Betrayal of their sweat, blood and tears.The lesson here is that power, when left unchecked, is a smiling snake, poisoning you with the rattle from behind.I totally agree with Mistyblue.Everything that happens here is very surreal and has a Kafkaesque appearance.The amount of wayang has increased so much for so long over the years that we don't know what is the reality anymore.Policies are set by people who never had to experience their consequences, although we need intelligent people to plan, we ALSO need people with experience to balance out such policymaking so as to mitigate the harsh effects of pure theoretical speculation.Originally posted by lwflee:What's ironic is that those old people are probably the ones that kept PAP in power....
Heh... life is really unpredictable isn't it?
Just don't walk along Geylang, Desker, Joo Chiat, and etc. I can name you many places not to go at night in case you get into trouble with foreigners. Our parks are not safe day or night, reservoirs are not absolutely safe either. Places with night clubs, pubs and other services are not entirely safe either.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Goh Meng Seng, Sir.
To feel proud being a Singaporean, I find it is hard, much to all the disgraceful acts and attitudes of Singaporeans at large.
ANd to see that now our government wants society to be GRACEFUL and KIND to one another, is even more amusing, when the high costs of living and staying on a job ( or the lack of ) puts most people on the edge of an outburst.
Just take a drive on our roads and expressways, and one can tell how pent up we all are.
But personally, I give merit to our government in our ability to walk about safely at nigh everyday. And i think, that's about all.. the rest are but revenue generating devices.
Well, there is still some modicum of safety that you can feel here, but not in many other major cities.Whatever we are proud of, was created by the men and women of Singapore, definitely not something engineered in a can.Originally posted by mistyblue:Just don't walk along Geylang, Desker, Joo Chiat, and etc. I can name you many places not to go at night in case you get into trouble with foreigners. Our parks are not safe day or night, reservoirs are not absolutely safe either. Places with night clubs, pubs and other services are not entirely safe either.
Its slowly becoming unsafe nowadays. Don't be misled.
Safety is not really beccause of the government, but the way the government had bent the local people that we dare not break any laws. Its not a real understanding and obeying but a fear put into us of the nasty things that the government can do if we break any law. Besides, I feel safe because I have good neighbours and people around who watch out for me. Not really because of the police. The police shall exists even without the government. Besides the government is too stingy to pay our policemen and all those people in civil defence a little more. No one wants to risk their lives for another lah.
i think we have to acknowledge the fact that the world has become alot more competitive ever since China join the WTO. I think it is unfair to always depend on the government without doing something for yourself. I always believe that a country can only depends on its people not the other way around.Originally posted by pearlie27:I will feel proud of my nation if the unemployment is kept below 3% and we don't have to work all our lives to pay for our flats.
I will feel proud if we have a govt that really serves us and not bulldozes it's ways on us.
I will feel proud if the govt can really create more jobs for us and not ask us to become cleaners and taxi drivers.
In short, I will only feel proud of my country if it gives me dignity!
Can she?Originally posted by sgsentinel:A Singapore will be without Singaporeans if the women do not get married and have children. Sylvia Lim can lead by example by getting married and have children.
So would you be proud if we field a Singaporean born team tat get trash by Indonesia 5-0 in the final ?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear All,
I think instead of thinking something "GOOD" to talk about our Govt, we should concentrate on what will enhance our Nationhood?
What will make you value your citizenship more? What will make you feel proud to be a Singaporean beside having a Mt. Everest expedition or winning the Tiger Cup?
What policies should change to make us feel better? Personally, I find that despite the rheteoric spewed out by PAP about "more gentle, humane" society, we have never been anywhere nearer to this state.
Goh Meng Seng
Is national dae celebration mob instinct also ?Originally posted by lwflee:Winning the Tiger Cup does not make me feel proud to be Singaporean. If that is all that is needed to give you that warm feeling inside, good for you.
However, i think you are mistaking the Mob instinct for pride. "Painting the stadium red" does not mean that they are proud to be singaporean.
That were just part of minority in the stadium. I'm not proud of the winning of the Tiger Cup. So what Sg football won the Toger Coop. Can they achieve every year???Originally posted by crazy monkey:So would you be proud if we field a Singaporean born team tat get trash by Indonesia 5-0 in the final ?
If Singaporeans are not proud of the team they would not paint kallang stadium red.
Dun oppose for the sake of opposing lah.
Singapore is a global city yet some people still have kampong mentality.![]()
I fully agree with you.Originally posted by lwflee:Winning the Tiger Cup does not make me feel proud to be Singaporean. If that is all that is needed to give you that warm feeling inside, good for you.
However, i think you are mistaking the Mob instinct for pride. "Painting the stadium red" does not mean that they are proud to be singaporean.
Actually, maybe. I do not think most people go because they love singapore. Its more like they want to soak up the atmosphere, to feel like they are a part of something. So, yes, i think its a form of mob instinct.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Is national dae celebration mob instinct also ?![]()
Originally posted by Lowclassman:A very small minority. The FTs help compliment our local players and raise their standards and help us win the Tiger Cup. Same logic apply to the economy. Without the FTs our economy will be smaller. We need all the talent we need. If we dun allow FTs in sg you think the MNCs still want to come to sg to invest ? Use you blain lah dun kpkb all the time.
That were just part of minority in the stadium. I'm not proud of the winning of the Tiger Cup. So what Sg football won the Toger Coop. Can they achieve every year???
So you have a global mentality??? You just an ordinary man on the street, that all. [b]:lol :lol :lol :lol :lol :lol
Must we always rely on MNCs?Are we destined to be a permanent EPZ or maquiladora?We need to think of moving up the food chain, not devlop laterally, for it will add unused weight to our foundations.Originally posted by crazy monkey:A very small minority. The FTs help compliment our local players and raise their standards and help us win the Tiger Cup. Same logic apply to the economy. Without the FTs our economy will be smaller. We need all the talent we need. If we dun allow FTs in sg you think the MNCs still want to come to sg to invest ? Use you blain lah dun kpkb all the time.
sure or not ? i tot someone else is from sammyboy.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Must we always rely on MNCs?Are we destined to be a permanent EPZ or maquiladora?We need to think of moving up the food chain, not devlop laterally, for it will add unused weight to our foundations.
FT are useful if they HAVE SKILLS WHICH WE DO NOT POSSESS.Not your average foreigner who walks the street, having suffered less and paid less in blood and sweat, yet enjoy the tangible benefits of life here.If we have to be prostitutes, at least let us be high-class social escorts, not the ones who let any Tom, Dick and Harry scr*w her.Pardon my French, but some people here are so goddamn dense and dumb that phallic language is the only form of communication we can acheive with them.
Crazy Monkey sounds like an escapee from Sammyboy.![]()
Maybe people place bet and won ...Originally posted by lwflee:Winning the Tiger Cup does not make me feel proud to be Singaporean. If that is all that is needed to give you that warm feeling inside, good for you.