88cents and u are happy?? better sell when u still canOriginally posted by shade343:you forgot to add that share price will also go upIm damn happy that I bought 6 lots of SMRT at 88 cents
happy? tomorrow SMRT will announce the price increase is just a belated april fool joke!!!Originally posted by shade343:you forgot to add that share price will also go upIm damn happy that I bought 6 lots of SMRT at 88 cents
well said.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:SMRT and SBS transit MUST increase their profit every year so that they can pay the board directors (MPs) handsomely so as to prevent Corruption.
So, as MM Lee have stated, if the Singapore Citizens want a Corruption-free singapore, the MINISTERS MUST BE PAID WELL.
The Malaysia have a dig at the Singapore ministers as they have said that the Malaysia ministers dun need to be paid well as they are governed by integrity.
The security that we don't need. The E-Z card that we don't need. We just want to pay in Cash. Sit the bus and go. Just pay for the fare. Yet PAP don't understand. Ha ! So......... Why happen ? We all PAY AND PAY ! GOOD !Originally posted by NuLife:then after all these conplaints...
sporeans still vote for PAP...
well done.
STOP DREAMING ! THERE WILL BE MORE TAX ON THE CAR AGAIN ! CARPARK RISE. PETROL PRICE RISE AND SOON IT WILL BE EQUALOriginally posted by silv3rgal:Perhaps one day public transport fare's so high that it would be more economical to drive!
It seems that we Singaporeans have no say or whatsoeva....
The rich won't be affected much.. but they are definately driving those people who're struggling just to meet ends.. to the wall....simply bullshit...
I still hold 10 lots bought at 61 cents, but I have not lost sight of the principle in which the government should adopt in providing the basic necessities for our people. The priority objective of all our transport system is serve our people, not to maximise profit!!Originally posted by shade343:you forgot to add that share price will also go upIm damn happy that I bought 6 lots of SMRT at 88 cents
if only you are the transport minister.....Originally posted by macjoe:What does 2cts price rise mean? To me, in the context of 40+% profit rise in the midst of oil price hikes, it's unjustified. If that is justified and price rises by 2 cts, doesn't that increase profits? Why should a BASIC TRANSPORT SERVICE see its price rise and rise? To pay more salaries, dividends, spend, invest, expend more? I don't see the "productivity" growth of basic transport service, do you? I do see "inflationary" growth!!! Why should BASIC TRANSPORT SERVICE see "inflationary" price rise without tangible productivity growth? If it's making so much profit, should SMRT set aside some to weather storms like oil?
Btw, does SMRT "buy" alot of oil?
In fact, I think the Minister of Transport should take the opportunity to
reduce prices by 2 cts!!!!!!
No?![]()
having another competitor wont help.Originally posted by PachelbeL_20:I remembered seeing the news a few days ago that SMRT made a profit of certain high amounts like 100million or something... then the next few days come the application for fare hike....
if they are allowed to apply for fare hikes , why cant commuters apply for fare decrease? what is the roof top for the fare increase? i mean wat amount are they looking at? salaries for workers are not increasin but living cost are goin up... haizzz...
we shld really have different service providers to provide competition
how come? it may help a bit leh. then we can take a bus that is cheaperOriginally posted by dragg:having another competitor wont help.
This info is available to the public...what so surprising?Originally posted by commonsense:interesting read.. lets see who are profiteering the most..
