It's sad that we have money face government and also act monkey faces too.Originally posted by sweetevil:The stewpid gahman always wanted her people to express and share their views on policies issues etc BUT do they really give a DAMN??
So many of us had already expressed our views on the casino issue but WHY?? WHY do they not even listen? IS the FREAKING income to our country MORE important that our societies social views on the casino? How many more families do you wanna see dead like the Tampines family before you decided to close it down?
It simply disappoints me that our all our gahman is thinking is MONEY! Our gahman doesn't even care about people's lives and family bonding. A gambler in the house will never bring joy back to the family.
Even for the MRT deaths, our gahman think it's a waste of money building the barricades doors for the few independent cases.
IS A FREAKING LIFE NOT AS IMPORTANT AS THE BUCKS SPENT TO PREVENT IT?
WE PAID FREAKING TAX EVERY YEAR MIND YOU! WE SHOULD HAVE A SAY IN EVERYTHING TOO! NO?
I'm sadden by the fact that our gahmen is SO COLD-BLOODED. They only think about MONEY...
Agree. My view is that it should come sooner. I hope we are not too late. It is actually too late for investors in Tang Dynasty and Sentosa previous investors.Originally posted by tarutaru:Casino BIG YES
Next year~!~!~!~!~!~!~!Originally posted by F Bunta:When will the government announce their decision on the selection of casino design?
What happen hah......Originally posted by F Bunta:When will the government announce their decision on the selection of casino design?
Originally posted by dragg:extracted from straits times forum.
I REFER to the article, 'Govt drops cap on casino earnings for IRs' (ST, Oct 1.
The proposal to have an entry levy of $100 per day or $2,000 per annum for Singapore citizens and PRs might result in adverse selection.
The levy, included in the Casino Control Bill, is intended to be a barrier or disincentive for Singaporeans to gamble.
As the gambling institutions would be unable to distinguish and filter out 'true gamblers' from 'recreational gamblers', the proposed entry fee would act as one of the many prongs of social safeguard applicable to all.
However, in my view, the 'recreational gamblers' are not likely to fork out $100 to possibly lose $500 more, while the 'true gamblers' would not mind paying a small sum in order to win big (why do you think they are called gamblers?).
In short, the people who are willing to pay are the high-risk ones - hence the issue of adverse selection - and these are the people the casino should restrict.
In order not to discriminate, perhaps a lower fee of $20 (or maybe even no fee), could be levied and this could be coupled with having people sign in and producing their ICs when changing money.
The information would then be captured in a database, and action taken if any unhealthy visiting or spending patterns are observed.
This way, casinos will be accessible to more Singaporeans and only the inveterate gamblers would be monitored.
Alwin Low Mun Kit
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
you're another product of government brainwashing. well done ol'chap.Originally posted by archon1234:Dun look down on our Sg leader lah. So bad, we are not really depending the Casino as the last ditch effort to relieve the Sg economy.
One must understand that a rich Sg economy doesn't mean a full 100% employment for singaporean. Singapore economy is strong due to her special status as a port in the most important sea trade route in the world, we have successfully becoming the 3rd oil trading centre. More importantly, the Singapore finance hub status has taken off due to the good and sound banking infrastructures and positive Sg gov support. But as mentioned by many in the forum before, banking sectors and biomedical sectors have offer many high pay specialised jobs. But many local talents are not ready, not to say local talent no good enough.
I would say local talents are lacking behind the "top notched" foreign talents that Gov bring in. Employers are more ready to get the specialised foreign talents-
1) their special connections / networks of associate around the world.
2) their salary would not be much more expensive than local talents
3) they can be retrenched easily anytime if the market outlook changes or demand drops or their performance not on par
4) no training is required. employers just hired and fired.
5) no need CPF contribution
6) Gov supportive as this could be a way to boast our Sg population by giving out PR or through inter-marriage
7) Foreign talents could also bring in good money with them as they could be very rich prior coming to Sg to work.
As you can see a lot of specialised jobs are in the hands of the Foreign Talents. Our local talents must be not so contended. So Sg gov must open up new sectors to accomdate the space needed for our precious local talents to fulfil the dream of becoming rich young and retired early lah. How? Open up the service sector lah, attract more tourist $$ **which is usually easy money**. In addition, these create emplyment opporunity for the large pool of Singaporeans laid off by the moving out MNCs, while they also create opporunities for those who want to venture out and become their own boss. But all action plans need time to implement, dun expect any quick fix for our 4%++ unemployment rate. But trust me, time will heal our wound, ands make us stronger.
shouldnt people be allowed to do what they want? by restricting and controlling gambling aren't you exhibiting nanny-like behavior aka the present government?Originally posted by goh meng seng:This argument is totally flawed!
For high risk gamblers, no matter what "safeguards" you put, they will want to gamble. The gamble addiction is already high.
Putting a $20 fee would prevent them from gambling in casinos? Would that make a difference?
What we should prevent is for "innocent" recreational visitors from becoming problem gamblers! Thus, as the author has correctly put, the $100 fee will prevent them from "trying their luck" that would eventually "turning into gambling addicts"!
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by vito_corleone:shouldnt people be allowed to do what they want? by restricting and controlling gambling aren't you exhibiting nanny-like behavior aka the present government?![]()
You got the right point, bro.Originally posted by charlize:Imagine you have foreign friends coming to visit you in Singapore.
Friend: Hey, let's go visit your casino. Heard a lot of things about it.
You: Sorry, can't follow you in there. I have to pay $100 just to step in there.
Friend: Wtf? This casino is for whom? Tourists only?
You: ...
You got the right point, bro.Originally posted by charlize:Imagine you have foreign friends coming to visit you in Singapore.
Friend: Hey, let's go visit your casino. Heard a lot of things about it.
You: Sorry, can't follow you in there. I have to pay $100 just to step in there.
Friend: Wtf? This casino is for whom? Tourists only?
You: ...
Hi Gioh meng Seng,Originally posted by goh meng seng:It is strange indeed. Nobody in his right mind would want their children to be gamblers but there are people who would support Casino!
Never mind about that. For those who want a casino here, have you done your research thoroughly? Don't just write off "social cost" so easily; PAP knows they could not argue against the apparent high "social cost", thus, they just say it is not about social cost vs economic gains. That's cool and neat but simply put it, they are just sweeping the dirt below the carpet!
Of course, with a twist, they say it is about OUR MATURITY as a society! Cool. Nobody wants to be seen as "immature" and not agreeing to have a Casino would be seen as "IMMATURE"! Hahaha. That's strange. If you know the odds of losing in a casino, any MATURE human being will not be visiting the casino! Then, the most important question to ask is, why have a casino in the very first place to hoodwink those "IMMATURE" ones?
I would suggest for those who thinks Casino could bring in all the monies, do some research first. Try to do a search on googles with "NGISC", short form for "National Gambling Impact Studies Commission". This is a study commissioned by the world's most liberal govt on earth, USA. See for yourselves what's in it for us if we go ahead with a casino.
And strategically speaking, we will all become suckers in the end of the day. I will touch on this later.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by Arena:Hi Gioh meng Seng,
are u from Workers' Party??
i support the view of casino in sg...
look at the revenue and jobs it will generate...