wtf, you mean nathan is getting that!?!?!?!?!?! knn we need to out source this job and get rid of the perks!!!!!!!Originally posted by KumSioJui:wah, with so many people vying to become president, let me tender for the position instead, if I become president I will only take 40% of the original pay that SR nathan is getting and no pay increment for 1 year.
My own private concierge and secretarial services I will allow to be outsource to private sector to lower garmen costs.
But of course no changes to other perks that befits a head of state like :
free first class travel
free first class accomodation
the fine gourmet dining I get everyday
gurka bodyguard services and security detail
my own private convoy and mobile squad
state owned rolls royce cars
Annual $1,000,000 pension upon retirement
and since I'm still single head of state and vulnerable to to kanna sabo by pretty intelligence agents from other countries, special request to have my own personal harem ... I mean personal counter-intelligence team of pretty young local agents to attend to my every erm ... intelligent need![]()
erm ... 18 years ago they wanted to give devan nair $100k a year. Take into account inflation money then is smaller now so my request of $1,000,000 annually as retirement benefit as an ex-president just nice. Can consider the debts that the people owe to me for being their president as written off.Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:wtf, you mean nathan is getting that!?!?!?!?!?! knn we need to out source this job and get rid of the perks!!!!!!!
So far we had 1 Malay - Yusof IshakOriginally posted by aiyo!:We had Yusof Ishak(sorry if i spelled the name wrong) as our first president!! Don't forget him!! And seriously I don't think we choose our president by his race.![]()
you forgot one... after sheares, there was an indian prez...Originally posted by gerrykoh:So far we had 1 Malay - Yusof Ishak
1 Eurasian- Benjamin Sheares
2 Chinese- Wee Khim Wee, Ong Teng Cheong
1 Indian- Nathan
Nathan was chosen cos we didn't have any Indian president.
Now should be Malay or Eurasian's turn. But dun see any outstanding ones in parliament, so I think will be Tamugi, he is quite suitable.
That's my guess. We'll see if I'm right![]()
From what I know, befoore 1993 when Singapore started elected president, every races will take turns to be the president...Originally posted by hyuuga neji:you forgot one... after sheares, there was an indian prez...
but he got sacked... for being a alcoholic(i think)...
forgot his name... he was one of the communist members turn pap though...
that guy not serious one lah...Originally posted by potong jalan:From what I know, befoore 1993 when Singapore started elected president, every races will take turns to be the president...
For instance:
1965-1970 Yusof Ishak (Malay)
1970-1982? Benjiamin Sheares (Eurasian)
1982?-1985 Devan Nair (Indian) Sacked by LKY, now living in Canada if I was not wrong.
1985-1993 Wee Kim Wee (Chinese)
1993-1999 Ong Teng Cheong (Chinese)
1999-2005 SR Nathan (Indian)\
Since there can be 2 consecutive presidents be Chinese, don't be surprised if our new president is an Indian (although they makes up only a small portion of our population...)
Another possible candidate for the new president might be the guy (forgot his name) who is Ong Teng Cheong's opponent in 1993 presidential elections...
we only guessing here lah...Originally posted by SBS9611D:Is Abdullah Tarmugi really going to become the next President or its it just a rumour because he is the Speaker of Parliament?
Where did you get ur figures from?Originally posted by timothytsgsg:President Nathan doesn't do anything sigificant and yet he will draw $2m as President this year before he retires. It's plain obvious something has gone wrong.
If Tony Tan becomes President, then nothing really changes- as the whole BS thing is nothing but a sham.
Do you know the money given to the president has to go for the maintenance of Isetan tooDon't think the president has any share in the department store.
To qualify for presidential election, the candidate must be 50 years old and above...Originally posted by crazy monkey:How abt having a chio bu women president ?![]()
lets have a lao chio then.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:To qualify for presidential election, the candidate must be 50 years old and above...![]()
I believe that the candidate must also have experience in running a company with a nett worth of S$50 - S$100 million. Makes sense, since his gravest role would be to safeguard our reserves (or so "they" say).Originally posted by cornyfish2000:To qualify for presidential election, the candidate must be 50 years old and above...![]()
Yes, u're right.. alternatively he can also qualify by being the holder of a high public office, such as a Supreme Court Justice, Perm Sec, etc etc...Originally posted by patriot:I believe that the candidate must also have experience in running a company with a nett worth of S$50 - S$100 million. Makes sense, since his gravest role would be to safeguard our reserves (or so "they" say).
Hmmm.. so you think the role of the President should merely be that of a rubber-stamp?Originally posted by patriot:After Devan Nair, I think Ong Teng Cheong was the most counterproductive president. In Singapore's political culture, unengineered policy disagreement does not result in political progress. That's what Mr Ong did. He actually believed that the presidency was independant of the ruling party and started behaving and speaking accordingly. That, for very logical reasons, ruffled quite a few feathers within the ruling party. And he became sidelined as he was deemed more and more of a nuisance.
So having a guy like Tan Soo Khoon who is another outspoken character with an independant streak would not do well for the Singaporean brand of the presidency. The institution of the presidency would on the other hand, start to strengthen if we get a guy who understands the adage that "if you can't beat them, join them." In the longterm evolution of things, this would certainly be much healthier for the presidency. And by relation, the cohesiveness of the entire political system and culture.
Hmmm... President Dr Lily Neo?Originally posted by crazy monkey:lets have a lao chio then.![]()
Not a rubber stamp by any means. But a support and an ally. In Singapore's political culture, which is really a single-party monopoly, progress is not made by active opposition. I mean, think about it. You pit an ant against an elephant, who's gonna win? If the ant wants to survive, it'd have a better chance by becoming allies with the elephant rather than antagonising it. One stomp from the elephant and it's finished. Kinda the same with our political culture.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Hmmm.. so you think the role of the President should merely be that of a rubber-stamp?
I believe that was precisely what MM Lee was out to change 10 years ago when he proposed the change from a "Ceremonial President" to an "Elected President" as it is now... so that the Elected President, having the mandate of the people, could function as an institution independent of the Government and act as an effective check to frivolous legislation. That is also the reason why a Presidential candidate cannot be a member of a political party.
Aren't we going back to square one if we were to have a "yes-man" as our Elected President? And how can that be 'healthier for the presidency'? As a concerned citizen, i certainly wouldn't want that to happen..