nothing just to show what i am doing behind the scene.Originally posted by Werewolf:No lah
To provoke ppl, must have logical argument ma
I must admit, I twisted the things around a little on that jacky coz I want him to see that he was online being whiney and complaining about others....
Btw, what's da chocolate about?![]()
From the few photos there is really nothing to for any newsapapers to publish.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Photos of Shanmugum's funeral that you will never see in the Straits Times...blardy censors.
Reuters photos of Shanmugum Murugesu's funeral hearse
Hopefully both.We need a better society to aim for.Originally posted by sgdiehard:From the few photos there is really nothing to for any newsapapers to publish.
The question is, what have shanmugum's children learned, never to traffic drug, or grow up and abolish the death penalty?
What can we teach our children? don't ever touch drug, or fight the government and abolish death penalty? Whatever we do, never leave the teaching to the newspapers with sensationalized pictures and stories.
If the children learn from this incident and never to touch drugs again, then the penalty serves its purpose and there is no reason to abolish it.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Hopefully both.We need a better society to aim for.
Did it ever occur to you that capital punishment is only fit for the 3rd Reich? By openly sanctioning such forms of punishment, we are sinking to their level.Originally posted by sgdiehard:If the children learn from this incident and never to touch drugs again, then the penalty serves its purpose and there is no reason to abolish it.
If the children don't learn the lesson and touch drugs, they will never be able to fight the government and abolish the death penalty.
Sometimes we can't have both, that's is the irony of life.
I am only a small citizen and what I say will not condemn anybody to capital punishment, and certainly will not make any difference to the current law.Originally posted by iveco:Did it ever occur to you that capital punishment is only fit for the 3rd Reich? By openly sanctioning such forms of punishment, we are sinking to their level.
Caning is OK, but nobody, be it the individual or the State, has no right to take away a life.
Did it ever occur to you that capital punishment is only fit for the 3rd Reich? By openly sanctioning such forms of punishment, we are sinking to their level.From the past till now, human society always have the death penalty. Even now, some states in america and some places in the so-called developed world also have the death penalty. If one see having a death penalty will result in us sinking into the level of the third Reich, then another can also states tat we had "risen" to the level of america and its human rights record since america too have it.
We "rose" to the level of USA?Originally posted by stupidissmart:From the past till now, human society always have the death penalty. Even now, some states in america and some places in the so-called developed world also have the death penalty. If one see having a death penalty will result in us sinking into the level of the third Reich, then another can also states tat we had "risen" to the level of america and its human rights record since america too have it.
I still believe in Capital Punishment. U can't be slack with the law lo , it will be like inviting more people to commit more crimes.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:poor children ending up orphaned...
The law is merciless.....i wonder if the children will still treat singapore as their home..no offense...
Seriously
if my dad one day were to be hanged by the state, i would draw m-16 and shoot those pple responsible for it....
I believe anyone of you all would also do something about it ...
From the point of view of his children , they view him as a dad who was desperately trying all means to provide for his son...
Why was their family poor ? Its because of this country , if they had $$
they wouldn't be trying out this mean..
Anyway, if someone killed your dad, and goes away unpunished...im sure 1 day , there will be a time whereby they will take revenge on the judge who passed the death sentence.
It's not whether its right or wrong. It's our moral values.
Losing a painful person....
Well , you can imagine the mom , telling the child...
"The singapore judicial system killed your father....!!"
You must revenge when you grow up....
same thing as terrorism...
"americans kill your dad!"
you must revenge when you grow up...
I strongly advice against capital punishment , rather , life imprisonment.
Released after a few years? In many instances, people serve at least 30 years before being considered for parole in serious murder cases elsewhere.Originally posted by zheshi:I still believe in Capital Punishment. U can't be slack with the law lo , it will be like inviting more people to commit more crimes.
let not say about the dad's drug case. let talk about murder case. if fellow A murder fellow b...and since that country has no Capital Punishment , Fellow A maybe relased after a few years..is that fair? nope..the life of fellow B has been ended...ever if 100 yr later or 1000 yr later..he won't come back to life and enjoy what he should be enjoying while he is alive..while the murderer..after a few yr...could enjoy his life again after his imprisonment..
