Dun monkey see monkey do lah. What kind of argument is that? So in Amsterdam, some level of substance abuse is legal. That means Sg also we can sell ganga?Originally posted by iveco:Capital punishment should be abolished altogether. After all, Stockholm has done it, yet their crime rates have remained comparable to ours & not KL's.![]()
Ya lor,it seem like Singapoeans are second citizens in here.Remember that time got an Australian guy who murder a taxi-driver in Singapore,he also escape to Australia what.And our government is "powerless" to do anything to it.It seems like foreigners can come here n grab our jobs,earn our money n if not happy,they can even kill our citizens n escape from our justice of our laws due to the "welcome foreigners policy",F**K the PAP!They are a bunch of gay!!!Originally posted by commonsense:sporeans are just 2nd class citizens here .. what do you expect? if now it is the employer who murdered the maid.. needlessly to say.. confirm death sentence!
Some democracy countries or state also practice death penalty,not only Nazi.Originally posted by iveco:Death sentence is for Nazis to believe in. We are supposed to be democrats.
Sometimes, those employers who are really bad deserve some kind of payback, but not being brutally beaten to death by the maids. In Malaysia, there are also similar tales about Indonesian domestics. My cousin's infant son was abused by the family maid because of some dispute with my aunt.
I've been to Amsterdam and Malmö in the past. All I can say is that the Swedish city is much safer than the Dutch capital.
yes, we seem to have a kangaroo court in sg. sg law is for sporeans ONLY, not for foreigners. of cos the only thing they can brag about is giving michael fay those strokes for vandalism. nothing else beside thatOriginally posted by drawer:Ya lor,it seem like Singapoeans are second citizens in here.Remember that time got an Australian guy who murder a taxi-driver in Singapore,he also escape to Australia what.And our government is "powerless" to do anything to it.It seems like foreigners can come here n grab our jobs,earn our money n if not happy,they can even kill our citizens n escape from our justice of our laws due to the "welcome foreigners policy",F**K the PAP!They are a bunch of gay!!!
Mike McCrea was a Brit. His hometown is in Nottingham.Originally posted by drawer:Ya lor,it seem like Singapoeans are second citizens in here.Remember that time got an Australian guy who murder a taxi-driver in Singapore,he also escape to Australia what.And our government is "powerless" to do anything to it.It seems like foreigners can come here n grab our jobs,earn our money n if not happy,they can even kill our citizens n escape from our justice of our laws due to the "welcome foreigners policy",F**K the PAP!They are a bunch of gay!!!
We had a long spat with Victoria over Mike McCrea due to their extradition policy (similar to that of the EU. Remember the Chechen diplomat wanted for terror charges in Moscow?). If we had abolished capital punishment, we could have dealt with him more quickly and avoided wasting taxpayers' funds in Victoria.Originally posted by commonsense:yes, we seem to have a kangaroo court in sg. sg law is for sporeans ONLY, not for foreigners. of cos the only thing they can brag about is giving michael fay those strokes for vandalism. nothing else beside that
Even then, our government bowed in to pressure from those Yanks and reduced Fay's punishment to four strokes, down from six.Originally posted by commonsense:yes, we seem to have a kangaroo court in sg. sg law is for sporeans ONLY, not for foreigners. of cos the only thing they can brag about is giving michael fay those strokes for vandalism. nothing else beside that
but if the circumstances can be taken into account, why not take into account the circumstances of the man who robbed the bank out of poverty?Originally posted by SilentAssassin:From where I stand, while the maid is certainly guilty of murder, the circumstances will be taken into account. On grounds of "temporary insanity" it's most likely she will be convicted on a lighter sentence/charge.
Yes, i agree. Ill-treatment is no justification for murder. The only circumstance whereby killing is justified is in the case where one's life is in danger, as an act of self-defence when under grave and sudden provocation.Originally posted by fudgester:Even then, our government bowed in to pressure from those Yanks and reduced Fay's punishment to four strokes, down from six.
While it's not as bad as waiving the caning sentence altogether, it shows serious lack of spine on the part of those PAP-heads.
Ok.... I'm going out of point here.
Anyway, I am still in firm support of the death penalty. Yeah, sure, it is indeed undoubtably harsh, but it is harsh penalties which help to make would-be killers think twice about picking up the knife and shoving it into someone's back.
Even if the victim was indeed a maid-abuser, surely there are other avenues to turn turn besides killing the tormentor. I'm sure the maid could have told someone even if she was kept cooped up at home. When we take matters into our own hands and do not allow justice to run its course, we sink down to the level of beasts.
Based on what do you "examine" the ill-treatment claims? A quarter page newspaper report with 1 or 2 lines on the diary entries of the maids?Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Yes, i agree. Ill-treatment is no justification for murder. The only circumstance whereby killing is justified is in the case where one's life is in danger, as an act of self-defence when under grave and sudden provocation.
By the way, if one were to examine the 'ill-treatment' claims made by the maid in court, it actually merely involves verbal abuse, extra work twice a week and deduction of salary. Does this constitute a grave and sudden provocation that would justify killing the employer? If the answer is in the affirmative, then i think all NSFs serving their national service in the army will be justified to kill their superior officers liao. The court has to be very careful in its sentencing so as not to send the wrong message to the public and make a fool of itself... political interference notwithstanding.
The ill-treatment claims? Aren't they splashed all over the papers everyday?!Originally posted by Profounder:Based on what do you "examine" the ill-treatment claims? A quarter page newspaper report with 1 or 2 lines on the diary entries of the maids?
Killing a person is a very grave matter and would take plenty of courage considering the strict laws in Singapore as well as as the widespread coverage involving Flor Contemplacion and the likes. It would take a series of events or a major event to trigger that instinct.
I am not defending the maids here but let's inject some humane perspective into what would otherwise turn out to be another sanitized proceeding that Singapore is so capable of: Kill, Court, Death Sentence. That Singapore should protect its sovereignty by rejecting any form of political interference is just plain bullshit. TO begin with, there is already lots of subliminal political interference on the part of the US with Singpaore, except that in this case, Singapore is a willing sucker.
Coming back to the case, if the maids were sentenced to death, I feel the sister-in-law and the husband should get their comeuppance too. They should be charged for sharing the maid and asking her to go clean that sister-in-law's house.
What also totally disgusts me is that the sister-in-law only pays them $10. Now, corny, if you were asked to clean 2 big houses every week and at the same time, were told to follow strictly to a routine that basically reflects the whims of a perverse mind, I believe you'll be very very very frustrated.
Again, let's not just think that "Oh, the maids were merely overworked, they deserve to die"...There could be more to the matter.
Maids are also human. In the first place, I'm very disinclined to call them "maids". They are real people who are raised in poverty and are merely looking for a better life. Some come here to earn that eatra $100 to send back to finance their brothers and sisters to school. Some just want a more comfortable life for themselves or their parents. And all this as their loved ones toil in the homeland. And mind you, they don't get paid in the first few months as the money goes to the agency, some of which are real bloodsuckers. Put yourself in their shoes. You go through all this. Do you want to land yourself in the gallows for a moment of greed?
Singaporeans are basically a selfish lot. That's the truth. And that's the reason why our service standard may never be up to par. As customers, we think we deserve the best service but at the same time, we are unwilling to be generous or gracious to the people who serve us. How many times have you heard a Singaporean say "Thank You" to the waitress or cashier??
We need to re-examine our souls before we are really spiritually bankrupt as I believe many of our scholars and bureaucrats are.