I am not a compulsive gambler, rather I am not a gambler, I betted on Totos only during the CNY, and I had stopped bettings on the SCORE. But why would I still lose RM1500? I am not rich. I brought RM500 to Genting and I drawn RM1000 at Genting with my credit card, and knowingly prior my trip I had told myself I would stop at RM500. All my loses went to Tai-Sai. The odds of winning at impressive 1:1 had simply overwhelmed me.lets put it tis way. i rather u lose your money in a singapore casino than a malaysia one since the money will largely circulate here if u play here. without a casino in singapore, u already lost RM1500, which is RM1500 lost from our economy
Yes our government will be collecting more revenues from gaming tax, in return, the government got monies for more air-conditioned bus interchanges, more monies for the 9th and 10th and 11th wonders, more monies for their salary adjustment, more monies to lower the personal income tax.I guess u have a problem with gov having more money
The govt ministers know gambling is no good.But because of MONEY, they would probably approve a cansio.So it would be sacrificing moral principle to get mloney.So u support the govt to do this kind of thing?The govt ministers know smoking is no good.But because of MONEY, they would probably approve selling cigerrettes.So it would be sacrificing moral principle to get money.So u support the govt to do this kind of thing?
For example, let's say father used to bring daughter to the Zoo and buys her an ice cream each time. Now that his money goes to the casino, he can no longer afford to bring her to the Zoo or buy her the ice cream, so both Zoo and ice cream seller suffer (on top of the family that is). Whatever the casino gains is at the expense of the Zoo and the ice cream seller. In other words, notwithstanding the social impact, other parts of the economy suffer even as our casino thrives. The retail industry will suffer because there is less money for shopping ...actually u r comparing with a family tat have a gambling addict father. wat will happen to other normal families who do not gamble regularly ? Life goes on and the kid get her ice cream. In fact she may get a double scoop of since the father can save money from no increase in tax and her mother working in the casino, increasing their income. The retail industry may, on contrary, improve
Gambling is a zero sum game, what one loses another gains, in this case what the people lose, the government gains. Unless the losses come from tourists, the country as a whole gains nothing and the casino becomes a futile waste of time and energy. Why should tourists come all the way here to gamble when they have bigger gambling dens in their own backyards?true. But locals gambling overseas is much worse than they gambling here. The effect on tourism may not be as bleak as u think as well
The casino also purports to create jobs for Singaporeans - a noble claim indeed. What quality jobs are we creating? What value add is there? Does it add to our competitiveness? How much productivity will it add? What if as a result of gambling, people give up other past times like swimming or cycling? The swimming pool closes down? The lifeguard goes out of job? The bicycle kiosk owner starts looking for another job? Without real injection of tourism money, as long as the casino derives its money primarily from our fellow countrymen, the benefits it gains will be negated elsewhere (zero sum game).I believe jobs from casinoes, hotels and restaurant r not bad jobs. It do adds to our competitiveness in tourism. BTW do u really think tat once the casino opens, then EVERYBODY will become addicts instantly so much so tat the pool have no people ? Then I guess all american r gamblers, all japanese play pinball and no other things and all malysian can't swim because they go to genting every week. Is tat the case we seeing ? Tue, there will be an increase in addicts but your examples just give me the picture tat u think everybody will become addicts
Of course there is money to be made from the casino, except it would mostly come from our fellow Singaporeans. Tourists have their own casinos back home and have no need to visit ours. In the end it would be Singaporeans giving money to foreign consortiums + state coffers.as said before, if all tourists have bigger ones, than why singapore don't have ? u probably acknowledge tat almost the whole world of developed countries have casinoes
Is it really as simple as that? You just bring people from the ships to Sentosa while the rest of the island remain largely unaffected? It's more troublesome to clear customs to go on cruises to nowheres so only genuine gamblers do that.well how troublesome can it get ? As long as u got a singapore passport, 10 minutes of your time is all it need to board the ship, especially it is to nowhere. Whole HDB crowding sentosa ?
