When it comes to usa- it is hell for a citizen's spouse to apply for citizenship. The foreigner will understand why they call foreigners aliens there then.Originally posted by vito_corleone:the only way u can migrate to more "developed" countries without paying $$$ is to attend university there, graduate with a good job offer in one of their local companies and agree to contribute to their economy. and of course, you can marry one of their citizens, its always easier for a spouse of a citizen to apply for citizenship.
Originally posted by MunnaBhai_MBBS:U think our govt dun love us? If im the govt, i will f care this country so as to save my ass from all the fking from so many human rights groups etc.
[b]I want what every citizen wants, To have the country love us as much as we love it!![/b]
Yes our government loves us 100%. Yes they save our country's face from Amnesty International out of love for us....NOT because AI was actually blaming the government instead of the country.Originally posted by foxtrout8:U think our govt dun love us? If im the govt, i will f care this country so as to save my ass from all the fking from so many human rights groups etc.
Some of the guys in Singapore only think abt the oppressions, the limitations and nanny state that we are in. But do they think abt the consequences of being too democratic, being too easy on freedom. Dun be misleaded by the first few alphabets but freedom is never free. You want freedom (in a sense of peace and prosperity), you want security and stability you have to pay a price and that is that this country have to be regulated in a way.
The locals , despite the government loving, are so untalented that we need foreign talents .The foreign talent thingy is not something new lah. Comeon, it have been debated since then as it is like debating whether Newater is safe to drink or not. Why in the world do u think Singapore should not recruit foreign talent while the world is currently experiencing a constant exodus of capable workers?
The ministers are so specially selected that they need to be the highest paid ministers in the world. Yes they deserve the a million/year pay because they make more sacrifices and contributions than impoverished families.They are paid more because of their responsibilities. The social wont work paying people with lesser responsibilities more well paying people with more responsibilities less. This happen anywhere in non-communist countries. Even communist leaders have their pay in hefty sums.
No, no one is putting the cap. The thing abt it is that, people can criticise but can people criticise ...more intelligently?Originally posted by miong:Are we now becoming a communist country ? Put a dunce cap on those who dare oppose or criticise country's dictations?
Originally posted by foxtrout8:Well , other countries have protectionist policies for their local people but ours don't. They send their people out for skills they lack in or try to train them domestically.
The foreign talent thingy is not something new lah. Comeon, it have been debated since then as it is like debating whether Newater is safe to drink or not. Why in the world do u think Singapore should not recruit foreign talent while the world is currently experiencing a constant exodus of capable workers?
Is Foreign talent something new? No, it is a very old practical solution to one country's lack of certain talents. The Roman empire, the English Army, the current America are good examples of countries relying on foreign talents to build up their capability. Without foreign talents, US wont not be able to stop the second war world without further loses. Without foreign talents, the English army would not have survived the number of wars they hungerily waged.
Singapore is a small nation where we have no resources other than our human MK 1 cerebal motherboard. We have onli 3.5 million Singaporeans working on our economy inorder for us not to be kaput by the various means. Do u think 3.5 million Singaporeans can consist the number of talents we require? Do we for example have the number of talents to turn Singapore into a biological/Medical hub? If you think we have the enough talents, then you are ....ermm..not very wise. America with 500 million people do not for example have the talent to sent their astronauts to space, they for information have to rely on a number of foreign scienctist and even people under political immunity. Even for a country which have so many people, they have to rely on foreign talents, what not so pleasing for you to see foreign talents here?
You see, it is not that the government do not want to rely on our talents. Yes there are talents here and the government is trying to nurture the best out of them. The government had set up the Sport school in woodlands, for many years sponsered a number of talents overseas or to better education through the various financial incentives and they even plan to set up a School for Arts by 2008.
So you see, our government is identifying talents but why is she hungry for foreign talents now? The thing why the government is going out to beg for talents is that there are certain talents that Singapore do not have in the first place and inorder to nurther our 'possible' talents, we have to get foreign talents here to pave the way, to set up a depth so as to further attract investments and it is these investments that give our future local talents opportunities to excel.
In another words, i agree with you that in certain fields, we are untalented and we need foreign talents.
arrr...I think the USA president , who incidentally is paid less than our ministers, work harder to run a huge country with multiple resources. The Australian PM has to run A CONTINENT with multiple resources and he is paid less. We can even cut it down to state level. NSW and VIC are bigger than Singapore but even the state governments have to regulate the multiple industries they have. And the Federal government has to oversee the state governments. Singapore only has one resource - human , and one state and one capital called Singapore. WOW A singular resource is such hardwork.....yes the ministers deserve 1 million /annum for running JUST only ONE resource.
