Ok chalk up some hugh bills that you owe to government links companies.Originally posted by Qitai:You don't know what the word communism means. Real communism has nothing to do free speech. It is about the equal distribution of wealth. Don't interpret your understanding of communism based on Russia or China.
Do you have any idea what communism is?Originally posted by mistyblue:Ok chalk up some hugh bills that you owe to government links companies.
Next go vote for opposition.
Then wait and see if suddenly you will be sent all the reminders
and you are given a short deadline to pay up.
You dare to openly speak up to the current government without any fear or remifications and hostile actions taken against you?
pls go to this site ---> http://www.marxists.org/archive/marx/works/1847/11/prin-com.htmOriginally posted by Qitai:Do you have any idea what communism is?
As probably the lone american on this board I would just like to set the record straight and mention that prostitution is NOT legal in Las Vegas, NV.Originally posted by olliechong:2) Having a casino is not about providing jobs for the people, nor having a huge entertainment center for the people. It is about prostitution (it goes hand in hand with a casino, check out Macau and Las Vegas and you will know what I am talking about)
Only him alone meh.... all credits go to him hor.... Goh keng swee, toh chin guan or Lim Yew Hock all these people were dump dump hor....Originally posted by LittleTiger:Sporean are well best know to complain.......
If no MM fighting for singpapore decades ago, what will spore be like today?
A country without any natural resources, not enough water, getting thread from communist, from attack from Indonesia and the threat of eaten up by malaysia, under pressure by other big country around.
No one will help and pity spore as there is no resources to reap profit.
Only Israel did, provide military asssistant decades ago where other dont.
There was a time where m'sia federal government have station an army in johor planning to attack spore, so does Indonesia. Who help solve all these problem and takes spore to what it has today?
..... MM LKY and PAP
He bring spore to flourish and have great foresight so what he says count. Furthermore he hasnt done anything illegal using his power.
Go read more history first.
If last time unfortunately PAP lost to communist, then you will still be planting vegetable and crop in farm, rearing pigs and own nothing. Whatever you have belong to the country.
Look at the neighbours..... Suharto not bringing Indonesia to better live despise having so many resources.... his family has pocketed billion of $$$. He family was named the TOP of the list $$$ squandered from Country with Philippines, etc. In neighbour country, top person of that country can make u die and a hell life for you anytime they wish. Be happy and content life here.
Before you complain government and other people, take a look at yourself, what contribution have you done, what bad, evil despicable and unscruplous things you have done(in order to get promotion, earn more $$$, climb higher) and how much $$ you pocketed or extraly clam.
Who don't know that SG have got natural deep water port and situated at the junction of west to east and east to west and it is right in the middle of almost the sme distance.Originally posted by ObviousMan:Yes, your knowledge of history may be very good, and you can come to talk about it. British also like to talk about how great Britain was in the past with all its colonies. I am not denying MM past achievements, but the world does not care a damm about the past. And you should also not, because you are one who is going to live in the future.
How do come to this conclusion????Originally posted by bECos:I agree with Little Tiger. It is very hard to find quality people in Singapore to run for government administration. Hence, we will need to pay them more money to entice them from the private sector to join the public sectors.
If MM has decided to remain in the private sector, I think he will has earned more money than what he have now.
Instead of complaining what the government is doing, I think all Singaporean should stand out from their protective shell and make a difference.
Bravo!!! I fully support you.Originally posted by fymk:They are paid so much by the taxpayers of Singapore so the taxpayer deserves to expect first class treatment from them - hence the taxpayer has the right to complain . It is like the difference between buying a prada bag and a HDB shop bag - HDB shop sells bag cheaper - people don't kao pei kao bu but Prada shop sells their bag for like 800% more than a HDB shop - people expect quality .
What have the ministers done to deserve that type of pay? There seems to be no balance
Sorry , I must be myopic or blind but I don't see Singapore doing so well from my perspective overseas. Our dollar used to be stronger against the Australian dollar ...now it is crap. I hear my friends complaining more about joblessness nowadays rather than when I left. I hear retrenchments are getting more frequent and the old not valued but told to accept lower pay .
