Originally posted by PatrickLTH:You claim to be a businessman what business are you in by the way? are you in the car, insurance or undertaker business?
[b]So what is the core business of NTUC?
My understanding of NTUC, from a businessman perspective is :
In doing my legitimate business (be it a car sale person, insurance agent, undertaker, house agent, etc etc), so long I make money, which is deemed to be too much by the government, then NTUC will step in and compete with me.
Yeah.yeah... more bankruptcy also...Originally posted by KumSioJui:You guys dun get it .. most times yes they are stealing peoples business, but not this one. This round they are trying to get NTUC to help boost peoples spending. By competiting against the local businesses and offering better rates it will force prices down.
You must look at economy as a whole, currently now things are picking up after a slump since 2000 but there is a danger of it falling back again into deflation so garmen trying to boost it.
Many ppl say "oh this year or next year economy dun look so good" all nonsense & not true at all. You must understand what move the economy.
what are the main drivers of a booming economy ... very low interest rates, easy credit, continous spending like construction, and spending on big ticket items like housing, cars etc ... traditionally when sales of these things move up tremendously other things will move also, other things move means business bottom lines across the landscape improve that means more hirings, pay increases and bonuses etc etc etc ....
but with a booming economy comes inflation but choose between that and deflation any government in the world will rather work with inflation any day because deflation means people jobless and that leads to a whole lot social problems and in the end creating potential terrorists. And the garmen if you noticed have been trying for several years now to stimulate the economy by constantly paving and re-paving all the blady roads creating mini traffic jams everywhere, building new or improve infrastructure etc ... all these are small drivers which keeps the economy humming.
Can't remember exactly the figures but I think previously if you bought a home you required a down payment was 20% that was reviewed and changed to current 10% to make it easier for people to afford a home.
Previously you couldn't buy a car with a credit card but now you could.
With bank home loan wars going on it only means easy credit, easy credit means more spending which leads to more profits, more hires again etc etc etc ...
so you ppl must understand lar.. this is good thing for us.
So good profits meh....you are talking about mid or late seventies where car brokers make loads of $$$ that I believe.Originally posted by KumSioJui:NTUC was started by garmen, whether you want to be naive I leave it to you.
If you read the sunday papers today on page 17 there is an article on cars, cars are big ticket items the main price influence of cars is from COE for that LTA is going to release more of it. So if more people buy cars they will take up more loans and that helps economy to improve. Because you cannot grow if people don't spend.
In the past if you were a car salesman you are very rich.
1) If someone buys a car from you, you earn a hand.
2) If he trades in his car for the new car you also earn a hand if you resell it later.
3) He buys insurance you get comission thats earning a hand.
4) If he gets financing you also earn a hand.
Sell 1 car can earn so much money, a friend selling Fiat cars the most cheapo car on singapore roads tells me he sells abt 3 cars a month takes home on average 8k imagine what those BMW salepeople take home.
Cars are big ticket items as I previously mentioned is one of the main drivers of a booming economy so the garmen is trying to improve this area, they are doing their part by lowering car COE, the problem are the car companies still charging a lot examplified by their sales people making so much money so people are hesitant therefore garmen steps to offer better rates and rebates to force cars companies to do the same.
In the end a booming economy should benefit everyone and not only a small handful.
used to be good lah, now is still not too bad, another car sale friend told me sell 1 car these days still can earn 800-1.2k, car sales still make good money because of parallel import. Go to bukit merah/common wealth area, if car sales that bad how come still so many showrooms?Originally posted by Lowclassman:So good profits meh....you are talking about mid or late seventies where car brokers make loads of $$$ that I believe.
But from early or mid eighties onward, used car sales competitions have got more fierce eversince. Profit margin was not that high as you have mentioned. Which has gone down to a couple of thousands or slightly more only.
Eversince the gov's intervene into the retailing market; the market now is facing extreme low cash liquidity as compared to early days. As you can see that more retailing shops are closing down with many vacant shops are left empty.