They are paid more because of their responsibilities. The social wont work paying people with lesser responsibilities more well paying people with more responsibilities less. ........
All in all, if you dun like the current government's pay. You can raise it to them or ....next time dun vote them. But it just seems to me that most people are alright the pay...
Ya ,our free speech constitutes taking down your ic and name while the other speakers ic and name are not taken down. I know that from experience in a forum with politicians in Singapore. Young People must speak freely they said.....kena my ic and name written down after I followed their command.Originally posted by foxtrout8:No, no one is putting the cap. The thing abt it is that, people can criticise but can people criticise ...more intelligently?
It is like people saying that Singapore do not have free speech as u dun realli get to criticise the government and those who do are all sued. The thing that why these people get sued is that you critise without thinking, accusing without factual backings. We call that....erm slander. I dun have to be the government to sue you, but if you will to criticise mi without factual backings with aims to stir up distrust inorder just to ruin my day, i will do so....
Of course im toking at a macro issue but as u say, people can criticise but can they think a little further than just all the carrot i quiet, stick i kp type of attitude.
WTH~?! What happened why they take down ur IC? U in deep Sh1t i tell u. Black-listed permanently, and it goes the same for your close relatives or ur kids if u have any.Originally posted by fymk:Ya ,our free speech constitutes taking down your ic and name while the other speakers ic and name are not taken down. I know that from experience in a forum with politicians in Singapore. Young People must speak freely they said.....kena my ic and name written down after I followed their command.
Ai ya... they took my name down when i was a student back then.Being a teenager and very xia lan that time , gave me the vision of being invincible. I gave my details and even asked the MP if he wanted my address and telephone number. You should have seen that guy's face - so funny - he was angry . I think it was more of the I WANT TO SCARE YOU tactic.Originally posted by Poopie-Head:WTH~?! What happened why they take down ur IC? U in deep Sh1t i tell u. Black-listed permanently, and it goes the same for your close relatives or ur kids if u have any.
Unless u didn't let them take it down. Why u didnt insist not to let them record ur details?
Talk about thoroughly brainwashed.Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:If you like America so much. Just go. Migrate there and enjoy your life. Malaysian conscripts earning more than our NS boys? I dont think so. Where do you derive those figures anyway?
Singapore has always been my home. If paying more for my housing or my car is going to be a factor in determining where i live, i would really prefer to live in Thailand. However i do not mind the taxes, COE, and wat you would have. At least my country is not corrupt and i do not need to pay bribes to police officers.
I have no fear of being mugged. No fear of my car getting stolen. I can have a morning jog at 3 am without fear of being attacked.
Taxes are put in place to ensure that our government has a source of revenue in order to run the country. As our nation is a small island, land is limited. If wide open spaces is your cup of tea, then go america and stay. COE is to keep our roads free from congestions and Jams. It limits cars on the roads in order to protect our traffic system.
No one is asking you to serve NS for 15 years. you nuts? i did only 2 and half years. why would you want to serve NS for 15 years to buy a car?
wherever i go in this world...on business on on pleasure. I always look forward to coming back home to Singapore. This is certainly the place i can call my home.
My message to those who want to leave. Just pack and go. Stop whining. Just go. It will leave Singapore less congested and with happier citizens for all of us.

Australian and USA are big continents and should take in more people. Singapore is a small island so it is difficult to have large population. BUT you don't see everybody in the world go to Australia or USA. Many still choose to immigrate and stay in Singapore. Obviously they do not agree with those who want to migrate downunder or to the yankee land. What is seriously wrong to you may be acceptable to others. Are they then "thoroughly brainwashed."?Originally posted by Gedanken:Talk about thoroughly brainwashed.
This, people, reflects Singapore in all its charmless glory. This sad and sorry individual has been turned so thoroughly into a local sheep he has even adopted the rabid intolerance for differing points of view. If you don't see things his way, go somewhere else, just so long as you shut up - that's the Singaporean way!
Me, I'm gone - I just pop back in here for the people who sense that something is seriously wrong here, but are discouraged from thinking that way by thugs like Thailand_Hero. Ironic, isn't it? Mr I-love-Singapore-it's-my-home chooses to put Thailand instead of Singapore in his nick.
You cannot deny that there are failures from the system :U are going back to the argument about talent here in singapore again. I see that what you have stated is not a failure in our system but a inevitable result of our demographical constraints.
