Singapore government has always been very miserly in spending on people's medical, education, housing, utilities, transportation by recovering every cent through a system of creative accounting.About HDB, I just wanna point out tat singapore is not the country with the highest housing costs
It will keep pointing out to the people the need to avoid welfarism. It acquires lands at nominal costs paid for by taxpaers yet sell flats built on such acquired lands at market prices to the citizens. Indirect taxes through double-charge on lands through HDB and triple-charge on vehicle through LTA impose great burdens on people and businesses alike. Yet, it would continue to resort to all kinds of corporatisation schemes to recover more costs.
However through years of denying spending on essential services which people need for living, big surpluses are accumulated into billions by both fiscal budgeting and off-budget surpluses by various statutory boards.tat may be true but I guess even in private sectors tis problem can be seen as well
So monies are available for spending. If the departments don't spend the surpluses or budget allocations, it will be presumed that the allocations are not needed so every department will try to spend any allocations or surpluses.
The main reason for over-spending on posh and extravagant projects like HDB HUB, Treasury Building, Esplanade (The Durian), SIR, etc may then be psychological for the reasons as stated aforesaid.If u ask me, wat is your definition of posh and extravagant ? I have nothing against them for having new buildings which r practically made and not purposely made expensive (except for the durian). Do u suggest tat all gov buildings must never be new and they have to keep staying at the same old place... for maybe forever ?
The latest posh community clubs and air-conditioned bus interchanges and many more unreported projects are just continuing unclear thinking by the cabinet on the entire budgetary process, allocations of funds, and lack of guidances to ministries on fiscal policies and implementation.I am just puzzled... aren't some of the commnity centres really old ? Aren't some of the bus interchange old (20 to 30 years) as well ? It is spending money to make life in singapore better. U want the facilities we use be forever old ? Why build new school ? Let the students have old ones for the next 100 years. Why spend on bus interchange ? Let them look like they r from third world country for another 50 years. Why spend on community centres ? Let them go old with age and look like haunted mansions. Why upgrade hawker centres ? Just let them continue to new old, unclean and uncomfortable. I have nothing against new buildings. I don't see it as a good thing from the gov, not a bad thing.
Economists' traditional theories on 'spending for the sake of spending to stimulate economic activities are questionable. Billions were spent on big projects during last two recessions in this manner (for the sake of spending) without apparent effect to revive the economy.If they were not spent, it may become worse. i believe the construction business will be hit harder than now. So it is better to keep them in the reserves ?
If government to begin with does not stinge so much on providing essential basic services to lower costs of living of citizens, there will be less problems or issues raised on posh projects. One will be surprised if hungry and poor citizens can stand any talks about HDB or Treasury Hubs when stomachs are hungry or if there is no more jobs. Please provide more able leadership in this regard and put a cap on unwarranted spending like on the 7 wonders (going on to 9 or more)there will always be people with hungry stomach in any society. So we shall never build new buildings ? I see private companies like UOB spending more money on their commercial buildings.
Totally agreed. I would rather the the $$$ be channel into reduction in medical cost than building a air conditioned bus interchange.actually just a question. How much is enough ? They really do spend money on lowering price of medical care in singapore. So should we put all the money into medical and never use a cent to build new facilities ?
Ah ha...idiotic dog...disappear frm casino...c i told u so, texbook economics, u r unbelievable...naive..man...Roberteh and iamgundo is rit...learn frm temOriginally posted by stupidissmart:look like I have to refer back to my economics books to see on tat line
Ah ha...idiotic dog...disappear frm casino...c i told u so, texbook economics, u r unbelievable...naive..man...Roberteh and iamgundo is rit...learn frm temwau lau fat pig head is here again ! If it is in economics textbook, it means it is probably right. Wat ? U never read economics before ? Dissappear from casino ? U never read properly ? BTW u think people r so free to keep hurling abuses at people
Wastage is wastage..do u need Fujitsu Plasma TV in HDB Toa Payoh Hub, at tat time, its abt S$18,000 - S$20,000 per Plasma TV...wau lau ? 15,000 to 20,000 ? U buy one at tat price right ? Who ever told u tat the plasma tv costs tat much ?
Quote by Stupid
It can be argued tat a sum of money is indeed set aside for the elderly. Do u think tat all gov buildings should be old and badly maintained to show the gov is saving money ?
By Mannovo
Since when did Roberteh or Goodu tok abr poorly maintain gahment bldgÂ…robert tok abt functionalÂ…u r putting words into pple mouthÂ…u fuxking faggotÂ…Quote by Stupid
there is no crime in collecting cans. If they spend more money on the police, there will be fewer crimes or less overload of work for the police.
By Mannovo
Why r old pple collecting cansÂ…why..stupidÂ…u r fuxking..moronic..tey need $$$ to surviveÂ…iamgoondu is suggesting tat more $$$ can be given out to these ppleÂ…n in yr casino forumÂ…u said tat hopefull gahment will reduce taxÂ…u also own casinoÂ…wat rubbishÂ…if these old pple r in dire stateÂ…n r not given enugÂ…will u get a share of casinoÂ…u dumb assÂ…u cÂ…everytime..something spew frm yr fuxking mouthÂ…u hve to be whippedQuote by Stupid
Why do u say tat we had just walked and ignore their existence ? Isn't money already set to beak their poverty trap ?
A miserably $200 n tey have to topped up $50 to get gahment sharesÂ…why this one size fits all approachÂ…Singapore is a small place to governÂ…u pple sits inside yr air-conditioned room, with yr rosy tinted glasses n plasma TV..n u think tat the whole fuxking world revolved around uÂ…Quote by stupid:
Tat is a pretty selfish way of thinking. just because I do not live or go to sengkang does it means they should build any road or park there ? It meant a difference to the other people living there isn't it ?
By Mannovo
Tat is why is say u r a wasted civil servant. Singapore is too comfortableÂ…u fuxking civil servant r also too comfortableÂ…tats why I ask u where hve u beenÂ…hve u done any real business in developing countriesÂ…or just your study trips r holiday tripsÂ…with souvenior to hang on yr one-sided ding dong
We r losing our competitiveness….mainland Chinese managers r getting RMB8,000 – RMB10,000 salary in bigger cities n in smaller cities, its even lesser..standing day n night to serve customers…so air-con bus depot is a luxury…
aircon the whole bus depotÂ…how much electricity its going to consumeÂ…oil prices are escalatingÂ…maintenance etcÂ…n then the PTC will tell u tat they need to increase fares due to operational costÂ…waddafuxkÂ…PTC consist of SBS, TIBS management ppleÂ…u know in 2002..till a big hoohahÂ…then tey were removedÂ…Quoted by stupid
Mabe we should stop using airconditioned bus too since it is also more costly to buy and maintain an airconditioned bus
By Mannovo
We r toking abt choicesÂ…let consumer hve a choice..to take air-con bus or notÂ…do we really hve a choiceÂ…u fuxking moronQuoted by stupid
So where should we spend the money ?
By Mannovo
SBS has obscene profits in 2003 due to the 2002 bus fare increase..the Mobile TV was also factored to pass on cost to consumers, ezlink system also cok up, cost pass on to consumersÂ…wat abt efficiencyÂ…u c buses bunching together, safetyÂ…bus with handicap accessibility, cleaner buses, charity..etcQuote by stupid
Then isn't tat a good time for gov to spend some money to make the economy better ? U think keeping it at the reserves is better ?
