Originally posted by sgdiehard:I'm not the one who said "stop whining, just go", am I? Whose side are you on anyway, mine?
If everybody is allowed to voice their view, then why can't Thailand_Hero? you are free to voice your opinion and why can't he has the freedom to express the way he likes?

It is stupid and ignorant to compare Singapore with US and Auzi in the respective immigration policies.Agreed . So why did you bring it up then? After all, I just responded to your post. Are you calling yourself stupid and ignorant? I'd agree with that too!

US is the nation of immigrants and Auzi started as a settlement for convicts from England. World's great immigrations started since 1820, and have always been into these two continents.Sure, they're both a nation of immigrants, but how does that differentiate them from Singapore? And what's the point of the 1820 reference? If you want a relevant year, you could use 1840, which is when the British stopped sending convicts to Australia.
Immigration rules in these two countries take into accounts many factors including rights of family union, asylum for those under persecution. In Singapore we only want a bigger population to build a credible domestic economy. But the island is only so small so there must be criteria. The attraction/opportunities and constrainsts are therefore very different.So let me get this straight. Singapore's a small place, and they can only afford to take so many people, but they're still happily taking in foreign talents instead of looking for resources within? That's an insult to Singaporeans, isn't it?
Besides, the yankees and the ozis can hold dual citizenships while singaporean must denounce yr citizenship when you hold another passport. that makes a lot of difference for those who want to apply to migrate.Those who study in overseas universities? Where were you during that fracas with that Chinese student saying that Singaporeans were dumb? Was it the overseas-educated Singaporeans making a hue-and-cry about it, or was it the locally educated ones who shared classes with them, and the ones who complained about losing class places to Chinese students?
Mainland Chinese do not spit on Singaporeans, but some singaporeans think too highly of themselves, especially many of those who study in overseas universities.

If you are out, we welcome your comment but WE decide if your 2 cents comment is worthy of listening pleasure. So far, yours are arrogant expression of shit.[/b]And yours is an ignorant compilation of self-contradictions that would make John Kerry look consistent. I'd ask you to stop it, but you're just too amusing. Who cares about your listening pleasure? What do I look like, 90.5 FM?

Blueray's talking about a hidden monopoly - what's that got to do with service charges?Originally posted by sgdiehard:This is like paying 10% service charge and don't have to pay tips whereas in the US you pay tips till you pok gai, sometimes 10% of enough sometimes you need 15%. Come back don't know how to claim such expenses, especially with bosses who never been to US.
Whether you pay as serve charge, tips or consider it bribe, we have to pay, but make sure we get what we want after we pay.

Sounds like you are one of those frustrated with FT. Let me put it straight to you, if we can find enough singaporean to do the jobs here, we won't need FT, and if you are not required, that means you are no good. It is not an insult, it is a reality. Overseas graduates have no extra credits.Originally posted by Gedanken:Oh, boy, you're just digging your own grave here.
And yours is an ignorant compilation of self-contradictions that would make John Kerry look consistent. I'd ask you to stop it, but you're just too amusing. Who cares about your listening pleasure? What do I look like, 90.5 FM?Right now I'm just here to poke fun at your nonsensical claims. By the way, I'll take your desperately resorting to the use of expletives to signify that you're running low on ammunition.
By claiming others are brainwashed, you are equally guilty of being intolerant to others view. You can attack his point, but claiming others as brainwashed like many others who oppose did seems pretty much brainwashed to me.Originally posted by Gedanken:Well, why don't you read your buddy sgdiehard's post and decide for yourself who's so brainwashed he can even process information correctly?
Seriously, this thread has by and large contained free discourse, and to the extent that forumers of both sides have been allowed to put forward their points of view, it has reflected free speech - all kudos to those that have out their points forward in that spirit. However, when we hit the point of "Shut up, this is the way it is, and just go if you don't like it", we see the brainwashed intolerant-conformity element rear its ugly head. That's why I've said Thailand_Hero is brainwashed, but not foxtrout.
