No one can answer to the question?Originally posted by PRP:GCT's reasoning: The govt can't upgrade all estates in one shot.So he thinks giving priority to his party constituencies is alright.It wouldn't be fair to upgrade estates in oppositon constituencies earlier than PAP's constituecies.So estates in PAP wards must upgrade first.
What's wrong with his reasoning?No prizes for correct answer.
Nah, politics is a bloody business best left to the politicians.Originally posted by LazerLordz:So let's see you walk the talk first ?![]()
Most Singaporeans are sotongsssssss like you and me too.Originally posted by Otingocni:I think anybody who talks politics is as good as a group of sotongs who talks soccers.
All talk no work makes no difference to this world.![]()
This attitude will paralyse Singapore one day.Originally posted by Otingocni:Nah, politics is a bloody business best left to the politicians.![]()
95% of the people suffers, and 5% makes the decisions.Originally posted by LazerLordz:This attitude will paralyse Singapore one day.
It is the rights of voters to vote cadidates of whichever party.If a voter thinks oppositon party candidate is better than PAP candidate,isn't it right for him to vote for the better candidate?Does it mean PAP govt has the right to punish or discriminate against voters who don't vote for PAP?Certainly 'NO'.Originally posted by PRP:GCT's reasoning: The govt can't upgrade all estates in one shot.So he thinks giving priority to his party constituencies is alright.It wouldn't be fair to upgrade estates in oppositon constituencies earlier than PAP's constituecies.So estates in PAP wards must upgrade first.
What's wrong with his reasoning?No prizes for correct answer.
Originally posted by PRP:Very unfortunately, I never get a chance to vote for oppositions in my life!!!
It is the rights of voters to vote cadidates of whichever party.If a voter thinks oppositon party candidate is better than PAP candidate,isn't it right for him to vote for the better candidate?Does it mean PAP govt has the right to punish or discriminate against voters who don't vote for PAP?[b]Certainly 'NO'.
If the PAP govt thinks it is right to discriminate against voters who don't support PAP, then I think there should be 2 govts --- one takes care of PAP supporters and the other govt takes care of the opposition supporters.
Can voters who don't support the ruling party pay less taxes since the govt think it is alright to discriminate against them?Surely the govt would say "NO'.
So GCT's argument sounds correct but actually fundamentally wrong.[/b]
I believe I can take you down.[/b]Originally posted by PRP:The PAP's promise that constituencies which voted for PAP would get priority for estates upgrading is an offence uner the Parliamentary Elections Act.It was simply bribing the voters and the govt then fulfil the promise.Jeya said it was vote buying.Since the promise is against the law,PAP leaders concerned should have been prosecuted & punished.
Not only the tactic is corrupt,[b]it is the thinking that the govt need not discharge its duties fairly & it can favour the ruling party that is dangerous.Civil servants might also think it is alright to use thier official responsibilities to favour anyone whom they like or for other selfish reasons.
The PM who initiated the policy has already become SM.Other ministers who agree with him should also go.
The govt should go.I believe I can take over.
Nanny state mentality.Originally posted by God Emperor:Look at today's rock-climbing accident for example. They want the government to improve the safety of rock-climbing. What bullshit?! Rockclimbing is a risky, almost extreme sport, no matter how safe you make it. The people who enjoy rock-climbing are given a choice to stop whenever they feel it unsafe. If you're meant to fall and die, it's fate, no amount of government or divine intervention will save you or improve the safety.
Then we cal it a new extreme sport...Originally posted by diggo:Nanny state mentality.
WTF, might as well put cushions and steps along the face of the rock.
How many year liao? See if I beat you or not.Originally posted by Lowclassman:Very unfortunately, I never get a chance to vote for oppositions in my life!!!
FFFFFFF%^^$&%%&***&&^&*&&&KKKKKK
It's very ture! Basically, nothing much been done; even the areas cleaniness were not done tip top. Of course, we didn't expect tip top but reasonable. When big shot is visiting their areas, the hypocrite civil servants will put up grand show to make the condition tip top. Why like that? Just becoz the big shot is coming and they have to waste extra money to put up a show at our expense which we have to make up by paying the conservancy charges ultimately.Originally posted by mistyblue:How many year liao? See if I beat you or not.
Our frustrations are true, but in a "democracy" where its always a walk over where there is no choice, where there is only one party, I do not think its healthy
I do not think the common people have a choice and mostly our fears are played up everytime election comes and empty promises are made. In my old estate, I live in little india and we are riddled with problems but the governement had never visited us nor upgraded any thing until election. The only thing that got upgraded was the life but it took 3 years (wah liew!) and a lot of bubu. Now I live in the east and its still the same. The place is repainted only when the MP are visiting otherwise, the roads are unsafe and things continue as before. Sometimes I cannot understand how did my old place, being so far away from Tajong Pagar become a part of it and also how did Serangoon North and my current place be called Marine parade. Its just that every time election comes, the grc groupings are adjusted ... to ensure a sure win. Lets not be a hypocrite lah, the current system might as well just be made up of 2 GRC for the whole country : PAP and non PAP GRC. Its not as if we don't know and are fools who cannot see through all that power play.
yea, they give you 10 cent and then take back $1Originally posted by miong:PAP may be aware that Singaporeans on the whole are not convinced by their disguised generosities like CPF top-ups and ERS, can we therefore expect a more sumptious form of windfall from them soon? I mean the election is in the air isnt it?
Pleased that u recognise the unfairness of the policy.Since there is unfairness,the policy should be changed.But it seems u condone it by saying those who oppose it would do the same thing if they took over the govt.If they are such kind of ppl,electorates should't vote for them.Am i right?Originally posted by dlareg:Dunno wat to say about most of the comments.
Yes the PAP may be playing an unfair hand here. But if given the chance to let whoever wants the PAP out, think they'll be playing the cards in the same fashion.