By Mannovo
Spending on building air-con bus depot to stimulate economyÂ…u fuxking idiotÂ…where do u learn yr economicsÂ…:quote by stupid
I am just puzzled.. when gov spend the money for their buildings u r not happy. When they spend it to upgrade the facility u r also not happy. So does keeping the money in the reserves makes u happy ? Now u say tat an air con interchange is a waste of money because u r not using it. Maybe in a few years time, it will be necessary for all bus interchange to be aircon because it is too uncomfortable. It is like when aircon bus just appears, peopel r complaining tat is is a waste of money too
By Mannovo
Iamgoondu is saying tat $ can be put into better useÂ…rather than a fancy air-con bus depotÂ…roberteh highlighted tat upgrading yesÂ…but shld be functionalÂ….why do u always want to put words into pple mouthÂ…tats why I tok abt yr motherÂ….ahÂ…now u r flipping like a idiotic dog..againÂ…down boy, down boyÂ…
R r still living in yr dreamsÂ…Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, china, India, China economy r on trackÂ…we r running behindÂ…n u want all places to be air-conÂ…
Roberteh highlighted tat gahment is running on 15% GDPÂ…wow..tats high..tats why gahmnet has so much $$$ to spendÂ…but how much r given back to help the poorÂ…
Commo...u r given two eyes, two legs, two ears, two hands and u hve only one-ball view....pathetic...man
It's true that Singapore is not the country with the highest housing costs. However it is definitelyly one of the few countries having high housing costs.Originally posted by stupidissmart:About HDB, I just wanna point out tat singapore is not the country with the highest housing costs Rolling Eyes Singapore is also the country with the lowest income tax in the world. How should they recover money from the low income tax ? If there is no HDB and all buildings r made by private sectors, the price will be more expensive and nobody will complain.
Sir, have you been to HDB Hub in Toa Payoh? Have you visited to their Gym? Have you been to their jackpot room? Have you been to the little golf course (or park)? Have you ever slumber yourself in those cushy sofas and glue your eyes into those plasma TVs?Originally posted by stupidissmart:If u ask me, wat is your definition of posh and extravagant ? I have nothing against them for having new buildings which r practically made and not purposely made expensive (except for the durian). Do u suggest tat all gov buildings must never be new and they have to keep staying at the same old place... for maybe forever ?
Why are you comparing yourself with a private company? UOB is making monies and I see little wrong for them to spend on new commercial building. Is HDB making monies?Originally posted by stupidissmart:I see private companies like UOB spending more money on their commercial buildings.
Do you know how much one have to spend to reply to your mail? If one do it in our National Library, it would be $1 for 18 minutes.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Tat is a pretty selfish way of thinking. just because I do not live or go to sengkang does it means they should build any road or park there ? It meant a difference to the other people living there isn't it ?
I am just puzzled.. when gov spend the money for their buildings u r not happy. When they spend it to upgrade the facility u r also not happy. So does keeping the money in the reserves makes u happy ? Now u say tat an air con interchange is a waste of money because u r not using it. Maybe in a few years time, it will be necessary for all bus interchange to be aircon because it is too uncomfortable. It is like when aircon bus just appears, peopel r complaining tat is is a waste of money too
den people will say sg gov want to practice big brother is watching. No privacy no human rights.Originally posted by KumSioJui:ok granted that things like 25k LCD TV is not necessary, I guess when you look at a different angle, I'm sure they were given a budget how they derived at that figure we don't know but if they did a shabby upgrade(and places like toa payoh are quite old estates) residents will kao peh and say not enuf attention given, if they spent more ppl will say government spenthrift and no cost controls. I guess the politically correct thing to do would be to spend then since people will complain regardless, at least no one will be accused of siphoning off money or being stingy.
But things like closed circuit cameras at bus interchanges are useful, they won't stop any determined terrorist but is useful as a surveillence tool, when ppl see a ciruit camera the first thing that runs thru the mind is "Don't do stupid things someone is watching" it is useful enough to deter gangfights or petty theft, today younger generation probably have never seen real gangfights before with 30-40 opposing combatants wielding assortment of pipes, broken bottles and parangs at bus interchanges, they were quite common venues for gangfights see in my youth as at night they are quite deserted and large open area to chase ppl around up and down.
Also remember in the 50's or issit 60's when we hanged the indonesian commandos for placing parcels which contained improvised explosive devices around singapore, if that were to happen here at some bus interchange I think the human loss would be horrendous hence it is useful to have circuit cameras to detect parcels or bags lying about especially run up to 911.
Since when did Roberteh or Goodu tok abr poorly maintain gahment bldgÂ…robert tok abt functionalÂ…u r putting words into pple mouthÂ…u fuxking faggotÂ…Functional ? Wat is your definition of functional ? Old and badly maintained buildings is also functional. Old and dirty looking hawker centre is also functional. Old and small schools r also functional. So how low should one go in order for it to be not "functional" ? When it is on the brink of collapse or permanent electricity cut ?
Why r old pple collecting cansÂ…why..stupidÂ…u r fuxking..moronic..tey need $$$ to surviveÂ…iamgoondu is suggesting tat more $$$ can be given out to these ppleÂ…n in yr casino forumÂ…u said tat hopefull gahment will reduce taxÂ…u also own casinoÂ…wat rubbishÂ…if these old pple r in dire stateÂ…n r not given enugÂ…will u get a share of casinoÂ…u dumb assÂ…u cÂ…everytime..something spew frm yr fuxking mouthÂ…u hve to be whippedHave I ever say tat they were not there for the money ? Have I ever say they didn't do it for the money ? I am saying tat money had really been given to the poor and elderly. But no matter how much money u have set for them, there will always be poor and elderly people around in any society. U look at US, u can still see people who r homeless and sleeps on streets. So just because there will always be poor people the gov have to spend all their money on charity ? U say tat we give mroe to these people, I may agree. But if u say tat just because there r poor people, then we should't have any new upgrade of facilities, then I don't agree
A miserably $200 n tey have to topped up $50 to get gahment sharesÂ…why this one size fits all approachÂ…Singapore is a small place to governÂ…u pple sits inside yr air-conditioned room, with yr rosy tinted glasses n plasma TV..n u think tat the whole fuxking world revolved around uÂ…I thinkit is dumb to ask people to put in $50 as well. But then wat has it got to do with tis topic ? Out of point !
Tat is why is say u r a wasted civil servant. Singapore is too comfortableÂ…u fuxking civil servant r also too comfortableÂ…tats why I ask u where hve u beenÂ…hve u done any real business in developing countriesÂ…or just your study trips r holiday tripsÂ…with souvenior to hang on yr one-sided ding dongFirst, I have to say I am not a civil servant. But I guess no matter how many times I say it, u will keep insisting it to be true since in your small miserable brain u believe tat those who speak out for the gov must be civil servants. Since u insist I am a civil servant, fine, then i will insist u r a porn VCD seller. U think selling porn VCDs around is a big hoo haa and somethign to be proud of meh ? Com'on man, u r insecure and just wanna boast to the peopel aroudn about your VCD sellign escapade. U r really becoming the old person I used to hate who keep droning ontheir past achievement as though it is a big deal.
We r losing our competitiveness….mainland Chinese managers r getting RMB8,000 – RMB10,000 salary in bigger cities n in smaller cities, its even lesser..standing day n night to serve customers…so air-con bus depot is a luxury…
aircon the whole bus depotÂ…how much electricity its going to consumeÂ…oil prices are escalatingÂ…maintenance etcÂ…n then the PTC will tell u tat they need to increase fares due to operational costÂ…waddafuxkÂ…PTC consist of SBS, TIBS management ppleÂ…u know in 2002..till a big hoohahÂ…then tey were removedÂ…
We r toking abt choicesÂ…let consumer hve a choice..to take air-con bus or notÂ…do we really hve a choiceÂ…u fuxking moronDo consmer really have a choice to take aircon buses ? I wish to take express bus 502, does it have an non aircon version ? Com'on, face it. Aircon bus interchange is popular among the toa payoh resident. Tat is why they r planning for more aircon bus interchanges. It is like aircon buses. Initially everyone says it is a waste of money. Now everybody prefer to pay a little extra to sit on aircon buses instead.
SBS has obscene profits in 2003 due to the 2002 bus fare increase..the Mobile TV was also factored to pass on cost to consumers, ezlink system also cok up, cost pass on to consumersÂ…wat abt efficiencyÂ…u c buses bunching together, safetyÂ…bus with handicap accessibility, cleaner buses, charity..etcI agree tat SBS had made obscene profit all these while. So ? Tis isn't a thread about askign them nto to raise prices isn't it ? It is a thread about whether should the gov spend money on things for the masses like bus interchaneg and new hawker centres and things like a new building for HDB hub. Have I ever say tat they never earn any money ? And wat r u trying to say for your later part ?
Spending on building air-con bus depot to stimulate economyÂ…u fuxking idiotÂ…where do u learn yr economicsÂ…:i have said before, gov should spend more money to boost the economy. They build an aircon depot, they will employ a local company, which will buy materials for the construction. Tis will make the construction company richer and the companies tat had good purchased richer which will more liekly spend the money on other retails, boosting their sales and this money will carry on propaganting further. So gov spending money really do have an effect on the economy. So now I have explained the economic terms for u, u got any roblems with it ?