Yes MM did a good job as a pm but that is in the past . We are facing the future not the past , are we not? No point looking back in the past - like in the corporate world - people would like to see a vision into the future from current results. I am not seeing any results at all. I have the negative feeling that Singapore had reached her golden age and now she is tumbling down slowly from it but surely. If we want to talk about how great MM was in the past , I suggest looking at Malacca's history as well , they had a tun perak who was similar to MM in alot of ways - go find out what was the ending of Malacca when tun perak died.
Some of you may not agree with me or may take offence but that is how I , as a Singaporean, feel.
You're right, it is down to money. Cigarette companies are so rich that they can pretty much destory an economy by pulling out their subdiraries (sp?). This is a reason many countries (including the almighty US of A) do not ban smoking entirely.Originally posted by olliechong:1) If smoking is that bad, why not ban it entirely? It is not beyond the government to take such draconian measures. Remember the policy on chewing gum, the new law of topping up your Medisave or else you goto jail. Is there a hidden agenda? The taxes collected are in the millions, good cash cow. The strategy is to use the propaganda machine to sway public opinion negatively about smoking. Then increase taxes as much as possible so much so that the people even support it. So at the end of the day, the intention is not for the peopleÂ’s good, it is down to $$$. Sounds familiar?
Now, how many stories is that exactly?? It's easy to say "so many" and assign blame to something you think something is wrong. Give an actual figure and don't exeggrate.
2) Having a casino is not about providing jobs for the people, nor having a huge entertainment center for the people. It is about prostitution (it goes hand in hand with a casino, check out Macau and Las Vegas and you will know what I am talking about) , gang activities, gambling addicts (as bad as smokers), broken families. Check Australian national news and you have so many stories about how screwed up some families became as a result of their casinos. You wonÂ’t find these news reported here in Singapore as the propaganda machine is in full swing. Only positives get reported.
Ever spend an election year in the US? Trust me you'll be sick of all the trash that goes on TV. Sometimes you'll just wish they focus on how to excerise their policies instead of trashing the canidate on what he did 30 years ago. And some of these commericals are approved by the 'most powerful man in the world'.
3) Do you believe that PAP MPÂ’s are so clean. What is not reported is not lying. Look at the Americans, they are experts in this. Why harp only on the oppositionÂ’s shortfalls? We are all human, we canÂ’t be perfect. At every elections, new faces are being drafted, in the name of renewal. But have you noticed that those that are being replaced have failed miserably, but all these kept quiet and swept under the carpet.
Propaganda only works when people start buying into them. That's all I have to say about that.
4) Has the propaganda machine swayed us so much that we only believe that those with PHDÂ’s and Masters Degrees will be the only ones capable to lead us? LetÂ’s look at the policy so far. Did all these talented people really showed their talent? Some talented ones (TO) created Mediacorp and Mediaworks and look what happened today. TOÂ’s created NEL and SMRT. NEL is bleeding. TOÂ’s did not foresee that we can have a Disneyland here instead of a casino and HK got it. TOÂ’s got really excited about Lucasfilm investing here and they start propaganda about animation. Just read the ending credits for DisneyÂ’s 102 Dalmations plus all subsequent sequels for Lilo and Stitch and you would see that the Koreans are way way ahead. TOÂ’s ideas are all re-inventing the wheel. Remember footballÂ’s Goal 2010 ie. to qualify for the world cup? For all the brilliance of the talents in Singapore, nobody dares to take up the challenge and succeed. It shows a lot about the mettle and credibility of our leaders. They want the easy way out. Give an excuse and close the matter. It is not so easy when real calamities/dangers arrive. There are a whole lot more of such screw=ups by the TOÂ’s when you open your eyes to it. At the end of the day, are they really that talented?
