Originally posted by kentheman:guys, got this from one of the forum. pls help if u r able to.
=========================================
Dear All,
We all had our fair share of those darned cabbies.... and with their reckless stunts on the roads. Most of the time, it is just cutting in without signalling or checking blind spots, etc... today, I had to be honoured with a YELLOW TOP Cabbie who tried something so stupid and so dangerous.
Date: 10 Jan 2006
Time of incident: 1455hrs
Place: Junction of Bt Batok East Ave 5 / Ave 2, where Masjid Ar-Raudhah is located.
Description:
It was raining, as usual for the past week or so, and I was on Bt Batok East Ave 5 making a left turn into Bt Batok East Ave 2.
The green arrow lit up for my (left) lane to turn. The two cars in front of me turned left and I followed.
As I turned into the 2 lane road, there were cars parked by the side of the road along the mosque due to Hari Raya Haji celebrations/ceremonies in the mosque. I signalled and moved to the right lane just after turning left.
I had to swerve back into whatever space I could find on the left!
This yellow top cab driver from the opposite direction (without signalling) cut into the space between the car in front of me and was due for a head-on collision with me! He was on the right most lane for turning right/ going straight. There were two cars ahead of him going straight and they stopped at the (red) lights eventhough the green turn right arrow was on.
The cabbie 'overtook' these two cars in front by coming into the opposing side of the road and in my path, forcing me to swerve. He then proceeded to make the right turn into Bt Batok East Ave 5. I only managed to blast my horn as he passed me and I thought I caught a glimpse of a passenger in the rear.
The sketch drawing below shows my path and the path of the taxi.
The junction was full of vehicles on every side of the road and there were a few pedestrians around as well.
Now, from driver to driver, I am humbly appealing to any driver who was there at the scene and caught the YELLOW TOP CAB's licence plate number. I did not get it as he was going the opposite direction and I had to evade asap to avoid a head-on collision (in my lane!). Better still, if you are the passenger...
Please forward all information to [email protected] as I am seriously contemplating shooting a letter to Confort Delgro [(65) 6550 8588 / [email protected]] as well as LTA, and relevant authorities.
This behaviour was way out of line and the cab driver, for whatever reasons he had, should be taken off the streets as soon as possible.
Thank you for your understanding and help on this matter.
Well you obviously don't drive. Hey, try taking over the wheel once in awhile instead of letting your chauffer be a slave to you.Originally posted by LCL:yawn
u calling someone who drives this:Originally posted by nullifi3d:Well you obviously don't drive. Hey, try taking over the wheel once in awhile instead of letting your chauffer be a slave to you.

perhaps u shd know dat a black box costs slightly more than wat u paid for ur coeOriginally posted by ShutterBug:Seriously, I think it's due time a Black Box for cars be installed on all vehicles which starts video recording once you start your engine. This black box would also display on the bottom of the video what gear was used, what speed was travelled, and whether signal lights were used and in which direction was the turn.
This way, if anything unexpected happens, you need not worry about missing out out on details like license plate, and or actions taken by the other party that cause the accident or hazard.
If u so good, u go drive a taxi lor.Originally posted by kentheman:guys, got this from one of the forum. pls help if u r able to.
=========================================
Dear All,
We all had our fair share of those darned cabbies.... and with their reckless stunts on the roads. Most of the time, it is just cutting in without signalling or checking blind spots, etc... today, I had to be honoured with a YELLOW TOP Cabbie who tried something so stupid and so dangerous.
Date: 10 Jan 2006
Time of incident: 1455hrs
Place: Junction of Bt Batok East Ave 5 / Ave 2, where Masjid Ar-Raudhah is located.
Description:
It was raining, as usual for the past week or so, and I was on Bt Batok East Ave 5 making a left turn into Bt Batok East Ave 2.
The green arrow lit up for my (left) lane to turn. The two cars in front of me turned left and I followed.
As I turned into the 2 lane road, there were cars parked by the side of the road along the mosque due to Hari Raya Haji celebrations/ceremonies in the mosque. I signalled and moved to the right lane just after turning left.
I had to swerve back into whatever space I could find on the left!
This yellow top cab driver from the opposite direction (without signalling) cut into the space between the car in front of me and was due for a head-on collision with me! He was on the right most lane for turning right/ going straight. There were two cars ahead of him going straight and they stopped at the (red) lights eventhough the green turn right arrow was on.
The cabbie 'overtook' these two cars in front by coming into the opposing side of the road and in my path, forcing me to swerve. He then proceeded to make the right turn into Bt Batok East Ave 5. I only managed to blast my horn as he passed me and I thought I caught a glimpse of a passenger in the rear.
The sketch drawing below shows my path and the path of the taxi.
The junction was full of vehicles on every side of the road and there were a few pedestrians around as well.
Now, from driver to driver, I am humbly appealing to any driver who was there at the scene and caught the YELLOW TOP CAB's licence plate number. I did not get it as he was going the opposite direction and I had to evade asap to avoid a head-on collision (in my lane!). Better still, if you are the passenger...
Please forward all information to [email protected] as I am seriously contemplating shooting a letter to Confort Delgro [(65) 6550 8588 / [email protected]] as well as LTA, and relevant authorities.
This behaviour was way out of line and the cab driver, for whatever reasons he had, should be taken off the streets as soon as possible.
Thank you for your understanding and help on this matter.
I can't help but to laugh at how unimportant road safety has becomeOriginally posted by LCL:yawn
Do you know what is a penalty for false report?Originally posted by gnoik:If u so good, u go drive a taxi lor.
Kaoz. what make u so sure u not in the wrong? Skyli u in the wrong twist story until all becum cabbie fault!
If u involved in the accident, face it rather than pushing away the blame.
hoho. why don't you be that brave soulOriginally posted by tomsss:screw da cabbies. 1 brave soul should come up with an elaborate plan to crash a car into a reckless cabby and make the whole incident look like he was at fault...and make this public to the paper, tv, radio...![]()

they are still road hazardous cabs.Originally posted by 105090:So after all these.. did u see the cabby registration number? I can guarantee its a TOYOTA CROWN?
dont forget hor.. Yellow Top Cab can be mistaken for this:
POPULARLY CONFUSED YELLOW TOP CAB
ORIGINAL YELLOW TOP CAB
i think human instinct is to SURVIVE!Originally posted by drumstick:Well... judging from the scenerio, your friend should not swerve back but go into a head-on. 100 % can get a new car front replacement. As long as when the car stopped he still in his lane. Should crash and get compensation. Like that the taxi driver sure kenna upside down liao. Single white line and some more overtake 2 cars stopping in front of traffic light, go into oppsite lane some more... he can kiss goodbye to his taxi career.
As for black box thingy, have anyone considered a crash from the back?? In the end the car might as well install 4 cameras on all sides. lolz. To install a front camera... shouldn't be too ex, as you can see the US state troopers have 1 installed in all their highway patrol cars.
to clarify ur doubt, none of us here say we are good...Originally posted by gnoik:If u so good, u go drive a taxi lor.
Kaoz. what make u so sure u not in the wrong? Skyli u in the wrong twist story until all becum cabbie fault!
If u involved in the accident, face it rather than pushing away the blame.