You bring the gambling den to Sentosa and extend the MRT line to it and you have the whole HDB neighbourhood crowding Sentosa. There is also an MRT to take cruie to nowhere as wellWhy, in tat now probably the whole HDB already went to the turf club since there is also an MRT close to it. Do we really see tat happen ?
You're making gamblers out of non-gamblers and that's a sin.Then gov probably shouldn't sell cigerrettes. WHy ? They r making smokers out of non-smokers and tat is a sin. GOv shouldn't sell alcohol. They r making alcoholic out of non-alcoholic. Gov shouldn't show RA films. They r making lechers out of normal people and tat is a sin. Then maybe singapore can start to become a muslim state as well where they force women to cover from head to toe so tat men will not becom rapers out of normal people. Surely u should know wat is free will.
Using the same logic, if YOU don't want to smoke heroin that is ur choice. Heroin smokers choose to smoke heroin and we as a democratic society should defend his right to smoke heroin ... coz it simply is the same.true, but isn't gambling already, in some form exists here ? Heroin is gonna cause much harm to the people and should never take root here. But for gambling, u can get a cruise to nowhere easily everyday already. The only difference when building a casino here is a casino on land
So you see, they are not entirely the same. You don't get addicted by eating fast food. You do get addicted to smoking, but you don't puff away your lifesavings or borrow twice that amount for your daily dosage of nicotine. The first time you gamble, it's your choice.u never gonna get cancer from gambling. U neevr gonan affect the respiratory system of your child from smoking. U never drive badly (alcohol) causing accidents when u gamble. U never get a liver failure from gamblign as well. Each ills have its own problems.
Second time, perhaps. But once you become addicted ... you're no longer rational enough to exercise your freedom of choice anymore ... and it's really a sin to take away someone's conscious ability to discern right from wrong (his freedom of choice so to speak) in a democratic country.if u talk about addiction, then smoking, alcohol, heck even super glue can casue addiction. SO we should ban all of them in order for someoen to maintain his conscious ability to discern right from wrong. BTW, wat gives u the right to say tat people who r addicted cannot have any rights to do wat they want ?
In the same token, it is not heroin that ruin people, its people who ruin themselves. nobody is forced to take heroin, people take heroin out of their own will. The first time you take heroin, it may be yor own folly. The second time round, not so anymore. You've become enslaved to heroin. Heroin has taken over your body. You have no free will of your own anymore. Same goes for casino. The first time Ah Beng visits the casino, it is his free choice no doubt. But once he becomes addicted, is it still fair to say "no one forced him to go in"? Is it moral for us to hook people onto heroin or casinos and then say it is his free choice not to continue smoking heroin or going into the casino?However heroin is different because it is physically specially made to be addictive. It is scientifically proven tat certain substance in it will force most nromal people into heroin smoking. and frankly, if they choose to smoke heroin themselves, it is true they r ruining themselves as well.
It's like someone's digging a big hole in the ground and many people are going to fall into it. But since I'm not affected I say it's people themselves kayu walk into the big hole. Isn't it selfish to watch people fall into the hole while you stand by and watch?It is like digging a big hole as a tiger trap to make the community safer. Warnings have been given to the residents and they do trap a few tigers. However a person fell into the trap unwittingly. SO should we remove the tiger trap and make the whole village unsafe just for a few individuals ?
So you're saying even as you do not wish your child to be a drug addict, you'd still legalise marijuana, heroin ... even if you do not wish to see your child killed by a bullet in school, you'd still legalise firearms in Singapore?Ahh... tat probably will depends on a few factors. Gambling is already well established here. Banning a casino or not is not gonna help anything. Furthermore a casino do help our economy greatly and therefore it can be considered. Wat about drugs ? there r virtually no drugs in singapore and a ban is effective in protecting my kid. Drug is not gonna make a nation richer or improve the economy as well. The same arguments go for firearms. Therefore I will ban drugs and firearms in singapore, but not a casino
While that precept is true, we wouldn't want to become their accomplices in ruining themselves.we shouldn't be the person who stop people from working or giving hotels/restaurants a chance to earn a profit as well. It is not a black and white issue. If u r kind to the potential addicts, u will be cruel to the hotel owners and jobless people.
