Lucky for that muslim converted chinese man liao. If the Cisco mata didn't bobo shooter, he should be dead by now. Also if he used a real gun instead of a toy gun, death sentence!Originally posted by Prince Cumming:That poor guy didnt even get a single cent, got shot & is now blind... At least he didnt cheat or steal,got guts to rob... i sympathise with him
Have came across similar cases where robbers in Taiwan & Hong Kong injure hostages & even the police and only get 8-10 yrs..
No wonder S'pore can maintain low crime rates... if they impose heavier penalty indiscriminately, we can even sleep with our doors unlocked
But are such harsh penalities all justified?
I have a feeling he was given a harsher penalty ,Originally posted by Manager433:Lucky for that muslim converted chinese man liao. If the Cisco mata didn't bobo shooter, he should be dead by now. Also if he used a real gun instead of a toy gun, death sentence!
ha.. if he had robbed with a real gun then no need to worry about finding a job liao.. cos he'll never come out of changi prison alive.Originally posted by mach10:Blame the bobo shooter, else he wun have to suffer any sentence...
the sentence, tink too short lei... but he deserve tt anywayz. oso, if wana rob, rob with real gun lar... tsk tsk. nvr watch movie one tt robber...
thats true.. but again, he can only blame it on himself to have brought even more misery to his family.Originally posted by shirurinu:he committed the crime... but his family didn't..
and whats the poor guy gonna do after his release from jail?
He couldn't do menial work anymore, with a criminal profile, with no qualifications, he really could not feed his family le. I think.... he might commit suicide in jail ba... thinking about his sentence, his future.. haiz..
Poor guy
I tend to agree that those well paid civil servants and ministers are becoming less and less able to empathise with the underlings of our society.Originally posted by Profounder:The robbery case judgement just shows what one-tracked mind our scholars and bureaucrats have!!
I take issue with the public prosecutor's comments that the man's circumstances notwithstanding, the State should send a clear message that bank robbery is not tolerated and that Singapore's reputation should be protected.
I think that is utterly callous and shows a complete lack of sympathy and empathy on the part of our so-called "elite" who seem to think that the ends justifies the means. So protecting Singapore's reputation absolutely overrides all other concerns, including the fact that the robbery is probably going to be a remote event.
Four cases last year do not mean there will be another four cases this year.
Now, you'll remember that case of the woman who was raped and killed at Bukit Butok nature reserve on CNY couple of years back. If I'm not wrong, the case is unsolved. Does this mean that rapists will be emboldened to do the same thing because our police wasn't able to catch the culprit?
I'm no legal expert but as a human, we are all driven by external circumstances. In the case of the man, he was probably one of those who fell through the gaps of a bureaucracy that's obsessed with rules and ridden with red-tape.
Suffice to say, Singapore I feel is standing on the edge of a precipice built up by years of complacency, materialism and self-delusion that our system is the best (read: PAP can only be the sole custodian of power). Singaporeans have betrayed a total lack of soul that comes with a vibrant civil society and the reason why this is so is because of the material culture the PAP has fostered.
So winning the case is everything for the Public Prosecutor because you know, it'll look good on his appraisal. Sadly, that comes at the expense of the underlings of society.
since u so kind hearted, y not u go become judge?Originally posted by baderange:The judge should have taken into consideration his present condition. Blind in 1 eye and disabled. These are in inself, part of the punishment already. In the past, the court have taken into consideration a defendant's contribution to public service (remember the drunk driving charges against ex minister Baker?) But don't forget drunk driving have a much higher chance of killing than a fake toy gun!
And if I remember correctly, a teenager got off with a lighter sentence because both his parents were very active in counselling work
I dun think u got the whole point of the case... anyways...Originally posted by Profounder:The robbery case judgement just shows what one-tracked mind our scholars and bureaucrats have!!
I take issue with the public prosecutor's comments that the man's circumstances notwithstanding, the State should send a clear message that bank robbery is not tolerated and that Singapore's reputation should be protected.
I think that is utterly callous and shows a complete lack of sympathy and empathy on the part of our so-called "elite" who seem to think that the ends justifies the means. So protecting Singapore's reputation absolutely overrides all other concerns, including the fact that the robbery is probably going to be a remote event.
Now, you'll remember that case of the woman who was raped and killed at Bukit Butok nature reserve on CNY couple of years back. If I'm not wrong, the case is unsolved. Does this mean that rapists will be emboldened to do the same thing because our police wasn't able to catch the culprit?
I'm no legal expert but as a human, we are all driven by external circumstances. In the case of the man, he was probably one of those who fell through the gaps of a bureaucracy that's obsessed with rules and ridden with red-tape.
Suffice to say, Singapore I feel is standing on the edge of a precipice built up by years of complacency, materialism and self-delusion that our system is the best (read: PAP can only be the sole custodian of power). Singaporeans have betrayed a total lack of soul that comes with a vibrant civil society and the reason why this is so is because of the material culture the PAP has fostered.
So winning the case is everything for the Public Prosecutor because you know, it'll look good on his appraisal. Sadly, that comes at the expense of the underlings of society.
Nooo.. that merc driver who ran up the track was not lucky.. he got such a light sentence cos i believe he is a white horse.Originally posted by iamgoondu:And the MERS driver that rammed into MRT track was fined $1000 and bar from driving from 4 years. And that cost SMRT $150000 to clear up the mess.
Did SMRT go after the MERS driver for the damages?
In fact the MERS driver had earlier being banned from driving for 15 months for driving a Motorcycle without a valid license and uninsured.
The MERS driver was lucky from harsher punishment.
hmmm... i'm afraid i can't agree with u.Originally posted by Profounder:The robbery case judgement just shows what one-tracked mind our scholars and bureaucrats have!!
First point, unwittingly you have become submerged in this entire order-obsessed culture that Singapore is.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:hmmm... i'm afraid i can't agree with u.
There are lots of people who're dead broke out there, and just imagine what kind of message we would be sending to these folks if this fella were to get off with a light sentence. That it's ok to rob a bank, as long as u're poor and deserve sympathy? Bank robbery will no longer be a 'remote' event if this fella were to get off with a light sentence, we can be sure of that. After all, a dead-broke chap would have nothing much to lose by robbing a bank, even if he were to get caught. Considering that he would have so much to gain if he were to get away with it successfully.
The judiciary has the duty to protect the greater interests of society, which should be paramount to that of the individual. Sure, this guy deserves pity as he has been blinded in one eye, is dead broke etc etc. But what about the victims he held hostage in the bank? They could well have been psychologically scarred for life, especially for the poor woman who was held hostage at gunpoint. This guy has to be punished severely for the trauma that he has brought to his victims. Similarly, the rest of us who were fortunate enough not to be in the bank at the time of the robbery have the right to a safe experience the next time we visit a bank. And the only way for this to be realized is to send out a strong message to all potential bank robbers - that robbery will not be condoned, and that they can be assured of a stiff punishment, regardless of their life circumstances.
Anyway, i seriously do not think 4 1/2 years and 9 strokes can be considered harsh punishment for bank robbery. Sure, it was a toy gun but at that moment in time no one knew that, and the psychological trauma to the victims would be as bad as if a real gun had been used.
As for the Bukit Batok case, well, i'm sure the police are trying their best to bring that fella to justice. And we can rest assured that if convicted, the perpetrator will be punished with the full brunt of the law. It's a different issue altogether, distinct from this bank robbery case in which the perpetrator has already been caught and we're only deciding on the appropriate punishment for him.