my goodness! they're really so desperate for money!Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Got a fine of $6.00 for expired coupon. Tried to pay on-line but got into problem. Tot it had been paid, then another letter come and amount already increased to $20.00. Write in to appeal.. but after ding-donging for some time, tot better to pay, so Post Office say cannot because of over due but can pay at SAM. A few days later go to SAM machine to try but sway sway got some problem and cannot pay. Then decide to write to appeal again. Got another letter, fine now $106. I wrote again for consideration cos it is so stupid to pay so much more... then the bomb come attend court or pay $300.00. They reply to consider for appeal, must produce proof that I tried to pay. Finally I called on the phone ( after calling at least 10 times and leaving more that 5 voice message ), I asked them, how to print from SAM machine to show that it is faulty and internet payment, I forgot to print out so how to show that I tired to pay on line? I told them I drive for so many years and got summons before but all paid out what, why would I want to avoid paying $6.00 ??? They didn't accept this. But the sweet officer-in-charged say that they have. after considering all the fact, decided to let me pay.... $106.00 BUT must go down personally to Maxwell to pay.
I must thanks them for their kind gesture that I have now ONLY to pay $106.00 instead of $6.00. NOw I know how they made money. Imagine from $ 6.00 to $300.00 or attend court. Oh they say they honour court decision one.. Who ever try to go court to fight their case and win ??
Will civil service ever improve I wonder ? Many years of self-praises and self-accolates as talents.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Got a fine of $6.00 for expired coupon. Tried to pay on-line but got into problem. Tot it had been paid, then another letter come and amount already increased to $20.00. Write in to appeal.. but after ding-donging for some time, tot better to pay, so Post Office say cannot because of over due but can pay at SAM. A few days later go to SAM machine to try but sway sway got some problem and cannot pay. Then decide to write to appeal again. Got another letter, fine now $106. I wrote again for consideration cos it is so stupid to pay so much more... then the bomb come attend court or pay $300.00. They reply to consider for appeal, must produce proof that I tried to pay. Finally I called on the phone ( after calling at least 10 times and leaving more that 5 voice message ), I asked them, how to print from SAM machine to show that it is faulty and internet payment, I forgot to print out so how to show that I tired to pay on line? I told them I drive for so many years and got summons before but all paid out what, why would I want to avoid paying $6.00 ??? They didn't accept this. But the sweet officer-in-charged say that they have. after considering all the fact, decided to let me pay.... $106.00 BUT must go down personally to Maxwell to pay.
I must thanks them for their kind gesture that I have now ONLY to pay $106.00 instead of $6.00. NOw I know how they made money. Imagine from $ 6.00 to $300.00 or attend court. Oh they say they honour court decision one.. Who ever try to go court to fight their case and win ??
Go to court, don't get bullied..Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Got a fine of $6.00 for expired coupon. Tried to pay on-line but got into problem. Tot it had been paid, then another letter come and amount already increased to $20.00. Write in to appeal.. but after ding-donging for some time, tot better to pay, so Post Office say cannot because of over due but can pay at SAM. A few days later go to SAM machine to try but sway sway got some problem and cannot pay. Then decide to write to appeal again. Got another letter, fine now $106. I wrote again for consideration cos it is so stupid to pay so much more... then the bomb come attend court or pay $300.00. They reply to consider for appeal, must produce proof that I tried to pay. Finally I called on the phone ( after calling at least 10 times and leaving more that 5 voice message ), I asked them, how to print from SAM machine to show that it is faulty and internet payment, I forgot to print out so how to show that I tired to pay on line? I told them I drive for so many years and got summons before but all paid out what, why would I want to avoid paying $6.00 ??? They didn't accept this. But the sweet officer-in-charged say that they have. after considering all the fact, decided to let me pay.... $106.00 BUT must go down personally to Maxwell to pay.
seconded.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Go to court, don't get bullied..
that one gamble le sikali court say bo kao proof of tyring to pay how? sianzzzz garmen like all tua bai organisations always throw lots of obstacles or redtape in our path to hope to tire us and make us give up and pay or dun claim refund etc.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Go to court, don't get bullied..
bro i think you email your experience to garmen feedback office or even pmo office. u die die must pay 106 liao so what to lose? the issue is not that you dun want to pay but how come system is so f up.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Got a fine of $6.00 for expired coupon. Tried to pay on-line but got into problem. Tot it had been paid, then another letter come and amount already increased to $20.00. Write in to appeal.. but after ding-donging for some time, tot better to pay, so Post Office say cannot because of over due but can pay at SAM. A few days later go to SAM machine to try but sway sway got some problem and cannot pay. Then decide to write to appeal again. Got another letter, fine now $106. I wrote again for consideration cos it is so stupid to pay so much more... then the bomb come attend court or pay $300.00. They reply to consider for appeal, must produce proof that I tried to pay. Finally I called on the phone ( after calling at least 10 times and leaving more that 5 voice message ), I asked them, how to print from SAM machine to show that it is faulty and internet payment, I forgot to print out so how to show that I tired to pay on line? I told them I drive for so many years and got summons before but all paid out what, why would I want to avoid paying $6.00 ??? They didn't accept this. But the sweet officer-in-charged say that they have. after considering all the fact, decided to let me pay.... $106.00 BUT must go down personally to Maxwell to pay.