You've never tasted marijuana, do you feel a strong urge to have it? You see, unlike basic urges for food and sex which we are borne with, the urge to smoke or gamble are not something we are predisposed with. They are acquired and where do we acquire them from? From family and society at large. We can't control the family the least we can do is not let society degrade itself.true, but on the other side of the coin, we will be seeing our tourist sector becoming from bad to worse. In a sense we r watching our society degrade itself as well. We can't have a win win situation. Most decisions don't have and u have to see which one is mroe critical for continuing the soceity
No place better to go is poor excuse for setting up an activity that is technically a vice. Nothing better to do, smoke marijuana too?Technicslly speaking, most entertainment outlet r vices. U think a cinema is not a vice when it do propangate children to becoem more violent. U think video games is good for the children since it make them addicts as well. So there is a scale on the harmful effect of certain activities. Casino has its theme parks and it do make a good place to go when u r bored. Frankly I find smokign marijuana or smoking r boring so I will not do them even when I am bored.
This is akin to saying "My classmate is better at biology, I dun give up, I try harder to beat him. My classmate is also better than me at telling lies and stealing so I shouldn't give up either but try to outdo him". You put in an honest day's study, you do better at biology. Telling lies and stealing no doubt involve more risk taking but are they worth risking for?the example u give is completely wrong. I am asking people not to be afraid of competition, to strive to carve out a nich for themselves. As said before, just because finland start to do life sciece we should all back down and stop our own research in tat ? Tat is dumb and suicidal. If I used to be the top student in my class in bio, should I give up reading bio because someone beat me once in an exam ? Your example is refering to something completely different, something about kiasuism and being the first in everything include silly tings like tellign lies (how about being first in no tellign lies ? if u r number one in an area inevitably u r the last in a different category such as if u r the ugliest girl in the class u can't be the most beautiful one at the same time)while the things i have been saying is about not afraid of competition. R u sure u r reading correctly ?
Macau has often been cited as proof of the economic value of the casino industry, which purportedly brings in 16 million visitors each year. Before we jump to conclude that this is sure jackpot for us, we need to ask ourselves where those 16 million come from. If we draw a 500 mile radius around Macau, how many of those 16 million visitors fall outside it? You draw the same circle around Singapore, consider the kind of people residing in the circle and you have a rough idea what kind of market potential we're talking about.as said before, if there r no money gonna be earned, then why is there people preparing their proposals to build a casino ? Even if u draw a 500 mile radius, u can find pretty much population as well
We can't just copy and paste formulas without thinking how applicable they are to us. Casinos make sense for Macau because demand is right at their doorstep. If all that the Chinese wish is to gamble, why fly all the way here when they have Macau? In the end, the potential casino patrons would mostly be Singaporeans than tourists. So the potential for a big bang tourist influx doesn't seem as great as that of a mad Singapore rush and consequently the potential for great economic benefits pale in comparison with the potentially greater negative impacts the casino has on our fellow Singaporeans.
Others have quoted job creation as reason enough to have a casino. But there's more than meet the eye. When a salesman wishes to sell you something, he packages it such that you believe he's offering you something for your own good, something you really need. Similarly when a government tries to sell its people a policy, it will also take great pains to make them believe it has their concerns at heart. We are made to see that 5000 jobs will be created for us. What we are not told is that that is actually the short end of the stick. Because if you compare 5000 jobs against say $5 billion, who stands to gain more? Ultimately it is our fellow countrymen (gamblers no doubt) who would be employing those 5000 and contributing even more to the state coffers. When the purported good of creating 5000 jobs is compared against nurturing 500,000 gamblers, we should start wondering whose concerns are really closest to their hearts?so u believes tat the casino do indeed give other people employment. Why don't u try to answer whether will the tourism in singapore improves ? However u feel it is gonna make 500,000 gambler, which meant 1/6 of singaporean will become gambling addicts. How accurate do u think tis is ? Frankly singaporean already use 6 billions on various form of gambling. Do we see 1 in six singaporean being gambler addicts ?
