hmmm......Originally posted by woodlandsHool:Rejected by ST Forum
We thank Jeffrey Ho for this letter.
---
Government Reply To MP Disappointing
By Jeffrey Ho
27 September 2004
It is disappointing to note the government's rejection of the
Opposition ward's request for lift upgrading (ST 22 Sept, "Chiam's
request to carry out lift upgrading denied").
In a nutshell, it is a classic decision matrix dilemma that is faced
by the government. If the government stands by its decision in
denying the request, it has to provide convincing answers to the
main reason why it is rejected: why the huge gap in the cost of the
upgrading with Chiam's estimate of $2 million vs HDB's $12 million.
If however, in the interest of democracy, the government changes its
mind and allows Mr Chiam to go ahead, and provided the residents vote
for it, it will have a bigger problem on its hand if Mr Chiam
succeeds in upgrading the lifts at just $2 million when it cost 6
times that amount for HDB: have the government and affected HDB
residents been suckers all this while?
If that were the case, how then can the PAP town councils justify
increasing their conservancy fees when they have not been managing
their funds prudently?
Of course, if Mr Chiam fails in his attempt to limit the cost to $2
million, he will then have to answer to his constituents and a
possible outcome may see him losing his stronghold in the next
General Election.
i can only see why the government r rejecting the upgrading for the opposition GRC , is to make the people living there think that the MP there r doing a lousy job and thus , vote for the PAP .. what a under hand tactic by the government again ... i say , every household in potong pasir fork out $10/= each to upgrade and show the government that the people actually care for their living .. pity the people in potong pasir , their MP r trying hard to help them but yet reject time and time again by the government on the proposal to make a better living in their town .
what FAIR ??!!!!
i dun see how roads and trees got to do with upgrading lifts...Originally posted by starblue:lolz... how immature.
look at singapore, compare it to the past. if it wasn't for PAP and their "tactics", you think you will have nice, smooth, tar-laid roads to drive on, and pretty trees everywhere for myopia prevention?? governmental positions aren't just about caring for the community. they have bigger concerns about the GENERAL public. have you seen their efforts when they tried to attract foreign investors in the 1970s? have you thought about how the nation will be like if they didn't allocated lots of (tax) money into the ministry of defence?
don't count the unfairs. count the blessings.
You are very wrong. Back then, there were many good ministers who helped to build singapore.Originally posted by starblue:lolz... how immature.
look at singapore, compare it to the past. if it wasn't for PAP and their "tactics", you think you will have nice, smooth, tar-laid roads to drive on, and pretty trees everywhere for myopia prevention?? governmental positions aren't just about caring for the community. they have bigger concerns about the GENERAL public. have you seen their efforts when they tried to attract foreign investors in the 1970s? have you thought about how the nation will be like if they didn't allocated lots of (tax) money into the ministry of defence?
In the old days, ministers contested heated elections. Today, half the cabinet don't even have a popular vote.Originally posted by SnowFlag:You are very wrong. Back then, there were many good ministers who helped to build singapore.
Open your eyes n see what is happening now.
last time they bother to plant "fake opposition" to contest.Originally posted by iveco:In the old days, ministers contested heated elections. Today, half the cabinet don't even have a popular vote.
isn't upgrading of lifts a blessing to the people of potong pasir ??!! they r singaporean like us after all ! tell me , u rather hv a safe lifts to go home everyday or hv nice trees for u to stare at !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and Mr Chiam r using less then half of the require fund use by the HDB for lift upgrading and that tells u what !!??Originally posted by starblue:lolz... how immature.
most immature ppl like to see it ur way.. but i will say.. if it wasn't for PAP and their "tactics" we maybe having a better quality life style now and if not for our "GREAT" GIC our reserve maybe double what it's now?Originally posted by starblue:lolz... how immature.
talking about compensate.... any of u guys remember how there is a price diff last time for flat that is on the lift floor??? hmmmm... now to make it every floor got lift everyone must pay the same amount... fair? fair to those who benefit maybe....Originally posted by pearlie27:And now barely 6 months down the road, MM Lee urged ppl to vote for lift upgrading! Doesn't this show that Chiam really care for the ppl and has better vision than the PAP ministers?
Actually I feel that since our flats are over-priced PAP should compensate us by enhancing our assets free of charge.
10 20 years?Originally posted by schrecklichkeit:this kind of tactics they can still afford to pull cos there is still a large number of people who aren't as educated as us to see the undercurrents.
and even if we do.. do we dare to voice out in public? to the 'uneducated bunch'? even letters like that get controlled by the press..
I tell you. PAP can still escape with this now.. but give another 10 20 years, no way.
given another 10-20 yrs if PAP still in charge , i think we dun even hv a chance to know that PAP actually pull off such a stunt ....Originally posted by schrecklichkeit:this kind of tactics they can still afford to pull cos there is still a large number of people who aren't as educated as us to see the undercurrents.
and even if we do.. do we dare to voice out in public? to the 'uneducated bunch'? even letters like that get controlled by the press..
I tell you. PAP can still escape with this now.. but give another 10 20 years, no way.
i stay in hg... here not so bad lah...Originally posted by woodlandsHool:given another 10-20 yrs if PAP still in charge , i think we dun even hv a chance to know that PAP actually pull off such a stunt ....
really pity those potong pasir and hougang residents ... it seem it's their fault to live in a non-PAP GRC and they can't hv the same previlege like us do ... if things still going this way .. then might as well , ask hougang and potong pasir to give the seats to the PAP and let the residents there enjoy what SINGAPOREANS are hving in their estate . oh , did i mention " enjoy " ? i meant enjoy with a " price " to pay![]()
I see alot of reply to this post,i have only one comment about it......This post is an ass raping post.Originally posted by starblue:lolz... how immature.
Uh - Is that really relevent to their current performance? Who gives a damn how they did in the past if they are not up to par now?Originally posted by starblue:lolz... how immature.
You are wrong!!! We paid for our previlage and nothing comes free from sg gov to us! mind you.Originally posted by woodlandsHool:given another 10-20 yrs if PAP still in charge , i think we dun even hv a chance to know that PAP actually pull off such a stunt ....
really pity those potong pasir and hougang residents ... it seem it's their fault to live in a non-PAP GRC and they can't hv the same previlege like us do ... if things still going this way .. then might as well , ask hougang and potong pasir to give the seats to the PAP and let the residents there enjoy what SINGAPOREANS are hving in their estate . oh , did i mention " enjoy " ? i meant enjoy with a " price " to pay![]()
yah... its sort of like buying votes...Originally posted by Lowclassman:You are wrong!!! We paid for our previlage and nothing comes free from sg gov to us! mind you.
Potong pasir resident paid income taxes, they paid everything as like we do. The only words i can use is:- they are being unfairly ill-treated by sg freaking gov. That the singapore's freaking government's way of doing things.