Let's apply the corporate america strategy here
1. Education : we need foreign talents, therefore there is a failure to train locals to attain the so called global competitive edge. Teachers are not happy.
point : Education minister's head needs to roll. Minister of Manpower and Minister of National Development have better evaluate the current and prospective job markets . Both deserve a huge pay cut
2. Sports - Singapore still lack the elusive Olympic medals despite importing "talents"
point : Minister of Sport's head needs to go. Minister for Manpower have better evaluate what type of talents we are importing or else he goes too.
I will tell you how the american corporate system works.U want to compare Singapore govt to corporate systems or to the American govt? Well, im telling you that it is 10times much easier for Singapore to fall then most MNCs and definately America. The consequence of a corruption in our govt is way tougher to most MNCs and definately a big country like America.
hohoho, I am wondering when will singapore become empty with everybody gone downunder. The oz certainly need to tighten the immigration law otherwise with immigrants from China, vietnam, indonesia....hahaha, the asian will outnumber even the kangeroo. and what about the eastern european?? your oz mate is happy to let singaporean take perth as our backyard playground but not migrating there, and I am happy to keep it that way.Originally posted by Gedanken:Hey, you can natter all you want - unlike your buddy, I'm not going to tell you to shut up.
In fact, the more you talk, the more you show your ignorance. You don't see more people going to Oz or the US because they have quotas (you know, like your cars?) on migration - Australia has raised its entry requirements three times in the last seven years to make sure that they don't exceed the quota. Aw, gee - that just put a hole in your itsy-bitsy little theory, didn't it?
Here's another one: Singapore, on the other hand, is pretty much an immigration hussy these days, and that's why we've got all this noise about foreign talents. Ask yourself - does that girl have all those guys around her because she's popular, or because she's an easy lay?
Oh, I forgot - they don't teach you to think about what the numbers mean in these parts, don't they?
Sigh.. another brainwashed opposition who have been brainwashed to think that everyone else is brainwashed. I wonder why I keep hearing this same old tune from people who oppose. I guess the only conclusion I can have is all these people are all brainwashed to say the exact same words.Originally posted by Gedanken:Talk about thoroughly brainwashed.
Hmm, I see you don't read too well - I'll interpret my last post at a level you can understand:Originally posted by sgdiehard:hohoho, I am wondering when will singapore become empty with everybody gone downunder. The oz certainly need to tighten the immigration law otherwise with immigrants from China, vietnam, indonesia....hahaha, the asian will outnumber even the kangeroo. and what about the eastern european?? your oz mate is happy to let singaporean take perth as our backyard playground but not migrating there, and I am happy to keep it that way.
You go for girl because "she's an easy lay"? pathetic!! next time do it yourself.![]()
you don't see everybody in the world go to Australia or USAbut unlike your simplistic interpretation, it is because people are being turned away, not because too few people apply.
Well, why don't you read your buddy sgdiehard's post and decide for yourself who's so brainwashed he can even process information correctly?Originally posted by Qitai:Sigh.. another brainwashed opposition who have been brainwashed to think that everyone else is brainwashed. I wonder why I keep hearing this same old tune from people who oppose. I guess the only conclusion I can have is all these people are all brainwashed to say the exact same words.
If everybody is allowed to voice their view, then why can't Thailand_Hero? you are free to voice your opinion and why can't he has the freedom to express the way he likes?Originally posted by Gedanken:but unlike your simplistic interpretation, it is because people are being turned away, not because too few people apply.
Singapore, on the other hand, seems to be letting everybody in. Even when the mainland Chinese come here and spit on Singaporeans, calling the locals stupid, Singapore insists on kissing ass. Now maybe you're so hard-pressed to get some, by in my book, that makes Singapore an easy lay.
Now, I hope that's in terms you can understand - maybe call Mommy to help you read it so you can understand it, because you got it arse-end-round on the last try.
Singapore not corrupted? Corruption happens OVER the table, in your face and we can't do a damn thing about it.Originally posted by Thailand_Hero:At least my country is not corrupt and i do not need to pay bribes to police officers.
This is like paying 10% service charge and don't have to pay tips whereas in the US you pay tips till you pok gai, sometimes 10% of enough sometimes you need 15%. Come back don't know how to claim such expenses, especially with bosses who never been to US.Originally posted by Blueray:Singapore not corrupted? Corruption happens OVER the table, in your face and we can't do a damn thing about it.
One good example: Our public transportation.
PAP set up a monopoly, pretend to introduce competition by setting up a few companies(but controlled by close business associates) and then leech as much as possible