A good way to sell something is to appeal to current tastes and fashion. The in-thing now is to "be different", to "try new things" and to be "mature". It appeals to those who do not wish to be seen as either conservative or immature, who readily lap up the slogan and become its walking advocate. But there is another recent slogan which is "to think for ourselves and not always rely on the government". Why then do we regurgitate every word it says without the slightest processing?
If we peel away the packaging surrounding the offering, it is at its very core a merely easy way of making money. As simple as that. What happens when leaders take the easy way out? What does it show of them?Dun know. Wat does it show on malaysian, japanese, british, american leaders when they started the casino ?
The apparent jobs being created by the casino are self evident and easy to see. But the indirect job losses in other sectors due to substitution say from clubbing to gambling are much more difficult to fathom and appreciate. In the end there may be no real job creation but mere job shifting from one sector to another. There is no doubt tourism is a major issue but the assertion that "tourism will receive a much needed boost" is questionable. How much boost? Are they worthwhile? If you give your coffeeshop a new coat of paint, it'll definitely look nicer and more people will come. But if the paint costs $2000 but brings in only two extra customers per day, then you're better off leaving the coffeeshop as it were.why does clubbing and gambling becoming opposition to each other ? If there is an increase in tourism, in fact it will increase the pool size of the peopel here and increase the business of clubing as well.
If we build a Disney here, yes I agwee people will come from far and wide. But if it's just another resort cum casino, even if it is the best in the world, I doubt so ... which part of the world doesn't have resorts or casinos? Just because we build a lavish toilet here doesn't mean people will travel 200 miles to use it. Building the best casino in the world or for that matter any infrastructure you can think of is what our government is best at. But tourists don't come just because there's a beautiful hotel for them to sleep in. They come because there is something here they don't have back home and the casino is not one of them.then tat is the starneg thing, u say tat almost all the world have casinoes, why not singapore ? Do uthink the gov of other nations r idiots and wanna see their citizen die becoming gambling addicts ? Why doesn't a casino cum resort works ? I can see many peopel going to genting or las vegas isn't it ? So wat works ? volcanoland, tang dynasty or haw par villa works ?
Some people have cited big casinos in Monte Carlo and Las Vegas as reason for their success worthy of our emulation. But we should'nt confuse cause with effect. It is not because Monte Carlo and Las Vegas are big that makes them successful. It is because they are successful (fuelled by demand from their respective home bases) that they have grown big. The reverse may not be true. Just because we build a big casino doesn't mean it is gonna be successful. Just because we built a world class opera theatre doesn't mean it can become a successful one. Are they gonna sustain the esplanade losses indefinitely? Vegas is surrounded by rich Americans, Monte Carlo by rich Europeans, Macau by rich Hong Kongers plus mainland Chinese. We are surrounded by poor Indonesia and not so rich Malaysia.U think u got it wrong. It is common sense tat casinoes be big in order to pull in people. It is they being big which make them successful. Why do u say otherwise ? If u r right, then surely there should be some small casinoes beign successful as well, where r they ? And if the casino fails, then why does it concern u ? It is the problem of the casino builders isn't it ? U think they don't know the geography of singapore ?
I remember when they first refurbished Sentosa, they charged exhobitant entrance prices. Nobody went, so they lowered prices. Still nobody went, they made it free entry.tat is right. Why ? because has sentosa fallen to such a state ? Because it is boring. So wat should we do ? Make something attractive.
Today casino entry $100. Years later casino not doing well they decide to lower it to $50 ... then $20 ... then free entry ...
