you obviously have no entrepreneurship in you.. haven't you heard the phrase NO PAIN NO GAIN, NO RISK NO PROFIT? if all the world's businessmen and leaders were like you, boy this would be a VERY VERY POOR and BORING WORLD.Originally posted by stupidissmart:I think tat some market survery or risk assessment was made... Frankly the idea of a casino making money is so obvious tat most members of the public knew it to be a fact.
honestly, if casinos promise a 20% tax...that'll be enough.Originally posted by sarek_home:I don't mind give it a try if the casino investor is willing to promise at list $500 million a year gambling tax. If you think it is too high, name a figure.
I don't mind give it a try if the casino investor is willing to promise at list $500 million a year gambling tax. If you think it is too high, name a figure.If u ask me, 500 million is 0.5% of our reserves or one year of our GDP(combination of singapore mnc pay to employees, all gov companies, overseas companies, tourist money etc). Wat is more, tis is only tax and not the total income. I don't know how to name figures but I just ask u to be more realistic
You have misread what I said: "the resort sequeezes other entertainment establishments out". Would it be good if that entertainment establishment be Sentosa, and the Zoo. We are talking about 5 to 10 years consideration. By then the region may be saturated with casino. Why? The casino operator want to use S'pore as a springboard to invade the regionIf u talk about 5 to 10 years time where every countries had their casinoes, then your entertainment establishment is going to fail too. I think tis is a bit... off... as said before, tis is anti competition. Why stop a bigger shopping centre to be built just because it will take out other shopping centre business ? If other country also built bigger shopping malls, our smaller shopping malls will face a tougher time coping with it rather than the proposed larger one isn't it ? Tis make us better equipped to cope with competition from other region. Tis is competition, and it is not over competition.
I think tat some market survery or risk assessment was made... Frankly the idea of a casino making money is so obvious tat most members of the public knew it to be a fact.Some casinoes companies had expressed interest in developing the casino of singapore. Surely they r well versed in market survey and risk assessments when it comes to casinoes.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:If u talk about 5 to 10 years time where every countries had their casinoes, then your entertainment establishment is going to fail too. I think tis is a bit... off... as said before, tis is anti competition. Why stop a bigger shopping centre to be built just because it will take out other shopping centre business ? If other country also built bigger shopping malls, our smaller shopping malls will face a tougher time coping with it rather than the proposed larger one isn't it ? Tis make us better equipped to cope with competition from other region. Tis is competition, and it is not over competition.
You dun need 5 to 10 years that long, to learn how to run something like this.Originally posted by stupidissmart:If u talk about 5 to 10 years time where every countries had their casinoes, then your entertainment establishment is going to fail too. I think tis is a bit... off... as said before, tis is anti competition. Why stop a bigger shopping centre to be built just because it will take out other shopping centre business ? If other country also built bigger shopping malls, our smaller shopping malls will face a tougher time coping with it rather than the proposed larger one isn't it ? Tis make us better equipped to cope with competition from other region. Tis is competition, and it is not over competition.
Time to recall the lessons learned from SIP experience:Suzhou park is not necessary a flop as growth of it is still incredible mah. The problems it faces is not because of competition, but because china want to oust out contol of singaporean there bah. I don't think this is a fair example of competition.
The developers' vision was to create an efficient and ultramodern Singapore-style industrial township near Shanghai to host multinational firms setting up in China.
However, municipal authorities backed a rival project with similar features and courting the same investors, undercutting the SIP, which is majority-owned by a Singaporean state-linked consortium.
"I think the problem has to be sorted out and what we hope to do is complete one sector in the way we promised to do," Lee said, adding that this would serve as an example of what the whole park could have been "if we had completed it," Lee was quoted as saying.
Lee, who has close personal ties with Chinese leaders, said that after completing one sector, Singapore could tell the Chinese: "You do it, you compete with your own rather than we complete with them. We will help you do it as best as you can but you will do it."
"Obviously we are not happy because we are not getting the kind of attention which we were assured that we would get, special attention. Indeed, what we are getting now is competition.
"Having learnt how we are doing it, they can always duplicate it and offer it at a lower rate of land," Lee said.
Some 155 companies have committed to set up operations in the SIP, and 90 foreign investors are already operating in the park, the Singapore Business Times said.
The SIP is facing competition from the Suzhou New District Park, being developed by the Suzhou municipal government.
You dun need 5 to 10 years that long, to learn how to run something like thiswe sure give malaysia 10 years head start after genting was built. As said before, if every country do it and not singapore, you think we are better off ?