There are instances where a person has been wrongly framed for murder and evidence clearing him of involvement came about a few years too late. There is still a chance to clear him if he's serving a life sentence.Originally posted by zheshi:It like kill 1 to warn hundred...maybe it sound cruel but it true.. u think singapore will be safe without it capital punishment meh...if it slack in it law...people will just do what they want..and get away from it with a few years in prison...
If u dun want to die under capital punishment...than DUN DO THING UNDER THE LAW THAT SERVE OUT DEATH SENTENCE ... as simple as that...once u do it...too bad i would say..u deserve it..they have been so many warnings..and u chose to hackcare it..
Once u are hook in drug , your work productive drop and in the end u think u will have the money to support your habits meh? So what will u do ? Rob , Steal or do just anything to get hold of drug,money or even help to smuggle drug to sustain your habits...isn't that doing more harm to people? It a chain reaction, don't think that just u alone taking drug won't affect the other. i believe it would..and thus agree with the harsh punishment..Originally posted by LazerLordz:Sigh.I do not wish to comprehend how your mind works.
Drugs harm the body, but may not cause death.Murder is killing and instant death, pure and simple.Make that distinction clear..because there are many out there who cannot look beyond the propaganda.
Both are crimes, but one is dealing with killing someone, while the other is a conjecture that has been over-exploited.
About the few years stuff , i didn't know what the actual imprisonment period for murder in some country , i do agree that there are cases capital punishment come too soon and often the victim has been wrongly framed...Originally posted by iveco:There are instances where a person has been wrongly framed for murder and evidence clearing him of involvement came about a few years too late. There is still a chance to clear him if he's serving a life sentence.
PS: Any news about Huang Na's killer trial? Is Ah Hao really guilty of murder or is hte real killer on the run?
We "rose" to the level of USA? Even Amnesty doesn't like GWB's home state having the highest number of executions in the nation. The USA is a hypocrite nation and international bully. It is better to take the Swedes as the yardstick.If america have it, why shouldn't singapore ? Talking about human rights, I find America to be one of the countries that was considered to be more "advanced" compared with other countries. We r not aiming to be the number one in "human right" record.
There are instances where a person has been wrongly framed for murder and evidence clearing him of involvement came about a few years too late. There is still a chance to clear him if he's serving a life sentence.However for cases such as caning, the harm cannot be undone. Even if u jail a person and he live in prison fro many years, u can't undo the damages tat had been committed to him.
At first i agree with u till i read this part...Scolding other...and being offensive to other when they are saying their view...u really lack respect for other...Originally posted by skyline63:The law is bad for PRP. If death penalty is not there. I don't mind PAY $$$ find out who is PRP and murder his whole family ! It's a enjoyment to kill someone and have power over it. LOOK how PRP cry b4 his death is funny ! Right ! Better to kill all his love one in his face and let him cry like puppy ! That is call FUNNY ! TO me it's a enjoyment and sex ! Make me high high high !
Why not right as it is funny ! If there is no death penalty ! Lock-up is nothing ! You can always run away when you got money.
Look at Malaysia and you see ! With money even murderous get free ! How good will that be !
Skyline63 is not out to engage in a serious discussion.Take a look at his other posts.The rest of us agree to disagree..he just rides roughshod over the views of others.Originally posted by zheshi:At first i agree with u till i read this part...Scolding other...and being offensive to other when they are saying their view...u really lack respect for other...
If u want people to listen to your view and try to understand..at least talk in a reasonable manner...talking in a offensive way...even if u are 100% correct..people will also not agree with your view..
Am I reading this right? I believe someone else has already pointed it out - look at the big picture, not just the effects of a round or two of drugs. No one can predict what drugs can do to a person's mind, what even the mildest of persons can be capable of under the influence and that is what makes it dangerous.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Yes, there is harm to the kids.But strictly speaking, is blood spilled or a life ended on the spot when someone consumes drugs?People take pot all the time and they are still alive.
I'm not promoting drug use, but we need to view these two issues in a proper light.