Another stupid logic. Already got so much illegal gambling therefore gambling should be legalised. Already so much illegal drug abuse therefore drug abuse should be legalised. Already so much people pui chao nua at ... so pui chao nua at ... should be legalised ...really ? got a lot of illegal drugs here meh ? Got a lot of people pui chao nua meh ? I do see a lot of peopel becoming gays, so gays inded has sort of become accepted as well
The casino sounds like a good opportunity for an 'O' level but for every 'O' level the casino employs, another hundred would be tempted to make a quick buck out of it and end up gambling for the rest of their lives.Then if going by yoru logic, probably all americam, japanese, malaysia r gamblers now. Why do the whole world build casinoes if wat u say r true ? Tis is because the real gambling addicts r really rare and few in between. Most people r casual gamblers.
My boss made $1 million profit recently, yes growth trickled down, he treated us each to a McDonald's hamburger.tat is your boss. If your father get 1o million, will u get any benefits from it ?
That is the kind of "growth" that results from gambling. Las Vegas prospers at the expense of its neighbouring states, Macau at the expense of neighbouring Chinese. In the end, the casino is nothing more than a vacuum pump, sucking in funds from all around while creating little. There is nothing much to suck from neighbouring Malaysia or Indonesia so we'd end up sucking ourselves. You might find after 40 years, Ang Mo Kio, Hougang and Woodlands have shrivelled while Sentosa has bloated ... shop in Ang Mo Kio close down and reopen in Sentosa, worker in Hougang now works in Sentosa ... what growth?I think u get it wrong. as Vegas is probably bigger in signapore. So if going by your logic, singapore will propers at the benefit of its neighbouring countries. Singapore is so small for your info
What kind of economics is that? Supply and demand determine the amount of taxes I pay? How much tax we pay is decided by the very people who'd benefit most from the casino. They want to tax us more, they tax us more. They want to tax us less, they tax us less.the amount of money gov had will affect on how tax is collected from singaporean. U prefers gov to be poor meh ?
You see one ang moh in Africa and you conclude Africa is ang moh country? Just because our good friend here doesn't gamble doesn't mean everybody else is like him. Casino doesn't create gambling problems for him because he's got better ways of making money. Our 'O' levels would be more tempted ... the very people that were supposed to benefit from it.why do u think "o" levels r more likely to be gamblers ? isn't it the case of seeing one ang mo in africa and saying africa is an ang mo country ? Most gamblers r like u and me. They play for fun.
Yes the stock market is one big gambling den but just because it is doesn't mean we should have another one. Two wrongs don't make a right. One harm on top of another becomes two harms.looking at another angle, if your current situation is already bad, might as well make use of it and let it become an opportunity instead. If your hand is dirty, might as well use it to do more dirty jobs while u r at it. If u can't walk properly with one broken high heel shoes, might as well break the other so u can walk more comfortably to the shoe shop. If your business can't earn much money, might as well sell it off to prevent loses.
I guess u have a problem with gov having more money lets jus say if they made enough tax from gambling, they will have mroe budget to play with and the tendency they use it for something good increase. If they find themselves havign lesser money, than u can be sure some tax from somewhere will increase, making life more miserable than ever.One shouldn't assume that the casino would always bring in more monies. If the casinos bring in billions only in the first couple year, and our gov had rewarded themselves with a fat raise, are we going to sacrifice more chao kwey teow when the billions stopped coming in?
how often does he go genting? once a year? with a casino in singapore, he can go every week. it may be another five years before he goes genting again but he can lose $1,500 in Sentosa every week ...If I want, I can go to genting every week. It is because it does not interest me tat is why I go there, well, probably once a year.
he doesn't have a problem with gov more money, just gov wasting money on the wrong things. if gov keep wasting money, no amount of taxes will be adequate to play with and the tendency to waste funds is more likely than the tendency to do something good with it.So given the same gov, is more money for them better or worse ? If they have no money, they will increase the tax to earn back tat amount. And frankly, why do u say our gov is wasting money ? DO they spend money differently when compared with other countries ?
better to be more white than black. the good not worth the bad.it is good for a decision to go for more benefit than problems. But then which one gives off more benefits ? U say for casino the black is more. I say with a casino the white is more. So which to choose ?