Originally posted by Tian Mo:after looking through the replies of stupisissmart and the others, I think he is right in the sense tat singapore is already heavily involved in gambling. opening a casino at least give singaporean more places to go during the weekend. Otherwise I find there are nothing better to do here
Would you like to provide a figure to illustrate how "singapore is already heavily involved in gambling" and how a casino may change that?can u give a figure on how casino jobs will translate into job loss in other local business ? If u ask me, wat job will clash with the opening of a casino ? Maybe the illegal bookies or illegal gambling den owners...
If people are going to the casino as you suggest, they are giving other existing local entertainments a miss. How would it impact them? Are we going to see casino job gains translate into job loss in other local business?
Originally posted by Tian Mo:Suzhou park is not necessary a flop as growth of it is still incredible mah. The problems it faces is not because of competition, but because china want to oust out contol of singaporean there bah. I don't think this is a fair example of competition.
Why don't you compare the story of SIA ? There r already many airlines during that time too, and many more is gonna come out. Do we backed out then ? Look at breadtalk too. There r already tons of bakeries througout singapore. So we shouldn't encourage it to open because we r scared tat it will make the other bakery shops close down meh ? It was opened, and it was a tremendous success. Now it had spawned overseas for business. Overall it had improved the standard of bakeries in singapore. Do you think any single bakeries have the capability to do tat ? Will you be happier if breadtalk originates from other countries, come over to singapore to open up its branch and still make those bakeries close down. Don't be anti competition. Competition is inevitable and in a certain sense it brought improvement.
So in other words you think we should all back off from competition lah ? If we wanna build up bio science, and finland want to do it too, then we gave up and let them do it lah ? If we want to build up on telecommunication while other nationals are doing it too, then we gave up and let them do it ? Then we can just hug a tree and die. I guess u really need to gamble to know more about risk taking.
SIP is a good example, what will prevent the casino investor from doing the same if other countries in the region is more profitable. Afterall S'pore is the springboard to the region.I thought tian mo had stated why it is a bad example ? SIP is a bad example because of political reasons.
The question is: What is S'pore edge in this casino dollar competition? Can you tell.Wat is singapore edge in selling bread like breadtalk ? Wat is singapore edge in selling creative sound cards ? Wat is singapore edge in making osim chairs ? Singapore don't have an edge in anything ! So we don't sell anything ?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:can u give a figure on how casino jobs will translate into job loss in other local business ? If u ask me, wat job will clash with the opening of a casino ? Maybe the illegal bookies or illegal gambling den owners...
Figure ? there seems to be a ship going to nowhere almost everyday in singapore... turf club, 4D, toto is active on certain days of a week, slot machines r opened nearly at every time and everyone had internet access to online gambling sites. Even at some funeral mourning u can see people gambling. I guess this r already good figures showing singapore had many venues for gambling.
You still haven't figure out it is not just a casino we are talking about.U can't come out with any figures too. Do u think there r anyone in tis world tat is gonna come out with such a figure ? So no one can come out with tis figure everyone had to support casino ? With a casino present, people will not go for cruise ship or genting but go for tis casino.
I see you are not in the position to quantify the figure. And with all those alternative venues you mentioned, why would people go to the casino?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Wat is singapore edge in selling bread like breadtalk ? Wat is singapore edge in selling creative sound cards ? Wat is singapore edge in making osim chairs ? Singapore don't have an edge in anything ! So we don't sell anything ?
Is SIS saying breadtalk, osim and creative had not edge and yet sucessful? What a funny business thinking.Tat is right. Otherwise wat edge do they have ? Before breaktalk htere were already bakeries. Before osim tat is otto, before creative there r other sound card companies. Wat edge do they have ? They don't need an edge to be successful.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:U can't come out with any figures too. Do u think there r anyone in tis world tat is gonna come out with such a figure ? So no one can come out with tis figure everyone had to support casino ? With a casino present, people will not go for cruise ship or genting but go for tis casino.
I surely hope the world just follow SIS subjective view and go for casino. Or it is just his wishful thinking?I just think tat is is now more unlikely they will support the banning or petition against a casino. Whether do u think my arguments r "subjective" is a "subjective" thought
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Tat is right. Otherwise wat edge do they have ? Before breaktalk htere were already bakeries. Before osim tat is otto, before creative there r other sound card companies. Wat edge do they have ? They don't need an edge to be successful.
Creative invented sound card. It really show how much you know about thingsObviously before creative, there r already sounds from a computer. Surely there r already sound card, or embedded sound card before.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Obviously before creative, there r already sounds from a computer. Surely there r already sound card, or embedded sound card before.