Originally posted by DraG0n:
But middle-aged grp ain't the majority ma..
You think JCs dun have middle aged grp students meh ?
Well.. I think the transport operators shud charge the student according to their age and not based on what instituition they are in..
Too bad for u

Polys like Unis are classified as tiertiary institutes, as compared to JCs, which are pre-university (e.g. glorified extension of secondary school.) Difference in pricing is due to this. Keep in mind that Poly students usually take courses and modules that amount to 3 years, whereas the 'A' Level course in JC is 2 years. This means that the net age in a Poly is greater (you don't even need to inude the 20-30 yr olds.) Thusly, LTA finds it more convenient to price both JC and Poly students seperately rather than charge each individual according to age. Like many other things in Singapore, it isn't fair, but then again neither is life.
Actually thinking about it it's quite an accurate reflection of the differences in education at both JC and Poly. Poly students like Uni students pay adult fees because the way in which they are taught is more 'mature', in the sense that they themselves must act like adults and take responsibilty for their own learning. They have the freedom to decide whether or not to attend lectures, etc. JC students being more coddled are charged student's fees since they are more or less still in a highly regimented school environment, with all the horrors of such (e.g. uniforms)
Poly students who complain that JC students get 'special treatment' shouldn't have gone to Poly at all. If you choose Poly because you want more freedom in learning, you should know well enough what advantages or disadvantages there are between the two. Poly students should accept the fact that they will have less chance of entering Uni compared to a JC student unless they are prepared to work damn hard to enter the top 5% in their respective Polys. JC students do not always get advantages. An 'A' Level holder is less likely to be employed than a Diploma holder, everyone knows that. The difference is that the Singapore education system is designed to give the 'A' Level holder a better chance of entering university, whereas the Poly grad is given more hands-on experience in order to survive entering the work force at an earlier age.
Whining about this fact of life is frankly rather pointless, and gives a bad impression of Poly students. My brother was from SP, and he doesn't bemoan the fact that he got a worse deal. (In fact, according to him, Poly students enjoy many more benefits- bigger campus, better facilities, better food, and more chio bus.) It may be too late for this years current batch of JAE inductees, but my advice to the next gen is 'san si er xing'- look before you leap.