Iamgoondu is saying tat $ can be put into better useÂ…rather than a fancy air-con bus depotÂ…roberteh highlighted tat upgrading yesÂ…but shld be functionalÂ….why do u always want to put words into pple mouthÂ…tats why I tok abt yr motherÂ….ahÂ…now u r flipping like a idiotic dog..againÂ…down boy, down boyÂ…and I have replied saying tat an aircon interchange is not fanciful. It is in fact practical to a certain extend. Frankly I am happy tat gov is spending money on the masses like us. Why r u nt happy with it ? They r lanning to build a new stadium as well, u r gonna complain and says we should give all the money to the aged ? Then singapore will forever be a poor place to live in since all our facilities and amenities r old, ugly and not in tune with the times. u probably never read my posts.
R r still living in yr dreamsÂ…Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, china, India, China economy r on trackÂ…we r running behindÂ…n u want all places to be air-conÂ…
Roberteh highlighted tat gahment is running on 15% GDPÂ…wow..tats high..tats why gahmnet has so much $$$ to spendÂ…but how much r given back to help the poorÂ…
Commo...u r given two eyes, two legs, two ears, two hands and u hve only one-ball view....pathetic...man
It's true that Singapore is not the country with the highest housing costs. However it is definitelyly one of the few countries having high housing costs.Actually singapore housings cost is lower according to expatriates report. I also want public housing to reduce their prices too, but then tis trend of having high housing costs in develop countries is pretty difficult to change
It frustrates me when people like to compare pricing with the highest in the world. It sadder me as our humble servant feels there is more room for our PUBLIC HOUSING to increase.
In the first place, why would our government make our income tax the lowest? Who would benefit from being collecting the world's lowest income tax? One who earns a million a month, or one who earns a thousand a month?I agree with u. However we r a nation tat need to attract rich people to come over to invest and live. As such a mean is to lower income tax.
True they need to recover the money from the low income tax, and where do they get it from? The GST. Just imagine, every Singaporean eats 10 Kg of rice/month, or each household spent (10Kg x 4 x $2 = $80) (4 members in a household and $2 per kg of rice). A 5% GST would be $4. It is insignificant for someone earning by the millions, however it would constitute 0.4% of his monthly salary. Worse one can't survive solely on rice alone, he needs fish, chicken, eggs, electricity, water, and more. So for each month, a poor person would contribute 5% of his salary to GST, whilst a rich person need contribute less than 1% of his salary for the same amount of basic stuffs.Lets just say tat generally speaking, a richer person will spend more money than a poorer one. So they more they spend, the more tax they will give.
Sir, have you been to HDB Hub in Toa Payoh? Have you visited to their Gym? Have you been to their jackpot room? Have you been to the little golf course (or park)? Have you ever slumber yourself in those cushy sofas and glue your eyes into those plasma TVs?don't need to call me sir... I have been to the HDb hub and frankly... it is not really as posh as some describe. On whether is bukit merah good enough, well there r complaints tat it was overcrowded with a very low ceiling and it indeed look a bit old frot he outside... the new HDB hub is also built in 1995 when the economy is booming in singapore then.
Why is there a need to relocate to Toa Payoh? Isn't the building in Bukit Merah just as new and big?
Sir, I believe fewer will grumble if they had retroffited the building in Bukit Merah and started a Gym, and jackpot room, a golf course, and put up sofas and plamas TV. Even though for 10 years the companies I have worked with never have a Gym.
And to let you know, my company allocates 3 Gym Pass (1 day each) for a staff strength of 800 each month.
HDB is one of the legacy left by the old guards (CPF is another), I am indeed grateful that all of us have a roof over their heads. Unfortunately HDB apartments are no longer affordable.I wish for the pricing of hdb to be reduce as well. In fact am also deeply angered by the fact tat the housing is getting smaller and smaller for the high price given as well. However I guess tat is the problem of limited land in singapore followed by the fact tat developed cities always have these problems of small and expensive housings
Singapore is a small country,unlike many countries. In other countries, if one feels that housing is expensive, one may probably choose to relocate somewhere. In Singapore, where can one go to? And to own one HDB flat, one probably has to bond himself voluntarily for 30 years to be a slave of our system.However most jobs r found in the cities, which can get to be bigger than singapore. It is not really practical to ask people to travel 4 hours a day to and fro to save on the housings. In fact houses not in the city area but close to it is almost as expensive as well. However after u manage to have a house, the value of the house is still relatively there. For some people in other cities, the most they can do is rent and they will never have the chance to ge back the money
Why are you comparing yourself with a private company? UOB is making monies and I see little wrong for them to spend on new commercial building. Is HDB making monies?I don't think it is fair to ask all civil servants to work in old lousy environment when their counter part r working in fabulous new beautiful buildings. Civil servants r working for the career, they r not working as a public service to the people.
Do you still think that I am selffish?I am not sayign u r selfish, but your idea tat an aircon interchange is unnecessary because u do not use it is a bit.. selfish. I am tryingto tell u there r people who use it and we should not forget their welfare as well
I hope you would see my point, for bus interchanges, LTA spent the monies and bus companies foot the monthly maintenances. And who would ultimately pay for these maintenances? Would one stay more than 30 minutes in a bus interchange? Why bother to have air conditioning system in a bus interchange? I would rather LTA spend the monies in engaging more securities, at least more Singaporeans are at work.Why need to have aircon buses ? the people only need to stay there for 30 minutes too as well isn't it ? Why bother ? because if u r a user of the interchange, u will enjoy this welfare to the people since u can sweat less, u can feel the comfort when travelling to your destination. As said before, u say it is unecessary, but some people felt tat it is a great imporvement. We have to cater to the welfare of all parties isn't it ?
? cents fare adjustments probably have lesser impacts for you and I and for all of us in this forums, for we have accessed to the internet. I advise you not to forget about the silent majority. Perhaps you should read up the Chinese Evening Dailies (LianHeWanBao and ShinMin Dailies) if you have not, and you would probably know there are still many not as fortunate as all of us.It has an impact on me as well. I take public transport too. I also wish the fares to be cheaper as well. There r a lot of unfortunate peopel around, I agree. Bt I pay tax not only to help these people, but also expect to see an improvement in my surroundings as well. I want to use a new stadium. I want to enoy watching musical at a posh esplanade. I want to use an aircon bus interchange as well. We can't just spend all our money on charity solely.
Try using Firefox browser.Originally posted by stupidissmart:First, for the sake of all mankind, please edit back your previous posts so tat it can be easier to read instead of everybody having to scroll the bar to see wat u want to say.
Did anyone complain about the new library in Clementi?Originally posted by stupidissmart:and I have replied saying tat an aircon interchange is not fanciful. It is in fact practical to a certain extend. Frankly I am happy tat gov is spending money on the masses like us. Why r u nt happy with it ? They r lanning to build a new stadium as well, u r gonna complain and says we should give all the money to the aged ? Then singapore will forever be a poor place to live in since all our facilities and amenities r old, ugly and not in tune with the times. u probably never read my posts.
sighs... we have become a petty bickering nation, nobody is satisfied with anything. we will become as bad as the politically minded israelis.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:den people will say sg gov want to practice big brother is watching. No privacy no human rights.
Did anyone complain about the new library in Clementi?Somebody do complain about the new national library
Did anyone ever complain about the upgraded swimming pools in Jurong East and Choa Chu Kang?Why not complain about tis one then ? I mean they spend few millions building the pools and it used up many litres of water per day. This use may be linked to our water supply u know. U may pay for their expenditure in the wave pool etc. So ? Cut off these welfares for the people ?
For a library, one pays nut to go in.I don't think just forgetting the swimmers is unfair
For a swimming pool, one may choose not to pick up swimming.
For an air-con bus interchange, someday the bus companies will come after bus commuters for the maintenance fees.fora bus interchange, u can take a cab or mrt or walk. I mean if u ask people not to swim, why not ask people not to take bus ?
