Originally posted by TehJarVu:that's the prob....all parents wory their kids will suffer in future (the unknown) and hence can't help it but to be 'kiasu'......
have a smart kid it's ok.
[b]if the kid is slow, then how? --- precisely..
you give him happy childhood by not pressurising,
and he does not have the abilities to do well in school;
later on he also suffers in life,
because he'll have no qualifications,
and will be at the bottom of the echelon.
so it will become his personal misery,
and this personal misery is largely due to the situation of the society,
so the situation is truly terrible and horrible.
and it seems that we have no way out because of our environment and system and limitations.......
tough.......[/b]
nothing new, my son is in the same predicament.... now you read now you forget ...Originally posted by a_splash:they have sooooo much to rem esp Chinese Character....my girl will learn the new ones and forget the old ones![]()
very chialat
but you have to give credit to those mainland chinese that picked up english well. i am sure they worked very hard too. again our educational system is to be blamed for not focusing, or in fact, neglecting chinese from the very beginning!!Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:nothing new, my son is in the same predicament.... now you read now you forget ...
The whole education system seem to favour the Mainland chinese. As far as Mandarin is concern, they got no problem. Then they pick up English so fast. In no time they are at par with our children standard but with better Chinese.... Is there something wrong with our system, sometime I wonder ...
i felt that the diff is they take one at a time....they only learnt chinese first, so the foundation is already there, then English comes inOriginally posted by ORIGAMIST:nothing new, my son is in the same predicament.... now you read now you forget ...
The whole education system seem to favour the Mainland chinese. As far as Mandarin is concern, they got no problem. Then they pick up English so fast. In no time they are at par with our children standard but with better Chinese.... Is there something wrong with our system, sometime I wonder ...
I don't think the system neglect the Chinese, on the contrary, I think it is too tough leh ..... I think the whole system got problem... I remember my ex-boss who is Malaysian. Posted in Singapore for three years. Got his children to study here. After that go back to Malaysia, got problem. The school over there is too weak for his children. He say our education system is at least 3 years ahead of Malaysian system... Don't know how true la.....Originally posted by dragg:but you have to give credit to those mainland chinese that picked up english well. i am sure they worked very hard too. again our educational system is to be blamed for not focusing, or in fact, neglecting chinese from the very beginning!!
the older generation do not have problems with chinese. we used to have chinese educated schools and chinese educated classes in english educated schools. but they were all removed in favour of english based education. it was only then that singaporeans start to have problems with chinese. now we are trying to play catch up. it is not easy coz one needs a lot of practise to command a language.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:I don't think the system neglect the Chinese, on the contrary, I think it is too tough leh ..... I think the whole system got problem... I remember my ex-boss who is Malaysian. Posted in Singapore for three years. Got his children to study here. After that go back to Malaysia, got problem. The school over there is too weak for his children. He say our education system is at least 3 years ahead of Malaysian system... Don't know how true la.....
My advice to you is:Originally posted by a_splash:i only started to feel this when my boy goes to Primary school, my girl (elder one) has no prob with minimal supervision and hence could at the first two yrs of primary school live life to the fullest.......but my boy who enjoy life the same way as my girl...din perform the same....so if not help him....then hv to let him repeat primary one??![]()
My boy is a great Dreamer....leave him alone is wat he will like most.....
My girl been complaining to me (before i started revising with her) that she seems to be having more corrections to do this year (P4). So i hv to help her lor.....else she will lost the confidence she has rite?
Originally posted by dragg:so maybe should consider to change to chinese as first language, english as second??
[b]the older generation do not have problems with chinese. we used to have chinese educated schools and chinese educated classes in english educated schools. but they were all removed in favour of english based education. it was only then that singaporeans start to have problems with chinese. now we are trying to play catch up. it is not easy coz one needs a lot of practise to command a language.
btw our educational system are really much better than the malaysians'.
this will only make matter worst!!!Originally posted by a_splash:so maybe should consider to change to chinese as first language, english as second??![]()
Originally posted by gerrykoh:ssssshhhh not so loud le, i intending to go apply one le.....like that got long queue liao lah
My hubby said that economy is so bad that U grads may end up with low paying job. What's the point of studying so hard. Might as well go casino & work as coupier- can get a lot of tips from gamblers [/b]

This I have to agree with you. I was served by a teenage girl who spoke mandarin with chinese accent at a wedding dinner at Hyatt two sat ago. She told us she came here from china to join sec 3 class and her english was without doubt very poor. BUT she, and most of the mainland chinese here, spent 6 months of hard work and were able to catch with their classmates and since then, she topped her class all the way. Got 8 A for O level andOriginally posted by dragg:but you have to give credit to those mainland chinese that picked up english well. i am sure they worked very hard too. again our educational system is to be blamed for not focusing, or in fact, neglecting chinese from the very beginning!!
