what does pap stands for?Originally posted by BonJovi:pap sux
people action partyOriginally posted by shade343:what does pap stands for?![]()
which country u from?Originally posted by Princess Vivian:people action party
you really made your point !!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Singaporeans who vote the PAP (Peoples' Action Party) end up Paying And Paying (PAP) more for everything, and getting progressively Poorer And Poorer (PAP), until they are living in Pain And Poverty (PAP).
All the while, however, the government continues to Pillage And Plunder (PAP) the average Singaporean, who Prays And Prays (PAP) to be taken out of his misery.
MG
During erection time, the gahmen keeps telling s'poreans that voting is compulsory, and those who don't are guilty of an offence and blah blah blah. They are putting the fear in citizens, which is why voters turnout in Sg is very high if not the highest in the world for a "democratic" country. This in turn gives the incumbent (i.e. PAP) bragging rights in the international community.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Most of the Areas are WALKOVER.
So, how to vote ???
The government or MPs that rule or governed us are mostly walkover and not voted upon.
Heard that there're 'reference code' encoded during the voting?Originally posted by j6sus:During erection time, the gahmen keeps telling s'poreans that voting is compulsory, and those who don't are guilty of an offence and blah blah blah. They are putting the fear in citizens, which is why voters turnout in Sg is very high if not the highest in the world for a "democratic" country. This in turn gives the incumbent (i.e. PAP) bragging rights in the international community.
I have voted twice in my life. The first time i cast a spoilt vote. The second time i voted for oppo. I know of many who are not happy with the PAP and i tell them if you are not happy with PAP and don't want to vote for oppo, then cast a spoilt vote or don't vote at all. There is nothing the gahmen can do to you if you don't turn up! But these sillyzens will always be so scared that things will happen to them and in the end vote for PAP hoping that others will vote for oppo. This kind of sillyzens really makes me "proud" to be a s'porean.
I remember from voting at the last GE, you show them your IC, they find your name from a nominal roll, then make a mark or something. Then give you your your ballot paper that has a serial number. I'm not sure if the serial number is reflected on the row containing your name though.Originally posted by Devil1976:Heard that there're 'reference code' encoded during the voting?
got lahOriginally posted by av98m:I remember from voting at the last GE, you show them your IC, they find your name from a nominal roll, then make a mark or something. Then give you your your ballot paper that has a serial number. I'm not sure if the serial number is reflected on the row containing your name though.
Back in the eighties, during the one and only time I voted in a GE, I was at the local CC to cast my vote, and went through the same procedure you did.Originally posted by av98m:I remember from voting at the last GE, you show them your IC, they find your name from a nominal roll, then make a mark or something. Then give you your your ballot paper that has a serial number. I'm not sure if the serial number is reflected on the row containing your name though.
i voted in the 1990s.. the system was like that too.Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Back in the eighties, during the one and only time I voted in a GE, I was at the local CC to cast my vote, and went through the same procedure you did.
After I handed the lady my IC, she verified my name against a computer printout (which I assumed was a voters' register). Then she pulled a ballot card from a pile on the table, flipped the card over, and recorded the number printed on the rear of the card down on the printout, next to my name, before handing the card and my IC to me. I cast a quick glance down as she was copying the number, and noticed that many of the names on the printout had handwritten numbers next to them.
I leave you to draw your own conclusions.
Personally I feel it's more greed than fear that drives many Singaporeans to vote for the PAP - upgrading HDB estates, for instance. PAP focuses on "happy" issues and it's just amazing after so many years that Singaporeans still fall for it - hook, line and sinker. HDB estates will be upgraded eventually, MRT stations/lines construction plans decided way in advance to coincide with projected election dates, little handouts here and there, etc.Originally posted by skyline63:Only fools will vote PAP. Because they fear. But there is always smart one who vote PAP. Why ? They got money to take mah ! Government workers leh. Working for NTUC, HDB, ARMY. Don't vote PAP. Later cut pay how ?
Wrong,we ppl in Singapore call it "Pay And Pay".Which means that they are so money face that u have to pay alot of money to them until u die.......But nowadays,even if u die u also have to pay them!!!Originally posted by Princess Vivian:people action party
Wow,this guy explain the word "PAP" better than me!!!Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Singaporeans who vote the PAP (Peoples' Action Party) end up Paying And Paying (PAP) more for everything, and getting progressively Poorer And Poorer (PAP), until they are living in Pain And Poverty (PAP).
All the while, however, the Pompous And Pretentious (PAP) government officials continue to abuse their position of Power and Privilege (PAP) to Pillage And Plunder (PAP) the average Singaporean, who Prostrates And Prays (PAP) to be taken out of his misery.
MG
Even if those who work for the government vote PAP also no use,becoz in the bad times when our country economy not doing well,the government still have to sack them or cut their pay.Now the government work like a "private company" already,they are no longer the kind of government we used to know 20 years ago!!!Originally posted by skyline63:Even bush do the same. So what the differents ? Only fools will vote PAP. Because they fear. But there is always smart one who vote PAP. Why ? They got money to take mah ! Government workers leh. Working for NTUC, HDB, ARMY. Don't vote PAP. Later cut pay how ?
if they work as private company then not much of a problem already lor... the problem now is... the top management get paid like private but work like public service ar....die die die pay and pay lor...Originally posted by drawer:Even if those who work for the government vote PAP also no use,becoz in the bad times when our country economy not doing well,the government still have to sack them or cut their pay.Now the government work like a "private company" already,they are no longer the kind of government we used to know 20 years ago!!!
Originally posted by Meia Gisborn:Back in the eighties, during the one and only time I voted in a GE, I was at the local CC to cast my vote, and went through the same procedure you did.
After I handed the lady my IC, she verified my name against a computer printout (which I assumed was a voters' register). Then she pulled a ballot card from a pile on the table, flipped the card over, and recorded the number printed on the rear of the card down on the printout, next to my name, before handing the card and my IC to me. I cast a quick glance down as she was copying the number, and noticed that many of the names on the printout had handwritten numbers next to them.
I leave you to draw your own conclusions.