What at this time, we are still trying hard to raise our cost of living? Many jobs in manufacturing were lost and would never come back. Production operators are still paid at SGD720 a month. Any takers for locals? Some PRC workers may even feel cheated of being conned into working in Singapore on contract and receiving peanuts.Okie, how much burden so u think an aircon bus interchange is gonna cost ? Do u think it is more or lesser than an aircon mrt station ? Do u think the power consumption for air con buses throughtout singapore gonna be cheaper or more expensive than a few aircon bus interchange. Do u think the aircon fees for all the libraries in singapore is lesser than the aircon businterchange ? There r many buildings and infrastructure tat uses up a lot of aircon and tis really makes one ponder whether is it gonna be tat heavy a burden to carry or not.
Are we keen to up our employment rate? Why shouldn't we make effort to clamp down our cost of living? We may take a 2 prong approach in upping our employment rate, job redesign as well as clamping down our cost of living.As said before, some money have to be spend on upgrading of our facilities. U want to use old roads tat never tar for decades ? U don't want hdb upgrades ? U do't wanna use new swimming pools ? If we can only spend money on new facilities only when we r rich, then we may never see any upgrade of facilities maybe forever. Even in poorer coutnries, they too spend money on some infrastructure for the masses. We should make effort to increase employment, but we should not totally abandon any upgrades in the meantime as well
Having air-con bus interchanges would only burden our bus companies. And in no time they would cry for bus adjustment.U think having no aircon bus interchange they will not ask for a price hike ? If we r scared of bus hikes, then propose we cut off all aircon buses since non aircon buses r easier to maintain. Propose we use fans, or at least use a higher temperature for some aircon MRt station. Maybe we can propose we use back 2nd hand no name brand of buses and do not employ any cleaners to clean the bus. Propose we use lesser buses so there will be lesser frequency between trips. Propose the bus drivers not to wear uniform but any clothes they desire when driving. Propose we remove all the seats from buses and MRT so there will be more space for more standing people. There r many ways to cut down costs u know. These suggestions will lessen the burden of bus companies and in no time they will reduce the price of the bus trips. But r these desirable cuts ? U want tat to happen ?
Let's think of other better alternatives in spending that budget. Didn't the polytechnics students ask for bus concession?i support tat idea as well. I also support hdb price cut too. SO to achieve tat price cut all roads will not be upgrade, all schools will not be upgrade till they collapse, all gov buildings should down grade to coffeeshops or HDb buildings. Is tat the solution u seek ? We cannot just spend all the money on one area and not spread it to uses such as upgrading of facilities. I will be frank to u I like the swimmign complex in jurong. I like the new aircon interchange, I like to go to esplanade for musicals, I like to go to the parks maintain by hdb and their gardeners and I like my kids to go to new schools and use computers in an aircon environment. U don't like these ? U want to use lousy third world swimming pools ? U like your kids to study in an old school with old teaching facilities ? U want to use roads tat were never maintain ?
Please bus is the cheapest mode of transport? You want people to walk from Jurong to Pasir Ris?Originally posted by stupidissmart:fora bus interchange, u can take a cab or mrt or walk. I mean if u ask people not to swim, why not ask people not to take bus ?
If they really spend few millions on those pools, I would probably scream.Originally posted by stupidissmart:Why not complain about tis one then ? I mean they spend few millions building the pools and it used up many litres of water per day. This use may be linked to our water supply u know. U may pay for their expenditure in the wave pool etc. So ? Cut off these welfares for the people ?
fora bus interchange, u can take a cab or mrt or walk. I mean if u ask people not to swim, why not ask people not to take bus ?
Do they have plans to air-cond those elevated MRT stations?Originally posted by stupidissmart:Okie, how much burden so u think an aircon bus interchange is gonna cost ? Do u think it is more or lesser than an aircon mrt station ? Do u think the power consumption for air con buses throughtout singapore gonna be cheaper or more expensive than a few aircon bus interchange. Do u think the aircon fees for all the libraries in singapore is lesser than the aircon businterchange ? There r many buildings and infrastructure tat uses up a lot of aircon and tis really makes one ponder whether is it gonna be tat heavy a burden to carry or not.
Please pay a visit to Farrer Court, a newly HDB upgraded precinct in 2000. Some of the upgraded facilities have to make way for a CCL station there.Originally posted by stupidissmart:As said before, some money have to be spend on upgrading of our facilities. U want to use old roads tat never tar for decades ? U don't want hdb upgrades ?
I am suggesting that we should not give ADDITIONAL burden to our bus companies. Any additional burden would render a fare adjustment. Let's have it when more of us are prepared.Originally posted by stupidissmart:U think having no aircon bus interchange they will not ask for a price hike ? If we r scared of bus hikes, then propose we cut off all aircon buses since non aircon buses r easier to maintain. Propose we use fans, or at least use a higher temperature for some aircon MRt station. Maybe we can propose we use back 2nd hand no name brand of buses and do not employ any cleaners to clean the bus. Propose we use lesser buses so there will be lesser frequency between trips. Propose the bus drivers not to wear uniform but any clothes they desire when driving. Propose we remove all the seats from buses and MRT so there will be more space for more standing people. There r many ways to cut down costs u know. These suggestions will lessen the burden of bus companies and in no time they will reduce the price of the bus trips. But r these desirable cuts ? U want tat to happen ?
I am talking about alternative solutions in spending the allocated budget in air -cond the bus interchanges.Originally posted by stupidissmart:i support tat idea as well. I also support hdb price cut too. SO to achieve tat price cut all roads will not be upgrade, all schools will not be upgrade till they collapse, all gov buildings should down grade to coffeeshops or HDb buildings. Is tat the solution u seek ? We cannot just spend all the money on one area and not spread it to uses such as upgrading of facilities. I will be frank to u I like the swimmign complex in jurong. I like the new aircon interchange, I like to go to esplanade for musicals, I like to go to the parks maintain by hdb and their gardeners and I like my kids to go to new schools and use computers in an aircon environment. U don't like these ? U want to use lousy third world swimming pools ? U like your kids to study in an old school with old teaching facilities ? U want to use roads tat were never maintain ?
Please bus is the cheapest mode of transport? You want people to walk from Jurong to Pasir Ris?No, but I don't want people to swim in their bathtub either
Did you read the story in Shin Min, how the gambler's wife used to walk from her apartment to her mother's place? She was making effort to save so that she could help to clear her husband debt, unfortunately....and ? We spend all our money to help these people ? I mean there is limit on how much we can help. U mean we should all stop spending on building new facilities tohelp out these people ?
Have you read another story about how a old couple spend eighties cent a day for a packet of fried mee hoon, and how they split that packet of bee hoon into six portions? 2 for breakfast, 2 for lunch and 2 for dinner.
If they really spend few millions on those pools, I would probably scream.I believe the one at jurong is really more than a million. U can scream now.
Those waters are probably recycled, the bills in maintaining Jurong East and Buona Vista pools would not be much different.Strictly speaking, the water we r drinking is also recycled water. they r called Newater
Unlike air-cond and non air-cond bus interchanges, the bills for a air-cond bus interchanges is 3 times as much as a non air-con bus interchanges.air con bus is probably 2-3 times more harder to maintain than non-aircon ones as well. So cut down on aircon for buses ? These r welfare to the people. It has been proven popular to the people so much so tat more aircon bus interchange will be built
One may choose not to swim in swimming pools if they are unwilling to pay the fees. One couldn't choose to walk if the distance is far apart.It is a bit.. selfish... if u can tell swimmers nto to swim, I can tell bus takers not to take a bus as well. One may choose not to swim in swimming pools if they are unwilling to pay the fees. one may choose not to take bus if they r unwilling to pay the fees
Do they have plans to air-cond those elevated MRT stations?No, but I am asking u why shouldn't the airconed MRT stations use a higher temperature or perhaps just use plain fan for the people now to save money ?
The existing MRT train fares had already factored in the utilities, maintenances of those air-cond MRT stations, do you think the MRT train fares will still be the same if they were to, OUT OF STUPIDITY, air-cond all thse elevated MRT stations?If they have your thinking, they wouldn't have put aircon on places like library or MRT stations
Why you bring up the public libraries? Do one need to pay to go into a public libraries?Where do u think the aircon fees goes to ? U r paying it through your tax as well. U r not paying any fees to the aircon bus interchange since the fares had not increase yet
Do one need to pay to go into Takashimaya?but if u shop there, u r helping them to pay for their aircon. In short why don't u propose we remove its aircon so they can sell things more cheaply ?
