ah.. i wonder if you realise this, but i'm a lady, dude. i'm only feeling bu4 zhi3 for the guys in NS. got a couple of guys friends who are facing that sort of thing and it saddens me to see them so depressed. but i also wonder why the government is contradicting itself. they want us to have more marriages and babies, but give reasons for more breakups. i know most of you here say it's up to the two people to work things out. but come on, how many of you guys have breakups when you were in NS?Originally posted by spencer99:typed this on another forum:
If she is not meant to be yours, just let her go....
Xiao1 Sha3 a bit..... There are other girls around.
Sorry didn't realize that you are a girl.Originally posted by starblue:ah.. i wonder if you realise this, but i'm a lady, dude. i'm only feeling bu4 zhi3 for the guys in NS. got a couple of guys friends who are facing that sort of thing and it saddens me to see them so depressed. but i also wonder why the government is contradicting itself. they want us to have more marriages and babies, but give reasons for more breakups. i know most of you here say it's up to the two people to work things out. but come on, how many of you guys have breakups when you were in NS?
Imo, I think there's very little common sense in saying NS usually makes a guy a better man. Girls can tell whether NS makes a guy a better man or not and often, they can see NS doesn't.
girls often do not realise NS usually makes a guy a better man. NS is not the cause of breakups, but a convenient excuse to break up, be it used by guy or girl. it's just two years man! if a couple can't go through these two years without breaking up, what makes you think they can last a lifetime?
so by doing away with NS, more couples will get married and have babies?? you must be kidding!
Who says they are going to jump into marriage and baby making at 18?
So by doing away with NS, more couples WILL get married and have babies!!!!
If the r/s is meant to break, it is better to break during NS then break when the baby is out. If the r/s cannot withstand NS, it canot withstand anything.Originally posted by macjoe:Alamak! Read properly lah:
Who says they are going to jump into marriage and baby making at 18?
Ever occur to you that with NS, the chances of couples splitting up is far more
greater than without NS?
By doing away with NS, what I'm sure will happen is the chances of them splitting up is far less and hence the chances of them getting married and hence have babies higher.
Right now, the problem is both guys and girls go build their education and careers. By the time, they want to marry, it's in their late 20s/30s. By the time, they want to make babies, it's in their mid 30s/40s and they change their minds.
Marriage much later in life. yes.
Have babies? no!![]()
FYI i am a woman and speaking from a woman's point of view! but of course, i don't speak for all women, esp not those who are so full of themselves that they think they alone are the creation of the universe and that men have to give in to their demands.Originally posted by macjoe:Imo, I think there's very little common sense in saying NS usually makes a guy a better man. Girls can tell whether NS makes a guy a better man or not and often, they can see NS doesn't.
If you understand girls, NS or anything that takes the guy away for too long, NS separation is the cause of breakups. Girls want to feel secure...and real close, not far away thinking what the hell the NS guy is really doing when he says he's got recalled, his buddies called or R&R in Bangkok.
So by doing away with NS, more couples will get married and have babies!!!!
I'm not kidding!!!!![]()
Aren't most women the way you describe it - "full of themselves that they think they alone are the creation of the universe and that men have to give in to their demands"?
FYI i am a woman and speaking from a woman's point of view! but of course, i don't speak for all women, esp not those who are so full of themselves that they think they alone are the creation of the universe and that men have to give in to their demands.
Ay, hallo. I'm a guy. The language you talk is typical of someone kanna brainwashed for being in the army for too long.
And let me ask you, smart lass, WHICH is more important - YOUR sense of security or our COUNTRY's? without the guys slogging their butts off in NS, do you think you can sit in the office comfortably with your colleague lending you a shoulder to cry on?
Ah....it's only when you see and go through it can you UNDERSTAND and APPRECIATE the guys. Tell me, how many girls are like you, an ex-regular?
the guys doing NS aren't having it good either. i know! of cos i know as i was an ex-regular. before you start even claiming that the guys don't understand girls, and demanding that sg do away with NS, START UNDERSTANDING YOUR GUYS!!! how sure are you that other girls with proper brains can't see guys are usually better after NS? just because girls who don't appreciate guys said so?
How can they learn to appreciate NS guys when they don't see and experience it? Merely telling them mostly fall on deaf ears.
YOU GIRLS OUT THERE BETTER LEARN HOW TO APPRECIATE our NS GUYS!! give them the necessary support and concern because that will still be what you are going to do after marriage. no? in future if their jobs take them overseas, that'll give you another 'good reason' to divorce?
Checkmate! I think you hit the nail right on the head!Originally posted by czechmate:I don't know if you guys are going to see this as relevant but 18 and 19 is a pretty tender age, agreed. Army can be alittle alienating to girls coz guys come out with like a whole new language. Some girls enjoy sharing the experience with the guys, esp if they are from the same college and share the same group of guy/gal schoolmates who meet up during the weekends. This helps hold quite a number of relationships together. But some fall along the wayside.
The other testing period of time is when the girls have completed, say, their U and start their working life while the guy's in the U. Working life is a whole new ball game. The girls earn their own money, meet older, more worldly guys who are possibly able to show them a whole different side of life. More tests for couples as they experience different things at different times in their lives.
Even if the r/s passes these two critical stages, there will be couples who part after as long as 10 to 15 years together bec they've drifted apart even without being aware of it. So at the end of the day, I guess you can just conclude that any r/s has to be worked at and it just can't simply be put down to NS being the cause of alot of breakups and heartaches. It can be one of the many causes but not THE cause.
honestly ah.. i m going to b offending some women here... i think nowadays girls are not as strong-minded as the women in the past generation, despite being more out-spoken and feminist.Originally posted by macjoe:sometimes, i wonder how r/s would be if roles were switched - girls do NS and guys don't. how do you think the girls would feel hah?![]()
Later on during ICT, the wife become OC but the husband still rifleman and OC runner!Originally posted by commonsense:honestly ah.. i m going to b offending some women here... i think nowadays girls are not as strong-minded as the women in the past generation, despite being more out-spoken and feminist.in my view, MOST gers are more 'daring' and talk too much to hide their 'emptiness' or whatever it is inside them. so the proverb, Don't judge a book by its Cover is especially true for women.
i feel it is a good idea for gers to be in NS lor cos everyone who could, should contribute to protecting our homeland (read: not govt). But then again, if gers are enlisted, the quality of our SAF will dropped drastically.. ha ha! not forgetting women are naturally petty creatures, more probs will surface if forced to live, eat, shit, sleep together for extended period of time.
perhaps if NS starts enlisting gers, our population will be boosted.. cos girls will be busy getting themselves pregnant so that they can be excused from NS! ha ha.. *somebody up there please consider my suggestion hor!*
if girls have to do NS, then guys should also lah.. how would you like it if in future there is an invasion or something, you wife in FBO told you "YOU TAKE THE KIDS OUT NOW!! I WILL COVER YOU!!" .. knn... funny right?![]()
oh yeah.. how could i miss your msg..Originally posted by starblue:the hell?? grrr.....
i'm just voicing my concerns about NS breaking people up. its you guys i pity. afterall, i'm a freeman (i mean lady) and will do what i damn well please, out here in the secular world.![]()