http://www.smrt.com.sg/statisticesofshareholders.pdf
or
http://img12.imagevenue.com/img.php?loc=loc139&image=567_image002.jpg
TWENTY LARGEST SHAREHOLDERS
No. Name No. of Shares %
1 Temasek Holdings (Private) Limited 934,400,030 62.29
2 Raffles Nominees Pte Ltd 116,793,414 7.79
3 DBS Nominees Pte Ltd 59,297,922 3.95
4 Citibank Nominees Singapore Pte Ltd 21,302,375 1.42
5 HSBC (Singapore) Nominees Pte Ltd 19,942,440 1.33
6 United Overseas Bank Nominees Pte Ltd 17,884,000 1.19
7 Oversea-Chinese Bank Nominees Pte Ltd 8,011,000 0.53
8 Quah Wee Lai 3,000,000 0.20
9 Choo Si Sen 2,150,000 0.14
10 The Asia Life Assurance Society Ltd
- Singapore Life Fund 1,769,000 0.12
11 UOB Kay Hian Pte Ltd 1,768,000 0.12
12 Chen Siong Seng 1,699,000 0.11
13 Lee Pineapple Company Pte Ltd 1,550,000 0.10
14 Kim Eng Securities Pte Ltd 1,512,000 0.10
15 Phillip Securities Pte Ltd 1,303,000 0.09
16 Yap Wai Ying Theresa 1,262,000 0.08
17 Chong Yean Fong 1,200,000 0.08
18 OCBC Securities Private Ltd 1,003,000 0.07
19 Overseas Union Enterprise Limited 1,000,000 0.07
20 Toi Boon How Holdings Pte Ltd 1,000,000 0.07
Total 1,197,847,181 79.85
links extracted from http://forums.delphiforums.com/sammyboymod/messages?msg=71579.11
Hmm...Im thinking of increasing my stake to 20 lots...but I cant get it at 92 cents today...Originally posted by sgdiehard:I still hold 10 lots bought at 61 cents, but I have not lost sight of the principle in which the government should adopt in providing the basic necessities for our people. The priority objective of all our transport system is serve our people, not to maximise profit!!
It is interesting to note that Temasek Holding holds the majority shares with 934,400 lots. For every $93,440 they make, I make $1 (with 10 lots), you make 60 cents, but we pay increased prices so that this profits can be made. And who owns Temasek? the government, using our CPF money. So the government use the citizen's money to make money from the citizens, smart idea!! no wonder they are paid millions of dollars.
As citizen, i should be contented with a candy or two, but at least I won't jump in rejoicing, for unless i sell my shares, i do not see any profits, but when i sell the shares, the next time i pay higher fares, i am not getting anything back. sigh.....
not everybody knows. try asking the ah sohs and ah peks whether they know.Originally posted by shade343:This info is available to the public...what so surprising?![]()

At the expense of poor citizens and tax payers?Originally posted by shade343:A company must always keep increasing their profits so as to increase their share value
Don't worry. After the fare increase, the government will give you Transport Restructure Shares, so that you can cope with the fare hikes. Remember, this year's budget still have not give out candy yet.Originally posted by sgdiehard:I still hold 10 lots bought at 61 cents, but I have not lost sight of the principle in which the government should adopt in providing the basic necessities for our people. The priority objective of all our transport system is serve our people, not to maximise profit!!
It is interesting to note that Temasek Holding holds the majority shares with 934,400 lots. For every $93,440 they make, I make $1 (with 10 lots), you make 60 cents, but we pay increased prices so that this profits can be made. And who owns Temasek? the government, using our CPF money. So the government use the citizen's money to make money from the citizens, smart idea!! no wonder they are paid millions of dollars.
As citizen, i should be contented with a candy or two, but at least I won't jump in rejoicing, for unless i sell my shares, i do not see any profits, but when i sell the shares, the next time i pay higher fares, i am not getting anything back. sigh.....
Originally posted by Gordonator:MediaCorp owns the TV Mobile, not SBS Transit.
SBS transit's reason for wanting a raise is because of higher operating cost. in that case, [b]IT'S HIGH TIME THEY DO AWAY WITH THE STUPID AND USELESS TV MOBILE! without it, definately will save a lot of cost!
With so many walkovers, not many get to vote.Originally posted by Agressor:Whats next? Election of course. Short memory Singaporean will then only remember the candy and not the bittergaud. In the polling station, they will still vote for the one who gave them bittergaud and candy.
How much shares you can afford. Talk Cock!!!Originally posted by kingofbeholder:can't help stupid people.![]()
if you think they really earn that much, buy their share loh![]()
Fcuk You!!!Originally posted by kingofbeholder:my english so simple also cannot understand meh?
if you think SMRT really earn that much, you can buy their share to earn divide CD every year.