I am suggesting that we should not give ADDITIONAL burden to our bus companies. Any additional burden would render a fare adjustment. Let's have it when more of us are prepared.when will u classify as being prepared ? when we already have aircon mrt stations, aircon libraries and aircon food court, we have aircon for almost everything. Now we r not prepared for aircon bus interchange ?
I am talking about alternative solutions in spending the allocated budget in air -cond the bus interchanges.tat is right. Everyone like upgraded facilities. So why stop them from upgrading ?
Everyone likes upgraded stuffs, new schools, new flats, new food centre, new bus interchanges, new shopping malls....
I am not denying having a new and functional bus interchange, I am only unease in having more air-condional bus interchanges.
okie..cap..u run this ship...but sometimes cannot help it when u encounter an idxot. heee...heeee...Originally posted by CenturionMBT:keep your farking personal insults within the PM
and stick to the damn topic.
failure to comply and I will delete your postings.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Alredi u llok bad especially where u articulate only the effect but not its cause…why the luxuries…whose monies…is it…does every gahment dept has to be a profit centre…can more be done for those tat r still in poverty trap rather than waste “public” monies on frivolous luxuries…whats makes a nation great…its its pple…not plasma TV, more wonders of the world or FTs..tey are needed for specific industry but not a mediocre engineer or technician…n don’t put words in my mouth…
Well, I am gonna use slightly politer wordings to u even if u don't. Using all these verbal abuses is stating to make me look bad]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Are there any old or badly maintained government building in Singapore – you tell me…either it is getting more luxurious or expensive…See..u always tanget to the extreme…either one point of way, one way street thinking or putting words in pple mouth…a police station could be functional without the LCD/plasma TVs, HDB Hub cld do away with the Fujitsu 43” Plasma TV, Gym etc..it was supposed to provide affordable and subsidize housing ie. If u r not aware tat a 5 room construction cost is abt S$35 – S$50k, and it was charged for S$235k for a 5 room in Sengkang. Again ..u go with yr outto point…can u c it…no…u don’t rit…HDB has so much money to splurge on a S$500 million HDB Hub in Toa Payoh and paid out on the average..S$80k for the staff transfer from HBD to HDB Corp. Where do u think these money comes frm…subsidize housing…my god….tats why the plasma TV, Gym etc.
Functional ? Wat is your definition of functional ? Old and badly maintained buildings is also functional. Old and dirty looking hawker centre is also functional. Old and small schools r also functional. So how low should one go in order for it to be not "functional" ? When it is on the brink of collapse or permanent electricity cut ?]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:U may agree to give more to charity..haloÂ…who r u n me to agree or not to agreeÂ…its our gahmentÂ…who decidesÂ…u still hve not wake up frm yr slumberÂ…both roberrteh n goondu r not advocating tat gahment bldg cannot be upgraded but all tey are saying is tat these money used for luxury items such as Plasma TV can be better spendÂ…n pls againÂ…donÂ’t put out words into their mouth tat they are against upgrade of facilityÂ…
Have I ever say tat they were not there for the money ? Have I ever say they didn't do it for the money ? I am saying tat money had really been given to the poor and elderly. But no matter how much money u have set for them, there will always be poor and elderly people around in any society. U look at US, u can still see people who r homeless and sleeps on streets. So just because there will always be poor people the gov have to spend all their money on charity ? U say tat we give mroe to these people, I may agree. But if u say tat just because there r poor people, then we should't have any new upgrade of facilities, then I don't agree ?]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Lucky u r not a civil servant…why waste our tax monies on u….if u can only see things blindly, then u r blind…there…I told u so…u r naïve..n cannot differentiate between a private against a public entity…Can UOB be DBS Bank…u nvr think..UOB can hve the best n most expensive Gym in the world..its private business.tey can do anything Wee Cho Yaw likes….because it is private monies…a gahment..is private or public monies…u tell me/..Why this one-eye, myopic view..u r worse than George bush….he has two view…black or white…u hve only one view…nothing else…cannot see beyond….totally blind
First, I have to say I am not a civil servant. But I guess no matter how many times I say it, u will keep insisting it to be true since in your small miserable brain u believe tat those who speak out for the gov must be civil servants. Since u insist I am a civil servant, fine, then i will insist u r a porn VCD seller. U think selling porn VCDs around is a big hoo haa and somethign to be proud of meh ? Com'on man, u r insecure and just wanna boast to the peopel aroudn about your VCD sellign escapade. U r really becoming the old person I used to hate who keep droning ontheir past achievement as though it is a big deal.
If u say tat aircon interchange is luxury, then aircon buses is also a luxury. In fact aircon libraries, aircon shopping centre, aircon food court, aircon offices, aircon taxi, aircon gyms r all luxures. Then I guess singaproean can die in the hot sun and lower our productivity, making us worse off then before. ?]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Sorri,I have not taken bus for the last maybe 15 yrsÂ…but anything tat SBS claims is fallacy to me as tey hve taken too much monies frm the pple n too little in returnÂ…look at Mobile TV n easylink..n now air-con depotÂ…always passing the buck to consumers..n PTC consist of own management ppleÂ…of course vested interest..watÂ…to raise faresÂ…all raised up their handsÂ…n it is doneÂ…do we hve a sayÂ…u tell meÂ…..period
Do consmer really have a choice to take aircon buses ? I wish to take express bus 502, does it have an non aircon version ? Com'on, face it. Aircon bus interchange is popular among the toa payoh resident. Tat is why they r planning for more aircon bus interchanges. It is like aircon buses. Initially everyone says it is a waste of money. Now everybody prefer to pay a little extra to sit on aircon buses instead. ?]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Again...a air-con depot for air-con sake argument....nver examine nor critically analyze why...for consumers sake...ok..SBS u r doing good...to pass on tis construction cost and cost of maintenance to consumers...then it is like another Mobil TV and easilink...dont u get it...
I agree tat SBS had made obscene profit all these while. So ? Tis isn't a thread about askign them nto to raise prices isn't it ? It is a thread about whether should the gov spend money on things for the masses like bus interchaneg and new hawker centres and things like a new building for HDB hub. Have I ever say tat they never earn any money ? And wat r u trying to say for your later part ? ?]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:FDIÂ….u idxiotÂ…not a bus depotÂ….need I spell it out to u.
i have said before, gov should spend more money to boost the economy. They build an aircon depot, they will employ a local company, which will buy materials for the construction. Tis will make the construction company richer and the companies tat had good purchased richer which will more liekly spend the money on other retails, boosting their sales and this money will carry on propaganting further. So gov spending money really do have an effect on the economy. So now I have explained the economic terms for u, u got any roblems with it ? ?]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Ya…value-add by providing air-con depot…but who is going to pay 4 u..SBS or consumer…yr guess is as good as mine…every ten cents is very important to the poor…thot u may rich enough… a nation is not build on air-con….if pple r not sturdy…quick..fast…n not naïve….i am looking at u….if u r fighting for survival…do u care whether u hve air-con or not…so why u again put words into pple mouth….too much monies r spend on infrastructure…tell me which gahment dept is depilated…this is fact…cld some of the moneis allocated for luxuries being used for charities or the poor…simple rit, but u simply did not get it…
and I have replied saying tat an aircon interchange is not fanciful. It is in fact practical to a certain extend. Frankly I am happy tat gov is spending money on the masses like us. Why r u nt happy with it ? They r lanning to build a new stadium as well, u r gonna complain and says we should give all the money to the aged ? Then singapore will forever be a poor place to live in since all our facilities and amenities r old, ugly and not in tune with the times. u probably never read my posts. ?]