I tried once to write in but receive no reply nor acknowlegement. It was for another matter then... I tried to write to Straits Times a few times over my unhappiness in service but letter never get published. I have given up already. I resigned to this kind of treatment since I am living here. If got money, I will surely want to move away from all these... I still got problem with HDB... That one, one day I will write lor ....Originally posted by whack:bro i think you email your experience to garmen feedback office or even pmo office. u die die must pay 106 liao so what to lose? the issue is not that you dun want to pay but how come system is so f up.
You think the court can be bothered with ppl like us? The judge will say that you are wasting his time and will even double or triple the fine!Originally posted by commonsense:seconded.![]()
ya. sounds gd idea. after all, it is system cock up and legit for a complaint. next time happen to other ppl how.Originally posted by commonsense:a matter of principle lor to pursue. if everyone juz keep quiet and endure then we will get more such shit from the govt right?
i have another suggestion - go meet ur MP. get him to settle it for u! it's his duty since u give him the 'vote'.
Exactly, Court is as dirty also. They are bias as well. F.......themOriginally posted by pearlie27:You think the court can be bothered with ppl like us? The judge will say that you are wasting his time and will even double or triple the fine!
What to do? suay lor
I did mentioned that I am not too good with computer. But you have not read about the part where I wrote to appeal.. you choose to bash me for my igornance which I admit I was wrong there. But there is a supposed system place for us to appeal. They did not address my issue and asked for impossible. Perhaps as clever as you are, you may wish to tell me how I can prove the SAM machine is not working at the time when I tried to pay fine... Perhaps you could tell us all so that many like minded people like me can learn a thing or two to protect ourselves... If you can't, I hope you don't fall into the same trap that I had fallen and start crying too.. because by then , you have already hurt someone who is already so frastrated with our Gov system !!Originally posted by Nelstar:A - You failed to observed the law, the price to pay is $6.
B - Regardless of the problems that surfaced, failure to check and confirm that you had paid your dues is entirely a fault that belonged to you, thus $20 is justified.
C - Without first paying B and admitting your mistake, you let the matter roll over time. Complacency is not a fault of the Government, thus, you were warned and subjected to a fine of $106.00 for late payment and disrespect of legislative law.
D - By giving you the chance to pay $106.00 instead of taking you to court is already a considerable effort on their part to sympathize with you.
No one asked you to be complacent in A to forget about expiry dates.
No one asked you to be complacent to confirm your payment has been made.
No one asked you to be complacent to let important things like paying your dues and fines late.
If you dutifully paid your dues, but was fined for not paying then it would be different.
It's difficult to side with someone who is complacent.
Number 1, if you are complacent no one can save you.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:I did mentioned that I am not too good with computer. But you have not read about the part where I wrote to appeal.. you choose to bash me for my igornance which I admit I was wrong there. But there is a supposed system place for us to appeal. They did not address my issue and asked for impossible. Perhaps as clever as you are, you may wish to tell me how I can prove the SAM machine is not working at the time when I tried to pay fine... Perhaps you could tell us all so that many like minded people like me can learn a thing or two to protect ourselves... If you can't, I hope you don't fall into the same trap that I had fallen and start crying too.. because by then , you have already hurt someone who is already so frastrated with our Gov system !!
Thank you for your sympathy. I am willing to pay the fine.. If URA replied and say appeal is not accepted and I have to pay the $20.00. I will pay it ! No big deal. Full stop. However, there was no reply and when reply was received, nothing is said about pay what fine. They merely asked for proof. In the mean while the time is expiring. FOr your information the last letter that came to me, I had to collect it personally at URA Centre and the date was already after the Court date. And this is only done after I called URA so many times. You tell me now, where do we stand in a system like this. In that last letter, they say they had considered all the factors surrounding this case and decided to revert the charges bact to $106.00. If they had a case, the fine would have been $306 instead... I hope I have paint a clearer picture now ....Originally posted by Nelstar:Number 1, if you are complacent no one can save you.
Don't blame anything else after your complacency.
Appeal is there does not mean your case would win. Appeal is for those who have a genuine reason against the lacklustre system where the person paid but the Government's computers did not process etc.
