Originally posted by goatiechat:Nov 18, 2004
CUSTOMER SERVICE, OR THE LACK OF IT
The Strait Time Forum:
THERE has been substantial debate about the falling standards of customer service in Singapore and our fall from 'grace' in international ratings. Like many Singaporeans, I viewed the drop in ratings with some scepticism, attributing it to biased assessment based on marginal differences and increased competition from other countries out to make a dent in Singapore's world-class reputation.
Thus nothing could have prepared me for a recent family trip to Sentosa - long promoted as one of the Republic's premier attractions - which showed quite clearly that while our costs are first class, our attractions and services are Third World.
As I drove through the main gate, two staff members declined my $50 note as payment for four adults and four children, citing a lack of change. I was directed to a cashier nearby who issued me with the tickets.
I was told that I could park next to the Underwater World, but I eventually had to park more than 1km away, from where we had to walk 300m and join a queue of more than 100 people to catch a train that appeared every few minutes with no more than 10-15 seats available.
As it would take 50 to 60 minutes for the whole family and our friends to get on the train with two folded buggy prams, we decided to walk along what was described as a 'nature' trail.
But first we decided to have a drink and a snack at Burger King, but we gave up when we saw the queue and the filthy seating areas.
Twenty minutes later, we arrived at the Underwater World and joined a long queue to pay a $70 entry fee for three adults and two children, having decided that my wife and three-month-old twins would not accompany us as the internal staircases would make it very difficult for them to manoeuvre.
At the main entrance I requested that the security guard allow my wife to sit inside the barrier, just within the air-conditioned environment. This was acceded to only after my request was first rejected.
The tour of the aquarium went without incident, but because of crowding around the limited exhibits, it made it extremely difficult for young children to see anything of consequence. We spent no more than 15 to 20 minutes in this 'world-class' attraction and were directed to the aquarium-shop barriers where I had to insist that an alternative exit be opened to accommodate the prams.
Nothing could have prepared me for our next experience - the Aquarium Cafeteria - from the trays encrusted with food remnants and the unappetising 'local fare' to the dirty water coolers and cutlery, and the general filth of the service and food-preparation areas. Tables were covered with plates, grease and food remnants, and the floor awash with the same.
It infuriated me to see tourists having to scrape away other people's congealed leftovers and wipe their tables with tissues and newspapers, particularly after having paid outrageous prices for their food and drinks.
As the main seating areas were inadequate, we were forced to sit in an adjoining enclosed dining area, which was even worse as there was only one fan and the place was deplorable - tables were covered with used cutlery and plates, food leftovers, soiled napkins, spilt drinks and what appeared to be vomit on the floor.
The final insult was when my wife was told by the cloakroom attendant that no liquid soap was available to wash her hands but when she demanded to speak to the supervisor, the soap receptacle was hurriedly filled with very diluted liquid soap.
As we hurriedly left, I told the catering manager the cafeteria was nothing more than a pig sty, to which he shrugged his shoulders and continued to talk to the cashier.
We left Sentosa after no more than three hours, vowing never to return. My next trip? Tourist attractions in Indonesia or Malaysia; at least the service and standard of hygiene are better - and always provided with a smile.
Philip John Williams(tourist)
Singaporean, isn't that a catastrophe?
HK improved significantly since 97 crisis. They used to look down on the mainland Chinese but now they change their attitude because their business depends on these Chinese, not the japs or the guai-lou.Originally posted by BillyBong:Unfortunately, this service issue is rampant not just in sentosa, but feeds like a plague all over singapore; plenty of reasons why:
1. Few singaporeans with the right attitude and passion enter the service sector
2. We are an impatient lot
3. Money-oriented: We 'expect' a certain standard after paying a certain cost.
4. Our demands sometimes exceeds the service person's ability to perform
Personally having served as a waiter at a prestigious cafe, i have encountered first hand the unreasonable nature of our own people. The following observations are likely taboo in our culture:
1. Expecting someone to clear up for us (any fast food outlet)
2. Expecting to be served in record time in a crowded environment
3. Very likely to lose our temper and abuse the attendant
Familiar traits anyone? We should not be so quick to blame the service line....perhaps philip john williams would like to visit Hong Kong?
I think he hasn't got a good look at other first world countries...some have their blacksheep...we have ours...they have theirs..and besides guai loh don't have a problem with people yelling at them "go back home u bloody chink"Originally posted by goatiechat:Nov 18, 2004
CUSTOMER SERVICE, OR THE LACK OF IT
The Strait Time Forum:
THERE has been substantial debate about the falling standards of customer service in Singapore and our fall from 'grace' in international ratings. Like many Singaporeans, I viewed the drop in ratings with some scepticism, attributing it to biased assessment based on marginal differences and increased competition from other countries out to make a dent in Singapore's world-class reputation.
Thus nothing could have prepared me for a recent family trip to Sentosa - long promoted as one of the Republic's premier attractions - which showed quite clearly that while our costs are first class, our attractions and services are Third World.