Alredi u llok bad especially where u articulate only the effect but not its cause…why the luxuries…whose monies…is it…does every gahment dept has to be a profit centre…can more be done for those tat r still in poverty trap rather than waste “public” monies on frivolous luxuries…whats makes a nation great…its its pple…not plasma TV, more wonders of the world or FTs..tey are needed for specific industry but not a mediocre engineer or technician…n don’t put words in my mouth…U seems to be talking about atacking gov in general now
Are there any old or badly maintained government building in Singapore – you tell me…either it is getting more luxurious or expensive…See..u always tanget to the extreme…either one point of way, one way street thinking or putting words in pple mouth…a police station could be functional without the LCD/plasma TVs, HDB Hub cld do away with the Fujitsu 43” Plasma TV, Gym etc..it was supposed to provide affordable and subsidize housing ie. If u r not aware tat a 5 room construction cost is abt S$35 – S$50k, and it was charged for S$235k for a 5 room in Sengkang. Again ..u go with yr outto point…can u c it…no…u don’t rit…HDB has so much money to splurge on a S$500 million HDB Hub in Toa Payoh and paid out on the average..S$80k for the staff transfer from HBD to HDB Corp. Where do u think these money comes frm…subsidize housing…my god….tats why the plasma TV, Gym etc.If u ask me, the police academy is pretty old now. There r several dept in the army tat appears to be built 20-30 years ago as well. I believe they should be new and practical, not luxurious. Do u think tat it is gonna affect the organisation much if they buy a few LCD for the consumer to be clear of where to go ? IS the LCD helpful ? Why is there many other organisation using LCDs as well to serve the consumer better as well ? Personally I find the information of the LCDs helpful. It is a good veneu to spend the money fro the benefit fof the consumer. For your pricing on HDB, mabe it is wise to factor in rent of the land they had used. U can't expect the land to be free isn't it ? As said before, compared with other nations, the housing here is consider cheap. If gov is not involved in building houses, the housing here is gonna be more expensive as well. If u wanna blame, then blame gov for being kaypoh and build public housing
U may agree to give more to charity..haloÂ…who r u n me to agree or not to agreeÂ…its our gahmentÂ…who decidesÂ…u still hve not wake up frm yr slumberÂ…both roberrteh n goondu r not advocating tat gahment bldg cannot be upgraded but all tey are saying is tat these money used for luxury items such as Plasma TV can be better spendÂ…n pls againÂ…donÂ’t put out words into their mouth tat they are against upgrade of facilityÂ…hey com'on man. We r discussing whetehr does the gov do right in the certain actions they do or not. We r not talking about we r gonna implement tis or tat. If like tat then everybody have to keep quiet about politics since most of us aren't gov.
Lucky u r not a civil servant…why waste our tax monies on u….if u can only see things blindly, then u r blind…there…I told u so…u r naïve..n cannot differentiate between a private against a public entity…Can UOB be DBS Bank…u nvr think..UOB can hve the best n most expensive Gym in the world..its private business.tey can do anything Wee Cho Yaw likes….because it is private monies…a gahment..is private or public monies…u tell me/..Why this one-eye, myopic view..u r worse than George bush….he has two view…black or white…u hve only one view…nothing else…cannot see beyond….totally blindif u r a gonna invest or put money into a bank, will u choose UOB with its posh setings and LCD screen or DBS, being restricted to spend any money, have to use coffee shop TV or use cards to inform consumer about info and have the most cheapest furniture and renovation ? Com'on, DBS may have gov links but it doesn't means it doesn't have to compete.
Sorri,I have not taken bus for the last maybe 15 yrsÂ…but anything tat SBS claims is fallacy to me as tey hve taken too much monies frm the pple n too little in returnÂ…look at Mobile TV n easylink..n now air-con depotÂ…always passing the buck to consumers..n PTC consist of own management ppleÂ…of course vested interest..watÂ…to raise faresÂ…all raised up their handsÂ…n it is doneÂ…do we hve a sayÂ…u tell meÂ…..periodmobile tv is suppose to lower the cost for the consumer since it was supposed to be paid by the advertisements in it. air con depot is also meant for ther benefits of the people. As said before, it has proven to be so popular tat they r intending to build more of these. U want to go aainst public feelings and comfortness and tear down the air con depot to make it non-aircon ?
Again...a air-con depot for air-con sake argument....nver examine nor critically analyze why...for consumers sake...ok..SBS u r doing good...to pass on tis construction cost and cost of maintenance to consumers...then it is like another Mobil TV and easilink...dont u get it...if u talk about gold plated tap or gold platwed toilet bowl, I will agree with u. These r example of plain expensive apparatus with no practical usage. But if u r talking about aircon for the consumer and LCD to display valuable info to the consumer, then i will disagree with u. U think they r redundant, I think they r practical. Even if u talk about easilink, i think it is a good system as well as it indeed give consumer more ease in travelling. But I guess someone who had never taken any public transport and who never use the aircon bus depot is probably not really qualified to say they should be removed when the people using them say they r indeed improvement to the past system
Yr stand is tat tey are justified to hve their plasma TV as it is part of upgradingÂ…our stand is tat plasma TV r luxuriesÂ…monies can be better spend on charity or othersÂ…n donÂ’t go tangent again to say tat we r not agreeing for upgradeÂ…or we wanted old n unmaintained bldgÂ…upgrade by all means..but why the plasma TVs, upgrade the bus depotÂ…but why air-con it, n highlight tat due to increasing operational cost, it is being passed on consumersÂ…the same reason for Mobile TVs, easylinkÂ…do we then hve any sayÂ….
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Not attacking….gahment..but tey hve given temselves too much at the expense of Singaporeans…a pat on their own back just by increasing prices…it’s a no brainer…why always at the expenses of consumers…gahment profit centre is to justify their own “out of the world” salary, n I am not saying tat we pay tem peanuts : “don’t put words into my mouth”…FTs…r these really FTs or third-class talents…shit…we pay DBS John Olds 5million “golden handshake”, the same goes to Phippe something..n he brings in the whole ging gang of his own pple with “sky-high” salary..cost pass to consumers…remember quite a few years ago, there were a lot of complaint against DBS….3 MDs in 3 countries HK, Taiwan, China, all these r Singaporean bankers with top-notch experience and knowledge all resigned under his watch…wat do u say abt tat….R singaporeans being displaced by these FTs..
[b]sorry for the long wait
[quote]Originally posted by stupidissmart:
U seems to be talking about atacking gov in general now Why suddenly talk about foreign talents etc ? Nevertheless here r some of my opinions: does every dept in gov have to be profit centre ? If u ask me, the more dept there is the better. u believe u realise the money have to come from somewhere somehow. About plasma tv, frankly I see a lot of such tvs throughout singapore and the world. Do u think a few plasma tv tat is suppose to last a few years is gonna make an organisation much poorer ? Foreign talents ? U think places like america don't have any ? Internationally almost every developed country is trying to pull foreign talents into their country to boost their economy. Even japan is pondering on opening up its usually close market to pull in foreign talents to maintain their economy. ]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:CommoÂ….open yr eyesÂ….does it takes a rocket scientist to increase price now n thenÂ…a coffee shop ah boy cld do itÂ…then 4 goodness sakeÂ…be prudentÂ…these r taxpayers moniesÂ…a LCD, wats nextÂ…State of the art Gym, OSIM massage chairÂ…OB sound systemÂ…where do the monies come frmÂ…taxpayersÂ…frm fees increase, tax wadsoeverÂ….
