Walaaa.... inequality.... i am a poly student.... and if anyone notice, there have been discrimination of poly and JC students... especially in the uni intake??? If anyone went for the talks at the career fare last sat and sun, the words used is ALWAYS.. 'arts and science students' 'A level' 'GP paper' ' As, As, Bs..' they dun reallie mention words like 'diploma holders' 'ADs' 'projects' 'ITP/attachments'Originally posted by DraG0n:I wonder why are there more JCs than Polys and ITE altogether , when there are more people eligible to go Polys and ITE.
There are 16 JCs in singapore and 5 Polys and 5 ITE. The number of Polys and ITE added together is lesser than the number of JCs man !!
And why are the students in JC pay child price when they take public transport but the students in Poly pay adult price ?
The students enter the JC and Poly at the same age but the transport fee they pay is different. This is not logical at all !!![]()
No, I think ur mistaken- in thinking I'm a JC student or a sec sch one. I'm currently doing a course in the engineering bloc of Temasek Poly- so I do understand there are many schools in one poly. And I'm abt to graduate soon.Originally posted by Rockhound:each poly is not just one skool....u are damn wrong...each poly is made up of different schools(departments)...and 1 schools number of students is guaranteed to be more than that of a JC...likewise can be said abt ITEs
i'm a poly grad...and i have learnt the most important lesson of all in poly....and that is life.....................i have no regrets of ever going poly...even turned down offers to go JCs....
not talking abt u lar....knn....*mental note.....shall quote next time*........*points to topic starter*Originally posted by timothytsgsg:No, I think ur mistaken- in thinking I'm a JC student or a sec sch one. I'm currently doing a course in the engineering bloc of Temasek Poly- so I do understand there are many schools in one poly. And I'm abt to graduate soon.
I don't regret taking a poly diploma course honestly- just like you. I have learnt much from my poly experience- just like u did.![]()
LOL.. True true..Originally posted by mach10:If can study everywhere oso can. wat JC la, Poly la... doesn't matter.
If cannot study u talk here till saliva gland gone also still cannot make it.
cheerios!
oh well.... not reallie complaining la... just that.... see wad the working world wants.... now you can see the employment rate dropping for uni and rising for poly and most in ITE... kinda says that workplaces now need ppl who are independent, hands on and creative... (just like wad poly and ITE students are trained on.)Originally posted by gerrykoh:Those who choose poly should not complain that there is less vacancies in local U for them than JC.
They are fully aware that JC is the most direct route to local U.
A lot of pple I know choose poly cos they are not confident of passing GP & they don't want to study Chinese. Some pple just don't like academic studies, they want to do more 'hands-on'.
JC is very stressful. If u cannot pass JC1, u have to be retained or 'kick out'.
There are endless tests, project work, CCA + community svs. to do.
Also if u cannot get 2A, 2AO in "A' level, u are worst off than diploma holder cos u don't have the skills.
The govt is building more JC cos they are aware most pple want a degree.
In fact the passing rate in last yr "A' is 92% shows that the students are getting cleverer.
well...they(LTA or SMRT or watever) wont say its based on age....Originally posted by DraG0n:And why are the students in JC pay child price when they take public transport but the students in Poly pay adult price ?
The students enter the JC and Poly at the same age but the transport fee they pay is different. This is not logical at all !
not this case unfair only.... still remenber during SARS day,Originally posted by DraG0n:And why are the students in JC pay child price when they take public transport but the students in Poly pay adult price ?
The students enter the JC and Poly at the same age but the transport fee they pay is different. This is not logical at all !
dunno abt that.....i didnt have class for 2 weeks during that period...lol....EEE was sensible enuff to suspend classes due to the fact that there are foreign students and all those risks........Originally posted by meltz:not this case unfair only.... still remenber during SARS day,
JC students got 1week holiday like seconday school students. but poly dont have so unfair. So our class and some others class start a petition and ask everyone to sign and send to MOE.
you know wat MOE reply, -_-'' the JC student still young and bcoz poly student r studying in a bigger enviroment, diesase wont spread that easily or whatever cant remenber too clearly but is a very stupid reply
.........too long ago liao .........cant remenber clearly ............. kaoz
but u gotta see what kind of employment. generally, poly students may earn more at first than uni grads but very quickly the salaries of uni grads surpass those of poly grads whereas most poly grads' salaries will remain at around thousand plus for very long.Originally posted by bunnie boink:oh well.... not reallie complaining la... just that.... see wad the working world wants.... now you can see the employment rate dropping for uni and rising for poly and most in ITE... kinda says that workplaces now need ppl who are independent, hands on and creative... (just like wad poly and ITE students are trained on.)
and scoring stright As in exams=smart/clever???
i beg to differ.... =p *no offence
go poly so no need to study GP??? nahh... try studying IEF for Ngee ann poly's business studies.... SHIOK ah.... =p hee...
thats true... oh well... i agree... NEVER underestimate poly and ITE students... they have more 'hunger' then most uni students.. ^^Originally posted by vito_corleone:but u gotta see what kind of employment. generally, poly students may earn more at first than uni grads but very quickly the salaries of uni grads surpass those of poly grads whereas most poly grads' salaries will remain at around thousand plus for very long.
But middle-aged grp ain't the majority ma..Originally posted by Rockhound:well...they(LTA or SMRT or watever) wont say its based on age....
but poly also got middle-aged ppl studying one...oldest i seen is 30+(as of today)...u think poly students all so young arh?
hi SBSK.Originally posted by DraG0n:Let's protest.. GO on strike !! =x
Originally posted by crazy monkey:hi SBSK.![]()