Gee, that's odd - by your reckoning, I mustn't be good enough if I worked with the Dutch and the Americans before I left, instead of them bringing FTs in for the job. Oooh, I'm so frustrated!Originally posted by sgdiehard:Sounds like you are one of those frustrated with FT. Let me put it straight to you, if we can find enough singaporean to do the jobs here, we won't need FT, and if you are not required, that means you are no good. It is not an insult, it is a reality. Overseas graduates have no extra credits.
Singaporeans were ridiculed by the malaysian during Mahathir, the philippinos during the conviction of the maids, the indonesian during habibie, the yankees when we canned michael faye. I don't put all the blame on the foreigners. Singaporeans, our lack of sensitivity, our super doer attitudes are partly to be blamed. It is the same with dealing with the Chinese now. Singaporean must learn to understand and accept others. government screw up, yes, but blaming the government will not help. Fortunately, with you gone, we have one problem less. Heng ar......
OK, fair point, Qitai. I'll concede the point, but I stand by everything else.Originally posted by Qitai:By claiming others are brainwashed, you are equally guilty of being intolerant to others view. You can attack his point, but claiming others as brainwashed like many others who oppose did seems pretty much brainwashed to me.
Just as you see those who sing the same tune as the government as brainwashed, I see you singing the same tune that many others who oppose sing as being equally brainwashed.
So, please get over with this insult and claiming others as being brainwashed thingy. You would have better results attacking his points rather than the person.
I respect your opinion as long as no insults are given. Though, it does not necessarily means I agree with anything you said.Originally posted by Gedanken:OK, fair point, Qitai. I'll concede the point, but I stand by everything else.
Of course - disagreement is no synonym for disrespect. After all, isn't the root of democracy "I may not agree with what you say, but I'll defend your right to say it"?Originally posted by Qitai:I respect your opinion as long as no insults are given. Though, it does not necessarily means I agree with anything you said.
You have my full agreement on thatOriginally posted by Gedanken:Of course - disagreement is no synonym for disrespect. After all, isn't the root of democracy "I may not agree with what you say, but I'll defend your right to say it"?
Working for the Dutch and the American does not mean you are better than those working for the Taiwanese, Singaporean or even Chinese.Originally posted by Gedanken:Gee, that's odd - by your reckoning, I mustn't be good enough if I worked with the Dutch and the Americans before I left, instead of them bringing FTs in for the job. Oooh, I'm so frustrated!
Just so you get where I'm coming from, I'm a Singaporean who has never lost a job to an FT. I don't consider myself anything particularly special, and if I could hold my own, there are many other Singaporeans who deserve a shot at the roles that are being given to FTs.
Unlike you, I don't hold the view that Singaporeans who lose roles to FTs deserve it. For what it's worth, the work ethic I learned growing up in Singapore has held me in very good stead in all of my years overseas, and my education has been a great help too (even if it didn't foster creativity). If you're saying that they're no good and it's just too bad that they're losing jobs to FTs, you're less proud of your Singaporean heritage than I am.
Why have I chosen to leave? It's not because I don't like being Singaporean - there are many characteristics of Singaporeans that are very much appreciated in other countries, such as our work ethic and can-do attitude. What I don't like is that despite that, the powers-that-be aren't giving their own people a fair shake, and that's just not right - they're whoring Singapore to the FT market.
If you're going to be here saying that your own people are no good, I'll stick around to tell you how arrogant you are - oh, the irony!
(Xprobe reading this thread with a sly smile on his face, slightly irritated by the two maids trying to vacuum his personal study in a mansion he bought in the suburb of Shanghai)Originally posted by Gedanken:Talk about thoroughly brainwashed.
This, people, reflects Singapore in all its charmless glory. This sad and sorry individual has been turned so thoroughly into a local sheep he has even adopted the rabid intolerance for differing points of view. If you don't see things his way, go somewhere else, just so long as you shut up - that's the Singaporean way!