As I drove through the main gate, two staff members declined my $50 note as payment for four adults and four children, citing a lack of change. I was directed to a cashier nearby who issued me with the tickets.
I was told that I could park next to the Underwater World, but I eventually had to park more than 1km away, from where we had to walk 300m and join a queue of more than 100 people to catch a train that appeared every few minutes with no more than 10-15 seats available.
As it would take 50 to 60 minutes for the whole family and our friends to get on the train with two folded buggy prams, we decided to walk along what was described as a 'nature' trail.
But first we decided to have a drink and a snack at Burger King, but we gave up when we saw the queue and the filthy seating areas.
Twenty minutes later, we arrived at the Underwater World and joined a long queue to pay a $70 entry fee for three adults and two children, having decided that my wife and three-month-old twins would not accompany us as the internal staircases would make it very difficult for them to manoeuvre.
At the main entrance I requested that the security guard allow my wife to sit inside the barrier, just within the air-conditioned environment. This was acceded to only after my request was first rejected.
The tour of the aquarium went without incident, but because of crowding around the limited exhibits, it made it extremely difficult for young children to see anything of consequence. We spent no more than 15 to 20 minutes in this 'world-class' attraction and were directed to the aquarium-shop barriers where I had to insist that an alternative exit be opened to accommodate the prams.
Nothing could have prepared me for our next experience - the Aquarium Cafeteria - from the trays encrusted with food remnants and the unappetising 'local fare' to the dirty water coolers and cutlery, and the general filth of the service and food-preparation areas. Tables were covered with plates, grease and food remnants, and the floor awash with the same.
It infuriated me to see tourists having to scrape away other people's congealed leftovers and wipe their tables with tissues and newspapers, particularly after having paid outrageous prices for their food and drinks.
As the main seating areas were inadequate, we were forced to sit in an adjoining enclosed dining area, which was even worse as there was only one fan and the place was deplorable - tables were covered with used cutlery and plates, food leftovers, soiled napkins, spilt drinks and what appeared to be vomit on the floor.
The final insult was when my wife was told by the cloakroom attendant that no liquid soap was available to wash her hands but when she demanded to speak to the supervisor, the soap receptacle was hurriedly filled with very diluted liquid soap.
As we hurriedly left, I told the catering manager the cafeteria was nothing more than a pig sty, to which he shrugged his shoulders and continued to talk to the cashier.
We left Sentosa after no more than three hours, vowing never to return. My next trip? Tourist attractions in Indonesia or Malaysia; at least the service and standard of hygiene are better - and always provided with a smile.
Philip John Williams(tourist)
Singaporean, isn't that a catastrophe?
thats strange. MAYBE u haven't been to other countries yet? I've been in France, UK, US, and their service in these places are mostly exceptional. I certainly haven't had ppl screaming "go home u bloody chink" to me either. Ppl I've met in the service sector, be it large franchise restaurants, small alehouses, pubs, family diners, cafes or supermarkets, all go out of their way to be polite, friendly, helpful and accomodating. Perhaps sinagoreans should really learn to examine why other ppl say what they say about us, instead of getting defensive everytime n start yelling "why don't they look at themselves 1st", because, the truth is, IF they HAD looked at themselves 1st and then talk about us, we're gonna fall MUCH FURTHER down the scale. Be thankful that they r as lenient as they r now.Originally posted by fymk:I think he hasn't got a good look at other first world countries...some have their blacksheep...we have ours...they have theirs..and besides guai loh don't have a problem with people yelling at them "go back home u bloody chink"
I have to agree with you on this part about how we singaporean should look at ourselves and not being defensive all the times, or we will never improve which will be sad.Originally posted by HENG@:thats strange. MAYBE u haven't been to other countries yet? I've been in France, UK, US, and their service in these places are mostly exceptional. I certainly haven't had ppl screaming "go home u bloody chink" to me either. Ppl I've met in the service sector, be it large franchise restaurants, small alehouses, pubs, family diners, cafes or supermarkets, all go out of their way to be polite, friendly, helpful and accomodating. Perhaps sinagoreans should really learn to examine why other ppl say what they say about us, instead of getting defensive everytime n start yelling "why don't they look at themselves 1st", because, the truth is, IF they HAD looked at themselves 1st and then talk about us, we're gonna fall MUCH FURTHER down the scale. Be thankful that they r as lenient as they r now.![]()
Originally posted by sgdiehard:I have to agree with you on this part about how we singaporean should look at ourselves and not being defensive all the times, or we will never improve which will be sad.
Originally posted by yeebas:Come on guys, why so fierce. Why make comparisons with the poorer standards? If we keep comparing with the lower counterparts, how are we going to improve? Well, I am sure there are many countries ahead of us in terms of standard. Look above, not downwards, then our standards will always improve.If not, how are we going to be able to make a difference in the tourists? Don't forget we depend on these tourists for money.
yes guys, im glad there are many of us who are able to realise that we certainly need to improve. Lets hope that we can improve and make those tourists feel justified in paying high prices, and perhaps even give a little more in tips.Originally posted by PatrickLTH:![]()
The management at Sentosa is having a lot of answering and works to be done because of this article.