I think you seriously havnt read much history about singapore havnt you? I know some bits of Goh Keng Swee and will tell you if not for him, we wouldnt have the most advanced and efficient yet lethal military force in asean. He is the man who built SAF from scratch and he is the man who made sure singapore has every capability we now have today. Yes, we all have to serve NS because of him but do you think we have alot of regulars in the army now? If not for the concept of the civilian army, we would have a very pathetic force and may not be singapore we know today. Please make sure you read your history before thinking the MM's men are not doing anything. I think it is a great insult to these quiet heroes who gave you the freedom to do what you want today.Originally posted by Lowclassman:Only him alone meh.... all credits go to him hor.... Goh keng swee, toh chin guan or Lim Yew Hock all these people were dump dump hor....
Have you ever considered about the fact that he is after all human and has a family to feed as well? Would you want the best for your family? Not only has MM done that he has also done more by making this country as best as it can for your family and friends. If you feel its not enough then get some help and good advice and see how you could better your life with what we have. Live the system or the system lives you.Originally posted by Lowclassman:How do come to this conclusion????
Do you know MM Lee has how many Law Firms in the world???? At least 30 all round the world.
He is doing very very well on both.
To add on further,
In order to be successful in business and go global and becoming well known and rich. One has got to have political link, either himself is statesman with super power or king of his own country. right???
So if he just an ordinary lawyer; you think he can successfully build up a least 30 Law firms around the world?
a very good concept unfortunately this world isnt built that way and not everyone plays the same rules in the same way. What if there are scrupulous people in the campaign? Then new rules will appear and not before long, it will be twisted again. Good as this idea is, it wont materialize in this world unless we can eradicate murphy's law.Originally posted by LazerLordz:We a need a campaign for truth and transparency.Never treatthe public like sheep who cannot be trusted with privy information.Transparency will help to breed trust and fairness, and reduce the chances of inevitable conflict of interests, though much disavowed by the ones who exercise their privileges, but still enjoy the benefits of such a position.
You got me freaking wrong!!!!Originally posted by Dfant:I think you seriously havnt read much history about singapore havnt you? I know some bits of Goh Keng Swee and will tell you if not for him, we wouldnt have the most advanced and efficient yet lethal military force in asean. He is the man who built SAF from scratch and he is the man who made sure singapore has every capability we now have today. Yes, we all have to serve NS because of him but do you think we have alot of regulars in the army now? If not for the concept of the civilian army, we would have a very pathetic force and may not be singapore we know today. Please make sure you read your history before thinking the MM's men are not doing anything. I think it is a great insult to these quiet heroes who gave you the freedom to do what you want today.
Yeah....yeah...I fully understand. Of course I want the best for my family!!!Originally posted by Dfant:Have you ever considered about the fact that he is after all human and has a family to feed as well? Would you want the best for your family? Not only has MM done that he has also done more by making this country as best as it can for your family and friends. If you feel its not enough then get some help and good advice and see how you could better your life with what we have. Live the system or the system lives you.
So you're suggesting that we sit back and lounge while things get worse and people suffer?Or should we always look for ways to improve and have a conclave of ideas?Gee..Originally posted by Dfant:a very good concept unfortunately this world isnt built that way and not everyone plays the same rules in the same way. What if there are scrupulous people in the campaign? Then new rules will appear and not before long, it will be twisted again. Good as this idea is, it wont materialize in this world unless we can eradicate murphy's law.
