you see, we do not ask for top academics with good honours. If someone with a basic pass degree can speak fluently and show us the burgeoning capacity to handle future assignments, be it he she, they are in.Originally posted by dragg:then again companies like yours are few and far between!!
advise her to go for sales co-ordinator position in industrial sales. there are plenty of positions out there!!!Originally posted by Agressor:Thank you for your sound advice.![]()
Sorry for the late reply,Originally posted by SilverPal:Deportivo,
what company do you work for, I believe that will help us put things into perspective.
I grew up in an english speaking family. Studied in a chinese school for half my life, therefore gaining (i hope) the best of both worlds.
For comm skills, I consider myself slightly above average and amongst engineers and IT ppl, very much above average.
There are times when i deliberately speak with an accent to mislead others to think that I studied in Aus. The moment i mention that i'm from a local uni, suddenly some ppl's attitude change.
From the response, I do feel that ppl on the whole, not just companies, treat overseas degree holders better than local.
I tend to agree with you on this. Unfortunately this is all so true, although there is a minority of us overseas that try to move away from the SG crowd and mingle with people from other ethnic backgrounds. Most SG overseas students tend to congregate together, and hence, there is a lack of exposure to the culture of the host country that they are in. So you end up seeing alot of "little Singapores" everywhere you go, especially in areas where SG students tend to study...I dunno...I feel that its as if they've never really left the sheltered waters of home and still seek a sense of security in numbers...I ended avoiding them in the end (even if I had to put up with snide remarks from time to time) and made new friends instead...its the best time to make contacts with your peers..networking internationally is invaluable...Originally posted by Deportivo:Sorry for the late reply,
I work in the financial sector, an investment company, non goverment-linked.
As for your hypothesis on companies treating overseas degree better than local, my answer to that is it varies a lot.
Based on my own experience, i do look forward to meet interviewees with foreign degree, not because i place them on a higher pedestal compared to those with local degrees. The reason is because i want to see how much they have gleaned from their time away from the singapore education system. In terms of general independence, language, writing skills, literacy, communication, critical analysis and even general knowledge, current affairs, industrial relations, social relations, foreign degree holders should possess these credentials in their 3-5 years away from singapore.
However, i must admit that I am disappointed 50% of the time. Many of them have not made the best of their time away from our island. Ask them to describe how they apporach their work or projects, mostly will tell you the FROF (Fully Rely On Friends) mentality, ask them how much they have interacted with the locals, mostly will tell you their circle of friends are still singapore students, ask them to explain their exposure to the financial institutes of their respective countries of study, mostly will tell you they know very little since they are too busy "studying".
Heh...dun worry...I did my homework before already. Yep, I checked and its all approved and recognized by the SG government....Originally posted by skyline63:Tango1
Your cert OK one or not ? I tell you lah. Later not approve my MOE ! You died ! Or else stay there lah !
i agree...Originally posted by Peppermint:been conducting a few interviews lately...and i must say i am dismayed at the 'quality' of the candidates who are singaporeans...
the polys and various schools should have a workshop on interview techniques and resume writing before letting these people graduate...
not all interviewers use the same criteria in assessing candidates. how does a workshop on interview techniques help?Originally posted by Peppermint:been conducting a few interviews lately...and i must say i am dismayed at the 'quality' of the candidates who are singaporeans...
the polys and various schools should have a workshop on interview techniques and resume writing before letting these people graduate...
u've been away for so long?Originally posted by Tango1:Heh...dun worry...I did my homework before already. Yep, I checked and its all approved and recognized by the SG government....
Stay there? That's my intention in the mid-term...for now I just wanna head back SG and be with family after nearly a decade overseas...![]()
there are ppl who are unsure of how to react in interviews, and there are ppl, like me, who can put together a simple resume/cover letter..Originally posted by dragg:not all interviewers use the same criteria in assessing candidates. how does a workshop on interview techniques help?
what u do?can teach me. Sometime i wasn't sure how to answer that interviewer' question. it seem very chim. some of them are irritating. Expect us to know everything.Originally posted by shinta:there are ppl who are unsure of how to react in interviews, and there are ppl, like me, who can put together a simple resume/cover letter..
eh.. i dunno wor.. so far i very heng.. since i left poly.. the interviews all very cao shuai deOriginally posted by Meilin86:what u do?can teach me. Sometime i wasn't sure how to answer that interviewer' question. it seem very chim. some of them are irritating. Expect us to know everything.
This is really dumb.Originally posted by Peppermint:been conducting a few interviews lately...and i must say i am dismayed at the 'quality' of the candidates who are singaporeans...
No we don't expect you to know everything. When we ask "wierd" questions, we just want to see how you react.Originally posted by Meilin86:what u do?can teach me. Sometime i wasn't sure how to answer that interviewer' question. it seem very chim. some of them are irritating. Expect us to know everything.
nobody says writing good resume and know how to answer questions reflects how good an employee you are. your assumption is way off.Originally posted by EdmundHeng:This is really dumb.
Doesnt mean that you can write a good resume and know how to ans qn mean u are a good employee.
so if someone dont beat around the bush, dont talk in circles, dont look at you blankly or simply admit that he or she does not know the answer, he get the job?Originally posted by Deportivo:No we don't expect you to know everything. When we ask "wierd" questions, we just want to see how you react.
- will you beat around the bush?
- will you talk in circles?
- will you just look at us with a blank look?
- or will you take the question in your stride and admit that you do not know.
See the difference?
there are ways to beat around the bush "professionally". so good that you don't even realise he/she know nuts about the question until confession.Originally posted by dragg:so if someone dont beat around the bush, dont talk in circles, dont look at you blankly or simply admit that he or she does not know the answer, he get the job?
of course it doesntOriginally posted by EdmundHeng:This is really dumb.
Doesnt mean that you can write a good resume and know how to ans qn mean u are a good employee.
how do one determine if he or she did well at an interview? it all depends on the interviewer. there are no hard and fast rules or criteria.Originally posted by Peppermint:of course it doesnt
but if you cant write a good resume - u dont get the interview
and if you cant do well at an interview - u dont get the job
measurement of employee performance is another issue all together