If u ask me, the police academy is pretty old now. There r several dept in the army tat appears to be built 20-30 years ago as well. I believe they should be new and practical, not luxurious. Do u think tat it is gonna affect the organisation much if they buy a few LCD for the consumer to be clear of where to go ? IS the LCD helpful ? Why is there many other organisation using LCDs as well to serve the consumer better as well ? Personally I find the information of the LCDs helpful. It is a good veneu to spend the money fro the benefit fof the consumer. For your pricing on HDB, mabe it is wise to factor in rent of the land they had used. U can't expect the land to be free isn't it ? As said before, compared with other nations, the housing here is consider cheap. If gov is not involved in building houses, the housing here is gonna be more expensive as well. If u wanna blame, then blame gov for being kaypoh and build public housing ]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:tis i agree...no fight with u on tis..
hey com'on man. We r discussing whetehr does the gov do right in the certain actions they do or not. We r not talking about we r gonna implement tis or tat. If like tat then everybody have to keep quiet about politics since most of us aren't gov. ]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Ya, compete by all meansÂ….who r SBS competing againstÂ…who r MRT competing againstÂ…tey hve all the cards in their handsÂ…u r lambs waiting to be slaughteredÂ…I told u..even the PTC consist of their own ppleÂ….wad is consumer rits, do u hve a say in price increaseÂ…u tell meÂ…when there r not even representation in PTC.
if u r a gonna invest or put money into a bank, will u choose UOB with its posh setings and LCD screen or DBS, being restricted to spend any money, have to use coffee shop TV or use cards to inform consumer about info and have the most cheapest furniture and renovation ? Com'on, DBS may have gov links but it doesn't means it doesn't have to compete. ]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Wad does suppose to meanÂ…to uÂ…was it loweredÂ…r increasing..u tell meÂ…reported SBS make small loses in 2001, then PTC approved price increaseÂ…wowÂ…all of a suddenÂ…in 2002, obscene profits to the tune of millions of dollarsÂ…was any of these return to consumersÂ…ya..by all meansÂ…upgradeÂ…easylinkÂ…but look at the no. of screw-upÂ…or itÂ’s a honest mistake againÂ…commoÂ…how many honest mistake can we tolerateÂ…
mobile tv is suppose to lower the cost for the consumer since it was supposed to be paid by the advertisements in it. air con depot is also meant for ther benefits of the people. As said before, it has proven to be so popular tat they r intending to build more of these. U want to go aainst public feelings and comfortness and tear down the air con depot to make it non-aircon ? ]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Who is toking abt any gold stuffÂ…we r toking abt prudenceÂ…air-con all bus depotÂ….u mean our newer generations will be forever in SÂ’poreÂ….plsÂ…wad r we going to teach temÂ…everything is new, simple, clinical, cleanÂ…we r breeding a air-con nations of simpletonÂ…do u want to be like uÂ…nvr seen the worldÂ….unable to distinguish n survive in todays complicated worldÂ…tey need to see the real worldÂ…how these Indonesians children sufferedÂ…how these Chinese kids hands and feet were broken Â…so tad tey r forced to beg for a living to substain these syndicates..u airheadÂ…
if u talk about gold plated tap or gold platwed toilet bowl, I will agree with u. These r example of plain expensive apparatus with no practical usage. But if u r talking about aircon for the consumer and LCD to display valuable info to the consumer, then i will disagree with u. U think they r redundant, I think they r practical. Even if u talk about easilink, i think it is a good system as well as it indeed give consumer more ease in travelling. But I guess someone who had never taken any public transport and who never use the aircon bus depot is probably not really qualified to say they should be removed when the people using them say they r indeed improvement to the past system ]
Not attacking….gahment..but tey hve given temselves too much at the expense of Singaporeans…a pat on their own back just by increasing prices…it’s a no brainer…why always at the expenses of consumers…gahment profit centre is to justify their own “out of the world” salary, n I am not saying tat we pay tem peanuts : “don’t put words into my mouth”…FTs…r these really FTs or third-class talents…%&$%…we pay DBS John Olds 5million “golden handshake”, the same goes to Phippe something..n he brings in the whole ging gang of his own pple with “sky-high” salary..cost pass to consumers…remember quite a few years ago, there were a lot of complaint against DBS….3 MDs in 3 countries HK, Taiwan, China, all these r Singaporean bankers with top-notch experience and knowledge all resigned under his watch…wat do u say abt tat….R singaporeans being displaced by these FTs..as said before, if u want to discuss about FT, u r free to do so but please discuss tis in other threads so tat we will nto lose focus on it. If u talk about the John Old something, I agree tat it is a mistake to employ him over. Howeer we shouldn't, because of a single bamboo and overturn the whole ship. When i talk about FT, i meant the guys u see in university or those u see working as engineers etc n the companies. The normal kind of FT, not the one tat is the head of tis and tat etc. So do u think gov should stop them from coming in to help the economy or all the jobs be done by local, makign the economy worse.
Wat abt SES, Thomas CloatÂ….21 millionÂ…wat abt Barry White..27 million in Chartered Semi n his whole gang of ex-motorola staffÂ….u r still in yr slumberÂ….R these FTs better..cld tey led Singapore companies to better heightsÂ….u tell meÂ…
CommoÂ….open yr eyesÂ….does it takes a rocket scientist to increase price now n thenÂ…a coffee shop ah boy cld do itÂ…then 4 goodness sakeÂ…be prudentÂ…these r taxpayers moniesÂ…a LCD, wats nextÂ…State of the art Gym, OSIM massage chairÂ…OB sound systemÂ…where do the monies come frmÂ…taxpayersÂ…frm fees increase, tax wadsoeverÂ….as said before, can u suggest a better replacement for the LCD screen ? In the past LCD is considered a luxury, but now almost every information we see in gov buildings, schools or private sector made use of LCD screen. It is a norm now.
HDB..ok double the landcostÂ…wad do u getÂ…40k for land costÂ…50k for 5 room flat..u still get 90k wadÂ…where do you get 235kÂ…helloÂ…textbook maths again, like u say u need to check yr economic textbook huhÂ…donÂ’t forget it is call subsidize housing...who inflated the cost of housingÂ…by upgrade plansÂ…n nowÂ….how many pple sufferÂ…did u not read abt ex-scholar, Ngiam How dong mentioned tat our gahment were starry-eye on the housing policies in 1996 tat facilitates HKgers taking advantages of our housing policy, taking PR status n then resell their HDB flatsÂ…these HKgers r sitting pretty rich in HKÂ…laughing at our simpleton thinkingÂ…does tat include uÂ…mr stupidÂ…
Ya, compete by all meansÂ….who r SBS competing againstÂ…who r MRT competing againstÂ…tey hve all the cards in their handsÂ…u r lambs waiting to be slaughteredÂ…I told u..even the PTC consist of their own ppleÂ….wad is consumer rits, do u hve a say in price increaseÂ…u tell meÂ…when there r not even representation in PTC.True. But then they r improving their services by putting TV on buses and having easilink. They even put LCD in MRT station to tell people of the time MRT arrives as well as time the bus arrives. So ? U don't want them to put the LCDs ? U don't want aircon depot ?
Wad does suppose to meanÂ…to uÂ…was it loweredÂ…r increasing..u tell meÂ…reported SBS make small loses in 2001, then PTC approved price increaseÂ…wowÂ…all of a suddenÂ…in 2002, obscene profits to the tune of millions of dollarsÂ…was any of these return to consumersÂ…ya..by all meansÂ…upgradeÂ…easylinkÂ…but look at the no. of screw-upÂ…or itÂ’s a honest mistake againÂ…commoÂ…how many honest mistake can we tolerateÂ…Generally, the TV was put there to earn advertisement money. Whether will tis increase in profit goes down to us, I do nto know. ut at least it explained to u tat having TV there is gonna reduce the price, not increase it. Easilink have screwups, btu geenrally it is an improvement to the old system. In fact when easilik was started they earn more money because no one can cheat on the farecards again. So these upgrades r beneficial for both parties involved. They did not burden the consumers
Question is abt choiceÂ…do consumers have a choiceÂ….can something be done as basic as basic transport isÂ…be prudent to the poorÂ…ensure tad these poor r not burderned with unnecessary increase in cost of livingÂ….or u expect poor pple to walk frm Jurong to Toa Payoh (now, I am putting words into yr mouth)Â…its basic transportationÂ…
Who is toking abt any gold stuffÂ…we r toking abt prudenceÂ…air-con all bus depotÂ….u mean our newer generations will be forever in SÂ’poreÂ….plsÂ…wad r we going to teach temÂ…everything is new, simple, clinical, cleanÂ…we r breeding a air-con nations of simpletonÂ…do u want to be like uÂ…nvr seen the worldÂ….unable to distinguish n survive in todays complicated worldÂ…tey need to see the real worldÂ…how these Indonesians children sufferedÂ…how these Chinese kids hands and feet were broken Â…so tad tey r forced to beg for a living to substain these syndicates..u airheadÂ…lets put it simply, I have no problems with using aircon. I have no rpoblems living ina clean environemtn either. In fact i kinda of like it. U don't like aircons ? U wanna live in a dirty environemnt ? So wat about the chinese kids with broken legs and hands ? wat is your point in bringing out tis ? U wanna throw yoru kids into begging to learn the real world ?