Well, no one is certainly promoting short jail terms.We can keep people in detention for indefinite periods for drug trafficking.As long as we make the effort to rehabilitate and cure these people.Doesn't matter how we do it.In the end, why should we kill a person if the avenues for treatment have not been met?Purely pragmatic reasons?Is a human life lower than a dollar?Originally posted by czechmate:Am I reading this right? I believe someone else has already pointed it out - look at the big picture, not just the effects of a round or two of drugs. No one can predict what drugs can do to a person's mind, what even the mildest of persons can be capable of under the influence and that is what makes it dangerous.
With laxed laws on drugs over a prolonged period of time, do you think we will be talking about mere grams of drugs traffickers are going to be bringing in and out of Singapore? Can you imagine how much easier it might be for people, maybe even those close to home, to get a hold of drugs, consume them, become addicted and in time become so desperate to feed their habit they'll do just about anything? Desperate people with reasonably clear minds do desperate things. Desperate people under the influence of drugs ... ? Ok, one or two undergrads may just think of approaching Caramon for money in exchange for sexual favours but one would be naive to think all drug addicts will go this "harmless" way.
PS. Sorry, Caramon, no insult intended. Your topic just left an impression![]()
Jailed is nothing according to u.U are stupid.When one is jailed,that prevent him from committing the crime again.Originally posted by skyline63:There is no justice. When there is no law. Death penalty is a necessary for all. Because all died. Only death they fear. LOCK-UP is nothing at all ! The whole is fill with people. Only death fear them all ! That is the law of justice. Once and for all !
They want to get rich. On other people's death. Because drug kill. No matter how long it take. Direct or indirect death is still around. So hanging them is alright to them ! We should continue as the old ways ! Look at USA where there is least death penalty. People shoot one another for free ! No need death penalty. I don't mind shoot PRP ! Because PRP is a chow chee bye to me !
So readers can read Sky said killing a person make him high.So u can know what kind of person he is. Can u find a word to describe him?Originally posted by skyline63:The law is bad for PRP. If death penalty is not there. I don't mind PAY $$$ find out who is PRP and murder his whole family ! It's a enjoyment to kill someone and have power over it. LOOK how PRP cry b4 his death is funny ! Right ! Better to kill all his love one in his face and let him cry like puppy ! That is call FUNNY ! TO me it's a enjoyment and sex ! Make me high high high !
Why not right as it is funny ! If there is no death penalty ! Lock-up is nothing ! You can always run away when you got money.
Look at Malaysia and you see ! With money even murderous get free ! How good will that be !
A lot of ppl are greeed for money and they committed crimes for it.So should they be all hanged due to greed?Originally posted by foxtrout8:Those that traffic drugs were hanged because of their greed for money in the expense of other people's suffering. Those that commit murder were hanged because they get satisfaction in the expense of other people's dealth.
Manslaughters is an entire different story because they killed someone without incurring any satisfaction, in another words, dealth was delivered accidentally, unconsciously, not knowingly. These people deserve heavy penalty but not dealth.
Of course in some cases there is a thin line between manslaughter and murder thats why we need law to differentiate under legitimate means. We know that law is not flawless but for very distinct case such as drug trafficking, once the person is judged to be guilty in the sense that he commited the offence knowingly under conscious mind, he should be hang.
This is society utility.
Drug addict died because of the sin of drug traffikers?What about those who sell cigrettes?Why it it legal?If we talk about hard drugs, then they r definitely more potent than cigerrettes. It is the same as driving at a speed of 50km is legal while driving at 120 km is not. The extent is important.
A lot of ppl are greeed for money and they committed crimes for it.So should they be all hanged due to greed?In the eye of the law, the kind of crimes they commit is important, not the motive. A person stealing money from pickpocketing and another who perform kidnapping will get different sentence because the potential harm it caused is different
Yes, drug traffickers are wrong.But when drug are available,a person has a choice not to take it.So just put the blame totally on drug traffickers is wrong.In singapore, the person taking the drugs is considered to be an offence too. In fact they too get to be jailed after the were caught with drugs twice or more. So maybe it is more comforting to u tat drug traffickers is not blame totally.