If their members are sleeping the other oppo parties SDP and SDA must be dead. LOL........Originally posted by sgsentinel:Why they take so long to take action ? Members sleeping ?
Originally posted by crazy monkey:Isnt too late to start petitioning ?![]()
Originally posted by EmptyCage:If their members are sleeping the other oppo parties SDP and SDA must be dead. LOL........
You moron. Really didn't know Chee Cheong Fan Club has a branch here also. So you are the branch chairman? LOL............
EmptyCage
so WP stand on casino is based on Dollar and Cents like govt ?Originally posted by SGLoyalist:Hi,
From my knowledge, the Workers' Party:
1) had to ponder over the benefits and costs of the issue; and
2) did not wish to capitalise and politicise the issue.
Hence the timing.
Furthermore, it has never been the practice of Workers' Party to petition (pointless for an alternative party), but may release a statement on their stand.
It may be for, or against, the casino.
Regards
Originally posted by crazy monkey:so WP stand on casino is based on Dollar and Cents like govt ?![]()
Originally posted by sgsentinel:Why they take so long to take action ? Members sleeping ?
so its means that WP can take an immoral stand if the need arises ?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Crazy Monkey,
Whether we ultimately make a stand on the casino, there is no way we could avoid the Dollars and Cents perspective. We are not like any religious organizations that could just concentrate on moral issues and avoid the economic perspective. We are afterall, a political party that needs to make a careful balance in considering both sides of the picture.
Contrary to what many "Pro-Casino" people think, there are economic reasons that go against casino.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by crazy monkey:so its means that WP can take an immoral stand if the need arises ?![]()
Originally posted by goh meng seng:
Dear Crazy Monkey,
It is about being "amoral", not "immoral".
At the moment, I do not think WP will take any immoral stand. However, a political party is supposed to take care both the bread and butter concerns as well as social well being into its considerations. A businessman would only take profitability as his sole focus and responsibilities, a government or political party must take social well being and responsibilities into great considerations.
We must be ready to answer to those who are unemployed why we would reject a deal (casino) that might bring them jobs. We must convince them that this deal is not worthy at all. That is why we need to look into the economic perspective of the problem. We aren't like religious groups that could just concentrate on the moral side of the story. Religious groups don't have to answer to those unemployed citizens but as a responsible political party, we have to answer to all spectrum of the society.
Originally posted by crazy monkey:Sex city or sin city, there is no escape. If you lived in Vegas and the government wanted to build a casino, you can move to a different town where there is none of that. Same for Genting. It is easy to relocate if you don't like having a casino nearby. In Singapore's case, we can't run away. It is right at our doorstep, no matter where we go.
[b]
Religious groups in Singapore has done a lot to help the poor and needy. What has the opposition party done beside toking ?
IF the economic benefits of casino out weighed social cost, then what about turning Singapore into a SEX City? Sex sells, that's the golden rule of marketing. In fact, SEX won't create that much of a social-economic problem; there is little possibility for people to go to loan sharks to borrow and have sex. If we are to break into such paradoxes of having casino, where do we end? How to quantify social costs in both cases?
Personally, I am against Casino both on economic as well as moral grounds. I have to convince voters why it is no good to have casino even if they would lose jobs opportunities. This is basically the role of any political parties and we do not have a choice at all.
Goh Meng Seng
so its better to turn Singapore into SEX city then to built a casino ?[/b]
Originally posted by crazy monkey:
[b]
Religious groups in Singapore has done a lot to help the poor and needy. What has the opposition party done beside toking ?
IF the economic benefits of casino out weighed social cost, then what about turning Singapore into a SEX City? Sex sells, that's the golden rule of marketing. In fact, SEX won't create that much of a social-economic problem; there is little possibility for people to go to loan sharks to borrow and have sex. If we are to break into such paradoxes of having casino, where do we end? How to quantify social costs in both cases?
Personally, I am against Casino both on economic as well as moral grounds. I have to convince voters why it is no good to have casino even if they would lose jobs opportunities. This is basically the role of any political parties and we do not have a choice at all.
Goh Meng Seng
so its better to turn Singapore into SEX city then to built a casino ?[/b]
Originally posted by Joshua1975:oppose for the sake of opposed
Originally posted by LazerLordz:We need to strike a balance.We have no hinterland and any fallout from the casino will affect each and every one of us.Will the casino make us the richest nation in Asia?No.So it's just a mere increment from our present status.Is the risk worth the "OT pay" ?I don't think so.People are trying to eradicate gambling yet we are trying to promote gambling, and one wonders about where our naked hypocrisy is produced.Feedback for the casino project is "welcomed" where normal exercise of free speech is not allowed during political rallies, that is if you can even organise one in the first place.Stop putting words in our mouths and think for us and you will survive,Make us your puppets and Singapore will not survive for the next 50 years.
Just shut up and be of service to the nation and not think you will ever be above us.You are not kings and even empires have collapsed.So what are you fellows?Peanuts.Genghis Khan would laugh at puny actions, so give up the power trip and serve the people.
Originally posted by goh meng seng:The government pay a lot of attention to the concerns raised by religious groups because they represent the concerns of society.
Dear CrazyMonkey,
Could the religious groups give you the chance to put pressure on the govt? Could the religious groups make the $$$ making machine chunt out NSS, ERS, HDB upgrading...etc for you? Could the religious groups make your MPs become one of the most hardworking lot among their peers? Could the religious groups put checks and balances to parliament?
And for your info, we do have social welfare activities though not as comprehensiive as others.
We have different functional roles and I think your comment is not fair at all. Not everybody could act as pastors, monks or priests, not everybody could act as alternative politicians as well. Due to our different functional roles, our appraoches towards problems like Casino would be very different.
Originally posted by goh meng seng:Sex trade have less social cost are you sure abt that or speaking from personal pt of view ?
Singapore used to have Gay shows in Bugis and it was very popular as tourist spot back then. Our brothels are legalized, so what? This is the same argument made by Pro-casino people that Convenient Gambling (4D Toto etc) has been legalized and existed. Sex trade is just sex trade, really no differentials like those between Casino and Convenient gambling.
Sex trade as a tourist attraction cannot work in Singapore because there are more competitive sex trades else where in this region. But for a totally amoral government, it is no harm trying to ask for proposals like what they do with casino!
Technically speaking, sex trade will have less impact on social cost apart from the morality point of view. BTW, sex trade could go both ways; gigaloos and prostitutes. We do not necessary need locals to be employed as such. So, now you feel that this is "too much" to go on? I think PAP govt is not totally "amoral" when it didn't probe into using Sex trade as tourist attractions. At least there are still some moral conscience in them.
In terms of social cost, casino will cost more than Sex trade. In terms of profitability, Casino will be more profitable as money roll quickly. In terms of morality, both are as bad. Technically speaking, Sex trade may not be "better" than Casino if you only use cost and benefit analysis to evaluate.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by crazy monkey:Sex trade have less social cost are you sure abt that or speaking from personal pt of view ?
Actually, Nominated MP Loo Choon Yong did suggested that today @ Parliament.Originally posted by crazy monkey:Best way to settle the issue is to have a referendum lah.![]()
Originally posted by crazy monkey:Best way to settle the issue is to have a referendum lah.![]()
others have also. dun think you are the only one.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Crazy Monkey,
I have called for a referendum on the casino issue before.In this very forum.
Goh Meng Seng