I may not be qualified as i dont take bus for so long..but i hve a heart to be concerned abt Singapore and Singaporeans in general...ultimately, we hve to ask ourselves whether we r producing a new gen. Of Singaporeans of weaklings or a rugged, streetsmart SingaporeansÂ…why is it so important...it will be another long thread to start in sgforums.Why has tis thread become educating the young ? U really need to put tis in a different thread
Any who chair in PTC take public transport?Originally posted by stupidissmart:But I guess someone who had never taken any public transport and who never use the aircon bus depot is probably not really qualified to say they should be removed when the people using them say they r indeed improvement to the past system
The process called justification sysdrome a part of governance goes like this:Originally posted by iamgoondu:Any who chair in PTC take public transport?
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Now tat u hve realize the follies of yr doggy way…I forgive u…n treat u humanly…tis topic is abt extravagance rit, wad is a air-con bus depot compared to the $$$ we put on the table for these so called FTs…peanuts…we could air-con all the bus depot in Singapore, don’t u agree…then it is for Singaporeans…wad hve these FTs achieved…it will be splashed all over the ST, propagating abt the achievements of the top-notch FTs….it was top talent rit, why were these Phillpe’s follower not around anymore…and Jackson did a fabulous job with his team of Singaporeans….if we do not help our own pple, giving tem opportunities to be “trained up”, who will help u. U r detached frm the reality, our IT engineers for eg. salary r depressed by these Indian engineers..n most of these, I say, most of these huh…don’t put words in my mouth…cannot deliver….the best of these Indian IT engineers would not be in Singapore, it’s the 3-rated tat hve nowhere to go..tat wants to come to Singapore….the same goes for these Mainland Chinese engineers..tey r in the same category as these Indians….
as said before, if u want to discuss about FT, u r free to do so but please discuss tis in other threads so tat we will nto lose focus on it. If u talk about the John Old something, I agree tat it is a mistake to employ him over. Howeer we shouldn't, because of a single bamboo and overturn the whole ship. When i talk about FT, i meant the guys u see in university or those u see working as engineers etc n the companies. The normal kind of FT, not the one tat is the head of tis and tat etc. So do u think gov should stop them from coming in to help the economy or all the jobs be done by local, makign the economy worse.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:The environment we r brought up with shapes our thinking, behaviour...so living in a air-con world only makes u an air-head...full of nothing...understand...
as said before, can u suggest a better replacement for the LCD screen ? In the past LCD is considered a luxury, but now almost every information we see in gov buildings, schools or private sector made use of LCD screen. It is a norm now.
For land cost, how much do u think renting a piece of land for 100 years will cost ? As said before, the only mistake they had made is to interfere with the housing instead of letting private developers do all the housings. If we do tat, we r gonna have much more expensive hosing where the developers will sell housing according to demand and supply. Furthermore, if the housing price don't increase, we r gonna expect some tax from somewhere to increase
Talking about HK people getting rich, it seems tat their property has faced several crisis in the last few years. R they sitting in their house becoming pretty rich... hmmm.... [quote]
Hey, these Plasma n LCD TVs was purchased a few yrs ago…I think 3 – 5 yrs back…was Singapore economy good at tat point in time…u shld know…
Those Fujitsu 42’’ or 43” Plasma in HDB Toa Payoh was purchased I think, 4 -5 yrs back…wad was the price then…$15 – 18K per Plasma Ok..todays price ranges frm 7k – 9k.
R u aware tat some school require their students to use tablet pcs…how much is tablet pc cost…3 – 4k…how can the average family afford tablet PCs…
Ya, then donÂ’t call it subsidize housingÂ….HDB public housing policy was not wrong in the beginningÂ…its was a lofty aspiration under LKY tat Singaporeans hve a decent roof over their headÂ….i hve tremendous respect 4 LKYÂ….even though some of his policy..like graduate mum policyÂ…hve a lump in my throatÂ….LKY heart is for SingaporeÂ…along the wayÂ…it was treated as a cash cow..to milk SingaporeansÂ…anyway its another topicÂ…sorri I driftedÂ…
HeyÂ…did u rememberÂ…some private condoÂ…prices was lower than some EC condoÂ…just like gahment hospital was more expensive than private hospital..until Khaw Boon Wah became Health Minister n he did a good job exposing the price discrepancyÂ…[/color]
True. But then they r improving their services by putting TV on buses and having easilink. They even put LCD in MRT station to tell people of the time MRT arrives as well as time the bus arrives. So ? U don't want them to put the LCDs ? U don't want aircon depot ? [quote]
Tats their job man…u cuckoo…tey r paid to improve…but to always pass on cost to consumers…isn’t it tad Singaporeans become suckers…I understand tat for MRt card, there is a deposit…n there is a timelimit…I think 2 years ago, it was reported tat these unclaimed deposits, due to the timelimit, was in millions of $$$...hey, these monies belong to Singaporeans n not MRT…r tey accountable…or it just add up to the profits of MRT…commo…HK MTR r even cheaper than Singapore…the same goes for Shanghai MRT…why…tell me why…because it is public transport..n these opearators were smart to tap into rentals to help subsidise the fares to remain affordable…do tey n can tey put their own MRT, SBS pple into their PTC..no possible..as there r regulations…Both HK, Shanghai have LCDs, how come tey can maintain their “affordable” rates..u tell me…or yr understudy trips did not include HK n Shanghai..[/color]
Generally, the TV was put there to earn advertisement money. Whether will tis increase in profit goes down to us, I do nto know. ut at least it explained to u tat having TV there is gonna reduce the price, not increase it. Easilink have screwups, btu geenrally it is an improvement to the old system. In fact when easilik was started they earn more money because no one can cheat on the farecards again. So these upgrades r beneficial for both parties involved. They did not burden the consumers [quote]
CommoÂ…tis is election yrÂ…will there be a price increase in bus fareÂ…wannabetÂ…
N u believe every single word tad comes out frm SBS, MRT….u r another sucker…so do u agree tad I said tat u r naïve…simplistic…it is true rit…
WahlauÂ…Singaporeans cheating bus faresÂ…wad abt tem cheating Singaporeans of millions of $$$..do we hve a recourseÂ…all their own ppleÂ…
Remember..christopher something, a ST reporter highlighted tad a CEO,ex-MP of one taxi company…I forget the name..earns abt $1.4 million…n then he was removed…good 4 him…n I do applaud the gahment for doing tis…commo…our fellow Singaporeans…texidrivers pays abt $250 in cost to run a taxi, including diesel per day….rain or shine…tey need to make $250 to break even…then tey can make a living…so at the end of the day.,…don’t be naïve…hve a heart for Singapore n Singaporeans…[/color]
lets put it simply, I have no problems with using aircon. I have no rpoblems living ina clean environemtn either. In fact i kinda of like it. U don't like aircons ? U wanna live in a dirty environemnt ? So wat about the chinese kids with broken legs and hands ? wat is your point in bringing out tis ? U wanna throw yoru kids into begging to learn the real world ?
Of courseÂ…u dumb assÂ…everyone wants to enjoy wad..who wants to work damn hard to earn his monies..we e not living in a real world in SingaporeÂ…for all yr understudy trips r holiday tripsÂ….u do not c the underbelly of the complexity of todays multipolar worldÂ….does every comfort, every luxury do u good eternallyÂ…or a balance view of the world, being able to thrive n survive is dire circumstances..or our newer generations expect to be spoonfed, nvr exposed to the world..u cÂ…if u do not hve a heart for Singaporeans, then of course, u wish every Singaporeans to be like u, a simpleton..who nvr sees the real worldÂ…let me give u an analogyÂ…there is a frog in the well..he gets warm n cosyÂ…as it was cooked graduallyÂ…degree by degreeÂ….he does not feel itÂ…until he was cookedÂ….Singaporeans r just like tatÂ…too comfortableÂ…too concerned with gahment propaganda..tat we r number 1 in tis or tatÂ…commoÂ….other countries r pasting us byÂ….when was the last time tad any Chinese gahment provincial leaders were here in Singapore to learn frm SingaporeÂ…tey hve all gone to Europe and USÂ…..so shld we wake up frm our slumber or we live in a air-con worldÂ…not knowing wadever is happening around the worldÂ…if u still cannot get itÂ…then nothing will..periodÂ…
Why has tis thread become educating the young ? U really need to put tis in a different thread