doesn't matter whether the father is addict or not or whether he goes only once, or once every week. each $1 he gives to the casino is a $1 lost to his family. the $1 that daddy gave casino gets used for other priorities like minister's pay so there's no change in daddy's tax and hence no savings for him. consequently daughter's left with no scoop, let alone double scoop while mother works her butt off to pay off gambling debts. the retail industry hence suffers.I think there appears to be some gov bashing in here. Is the gov rerally tat bad tat singaporean r left with no welfare and no money ? If u say tat going to casin oto waste $1 is a waste to the family, then going to cinema to watch movies is also a waste of money to the family. In fact eating ice cream is a waste of money as well
we should look at the context of everyone at stake. it is not just the gamblers that are affected, the rest of the country are involved too. you bring the gamblers back, you tempt many more others who would otherwise not be bothered to go overseas to gamble. tourists have bigger casinos because their populations are sizeable enough to support them. we can't be like them because we don't have that kind of population and our neighbours are simply too poor.I think u have think a step much too far. Now they don't have tat big a casino. So we make use of tis opportunity to make money from tat fact. If we think like u, then we should not invest on anything. U invest in a hotel for wat ? In the end the bigger countries is gonna make a bigger hotel as well and they have a bigger population, thus can substain it. Then in the end singapore company will still die because we do not have tat population and our neighbours r too poor. We invest in a company for wat ? Our population will not last tat company and other bigger nations will make similar products. In the end we also die. Then we can just die off now.
they are not bad jobs but they can be better. you must be kidding, you can't understand an illustration when you see one? the point isn't about instantly or over many years or one person or everybody, it illustrates that because of subsitution, other industries suffer and consequently we gain nothing.Then why don't u propose something to make singaporean have better jobs ? On your illustrations, it has gone off to be too exergerrated to the point of being ridiculous. U say tat if a casino is open, then no one will swim ? Isn't tat ridiculous to become out of point ?
of couse that's not the case we're seeing and why? because there are so many more americans and japs around they have enough people doing just about everything. every singaporean crowd in the casino, what happens to the rest of the city?But they certainly have much more casinoes and much more pinball companeis as well. Why do u think every singaporean will become gamblers addicts when not every japanese/american become gambling addicts. The japanese never crowd to their pinballs so much so tat their rest of the cities become empty. Why singapore will become tat ? Japanese r not human meh ?
said too before, tourists come from much bigger, more populous and richer countries. now you're finally gettin somewhere. yes, casinos mostly reside in populous and rich regions but ours is not.Las Vegas is a desert area before. It is not populous not rich then. When Macau started, the area around it is poor as well. U talk about China but they face a very great difficulty in going to macau during those communist years then. They manage to be successful. Singapore is a transit point for many nations. Isn't tat a good point to start off ?
troublesome enough. to that effect yes.not troublesome enough to pay a $100 for the entry
yes it happens every week ... and it's so crowded it's like the whole HDB is there ...Then singapore already have a much established casino liek gamblign area. Wat is the diff if u add in another one ?
three sins in a row justifies a fourth? how many cigarettes can you smoke a day? how many bottles of alcohol can you consume a day? how many RA shows can you watch a day? how much money can you gamble away on a single wager? surely you know the numbersHow many people die of cancer from gambling ? How many die from drink driving ? How many lechers becoem molesters and rapers from gambling ? Com'on, the result of each effect is different. U can't compare aple with oranges and talk about totally different statistic. 3 sins in a row meant tat there is no such thing as a sinfree society.
Gambling berthed just outside our docks makes it right for us to bring it ashore? people fighting along the corridor we invite them to fight inside our house? at least with ship you still have to take the trouble to clear customs, so only genuine gamblers bother to do so. you bring the gambling den ashore and extend the MRT line to it, you make it so much easier for our fellow countrymen to become gamblers.For your first question. yes. For your second question, the analogy is off. Why ? because casino is something some people volunterrily who want to do it, and fighting is, presume u r normal, something nobody wanna do. It is more like if clarke quay has pubs, why not let places like mohd sultans have them too ? As said before, the custom i as simple as singaporean going to malaysia to eat seafood. The only difference is already as thin as waffle. In short, 10 minutes. Is 10 minutes tat great a deterence ?