Yes and no.Sometimes, since we have the privilege of hindsight, let's not rush into things too soon.Is the casino the only viable solution to the tourism problems?I don't recall us being so hard-up for tourists.What we need is something mass-appeal.Universal Studios or Anheusier-Busch should be approached to do a feasibility study for a tropical amusement park.Originally posted by hlimkb:be specific,
be brief,
be clear headed,
the casino in sin will not turn the island upside down,
the taxes collected could be channel into building/developing infrastructure in
the old mindef, old turf club, build better hospital/health care, etc
Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I agree with you..man.Originally posted by hlimkb:be specific,
be brief,
be clear headed,
the casino in sin will not turn the island upside down,
the taxes collected could be channel into building/developing infrastructure in
the old mindef, old turf club, build better hospital/health care, etc
First, Hollywood, now Bollywood. I suggest we should have Singlywood then come with Universol Studders, Ahmah and AhKong-Busch and tomatoes amusement park.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Yes and no.Sometimes, since we have the privilege of hindsight, let's not rush into things too soon.Is the casino the only viable solution to the tourism problems?I don't recall us being so hard-up for tourists.What we need is something mass-appeal.Universal Studios or Anheusier-Busch should be approached to do a feasibility study for a tropical amusement park.
The greatest deception are the two opposition puppets in parliament.Originally posted by olliechong:Day by day it is becoming clear that what we see today may not be what it seems. Take the example of the casino issue. DidnÂ’t our parents at some point in our lives tell us that womanizing, drinking, gambling and smoking are the greatest evils. So why are we being bombarded daily nowadays with all the beautiful reports of having a casino and at the same time the evils of smoking. How much can a Singaporean take it? DonÂ’t you feel like a fool? It is so blatant that having a casino is a black mark and yet it is made out to be like virginal white. This could not be the only isolated incident. Let me make some points:
1) If smoking is that bad, why not ban it entirely? It is not beyond the government to take such draconian measures. Remember the policy on chewing gum, the new law of topping up your Medisave or else you goto jail. Is there a hidden agenda? The taxes collected are in the millions, good cash cow. The strategy is to use the propaganda machine to sway public opinion negatively about smoking. Then increase taxes as much as possible so much so that the people even support it. So at the end of the day, the intention is not for the peopleÂ’s good, it is down to $$$. Sounds familiar?
2) Having a casino is not about providing jobs for the people, nor having a huge entertainment center for the people. It is about prostitution (it goes hand in hand with a casino, check out Macau and Las Vegas and you will know what I am talking about) , gang activities, gambling addicts (as bad as smokers), broken families. Check Australian national news and you have so many stories about how screwed up some families became as a result of their casinos. You wonÂ’t find these news reported here in Singapore as the propaganda machine is in full swing. Only positives get reported.
3) Do you believe that PAP MPÂ’s are so clean. What is not reported is not lying. Look at the Americans, they are experts in this. Why harp only on the oppositionÂ’s shortfalls? We are all human, we canÂ’t be perfect. At every elections, new faces are being drafted, in the name of renewal. But have you noticed that those that are being replaced have failed miserably, but all these kept quiet and swept under the carpet.
4) Has the propaganda machine swayed us so much that we only believe that those with PHDÂ’s and Masters Degrees will be the only ones capable to lead us? LetÂ’s look at the policy so far. Did all these talented people really showed their talent? Some talented ones (TO) created Mediacorp and Mediaworks and look what happened today. TOÂ’s created NEL and SMRT. NEL is bleeding. TOÂ’s did not foresee that we can have a Disneyland here instead of a casino and HK got it. TOÂ’s got really excited about Lucasfilm investing here and they start propaganda about animation. Just read the ending credits for DisneyÂ’s 102 Dalmations plus all subsequent sequels for Lilo and Stitch and you would see that the Koreans are way way ahead. TOÂ’s ideas are all re-inventing the wheel. Remember footballÂ’s Goal 2010 ie. to qualify for the world cup? For all the brilliance of the talents in Singapore, nobody dares to take up the challenge and succeed. It shows a lot about the mettle and credibility of our leaders. They want the easy way out. Give an excuse and close the matter. It is not so easy when real calamities/dangers arrive. There are a whole lot more of such screw=ups by the TOÂ’s when you open your eyes to it. At the end of the day, are they really that talented?
I am neither pro-opposition nor pro-government. My points are merely to open up more Singaporeans to reality. Don’t be like the saying” have eyes but are blind”. You will then be doing yourself and your loved ones a great disservice.