Nono. You are missing the point. Do you LIKE TO BE WATCHED FOR EVERY STEP YOU TAKE?? DO YOU LIKE TO BE WATCHED FOR EVERY MOVE YOU MAKE?Originally posted by FireIce:public places is public wat
where got wat privacy
as if u dig ur nose the auntie beside u cannot see, oni the cctv can see![]()
ya same hereOriginally posted by millette:Actually the CCTVs are just around to scare the terrorists, making singapore a much more difficult place for them to attack. I'm pretty ok with it too, nothing much against it.
Well, I doubt these CCTVs are as simple as you make out. Since these are goverment stuffs, they could be more high tech than you think. They might boast better framerate refreshes and the motion they capture might be sharper and more accurate. But My only concern is that these CCTVs could be abused. Although the meaning behind it could be altruistic, the manner which it is used could be far from altruistic.Originally posted by chunyong:cctvs are placed to monitor entry/exit, its only feasible and logical to do so cos the suspect will have to make use of them to enter/escape. using cctv to keep track of people is the most foolishest idea cos it is static, have no audio input and if u have viewed through cctv tapes b4 u will actually know what cctv is abt...many people are mistaken abt cctv doing 'live' recording such dat ur every movement is captured and is in 'real time' like tv...cctv is actually taking 'screenshots' every x seconds so when u view the tape with those vcrs with a certain function built in, the person actually 'teleports' abit. so if someone is taking out a gun, the motion captured may be he put his hand into his jacket and the next frame the gun is already out. if u think SG is jialat, wait til u see the western countries....some shops put small cctv outside their store, can't be easily seen as its hidden into a lamp post or mailbox.
Big Brother is watching you!!Originally posted by shade343:Sometimes I wonder about the TRUE purpose of placing CCTV cameras. Is it meant to catch terrorist as claimed by our police force? Or do they serve a more sinister purpose such as having the potential to become "The Eyes of the Government"? I remeber reading something like that in George Orwell's 1984 about the government monitoring its citizen. So what happened in 1984 came true in 2004? Would anyone like to comment on these CCTVs? So far, what was reported in the news was that, Majority of the Public supports this move as they welcome any measures that protects their safety. 3 people interviewed on this measure whole heartedly supported this action. None oppose it on TV. (or maybe there were some that oppse it, but it is unlikely that their view will be broadcast). I am personally not in favor of such an approach that is likely to infringe my privacy. To me, this action is tantamount to taking pictures of an individual without his/her consent. How much more Privacy are we willing to give up in the name of "protecting our safety"??
new recordings dun use tapes anymore. its call time base technology, all computerised. N oso those u mentioned, taking screenshots every x secs, those r of cheaper models...e expensive ones, rec every sec, just like c ing on TV.Originally posted by chunyong:cctvs are placed to monitor entry/exit, its only feasible and logical to do so cos the suspect will have to make use of them to enter/escape. using cctv to keep track of people is the most foolishest idea cos it is static, have no audio input and if u have viewed through cctv tapes b4 u will actually know what cctv is abt...many people are mistaken abt cctv doing 'live' recording such dat ur every movement is captured and is in 'real time' like tv...cctv is actually taking 'screenshots' every x seconds so when u view the tape with those vcrs with a certain function built in, the person actually 'teleports' abit. so if someone is taking out a gun, the motion captured may be he put his hand into his jacket and the next frame the gun is already out. if u think SG is jialat, wait til u see the western countries....some shops put small cctv outside their store, can't be easily seen as its hidden into a lamp post or mailbox.
there is a reason why tapes are still in use.Originally posted by contact_thatslife:new recordings dun use tapes anymore. its call time base technology, all computerised. N oso those u mentioned, taking screenshots every x secs, those r of cheaper models...e expensive ones, rec every sec, just like c ing on TV.
by e way, woodlands bus interchange is e only one i saw w lots of cctv all over. so next time when u r there, dun anyhw hug n kiss, u never knw e security guard may b having a gd time watching on his cctv screen...wahahaha
ya, tapes r still in use but 4 cheaper n older models.Originally posted by chunyong:there is a reason why tapes are still in use.
some of them use cctv to have evidence, some is just to oversee.
u are talking alot of cctvs, and alot of software, hardware and media storage devices. they now targetting schools which i think is good, not only becos of terrorist, also to protect the kids who are helpless against alot of things like kidnappers, robbers, etc.Originally posted by shade343:Well, I doubt these CCTVs are as simple as you make out. Since these are goverment stuffs, they could be more high tech than you think. They might boast better framerate refreshes and the motion they capture might be sharper and more accurate. But My only concern is that these CCTVs could be abused. Although the meaning behind it could be altruistic, the manner which it is used could be far from altruistic.
you forgot about monitoring Singaporean's behaviours as wellOriginally posted by chunyong:u are talking alot of cctvs, and alot of software, hardware and media storage devices. they now targetting schools which i think is good, not only becos of terrorist, also to protect the kids who are helpless against alot of things like kidnappers, robbers, etc.
Agreed. The CCTVs can't prevent anything from happening. The bomb blast in Jakarta embassy happened though there are CCTVs around the place.Originally posted by huiz:i think cctv cameras r only useful in capturing scenes or something in action to be used as evidence later. take the incident in which the cctv camera in the mrt station which caught the mentally-ill woman who jumped off the mrt track. the camera could only capture the process but did not help in preventing the suicide at all.
no, there is no such agenda involved with the deployment of CCTVs. i disagree and will try to brainwash u all to believe the CCTVs are for what they are said to be on the newspapers.Originally posted by shade343:you forgot about monitoring Singaporean's behaviours as well![]()
but at least 4 kpo plp can watch wt exactly happened on that day!! its like watching crime watch, but every scene 4 real nt re-acted!!Originally posted by tranquilice:Agreed. The CCTVs can't prevent anything from happening. The bomb blast in Jakarta embassy happened though there are CCTVs around the place.
Excuse me, do you know what CCTV stands for?Originally posted by peni's:CCTV promotes TERRORISM, it does not deter it.
Terrorist get their whole act of blowing up church/embassy/public place xyz shown across the world CNN, CNA, BBC, etc - in all its gory details.
CCTV only capture the event so that you can do post-event analysis of what went wrong. Does anyone actually look through hours of detail to see who walked where and did what? YES if its a high level security, like the airport.
To restrict terrorism, you need more eyes on the street - doing live monitoring, and responsible citizens being aware and participating in security measures.![]()
You're talking to a botOriginally posted by shade343:Nono. You are missing the point. Do you LIKE TO BE WATCHED FOR EVERY STEP YOU TAKE?? DO YOU LIKE TO BE WATCHED FOR EVERY MOVE YOU MAKE?
DO YOU LIKE TO BE WATCHED FOR EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE? DO YOU LIKE YOUR CONVERSATION TO BE EAVESDROPPED EVRY SECOND???
Btw, u havent tell me whether you girl or boy.
CCTV = Can Chaogeng TV cos with them installed, the patrolmen can stay in the CCTV room relak one corner instead of patrolling.Originally posted by :Excuse me, do you know what CCTV stands for?
That's what CCTV is about! 1 trained security personnel can view 5 or 6 CCTV monitors at the same time and even zoom in to capture the person's face or what he has in his bag.
Boy grow up...