold your soul to the
company.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Let them know if you quit.. you will have to pay a hefty
penalty. Not only will you not have a job.. you will also be in
debt. Ask them.. is that what they want ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You are right to doubt their true intent about your
"Well-being".&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Ask yourself this.. if you are a mother.. and your child have to
send so much money to you.. what will she live on ? If you truly
love her.. wouldn't you want her to keep more money so she can
spend more on herself and live a better life ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes.. this concept .. filial piety .. gets abused.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:38:35 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477685</guid>
      <author>jojobeach</author>
      <link>http://zh.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/333697</link>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; rainee &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by jojobeach:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm not sure how the marriage process works in Malaysia. Do they
understand the concept of ROM in Singapore ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They should understand it ba...in Malaysia it is the same
process also ma. Just that they dun consider us as married until I
go thru the traditional customary marriage.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:29:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477659</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; rainee &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;p&gt;If your parent threaten to make a scene at your work place..
simple remind them that you will quit your job if they ever do
that.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Your parents seems to be very manipulative..and they only treat
you like a ATM and a retirement account.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They don't seem to have much consideration for your well
being.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You may want to consider how their behavior will ultimately
affect your marriage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If they are unreasonable.. they may cause your marriage to
breakup.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So for your own sake.. you need to take control.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yea sadly got times when I think they just treat me as a source
of money as well. They kept saying they are doing it for my
well-being but sometimes I really doubt so.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;How do you think I can take control? I can't just quit my job
just like that, I am bonded to it for the next few years...so they
know I can't quit.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:28:15 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477657</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; jojobeach &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;It is very common for parents to use threats to control their
children. Not the most ethical thing to do.. but it can be the most
effective way.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;As long as you made known to them it works on you.. they have no
reason not to use it again and again.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Using threats to disrupt your life is a form of emotional
abuse.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If they ever do that to you again.. threaten them back.. say if
they keep pushing you will kill yourself lor....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Once they realised what they have to lose.. they will stop.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:26:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477653</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;Yea but sometimes I find it hard to push back because they will
still attempt to get their own way by threatening me etc.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thing is I am already married by the law, now just waiting to
hold the banquet nia. I dunno why they cant wait.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I'm not sure how the marriage process works in Malaysia. Do they
understand the concept of ROM in Singapore ?&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:14:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477625</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If your parent threaten to make a scene at your work place..
simple remind them that you will quit your job if they ever do
that.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Your parents seems to be very manipulative..and they only treat
you like a ATM and a retirement account.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;They don't seem to have much consideration for your well
being.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;You may want to consider how their behavior will ultimately
affect your marriage.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If they are unreasonable.. they may cause your marriage to
breakup.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So for your own sake.. you need to take control.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:13:24 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477621</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;Rainee,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tell your parents you have no desire to get married anymore. See
their reaction lor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes the child must know when to draw a line with the
parents.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When your parents get pushy.. you must know to push back.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tell them .. it is your wedding.. and you will have it
&lt;strong&gt;your&lt;/strong&gt; way.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yea but sometimes I find it hard to push back because they will
still attempt to get their own way by threatening me etc.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thing is I am already married by the law, now just waiting to
hold the banquet nia. I dunno why they cant wait.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:11:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477612</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; tinuviel07 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;i do understand where you are coming from.. it's just sad that
your parents cannot be more understanding or rational.. well decide
on your and your husband's pov what to do and tell your parents
that's the way it's going to happen.. then endure their nonsense
because that comes with it.. unless you are prepared to go their
way and be spared of their nonsense..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:08:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477598</guid>
      <author>tinuviel07</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Rainee,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tell your parents you have no desire to get married anymore. See
their reaction lor.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes the child must know when to draw a line with the
parents.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;When your parents get pushy.. you must know to push back.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tell them .. it is your wedding.. and you will have it
&lt;strong&gt;your&lt;/strong&gt; way.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:06:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477589</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by tinuviel07:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;put it this way lah.. i moved up for 2 years because i shared
too much and they wouldn't stop bugging me.. once i'm out, they
treat me like don't know how nice..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;put it another way. my bro in law is over-filial to his parents
that my sister and him just divorced.. so don't let yourself endure
too much...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it's not worth it even if they are your parents&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes, I know shouldn't be over filial...sometimes I dunno whether
I am being over filial or not. I actually dun feel much attachment
towards them because when i was younger, I was actually abused and
beaten up quite badly by them. Even until now they have never
regretted their action and justified it by saying that every
parents do that to their kids anyway.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am not doing it because I really feel affectionate or attached
towards them. I am just doing it out of obligation and trying to
keep things peaceful. I am not someone who likes to stir up shit if
it can be avoided.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:05:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477584</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;you must put your foot down on things that cannot negotiate that
much.. i understand being filial but you are your own person too..
