Could not adapt to new life or find job they want.Originally posted by Xprobe:What makes you say that? I personally know and have seen a lot of people like me go overseas, and all of them are better off.
Well, you're treated as second class in Singapore when you're a citizen, so what have you got to lose?Originally posted by crazy monkey:In Australia you will be second class if you are not white.
Anyway going there to work and giving up citizenship/ migrate different lah.
It seems that you don't know what a migrant is. For the sake of simplicity, take it as equivalent to PR. You can therefore be an Australian migrant and a Singaporean citizen at the same time. Once you have held migrant status for two years, you are eligible to apply for citizenship - the only difference between the two after that point is that you get voting rights as a citizen.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Then you are not a migrant wat. Still Singaporean.
Anyway not everybody make it oversea. For every success story there are other ppl who fared even worse when they left.
How very true, they really still feed us all this crap at this time and age. The world is such a smaller place now. And for racist remarks among peers, gees man, they have even funnier ones against Americans, Italians, Irish, you name it. You just have to take it in the right context, the right contex is not equal to Singapore context, mind you.Originally posted by Gedanken:You can recite what the government has told you all you want. I've been in both places, and I can tell you that you've been fed a lie and swallowed it whole.
Fymk, these are what knew from my Australian friends, especially one of my friend who is the boss of IndoChine Bar & restaurant in Singapore.Originally posted by fymk:Ang moh leh - they make mistakes - you tell them off - they respect you. That's what I learnt . They make racist remarks about me when I started my job and I laughed at it. They started to think I am ok . Now my colleagues and I are all buddies who hurl the occasional racist remarks at one another as a laugh .
Australian citizenship - I am considering - if I do not return to Singapore for 10 years I will lose my singaporean citizenship. If I become australian now , I lose my Singaporean citizenship. I am just waiting for the dual citizenship to come up now. Be stupid to shut one door at this moment because if I wait , ¸I end up with 2 doors open. I am also waiting for my american green card thing. So if I get my american greencard as well - I will shut one door - no guesses which door that will be.
It's true, in Hong Kong and Shanghai, people respect you for your abilities, not your RANK.Originally posted by Lowclassman:Australian Ang Moh will respect you if you are genuinely good, they are brave people who admit their mistakes and willingly to learn from you or take your advice!
Last I check , a permanent resident is considered a migrant to this great country I call australia. And last I check , permanent residency application papers has the words "Migrating to Australia"Originally posted by crazy monkey:Then you are not a migrant wat. Still Singaporean.
Anyway not everybody make it oversea. For every success story there are other ppl who fared even worse when they left.
There are the people who go back to singapore and whine about how racist australia is - how second class they were treated. Those could also incidentally the same people who cannot adapt to the work culture or those who are sore about not getting permanent residency. Of the two groups, I know a few people who fall within the category - they are the sour grapes. With the Singaporean government harping about second class citizenry as well , some people must think Australia must be some backwater yard with alot of red necks . HOWEVER IN ACTUAL FACT, australian in general are an ok bunch .
quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Xprobe:
What makes you say that? I personally know and have seen a lot of people like me go overseas, and all of them are better off.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Could not adapt to new life or find job they want.
If you do not step into Singapore at all for 10 years , you are entitled to what the immigration calls " deprivation of citizenship". I think it is on the Singapore immigration department website.Originally posted by Xprobe:Hey, can you further elaborate on this 10 year rule, this is the 1st time i come across this, whats the definition?
Many thanks
X
What a F U C K I N G insult.Originally posted by fymk:If you do not step into Singapore at all for 10 years , you are entitled to what the immigration calls " deprivation of citizenship". I think it is on the Singapore immigration department website.
Oh yes, that's right - that rule's been in place for ages.Originally posted by fymk:If you do not step into Singapore at all for 10 years , you are entitled to what the immigration calls " deprivation of citizenship". I think it is on the Singapore immigration department website.
Hell ask me about Singaporean Citizenship now, I would laugh hysterically here and now.Originally posted by Gedanken:Oh yes, that's right - that rule's been in place for ages.
Of course, there's the dual citizenship issue as well. When it came time for my friend to renew his passport, he had to answer "Yes" to the question regarding citizenship in another country. The got back to him with a question like "if ALLOWED to retain Singapore citizenship, would you renounce the other one?". He just laughed hysterically.
Originally posted by Xprobe:You know, they are so used to scare tactics, like we are trishaw coolies in the 70s.
Why this strong sense of insecured manifestation in the form of a leash?
And all this talk about being Sporean at heart, the strong sense of identity, the patriotism, what a load of contradictory crap.
The nerve! The irrelevance! The insult!
if you are really old and you have 600K in your account. You can get to retire thereOriginally posted by depressed:wow....isnt australian citizenship hard to get?
need work experience,sponsor,job offer .....wow ppl here are so pro.
Crazy monkey's friends got treated 2nd class? No surprise! cos CM's friend are of the same kind like him. Just look at his replies, some are so childish and foolish.Originally posted by Gedanken:Well, you're treated as second class in Singapore when you're a citizen, so what have you got to lose?
Also, as fymk has said, the "second class citizen" story is all bull. I've been in Oz for ten years and I'm treated better than I am in Singapore, even back when I was just a student. Now that I've migrated there, I can tell you that you're definitely wrong.
Also, during those ten years, I haven't experienced racism at all. Your friends must have been doing something wrong to get an attitude from the Aussies.
You can recite what the government has told you all you want. I've been in both places, and I can tell you that you've been fed a lie and swallowed it whole.
Wow! Its expensive real estate now in SydneyOriginally posted by Lowclassman:Crazy monkey's friends got treated 2nd class? No surprise! cos CM's friend are of the same kind like him. Just look at his replies, some are so childish and foolish.
My friend owned a building in Sydney; Apartments with 49 shoplets and yet ang mohs have to work for them! they work together in harmony.
Not really - finished my degree there, applied for migration and got it in six months. After migration, citizenship will be offered automatically after 2 years, provided you don't get into any serious trouble.Originally posted by depressed:wow....isnt australian citizenship hard to get?
need work experience,sponsor,job offer .....wow ppl here are so pro.
ppl with ability can migrate lowclass ppl with no ability even if want to migrate no country will want them only know how to kpkb.Originally posted by Lowclassman:Crazy monkey's friends got treated 2nd class? No surprise! cos CM's friend are of the same kind like him. Just look at his replies, some are so childish and foolish.
My friend owned a building in Sydney; Apartments with 49 shoplets and yet ang mohs have to work for them! they work together in harmony.
Kudos to you. I am worrying about how to stay in the UK and have come to be sad conclusion that my chances are VERY low. :*(Originally posted by Gedanken:Not really - finished my degree there, applied for migration and got it in six months. After migration, citizenship will be offered automatically after 2 years, provided you don't get into any serious trouble.
The trick to it really is what you choose as a career. Don't try going for something that plenty of Australians are already doing. There's a demand for organisational psychologists in Australia now, and my doctorate helped get me an extra few points.