The key is you did not paid. You did not check if you paid. You were complacent. The word is responsibility. You have a responsibility as an adult to put proper parking coupons, not expired ones, you have a responsibility as an adult to pay fines promptly.
If you did nothing wrong, I would definitely sympathize with you.
You blaming the whole world for your complacency?Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Thank you for your sympathy. I am willing to pay the fine.. If URA replied and say appeal is not accepted and I have to pay the $20.00. I will pay it ! No big deal. Full stop. However, there was no reply and when reply was received, nothing is said about pay what fine. They merely asked for proof. In the mean while the time is expiring. FOr your information the last letter that came to me, I had to collect it personally at URA Centre and the date was already after the Court date. And this is only done after I called URA so many times. You tell me now, where do we stand in a system like this. In that last letter, they say they had considered all the factors surrounding this case and decided to revert the charges bact to $106.00. If they had a case, the fine would have been $306 instead... I hope I have paint a clearer picture now ....
If you ever drive, you will know that sometime you miss your timing and coupon expired. This one can't help. If you need half an hour, would you tear an hour just in case you are a few minutes late. No one do that. If purposely used a expired coupon, then, it is cheating and becomes an offences. My coupon expired over a few minutes. The intention was to return to the car before the expiring but due to some unforeseen circumstances, I was delay just that few minutes, That's why the charges is only $6.00. I also admit it was my mistake and I tried to pay. Can't you understand the simple logic here ?? I am not saying I am divine and make to pay something that I am not guilty of. I am try to tell the whole here, I make the mistake of trying to e-pay but was not successful and the turn of event make me $100 poorer. I also want to tell everyone of my problem so that they can also learn a lesson here. I'm not starting a mutiny and I don't think I deserve you bombarding me here like this...Originally posted by Nelstar:You blaming the whole world for your complacency?
if you put correct coupons, there wont be this trouble right?![]()
Complacent is your mistake. Don't blame anyone else. I can't sympathize with you because you're complacent.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:If you ever drive, you will know that sometime you miss your timing and coupon expired. This one can't help. If you need half an hour, would you tear an hour just in case you are a few minutes late. No one do that. If purposely used a expired coupon, then, it is cheating and becomes an offences. My coupon expired over a few minutes. The intention was to return to the car before the expiring but due to some unforeseen circumstances, I was delay just that few minutes, That's why the charges is only $6.00. I also admit it was my mistake and I tried to pay. Can't you understand the simple logic here ?? I am not saying I am divine and make to pay something that I am not guilty of. I am try to tell the whole here, I make the mistake of trying to e-pay but was not successful and the turn of event make me $100 poorer. I also want to tell everyone of my problem so that they can also learn a lesson here. I'm not starting a mutiny and I don't think I deserve you bombarding me here like this...
By the way, do you drive ???
Thank you for your time. I don't need your sympathy... They are many there who can understand because one way or another, they are victim to our system. I don't blame anyone, I blame the system... I can see that you are young, you may not experience any of the in-justice yet. I don't blame you. In fact, you make me realised not everyone can agree with me although problem may be common among ourselves. Hey friend, thanks alot ...Originally posted by Nelstar:Complacent is your mistake. Don't blame anyone else. I can't sympathize with you because you're complacent.
Complacency is your mistake, regardless of what you say.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Thank you for your time. I don't need your sympathy... They are many there who can understand because one way or another, they are victim to our system. I don't blame anyone, I blame the system... I can see that you are young, you may not experience any of the in-justice yet. I don't blame you. In fact, you make me realised not everyone can agree with me although problem may be common among ourselves. Hey friend, thanks alot ...![]()
sorry, what thread..... Hey, I have been polite, there is no need to call names, I do not call you one, you should refrain from doing so.. I don't wish to continue argueing with you or it will escalate like my mine fine case.... Good day to you ....Originally posted by Nelstar:Complacency is your mistake, regardless of what you say.
You can blame the system for anything, but a system is placed to ensure people follow rules. Having a car means additional responsibility. It does not represent you can be complacent and blame the system for not being compassionate with complacency.
I don't blame you, you're still a blockhead. No one owes you a living. If you can be good today, I can't see why you can't be good tomorrow. If you can be on time once I can't see why you should be late.
If you don't understand that laws and rules are in place for people to respect them, then you won't be compassionate with the law makers trying to put order in place.
You call it injustice, that's because you're too obtuse to see a big picture why a law was implemented.
If everyone can pay fines late, then why is there fines, might as well pay 200 years later right? If everyone can don't put coupons, then why is there a law? Ask yourself this question if you had been compassionate with the law itself before you pass the judgement.
(BTW sis, where was the thread we were arguing abt, i cant find it today.)