does hokkien sound punk or something? i see teens everywhere only noe how to shout some hokkien vulgarities they dun understand. i was walking and some indian boy walked past me and scolded his fren kanina chaocheebai or something. i was like wtf? kelingkia also know. then i realised hokkien is becoming more and more mis/overused T.T
for example, if someone say hey xxx. u will answer what? or har? 1 syllable. now teens like to use simi taji. 4 syllable. waste breath lah. and i got the hang of the standard cursing format liao. u *insert hokkien vulgar directed and person * kanina ccb *insert hokkien vulgar directed at motherfathersisterbrother*
wahlao eh.
Learn from who? parents lo.
liu xing ma
common wad.
more n more teenagers/kids becoming liddat.
bo class.
hokkien seems to be cool and hip among teens
i also speak hokkien lah.. but only to my parents (in law)
This is called qing qie gan...its an ice-breaker LOl
wad makes u think hokkien is cool and hip among teens?
its good that they speak it. preserve culture. but at least master ur own dialect well first before learning how to speak some other.
Originally posted by fairlady_xoxo:
This is called qing qie gan...its an ice-breaker LOl
but the prob is they r abusing it
last time speak english is cool, now can speak hokkien is cool, wha lau, siao liao.
Originally posted by Pitot:wad makes u think hokkien is cool and hip among teens?
its good that they speak it. preserve culture. but at least master ur own dialect well first before learning how to speak some other.
it's good that they speak.
but no gd when they oni use the vulgarities, and most pple oni know those.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
it's good that they speak.but no gd when they oni use the vulgarities, and most pple oni know those.
wad makes them different from people who use vulgarities from other languages? those are not low class to you?
1. i can tell u 99% of teens who speak hokkien only noe the vulgarities
2. even if they do speak.. i dun think speaking hokkien to ur peers sounds right.. usually to elders only right o.o
....then if thats the case...we shouldn't speak cantonese, hainanese, and teochew too...
Its just another portal of communication...
Originally posted by Pitot:wad makes them different from people who use vulgarities from other languages? those are not low class to you?
haha i didnt say got difference did i?
i didnt say they not low class did i?
Originally posted by fairlady_xoxo:....then if thats the case...we shouldn't speak cantonese, hainanese, and teochew too...
Its just another portal of communication...
my point is not that its wrong to speak dialects.. but its bad to abuse it and to learn it only for the vulgarities. and i can bet at least 2x more people scold knn rather than diu nei mou lou or wutever
cheese pie lah.
no hokkien hor. english.
older generation call us not to use vulgar, they are using themself
Originally posted by youyayu:older generation call us not to use vulgar, they are using themself
really ah? when i young i always hear my ahma shout vulgarities when playing mahjong lol
i know how to speak hokkien as well as scold vulgarities in hokkien also ![]()
Originally posted by Maith:i know how to speak hokkien as well as scold vulgarities in hokkien also
ya, i know, u got A+ in Hokkien mah, and you passed the hokkien vulgar oral test too.
One quesion: What is fei mah eh? it is some kind of vugurities?
Originally posted by bus555:One quesion: What is fei mah eh? it is some kind of vugurities?
that is cantonese lor, it said Fat aunty = Fei ma
haha. teens nowadays can really pick up new things fast arh. you when you scold them "fcuk you" they will reply you with a "thank you"? lol.
Originally posted by LL34:1. i can tell u 99% of teens who speak hokkien only noe the vulgarities
2. even if they do speak.. i dun think speaking hokkien to ur peers sounds right.. usually to elders only right o.o
1. i can tell you that this is stereotyping.
2. Going by ur logic, the language will go extinct.
i mean when you scold them "fcuk you", you think they will reply you with a "thank you'? lol