Just go to Sim Ming car repair shops and take a look. Many shops tenants are telling me that they are waiting HDB to chase them away.![]()
Originally posted by reyes:Hey Hey... SBS did not ask for higher fares last year, only SMRT
yoongf
Send Message 03 January 2005 · 08:46 AM
Perhaps it's necessary to clarify that this one thread has lumped 3 seperate legal entities into 1 perceived big organisation.
NTUC is the umbralla organisation for Sg unions, the typical union organisation.
Income is a co-operative.. owned by the respective unions, something like the "Employee Benefits" section of the NTUC affiliates, but it is still a seperate and distinct legal entity. Just that it's goals are more aligned with social entrepreunership instead of profit maximisation.
Fairprice is the supermarket arm of NTUC, also a seperate legal entity.
I would say that all three have their respective objectives, which I believe is to have viable businesses to fund social programs. I don't perceive that as an issue.
[b]the problem is that NTUC spin off under so call seperate legal untity. just like MRT , SBS so when citizen complain about high transport pricing, related minstries will say because these are privatise company thus govt canot intervene.
NTUC was not even clear in its role. it leader join PAP and become puppet of the curent ruling party. wearing 2 hats. hard to distinguish the line they going to draw between benefits for worker and govt.
To me, NTUC is brillant in business but done badly for the workers.
Does singapore tripatite ever existed in the first place???
Same lah...SBS did not ask for raise fares last year, but they will ask for this year or next year; indirectly more money for their own poket in term of bonus and salary increment.Originally posted by sbst275:Hey Hey... SBS did not ask for higher fares last year, only SMRT
I tell you this, NTUC would stop them as NTUC is a shareholderOriginally posted by Lowclassman:Same lah...SBS did not ask for raise fares last year, but they will ask for this year or next year; indirectly more money for their own poket in term of bonus and salary increment.
The Gov so to try to monopoly the market which they aimed to make majority of Sinagporean to work for them. In political benefits, these will make people will have no choice or being obligated to vote for them. Simple logic.
Ren Pu Wei Zi Tien Zhu ti miak the worst is they don't care you die.
Hey, hey,Originally posted by sbst275:I tell you this, NTUC would stop them as NTUC is a shareholder
the govt was originally not supposed to go into any business that was listed in the yellow pages, but now we have the ntuc doing all kinds of businesses.Originally posted by TVaddict:i have discovered long ago that the biggest misdeed of ntuc is greed.... they really want to bao ka liao. toothbrush, rice, flour, sweet sauce, shower foam, etc, etc... u name it, they probably have it under their brand...
Err...Originally posted by pearlie27:the govt was originally not supposed to go into any business that was listed in the yellow pages, but now we have the ntuc doing all kinds of businesses.
ntuc's subsidiary, Comfort was started with the noble intention of helping taxi drivers own their own taxi, but ended up exploiting the taxi drivers!
Originally posted by Lowclassman:Nope... They want to be seen as the good-guy
Hey, hey,
Would or would [b]not[/b]
I think we shall classify itOriginally posted by pearlie27:Yes, NTUC belongs to the govt just like SPH, SMRT, etc.
I'm not too sure if the yellow pages rule was implemented in 2003. However, even it was so, NTUC should relinquish some of their businesses for it is no point having that rule when it is already entrenched in all businesses.
thats one heck of an influenceOriginally posted by sbst275:I think we shall classify it
Govt 'Influenced' - SPH,
What cock story are you talking? Are these words from your arsehole?Originally posted by KumSioJui:You claim to be a businessman what business are you in by the way? are you in the car, insurance or undertaker business?
pls dun try to incite emotions or twist words here or are you trying to gain some sympathy for your situation, if you are really unhappy with your situation then pls take some action, NTUC not only competiting with you, but with a lot of other people, there is always a silver lining in every cloud, so instead of complaining shouldn't someone as resourceful as a businessman should be .. like you be doing something about it?
Maybe you can form a syndicate with fellow complainers to take on NTUC or maybe supply NTUC.