bcos it's "translated" from cantonese lahOriginally posted by crazy monkey:when i read HK newspaper and lao fu zhi a lot of words dun even exist in dictionary. HK standard of chinese must be very high can invend their own words. When hk ppl interview in mandrain cannot even talk properly.![]()
OIC... almost the price of his single memoir...Originally posted by FireIce:launch on 2nd June......
Chinese is "Xue Yu Zhi Yong"
English is "Keeping My Mandarin Alive"
The book costs $28 and comes with a DVD featuring snippets of the interview and computer software that he uses to learn Mandarin
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/146434/1/.html
thats why lan chonsou kao pei simi lan jiaoOriginally posted by FireIce:bcos it's "translated" from cantonese lah
high ur head
i seriously doubt people bought the book to learn chinese.Originally posted by Elfred:OIC... almost the price of his single memoir...
I save the urge to buy for 20 times, I go China also can learn Chinese...
Thanks.
use as toilet paper ?Originally posted by dragg:i seriously doubt people bought the book to learn chinese.
LKY has the "best chinese private tutor" teaching him "one to one", "once a week". we don't have the "best private tutor" to teach us on "one to one' basis. "once a week" of chinese lesson and then speak english for the rest of the week is no way of learning a language. LKY's way of learning chinese is not for ordinary people.Originally posted by Elfred:OIC... almost the price of his single memoir...
I save the urge to buy for 20 times, I go China also can learn Chinese...
Thanks.
of course not!! too expensive and you might get piles too.Originally posted by crazy monkey:use as toilet paper ?![]()
so fly all the way to shanghai or taipei just to have chinese classes?Originally posted by sgdiehard:LKY has the "best chinese private tutor" teaching him "one to one", "once a week". we don't have the "best private tutor" to teach us on "one to one' basis. "once a week" of chinese lesson and then speak english for the rest of the week is no way of learning a language. LKY's way of learning chinese is not for ordinary people.
Enrol in any chinese language school in shanghai or taipei, you will speak better mandarin than many singaporean, and certainly LKY, within a year. In singapore, we switch to english easily and usually don't attempt to speak proper mandarin because there is no need.
Actually I find it ok... it is the needs. Traditional chinese character has more meaning than the simplified one.Originally posted by vito_corleone:if they want more people to learn chinese they should make those damned characters simpler to memorise. and chinese textbooks should not be stuck in golden eras long gone but look to the future instead. no use biatching about 5000 years of history, focus on the future.
Maybe the learn Chinese in order to buy the book?Originally posted by dragg:i seriously doubt people bought the book to learn chinese.
If you are as famous as MM Lee, no need marketing, publishers and writers willl come to you, laymen will go after your books.Originally posted by FireIce:the book not teach u chinese lah
let u see how Lee peh peh learn chinese.....hope to inspire ppl to learn chinese.......
kentangs are encouraged to buy the angmoh version
then when they go master chinese liao then buy the chinese version...
very good marketing neh!
No need go so far. I go China, I come back I teach you my Elfredian broken Chinese. You want or not? Hehehehehehe...Originally posted by sgdiehard:LKY has the "best chinese private tutor" teaching him "one to one", "once a week". we don't have the "best private tutor" to teach us on "one to one' basis. "once a week" of chinese lesson and then speak english for the rest of the week is no way of learning a language. LKY's way of learning chinese is not for ordinary people.
Enrol in any chinese language school in shanghai or taipei, you will speak better mandarin than many singaporean, and certainly LKY, within a year. In singapore, we switch to english easily and usually don't attempt to speak proper mandarin because there is no need.
What to do? All subjects are in English. That's gahmen's brilliant idea also.Originally posted by tranquilice:Their parents are partly to be blamed. They communicate with their children in English.
i had a maths tutor who taught me maths in chinese.....Originally posted by Honeybunz:What to do? All subjects are in English. That's gahmen's brilliant idea also.
Last time my maths tutor ask her question in English, she blur blur like that. Then I decided to ask her in chinese and she suddenly become expert liaoOriginally posted by FireIce:i had a maths tutor who taught me maths in chinese.....
can u imagine someone teaching u differentiation in chinese?!?!! blurer and blurer....
but Chinese Windows is fun!![]()
read comics even betterOriginally posted by diggo:Actually I find it ok... it is the needs. Traditional chinese character has more meaning than the simplified one.
I came from a neighbourhood school... english stream of course. However, i can pick up these becos i was exposed to it at a yound age. If you ever did read the martial arts novel (½ðÓ¹ -Îä‚b�¡Õf)... or the ¹Åýˆ one... then reading is not a problem.
The angmohs speaks proper mandarin after one year in the language schools in shanghai and if you still speak your own brand of broken chinese, then it is not the problem of the schools or learning chinese, hehehehe......Originally posted by Elfred:No need go so far. I go China, I come back I teach you my Elfredian broken Chinese. You want or not? Hehehehehehe...
Actually for a senior stateman, it's a good thing to continue learning.
Eg. My Dad, well, he read Malayu, he reads Malayu, still he's not expert in it but ok. It is better than those who went to small pub, go to big pub, searching for larger disco hall.
Then we use ordinary people's way to learn Chinese.
Go China is one way, but we can't bring the entire China to Singapore, nor bring the entire Singapore to China.![]()
Waliao... even in Surname, each got each brand what... kekekeke...Originally posted by sgdiehard:The angmohs speaks proper mandarin after one year in the language schools in shanghai and if you still speak your own brand of broken chinese, then it is not the problem of the schools or learning chinese, hehehehe......
"huo dao lao, xue dao lao" applies to everybody. It is good that lao lee is learning, but I think he is better, "huo dao lao, zuo dao lao." he is probably the most senior man in power in the world.
The chinese says, "xiu shen qi jia zhi guo ping tian xia", one needs to discipline himself, put his own house in order before he manages the country and bring peace to the world. Learning a language starts with each individual before bringing the countries together.
Attitude. Its that determine one's desire to learn and appeciate any language.Originally posted by vito_corleone:if they want more people to learn chinese they should make those damned characters simpler to memorise. and chinese textbooks should not be stuck in golden eras long gone but look to the future instead. no use biatching about 5000 years of history, focus on the future.