Me, I'm gone - I just pop back in here for the people who sense that something is seriously wrong here, but are discouraged from thinking that way by thugs like Thailand_Hero. Ironic, isn't it? Mr I-love-Singapore-it's-my-home chooses to put Thailand instead of Singapore in his nick.
(Suddenly Xprobe gets a stirring in his loins, he grabs 1 of the maids and starts frenching and fondling her, the other maid sees this and becomes horny and starts to finger and rub herself all over and making all sorts of noises. Xprobe see this excitedly pulls out his horny di ck and grabs her by the pony tail then forces her to give him a deep throat .... ORRRAHH... Xprobe is in a fantasy every man dreams of suddenly SBSK walks in ..... WTF is going on!!!!)Originally posted by Xprobe:(Xprobe reading this thread with a sly smile on his face, slightly irritated by the two maids trying to vacuum his personal study in a mansion he bought in the suburb of Shanghai)
Originally posted by sgdiehard:Of course it doesn't. What it DOES mean, is that your assumption (actually, leap of logic) that I am making my argument about FTs on the basis of my being frustrated with FTs is erroneous. I've quite easily held my own against FTs, so why should I be frustrated? Try harder.
Working for the Dutch and the American does not mean you are better than those working for the Taiwanese, Singaporean or even Chinese.
In the name of cost effectiveness companies replace workers with those cheaper or simply move the whole operations to places that are cheaper. Singaporean workers are retrenched or replaced not because they cannot perform or lacking in proper work attitude. Companies, especially the MNCs, do not appreciate good working attitude, loyalty and all they want is cheap, cheap, cheap. This is a fact to be recognised.Yet another flip-flop. First you say they're not good enough, and now when you've been pulled up on it, you change your tune. What's the matter, can't stand the fact that you've been shown not to live up to you "sgdiehard" name? You've openly insulted the people you're supposed to be a "diehard" for, and I've highlighted it - deal with it.
Blame who for whoring the FT market? But if you think the government should have rules to protect locals against FT, then that is a totally different story.It's one or the other - if they're not protecting the locals against FT (for example, many countries require employers to demonstrate a clear case of not being able to find local talent before an employer is allowed to bring FTs in), they're whoring Singapore to the FT market. It's cut-and-dried, no two ways about it.
The Chinese say, dong jia pu da da xi jia. You have actually done what Thailand_Hero asked, if you don't like it here, leave!! If you think you have something other countries appreciate better, Go!! You did what he said, why said he was brainwashed? why stay around and mourn?Ah, so you can't stand someone showing how misguided you are, what with your flip-flops and all, and you want them to go away so that you can sleep better at night? I'm not mourning, I'm poking fun at you while you make a fool of yourself.

Yo, Xprobe, long time no see!Originally posted by Xprobe:(Xprobe reading this thread with a sly smile on his face, slightly irritated by the two maids trying to vacuum his personal study in a mansion he bought in the suburb of Shanghai)
Just say you can hold yourself against FTs to correct my wrong assumption, why need to bring in the angmoh?Do you mean bring them into Singapore, or into this debate? If it's the former, that's what I've been saying all along, and I'm glad you finally see the light.
Why the companies employ FTs? just because they are cheap? but if they are less efficient then the companies should change and employ locals? The fact remains some companies still want some FTs and not you.Exactly, and what I'm saying is that their being allowed to make that choice easily and without adequate justification is no good for Singapore. Companies in other countries have to make a strong case for hiring FT before their foreign employees are issued visas, to not only ensure that the locals are given shots at jobs in their own countires, but also to ensure that the local population grows with the demands over the long term. Why isn't Singapore more actively maintaining that policy? It's not the people who are not good enough at their jobs - it's the government, and that was fymk's original point in case you forgot.