so just because gambling doesn't give you cancer it is a lesser evil than smoking? just because you can smoke irresponsibly infront of your child therefore you can gamble and squander away his future? just because you might drive irresponsibly due to excessive alcohol you're not wrong to gamble away your family fortune? just because gambling doesn't exhibit the ills of other vices it should be allowed? just because an ill doesn't kill us a hundred and one ways it should be condoned?no, but I am trying to tell u u should comapre apples with apples. U should compared the problem of smokign with smoking and not problem of smoking with gambling. Tat seems incredible silly. If u talk about gambling and wasting away money, then u should talk about smoking and its cancerous effect. U should talk about drink driving. U shouldn't talk about problem of alcohol with problems of gambling. tat is so out of point
not banning super glue gives you the right to sanction gambling? what makes you think that addicted people still know what they want? you know what is addiction or not?No, we do not ban super glues because there r people who use it correctly and wisely. We don't ban alcohol because most drinkers drink properly. tat is why we shouldn't ban casino because there most people gambles normally.
1% based on what? first encounter? you go genting once a year, maybe 1% chance addiction. you go sentosa every week, still 1%? so just because I can be addicted to alcohol I might as well get addicted to gambling as well?Most singaporean probably went to genting and gamble before and now less than 1 % r addictive gamblers. Isn't tat a good enough statistic ? Why will I go to sentosa every week unless i am already addicted to gambling ? And about comparing with drinking, it is because both have a low chance of addiciton. If u felt drinking and its addiciton problem is negligible, than u should feel tat gambling and its addiciton should be negligible as well
tigers have their own jungles, even if you set the biggest trap in the world, they won't bother to come. why swim across oceans just to catch a mousedeer when there are plenty of sambar deer at home? trap a few wild boars maybe. so for the sake of one tiger you have no qualms about trapping all other forest inhabitants? just because you set up warning sign gives you the right to set up snares? in fact, the more appropriate analogy is that you're inviting a tiger to come and prey on us ...u get the whole analogy wrong. Tigers have their own jungles, and the tribes r living in it. If u don't set the traps, they will come over and rip u up. If u don't put traps and risk very very few people felling into the traps, u have put the probability of the whole village safety at risk of being killed by tigers.
gambling is already lurking in some dark corners so we bring them out for everyone? does not help so we encourage instead?Gamblign is already out of the table, like the many people going to turf clubs every week. u just choose not to see it openly. U think by bannign casinoes the people going to turf club will decrease ? The people will stop going to genting ?
if drug is not lucrative why are people willing to drug traffic and risk the death sentence? why are there juntas who specialise in selling drugs to finance the country? in any case what you're saying is that as long as there's money in it, you won't ban it, so morality isn't an issue here then? then drugs being lucrative, you also would not ban.If u r a private dealer, u can earn a lot of money because the demand is much higher than the supply. if u r a gov, u r nto going to earn much money, perhaps just another ciggerrettes tax at best. Furthermore u totally ignore my earlier point saying tat drugs and firearms have been effectively stemmed in singapore and therefore it make sense to continue it. If u think, like US tat firearms is so easily assessible, they can ban firearms evern if they want to ? Furthermore when we decide on a policy, we look at the pros and cons. The pros of a casino is so much more than the pros of firearms and drugs. the cons of casino is also much lower than drugs and firarms. Lets just say it tis way... probably most developed countries have casinoes while very lvery few countries legalised drugs and firearms. Why do u think tis is so ? So it is a different category altogether
By snow leopard:how often does he go genting? once a year? with a casino in singapore, he can go every week. it may be another five years before he goes genting again but he can lose $1,500 in Sentosa every week ...
By stupidissmart:As I said I am not a gambling addict, I have no intent of travelling for 8h (or 16h for round trip) each week to Genting.
If I want, I can go to genting every week. It is because it does not interest me tat is why I go there, well, probably once a year.