Hope that pressure can be maintained so that service standard can be improved at Sentosa.
Observations given in the article are generally correct.![]()
Everytime there is a change of management (or hiring of foreign talent), they will bring in new idea. One of them is maximise the return to the share holders only (overlooking the bigger picture to Singapore).Originally posted by all_souls:YEah improve is good... n the meantime the prices 'improve too'
From a good holiday relax sentosa, slowly becomes a rich mann land villa residential place... with stupid cars driving in... n tat guai lou cant find parking lots n he actually complaint.
SG trying to improve the economic... but i guess they did the wrong way or rather saying didnt really tot bout us, singaporeans.
SIngapore so small only really can relax place is sentosa, everything still so ex n they even let cars drive thru... sigh... money $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
$1.20 coke? hey cheap liao lo. U should jus pay n walk away with it with smiles on ur face. Some kopitiam also $1.20 ma. I got myself robbed once, at sunset bay... went to the relax corner n order a glass of coke n 1 plate of fries. the coke was served first then while waiting for the fries i took out the money n ask my fren if 4 bucks for the fries is enough? we both thought enough so i jus took out 8 bucks. then the fries came n got the bill.... F'king hell... coke 4 bucks, fries 5.60. N ever since i never patronise those 'relax corner'Originally posted by yeebas:hahaha..you should know what. Tourists areas are no-no for singaporeans.It is as good as being willingly robbed in broad daylight. A can of coke on sentosa costs S$1.20 from the dispensing machine. In cheapo shops, you can get a can of coke for S$0.60 with a special human touch. lolx..only fools will patronise tourist shops! hahha!
NV NV support the casino plan. Waste of Singapore money, to built n to maintain though after opening its a good revenue return. But com on... casino? they watch too much 'shuang tian zhi zun'? Banned this Banned tat... then they want casino then got casino... DOUBLE STANDARD!!! ASk them go reclaim one bigger land then built 'LAS VEGAS' la. better rite? crazyOriginally posted by branzzz:have to agree. the govt shouldn't create attractions for tourists only. they fail to realise that the main income probably comes from singaporeans. i work in changi airport and i realise that even with the high numbers published, not that many people actually come into the city to really visit, most just transitting inside. sentosa was an initial failure due to super high prices like those of fantasy island and underwater world. one truely wonders where all these money goes to. i personally haven't been to underwater world because of the astronaumical prices, even though i love marine creatures. i have only returned to sentosa due to the recent relaxation of prices to an affordable $2. even so, i currently go there only to use the free beaches. i do support the thought of having a casino in singapore, but wonder if it'll be forced to go the way of howpar villa and sentosa's early years.
Originally posted by all_souls:$1.20 coke? hey cheap liao lo. U should jus pay n walk away with it with smiles on ur face. Some kopitiam also $1.20 ma. I got myself robbed once, at sunset bay... went to the relax corner n order a glass of coke n 1 plate of fries. the coke was served first then while waiting for the fries i took out the money n ask my fren if 4 bucks for the fries is enough? we both thought enough so i jus took out 8 bucks. then the fries came n got the bill.... F'king hell... coke 4 bucks, fries 5.60. N ever since i never patronise those 'relax corner'
ERm.. but i've travelled around Singapore with 'pale' and 'coloured' skinned friends.Originally posted by BillyBong:Well it seems HK was kind to you then. But back when i was there in May this year, they took 'rude' and elevated it to new heights.
Sure i'm not discounting the apalling habits of singaporeans, but i'm stressing that it's not isolated to Singapore alone.
People suffer bad encounters everyway they travel. It's a combination of luck and skin colour i suppose. There's no use reading too much into one collective incident.
You are very kind to them by just not eating chicken rice. I once ordered a whole chicken with 5 packets of rice but at last minute I said too expensive and walked away. I could hear him kao peh kao bu at the back. The other times, I brought a friend there and then pretended we wanted to order and at last min I said too expensive and walked away. I think now he recognises me. I am on the look out for cockcroaches in those stalls that jack up prices. sure report to MOE if i see any.Originally posted by Typhoon:Completely unrelated incident...
During the Bird Flu period I was buying char siew rice from a coffeeshop in Clementi. (From a stall selling chicken rice)
I go up to make the purchase.
Me: Uncle, one plate char siew rice
Uncle: ok, $3.50
WTF? Why so expensive?
Me: Why so expensive?
Uncle: Bird Flu, mah.
Hello, pig can get bird flu oso ah?
The hatred I feel towards chicken rice stall owners is very great. On one hand they complain that they do not receive the emergency aid from the government, but here they jack up the $#$%ing prices until dunno wat to cover their expenses... until decent ppl cannot buy one bloody plate of char siew rice.F*ck them lah....
Even more incredible, the chee bye price has still not gone down until now!!!!!!![]()
Since then I've stopped eating chicken/duck/pork rice from Chinese stalls... dunno when the price may change. (I've been eating at KFC for the past few months until the hole in my wallet is very big)