26 May, 08:09AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Anyone can help me please? (poly to JC)

Subscribe to Anyone can help me please? (poly to JC) 31 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    13 posts since Jul '12
    • Hi

This is my first year in polytechnic. Basically, I have no interest in the course though I'm doing very well in it. I'm planning to go JC next year and will be losing 1 precious year. I know it's a tough decision but it is better to dropout of the course if I have really no interest in it. 

Anyone who experience this situation, care to share your story with me?

Mail me or anything if it is sensative to you. I feel quite sad about it as I do not wish to disappoint my parents in the future.

6,522 posts since May '08
    •  

do you know that if you can get a very high GPA/ dean's list, and then have a diploma with merit/ distinction, thereafter you apply for any relavant degree course in any of our public universities, you can directly get into 2nd year of the degree course as well?

that means you will not lose any year in gap since you will "offset" the time when you compare this route to the JC route.

Edited by Rednano 03 Jul `12, 6:48PM
    13 posts since Jul '12
    • Hi Rednano. I'm aware of doing well in polytechnic might be a way of going uni but right now I don't even like what am I studying now. So is it better for me to switch?

16 posts since May '12
    • Hi Dingda,

I am in the same boat as you. I did quite well in a course that I have no interest in but I was able to perform. Probably worst than you, I don't even know what's my interest as I can't think of anything that interests me. I only know in which field that I can perform. I consulted many people too including my mum. 

So, I did complete my diploma and I was offered a place in NTU/NUS direct entry to 2nd year. But I am serving NS right now.  I do agree with rednano. You also have to remember that interest is something that you can nurture yourself with.