I wouldn't come back once I've gone away.Originally posted by sacredspirits:hmm...
i hv been away for a year.... came back recently for chinese new year... but i m still not sure what i would like to do in the future.... whether to come back to singapore or to continue staying in UK till my visa runs out..... i have always considered myself a 'heartlander'... true blue chinese singaporean..... very 'channel 8', speak singlish, play mahjong, makan at kopitiam or hawker centre, go si bei lor pray pray at times during the chinese new year....
living in UK for a year has it pros and cons..... i realised how narrow-minded we have always been (wah lao! south africa is not a very poor state which consists of only black people!!)... how we have always been taking things for granted (do u know the name and dosage of any medication that your doctor gives u?? ha... in UK, b'cos the doctors are not so efficient, everyone will know and find out about the medication that their doctors prescribed!!... have we always been accepting things as they have been told!!??).... i cycle to work in UK (transport too ex in UK!!) but have never been honked by UK drivers... but here, just went cycling in west coast and genna honked by singapore drivers on my way from clementi to west coast park!!! piang.... so sad....
that's not all... there are just too many things that make me think... i agree that we should not have a welfare state (people DO abuse the system there), but i also agree on the statement once made, 'in singapore, can die but cannot fall sick....' have we done enough for the less fortunate? is it their fault that they are not able to make ends meet or that their situation does not allow them AT ALL to make ends meet?
no.... i am not saying that the grass is greener in UK.... there are a lot of inefficiencies, stupid strikes, unreasonable prices/taxes and high crime rates there.... on the other hand, there are also more polite people there (they DO say thank you to the bus drivers there), more family-oriented working culture (always been 5 working days, 36 hrs per week and i knock off zun zun at 5pm.... just like all my other colleagues) and of cos better recognition of my profession there......
since my return to singapore, many have asked me whether i will be coming back to singapore.... i really dunno.... i am really taking one step at a time now and just see how things go.... i guess whatever will b, will b.......
what say u?
Originally posted by sacredspirits:hmm...
i hv been away for a year.... came back recently for chinese new year... but i m still not sure what i would like to do in the future.... whether to come back to singapore or to continue staying in UK till my visa runs out..... i have always considered myself a 'heartlander'... true blue chinese singaporean..... very 'channel 8', speak singlish, play mahjong, makan at kopitiam or hawker centre, go si bei lor pray pray at times during the chinese new year....
living in UK for a year has it pros and cons..... i realised how narrow-minded we have always been (wah lao! south africa is not a very poor state which consists of only black people!!)... how we have always been taking things for granted (do u know the name and dosage of any medication that your doctor gives u?? ha... in UK, b'cos the doctors are not so efficient, everyone will know and find out about the medication that their doctors prescribed!!... have we always been accepting things as they have been told!!??).... i cycle to work in UK (transport too ex in UK!!) but have never been honked by UK drivers... but here, just went cycling in west coast and genna honked by singapore drivers on my way from clementi to west coast park!!! piang.... so sad....
that's not all... there are just too many things that make me think... i agree that we should not have a welfare state (people DO abuse the system there), but i also agree on the statement once made, 'in singapore, can die but cannot fall sick....' have we done enough for the less fortunate? is it their fault that they are not able to make ends meet or that their situation does not allow them AT ALL to make ends meet?
no.... i am not saying that the grass is greener in UK.... there are a lot of inefficiencies, stupid strikes, unreasonable prices/taxes and high crime rates there.... on the other hand, there are also more polite people there (they DO say thank you to the bus drivers there), more family-oriented working culture (always been 5 working days, 36 hrs per week and i knock off zun zun at 5pm.... just like all my other colleagues) and of cos better recognition of my profession there......
since my return to singapore, many have asked me whether i will be coming back to singapore.... i really dunno.... i am really taking one step at a time now and just see how things go.... i guess whatever will b, will b.......
what say u?
Wah!Originally posted by ratinacage:NO!