Cursing and swearing at the government or the people who do not agree with you does not help! Putting down diehard Singaporean will not help to justify your decision to migrate. It is YOU you have to deal with.I've got a very comfortable life - what other justification do I need? In fact, I'm happy enough with my circumstances that I'm passing the experience on to those who are thinking of doing the same thing. I'll just let them compare what I have to say to what people like you do, and they can go work out what they want to do. You're afraid that what I'm saying makes more sense, and that's why you want me to pack up and go. Tough luck.
wow, very strong statement, appear to be protecting the locals, but is actually very very unhappy with or fuming mad at the government. To you it is "no two ways about it".Exactly! I'm unhappy with the government because they are not attending to the locals' well-being, which, in case you forgot, is their job.
I see no need to discuss with you unless I want to continue to irritate you.Hey, whatever floats your boat - stay or go, it makes no difference to your ol' Uncle Ged. It's not as if you've addressed any points clearly - it now looks as if you're trying to hide your lack of a clear stance behind an excuse of "shades of gray". Any further flip-flops from you will only serve to incriminate you more.

I don't lose sleep with people like you and I am the one laughing. But, sigh!, you label people whose opinion you disagree with "tug", "thoroughly brainwashed", "digging your own grave" and to you things are "cut-and-dried", "no two ways about it" , you must be living a miserable life and are missing many interesting things in life. There are many grey areas between black and white, and many people are different from you. Besides positive thinking can also turn a glooming raining day into a romantic day. It is how you view and how you make it.Nope - read the thread for yourself. Do you see me taking the same attitude with foxtrout or Qitai? They present their arguments instead of trying to silence debate with the "just shut up and go away" stance.

For the last two posts you have not said anything sensible except bashing. You are entitled to your own opinion. Do what you have to do but refrain from calling yourself singaporean, please! Thank you.This coming from someone who said that Singaporeans are no good? That's rich. I have also directly addressed every point that you have put forth, and every time I do it, you either change your tune or go off on an irrelevant tangent. Somehow, I doubt you're qualified to determine what's sensible.
Originally posted by sgdieahrd on 24-11-2004 at 10:41 PM:This is what you said - well, it looks like you're supporting the government, which is no problem in itself, but you're doing it at the expense of the people. At the very best, you come off as a government toady - perhaps it's time to change your nick to PAPdiehard?
if we can find enough singaporean to do the jobs here, we won't need FT, and if you are not required, that means you are no good
If the ang moh are the FT you are strongly against, I will gladly support you but I believe it is the mainland chinese and the indian, or the philippino FTs that you cannot tahan. You gladly work for the angmoh, thinking that you must be good to be able to work for them. Aiyo, ang moh no longer master liao.Sorry to disappoint you - I run my own business, and my clients are in the Southeast Asian region as well as other parts of the world. Again, your assumptions highlight your ignorance.
Jobs are replaced not only by FTs, but also by technology and younger locals. Not only the MNCs, the local bosses are continuing to recruit FTs.Technology and younger locals are not the issues being debated here, are they? Don't go on another tangent just because you can't hold your ground. Gee, if the government has already addressed the issue, why is it still being discussed in the present tense by people? If you think it's been taken care of and is no longer an issue, you're out of touch.
You are repeating a question many people have asked and are still asking, an issue the government have addressed before and should continue to review. People who are strongly affected will have strong views. Those who believe the FTs took their jobs will curse, those who have FTs working for them will support for their own reasons, the rests hold firm to their jobs and pray, another news on restructuring, outsourcing, costs cuttings....will change their picture. Who were "brainwashed"?
What is your experience? leave singapore? that is what Thailand_Hero said you should do. Did you leave because I "want you to pack and go"? hehehe, you really listen to me?Like I said, Qitai and foxtrout at least show that they have performed a clear, concise and cogent assessment of the situation, and they have chosen to stay - do you see me advising them to leave? You're happy living here in blissful ignorance - congratulations for that, and please do stay.