Chin Eng's advice was great. My second child is also a dreamer. Everytime when he has a new form teacher, my wife sure kena called to school and hear the same remark, "your son day dream a lot." Don't know when he will wake up automatically.Originally posted by a_splash:[
Good Morning Chin Eng!
Thanks for your advice. I did let him dream thru P1, he is in P2 this yr.
When he was in P1, he 'dreamt' so much, the teacher was on his backCos he always kept away his homework and some never to be found, he always needed to meddle with things when teachers were teaching, (he still does, i wrote to the P2 teacher to let him be) etc etc
His classmates told us he was always badly scolded by the teacher. Poor him ne.....how to gain confident like that??
Once, he was punished consecutively (made him stand etc), i had to write to tell her the worksheet was LOST, LOST means cannot be found liao.....would she be continuing to punish till him can 'magic' one for her??? Yo, ended up my boy was further 'punished' for my mistakes ( i mistaken he stood on the chair while infact he was only standing on the floor which i was no bothered about). i apologised and she still go target him, get the whole class to be her witness of wat she did and wat his mummy said.....
I learnt the hard way (at his expense, i felt bad) that i can't do the same for him (make him be responsible for his own stuff) like his sister.
He is definitely a bright and creative boy. He is more of a divergent thinker unlike his sister a convergent thinker.....most education systems and school environment are not condusive for divergent thinker..
anyway thru hard and soft approach ( i had read up some books to learn some soft skills, the hard approach is my natural reaction), he has shown great improvements this year, thanks to his P2 teacher's patience (no more scolding liao) and the student care's teacher's patience and understanding....
i try my best not to kill his creativity and divergent thinking......
I will tell my girl wat you mentioned here. Thanks!
Its a GREAT CHALLENGE to be 'good' parents....esp in such era of heavy study load..........
parents just love to speak english to their children. start from young they say!! but most parents speak english poorly. i have heard on numerous occasions how mothers speak singlish to their kids. its amazing!!!Originally posted by sgdiehard:This I have to agree with you. I was served by a teenage girl who spoke mandarin with chinese accent at a wedding dinner at Hyatt two sat ago. She told us she came here from china to join sec 3 class and her english was without doubt very poor. BUT she, and most of the mainland chinese here, spent 6 months of hard work and were able to catch with their classmates and since then, she topped her class all the way. Got 8 A for O level and
3 A/1 B for her A level.
We used to speak hokkien, cantonese, english and a bit of half passed 6 mandarin, now our children don't speak dialects and both english and mandarin are also half passed 6. Now LKY says we must also speak malay, may be hindu and tamil when india's economy boom a little further.
Something is wrong with our system in teaching language.
Originally posted by dragg:aiyo y u must tell everyone le
parents just love to speak english to their children. start from young they say!! [b]but most parents speak english poorly. i have heard on numerous occasions how mothers speak singlish to their kids. its amazing!!![/b]
coz it is better not to speak then to wu4ren2zi3di4.Originally posted by a_splash:aiyo y u must tell everyone le![]()
but as parent i must try my best mah...GIVE my best....at least i tried!Originally posted by dragg:coz it is better not to speak then to wu4ren2zi3di4.![]()
Actually, it's really shocking at the standard of English spoken in Singapore.Originally posted by dragg:parents just love to speak english to their children. start from young they say!! but most parents speak english poorly. i have heard on numerous occasions how mothers speak singlish to their kids. its amazing!!!
speaking poor english to your kids will only make matter worst.Originally posted by a_splash:but as parent i must try my best mah...GIVE my best....at least i tried!
must think positive remember??![]()