That's really far sighted... but it is true that the govt is pro-FT. So the solution is to go overseas and live there (equivalent to repackaging oneself) and then coming back to earn big bucks!Originally posted by LazerLordz:I will leave this land to find my pasture, and I might return if the pasture leads me here.But I'll come back as an expat, especially since we are an unashamedly pro-foreign nation.
What to do..The only thing to acheive in this world is to be mobile.Both financially and work-wise.Originally posted by foxwalk:That's really far sighted... but it is true that the govt is pro-FT. So the solution is to go overseas and live there (equivalent to repackaging oneself) and then coming back to earn big bucks!
Well,if u can find an ang moh bf,then go ahead.But it should be out of ur own will.Anyway,it is better than get married n born children here n then get tortured by our own"chinese politicians".Originally posted by sacredspirits:wah...
seems like most are advising me not to come back! hmm.... ok.... if i find myself an ang moh (or whatever colour) boy boy there, then i will stay there long long liaoz... ha.....
(si bei jia lat.... one year still no yan4 yu4... mayb shd consider what my frens said.... wear cheong sum and do bar top dancing... ha......)
If the social engineering is in your favour, I suppose you'd say you are treated fairly, and if you don't see any benefits for you in the policies then the government would be deemed to be less caring. There are pros and cons in every country and every society. We learn to adapt, or we choose where we want to go. We decide, not the society nor the government.Originally posted by timothytsgsg:It's better to stay overseas than come back here. Let's put it in tis way: You learn how to grow up in that kind of environment and u also learn how to conduct ur own life without much interference frm govt- unlike in S'pore, where most pple r subjected to social engineering by the govt & society here.
Besides if the UK govt and citizens are treating u fairly over there, why come bk here where the govt here care abt S'poreans less & less?
Originally posted by sacredspirits:hmm...
TRY CHINA MY FRIEND, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE ULTRA COMFY WITH BEING A CHANNEL 8 TYPE OF PERSON. YOU WILL GET USED TO IT PRONTO.
NOW YOU KNOW...BEEN BACK FOR 7 DAYS IN SINGAPORE AND COULDNT WAIT TO GET BACK BECAUSE MY MIND JUST STARTED TO SHIFT TO 3RD...2ND AND 1ST GEAR. I ATTRIBUTE IT TO THE HOT WEATHER AND THE ULTRA STATE OF STABILITY OF SINGAPORE. NO EXCITEMENT AND RISK, SO NO NEED TO BE ALERT 24/7.
what say u?
Hey, you still in Shanghai?Originally posted by sgdiehard:If the social engineering is in your favour, I suppose you'd say you are treated fairly, and if you don't see any benefits for you in the policies then the government would be deemed to be less caring. There are pros and cons in every country and every society. We learn to adapt, or we choose where we want to go. We decide, not the society nor the government.
I stayed 4 yrs in HK and 3 yrs in Shanghai as expat, wow, I had lots of fun. But, I was very miserable, especially during weekend, when I spent three months in Germany, with everything paid for by the company, because I had only a few friends. But I still prefer Singapore because of my children's education and my wife is gainfully employed here. So, it is not about government or social engineering, it is where you can make money and where you have friends, the choice is yours. You don't go anywhere because you like the government!!
Returned last year.Originally posted by Xprobe:Hey, you still in Shanghai?
For me, its different. I prefer my children to be independent and able to make good decisions from a good age. An education that emphasis more on individualism, honesty(mayb, mayb not), creativity, and decisive thinking will help towards that.Originally posted by sgdiehard:If the social engineering is in your favour, I suppose you'd say you are treated fairly, and if you don't see any benefits for you in the policies then the government would be deemed to be less caring. There are pros and cons in every country and every society. We learn to adapt, or we choose where we want to go. We decide, not the society nor the government.
I stayed 4 yrs in HK and 3 yrs in Shanghai as expat, wow, I had lots of fun. But, I was very miserable, especially during weekend, when I spent three months in Germany, with everything paid for by the company, because I had only a few friends. But I still prefer Singapore because of my children's education and my wife is gainfully employed here. So, it is not about government or social engineering, it is where you can make money and where you have friends, the choice is yours. You don't go anywhere because you like the government!!