You probably cannot understand why there are people happily staying in singapore and not leave as you would advise. Well, you either find out or just accept that there are people who are different and want different thing. Our minds are clean or dirty but are in their original state, not washed.![]()
Can you vote?!! or you should come out and stand against what was wrong during election?Are you a card-carrying Young PAP member? If you can support the government without getting into politics, why do I have to get into politics in order to speak my mind (not support the opposition, mind you)?
I have my stance but I have not expressed them, have I? I was happily reading the posts and was glad to see a different view. But I was surprised to read the condemnation. So I just write to irritate the self proclaimed speaker for the locals. But, honestly, I have more respect for those who stay and fight with the locals than those who left and talk from a distance.Well, you finally admit it - you don't have the gumption to present your stance, although I suspect you presented what you believed to be your stance only to have its weaknesses revealed, hence the backpedalling and flip-flopping. Either way, you just proved yourself to be the mindless sheep I said you were at the start.
I don't take the same attitude with foxtrout or Qitai either. They presented their arguments and did not try to silence debate with remarks like "brainwashed" "tug" and " digging my own grave". (I thought the secret police would come after me or what."Yup, they actually presented cogent arguments instead of throwing their toys out of the pram and resorting to expletives like babies. I tuned the message to the level of intellect you've presented, which really is not much at all.
Wow, you are paid a grand a day huhh, how much are you sharing with the poor singapore locals? if you don't share, then Bill Gates make a million a day leh! Sorry lah, working for the angmoh does not impress me, making a million a day does not impress me. Only those who stay and fight for a good course, even at the risk of going to jail, will win the respect of fellow singaporean. Stay far far away and talk is really cheap.Are you asking me for a handout there?
urh....I am not interested in who the F you are and am quite happy to be ignorant about you. Don't need to tell me you worked for Dutch and American, you have your own bz downunder making 1 grand a day........ I am afraid after a few more exchanges you will review how many mistresses you have, how well you kids scored in school........Oh, you're running short of gas and need to fall back on the expletives and irrelevancies? Boring.![]()
Your anger blinds you, what I said was "You are repeating a question many people have asked and are still asking, an issue the government have addressed before and should continue to review".Your English needs some polishing then - "have addressed before" implies that it's been taken care of, and that it's sorted out, so your sentence is oxymoronic. Conversely, if, as you now insist, it's an ongoing thing, what's your problem with discussing it? Oh yeah, I forgot, you change your tune according to convenience.
Not so sure if Qitai is in Singapore or in NZ but it does not matter, their views and positions are well respected as they do respect others. I stay where I can call home, and all singaporean should congratulate ourselves, because YOU ARE GONE.Oh, now you purport to speak for all Singaporeans? That's not even a case of the pot callling the kettle black - it's more like the pot calling the silver service tray black.![]()
ople don't present their stance here, but that does not mean they don't have a stance. This assumption is arroganct. I just step in to tell you you can't silence people who disagree with you. That's all.If that's your intent, you really should have stepped in to tell Thailand_Hero off - I'm not looking to silence anyone. Like I said in my previous post, stay or go in this argument, it's the same to your ol' Uncle Ged.
carrying Young PAP member singing CSJ's and JBJ's praises?????woa lau, siao liao....I stop here!! otherwise I will become siao also.Simple responses to what you posted previously. The contradictions occerred in your post which I responded to. Oops - your slip's showing again!
Hi Ged,Originally posted by Gedanken:Yo, Xprobe, long time no see!
Words to the wise, Xprobe, words to the wise - I may one day adopt that policy!Originally posted by Xprobe:Hi Ged,
You have been quiet for awhile and then BANG! Hahahahaa...still have that fiery spirit in you.
Aiya, why bother man, the facts speaks for themselves. When people burn in hell for too long, they get used to brimstone. Let them have their say la. Me? I just keep on smiling sheepishly when I visit here.