you must make them understand that you have your own opinions and
ideas and that doesn't mean that you are unfilial.. it's not
mutually exclusive..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes, I have tried doing that. Thing is everything I managed to
calm them down they will come up with some other issues to bug me
with. Like tonight they worry that I won't take care of them when
they get older. Sigh.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I would have just put my foot down and refused to answer their
call if not because they will come and create a scene in my
workplace. As I said earlier, it has happened before and it was not
a pretty situation.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:03:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477574</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; tinuviel07 &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;put it this way lah.. i moved up for 2 years because i shared
too much and they wouldn't stop bugging me.. once i'm out, they
treat me like don't know how nice..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;put it another way. my bro in law is over-filial to his parents
that my sister and him just divorced.. so don't let yourself endure
too much...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it's not worth it even if they are your parents&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:02:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477569</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;as chip says, sometimes must have moderation...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i used to share with my parents everything because they are my
family.. but i realise it's too tiring because they will use it
against me when they need to.. so i stop sharing too much.. share
things to keep them occupied can liao...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anyway forgot to congrats you!!&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So you think it is too much that I shared with them I am going
to get a house next year?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Last time I just kept everything from them, then they also not
happy and kept bugging me cos they said they dunno what is
happening to me and they feel worried. So now I try to keep them
updated they also get angry.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Really at a loss of what to do.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Wed, 15 Oct 2008 00:00:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477564</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;you must put your foot down on things that cannot negotiate that
much.. i understand being filial but you are your own person too..
you must make them understand that you have your own opinions and
ideas and that doesn't mean that you are unfilial.. it's not
mutually exclusive..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:59:54 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477558</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; soleachip &#22238;&#22797;</title>
&lt;p&gt;So you suggest that I just abandon them to fend for
themselves?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i don't know. somewhere down the line, someone's got to do the
dirty job.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;it's your call dear.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:59:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477556</guid>
      <author>soleachip</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by browniebaobao:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;suggested u to tell tell them that u will cut their allowances
is just to scare them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;actually if u dun intend to invite too many ple, maybe 20 tables
at the most, it should be affordable ba.. i have colleagues who
held banquet in malaysia for RM$3000 for 10 tables.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have tried threatening them with that last time, but they just
threatened me back that they will come and make trouble in my
office. And they really did at one point, that's why I am scared
they will repeat it again.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have to hold the dinner in Singapore cos most of our friends
here, then Rin's relatives are also here...but think will need to
hold a smaller gathering for my relatives in KL...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:59:20 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477555</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by soleachip:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;at some point in time you get to choose between bailing out and
making your own lot in life, or walking behind the chinese culture
of &#23389;.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i believe your time has come.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;So you suggest that I just abandon them to fend for
themselves?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:57:14 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477544</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;as chip says, sometimes must have moderation...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i used to share with my parents everything because they are my
family.. but i realise it's too tiring because they will use it
against me when they need to.. so i stop sharing too much.. share
things to keep them occupied can liao...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;anyway forgot to congrats you!!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:57:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477543</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; browniebaobao &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;suggested u to tell tell them that u will cut their allowances
is just to scare them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;actually if u dun intend to invite too many ple, maybe 20 tables
at the most, it should be affordable ba.. i have colleagues who
held banquet in malaysia for RM$3000 for 10 tables.&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:55:39 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477532</guid>
      <author>browniebaobao</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>&#27492;&#35752;&#35770;&#20027;&#39064;&#21018;&#30001; Problems with Parents &#20110; soleachip &#22238;&#22797;</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;at some point in time you get to choose between bailing out and
making your own lot in life, or walking behind the chinese culture
of &#23389;.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i believe your time has come.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:55:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477531</guid>
      <author>soleachip</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;p&gt;rainee ah... sometimes plans cannot be shared with parents de,
very hard to "siam" after that..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I am really very confused now.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes I don't want to tell them, but they will keep asking
me until I have no choice but to tell them.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;But I never tell them anything much, just told them that I will
be getting a house some time next year. I had thought they would be
happy to hear that, but it seems like now they come up with other
things to bug me about ie about the banquet.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It is like endless pestering. It is getting to be very
irritating and harder for me to tolerate as the time goes by.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:55:21 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477529</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by browniebaobao:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Dear Rainee&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Blessings to you and Rin~&amp;nbsp;^^&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Maybe you can make your parents stop pressing you to hold a
banquet or buy a new house by asking them to contribute a sum of
money to the banquet/house expenses which I believe they wun be
willing to do that.&amp;nbsp; Since they want face, tell them you will
deduct 50% of your allowances to them every month, sell off the car
to save up a sum of money to hold banquet or buy big house
lor.&amp;nbsp; Tell them that you need to support them, support
yourself, the car, give allowance to your in-laws and family
planning.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With regards to your concern on migration, i think it's too
early to think about that..you cannot predict what will happen
tmr.&amp;nbsp; If you do not have the ability to hold a banquet
in&amp;nbsp;1 or 2 yrs, why think of migrating in 6 or 7 yrs?&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;All the best.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Thanks for the well wishes :)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I can't cut their allowances, they will give me no peace if I do
that. I am also trying to let them enjoy their life after
retirement but seems like maybe they are too free le, then keep
thinking more and more and come up with weird thoughts and start
bothering me with all the petty, trivial stuff.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:51:58 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477515</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;rainee ah... sometimes plans cannot be shared with parents de,
very hard to "siam" after that..&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:51:09 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477511</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON
AUBREY:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ask him to pay for the banquet&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I think I have already mentioned in my first post that neither
of us are a millionaire.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 14 Oct 2008 23:50:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">zh.sgforums.com:12:333697:8477505</guid>
      <author>rainee</author>
    </item>
    <item>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by zaxis:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;only daugther some more&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hold simple dinner can?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;only invite close relative only,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maximum 10 tables, both your relatives &amp;amp; husband
relatives&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so that your father can gain his faces,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;invite only adult no children,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;