I know how it feels.....Originally posted by elindra:Yeah I do experience some racial discrimination for being with a non-chinese guy.
I get weird stares in public (I stare back at them)
My relatives think there is something wrong with me not being able to get a chinese guyThey even chided my mum for not forcing me to join the SDU
Anyway I told my mum to tell them to mind their own biz in a polite way and if they have anything just tell me directly and not behind my back.
Haha now my brother is under scrutiny by them (same suggestion that he should join the SDU too) because his ex-gf was non-chinese
Be glad that u won a prizeOriginally posted by fudgester:I know how it feels.....
You should have seen the amount of mocking I got from some of the guys at the sgforums BBQ when I told them that I was going after a Chinese girl.....
To those who didn't read the previous posts, I'm Malay.
If you dun wan any more racism, then dun start this kinda thread. Dun throw me bombs man. Just giving my 2 centsOriginally posted by foxwalk:Please share your bad experiences. Do non-chinese experience more racial discrimination given that the majority race here is Chinese?
Ya,i learned that from (RA)French movies.Originally posted by pagemap:As an american with caucasian descent, when I was in Singapore I noticed a few stares kind of like "what is that american doing here" at least that's how it seemed at the time. No one came up to me and said "Americans go home!" like what happened to us in France...
The french hate americans...
True,racial discrimination is everywhere,there is nothing to be surprised.Originally posted by KumSioJui:racial discrimination everywhere also have.
In singapore we discriminate against bangalah, we go to bangalah they will discriminate against us.![]()
some of my SG chinese friends have even been discriminated against in home ground SG. ya, it's that bad. this happens everyday in MNCs and universities where foreign talent will tell us how this and that technology has been around at home for decades, or SG universities are purely academic with no research direction and motivation, or just because SG replaced coconut trees with sky-scrapers doesn't make us a developed country, or it gives foreign talent great satisfaction to beat SG guys to their own gals. stuff like that. personally, i have never been discriminated against. because i don't wear skirts, only their guys are obnoxious, their gals are less vocal. also because SG girls who are around seem more receptive to them, that may make me seem less friendlyOriginally posted by foxwalk:Please share your bad experiences. Do non-chinese experience more racial discrimination given that the majority race here is Chinese?
Someones been watching too many washing powder adverts on TV , eh? lolOriginally posted by ceecookie:i support racism........im a racist and only like the whiter colour![]()
yes!!! the other day, this skimpily clad china woman had the nerve to move my tray for me at the IMM foodcourt while i was getting my cutlery... wanted to give her a tight slap there itself!Originally posted by subzero_baby:I'm more onto the chinese against "china chinese"... more to the prejudice against the China woman who are in S'pore.
Kenna a few very bad experience with these women. Very Rude, very rough and very hao lian (in their body language).
There was once i was at Parkway HSBC atm, i was withdrawing some cash from the machine and just after i entered my pin number, i felt someone pushing me away from the machine. Shocked, i turn around and this china woman (from the way she talk and dress), continued pushing me away from the machine until i buay tahan and glared at her, look at her straight in the eye and say " cannot wait is it"? didn't even apologize and continue to push... kaoz! I lan lan take my money and go.
Second incident was at a hawker center... went there for dinner and as usual lar, no tables.. wait and wait, finally got a table that can sit 4 ppl, my friend and i sat down and not long, a middle age man asked if they can share table with us. I was ok with it so they sat down. The next thing i know, the woman place her shopping bag right infront of me on the table. WTF? I got mad and glared at the woman, so the man quickly took the things away and say sorry. I buay song already but still small matter wat. I was already curious if the woman is local (dress sense and body language), but kept quiet. Man then told woman off say how can put things on the table when we are sharing table, woman ask "why not?"... that china accent... kaoz! I stood up, took my things and change table.
Above is just a few incidents that i'd encountered with China woman and is already not giving me a good impression about them. Reading and seeing how these China woman flock Geylang to earn quick bucks really turn me off.
the thing is to get things out in the open. so far, most that have posted here have got their views in perspective and not stereotyping... so it's good. why keep things under wraps like the sg govt? if a problem exists, pretending that it doesn't will NOT make it go away, don't you think?Originally posted by IceTea:If you dun wan any more racism, then dun start this kinda thread. Dun throw me bombs man. Just giving my 2 cents
Dun care about what others do. Dun always blame the others. Start with yourself first. Then you will feel that ur life will be a prettier place.![]()
Do you think that Singaporean behavior is prefect? How would you feel if people from overeas start talking and making fun of Singapore kiasu culture and flat chested women?Originally posted by foxwalk:yes!!! the other day, this skimpily clad china woman had the nerve to move my tray for me at the IMM foodcourt while i was getting my cutlery... wanted to give her a tight slap there itself!
i think the reason we dun like them is cuz there're too many of them and they are too LOUD!
quoting to capture evidenceOriginally posted by Gazelle:Do you think that Singaporean behavior is prefect? How would you feel if people from overeas start talking and making fun of Singapore kiasu culture and flat chested women?
It goes to show how childish and shallaw minded you are to talk about other people culture. If you cant live with it, I think you should leave this cosmopolitan country.
Racist bitc h...
Centro was good, they heck care the ang mohs. Got the new yorkers went up to the door b*tch and declared they're from New York and expected to be let in.Originally posted by theTelepath:Was standing in line at Liquid Room at Gallery Everson Hotel watching the door bitch wave caucasians in without even needing to line up.
the sgreans are just checking out your sharp features.Originally posted by pagemap:As an american with caucasian descent, when I was in Singapore I noticed a few stares kind of like "what is that american doing here" at least that's how it seemed at the time. No one came up to me and said "Americans go home!" like what happened to us in France...
The french hate americans...
It's so common for malay guys to date chinese girls. They've been hibernating in the well for too long. I've seen some Malays who hang out more often with the Chinese and picking up the language too. Vice versa.Originally posted by fudgester:I know how it feels.....
You should have seen the amount of mocking I got from some of the guys at the sgforums BBQ when I told them that I was going after a Chinese girl.....
why you like chinese girls?Originally posted by fudgester:I know how it feels.....
How many malays do you think can make it to University?Originally posted by sggirl2005:i used to have malay and indian friends in primary school. then when i go to secondary school my class have only one to two non-chinese. When i go to junior college and university my class have no malays and indians.![]()
No preference. I just happened to like the girl, that's all. I once had a crush on a Malay girl, in fact.Originally posted by sggirl2005:why you like chinese girls?![]()
Originally posted by theTelepath:Do you know what I hate about this statement? It's the fact that I actually agree with it somewhat.
How many malays do you think can make it to University?