I have to agree with you. there are many cases of wrong judgements, what makes u think our judiciary system is infallible? granted, the percentage is very low but it is an undeniable fact that mistakes were made.Originally posted by iveco:What if a relative of yours was framed for murder, executed and evidence absolving him of all involvement shows up 10 years later? WHat are you gonna do?
SOmetimes, in our quest to get justice done, we must avoid miscarriages of justice. THis is worse than the crime itself.
Studpidissmart,Is fine cruel ? Hmm.. let me think, for throwing rubbish on the floor I get a $500 fine. Yes it is cruel. Free lodging and food ? Then u go and stay in prison lah
U are absolutely wrong to say all punishments are cruel.Is fine cruel?Some ppl think imprisonment is nothing because prisoners get free lodging & food.
I didn't advocate following developed countries blindly.I gave reasons why death penalty should be abolished.Wat is the reason u gave ? because we sell cigerrettes ?
The drug traffickers don't intentionally want ppl to take drug.They commited the crime due to money.Even when there are drug,ppl can choose not to take them.They intentionally knew that the drugs they sell is gonna make people addicted. We don't care wat is his motive, as long as he commit the act he is guilty of it. So u say people who earns money by murdering others deserved to be freed ?
I have to agree with you. there are many cases of wrong judgements, what makes u think our judiciary system is infallible? granted, the percentage is very low but it is an undeniable fact that mistakes were made.We have to mete out punishment. Otherwise can u suggest a better way to manage the society ? Men r selfish, some of them do nto care for other people and the only way to control them is the fear of punishment
in the news headline recently, there was another man who was finally released after so many years in jail becoz he was wrongfully sentenced to murder. The poor man will probably have much difficulty trying to fit back into the society, but my point is he would be hanged according to SG law.If he was in certain states in america, he will be hanged as well. The harm for jailing people has already been committed
Regarding drug trafficking, i have heard so many stories about drug traffickers slipping the drugs into some innocent traveller's bags at the customs, and planning to retrieve the drugs after the checks. These stories may be just hearsay, but u must admit that it is fairly easy for the unsuspecting traveller to fall prey. So in this case, the innocent guy WILL BE hanged.If talking about framing someone else, any crimes can be framed to another person. U can frame another of murder if u want to. And because there is a possibility of framing people, we let all offenders off easily ?
I understand the fact drugs will cause many social problems, but IMHO the act of drug trafficking does not warrant a death penalty. The act itself is no where near as violent as murder, road rage, etc. If u want to talk about the social problems that drug addicts cause, and punishment should be meted out to people who bring in drugs, then in the same sense shouldnt the people who bring in gambling dens, aka IRs , be brought to the gallows too?IMHO, drug trafficker do deserve the death penalty as the social impact is too great. Drugs is a potential catalyst for further future "violent" acts. Drug abusers in their desperation may resort to robbery etc. And finally talking about IR, I believe it is a topic for another thread.
I strongly believe that no one has the right to take another's life.However there r people who believe tat death penalty is necessary, such as me myself.
Of course stupid has to be smart for this person. Anyone in the right frame of mind wouldn't like to see someone hang because he had been framed.Originally posted by PRP:Stupidissmart,
According to u, fine is cruel.Banning cigarettes is inhumane.But u support death penalty.Stupid is smart,indeed!
Pls take note: If there is no demands,there is no drug traffickers.So the motive of drug traffickers does matter when discussing in this issue.Originally posted by stupidissmart:They intentionally knew that the drugs they sell is gonna make people addicted. We don't care wat is his motive, as long as he commit the act he is guilty of it. So u say people who earns money by murdering others deserved to be freed ?
So your rebutals are invalid.
According to u, fine is cruel.Banning cigarettes is inhumane.But u support death penalty.Stupid is smart,indeed!I never say tat hanging is not cruel
Of course stupid has to be smart for this person. Anyone in the right frame of mind wouldn't like to see someone hang because he had been framedI wouldn't like to if he is really frame. But then there is no choice if u don't know. U wanna free all criminals so no one is a victim of being framed ?
Pls take note: If there is no demands,there is no drug traffickers.So the motive of drug traffickers does matter when discussing in this issue.If there is no drugs here, then there wouldn't be drug abuser and no demand too
Drug traffickers murder ppl?Who force ppl to take drug?Is capital punishment murder?U know bomb makers doesn't kill people as well. They just provide bombs and it is the people who use them who r the murderers. SO we make bomb making legal ? Bomb should be banned, and so should drugs. SO if u understand why bomb making is illegal, than u understand why drugs should be as well.
I agree that there should be punishment or segregation (imprisonment) for people who bring harm or are dangerous to the society. However, is death penalty justifiable? Where do we draw the line?
We have to mete out punishment. Otherwise can u suggest a better way to manage the society ? Men r selfish, some of them do nto care for other people and the only way to control them is the fear of punishment
I am against death sentence, be it SG or USA. As for the wrongfully sentenced, the harm is already done, true, at least he gets to live the rest of his life as a free man. Would it be better if he were dead and then found innocent?
If he was in certain states in america, he will be hanged as well. The harm for jailing people has already been committed
Yes, we can be framed for anything. I'm just giving a very good example of how easily it can be done in the case of drug trafficking which carries a death sentence in SG.
If talking about framing someone else, any crimes can be framed to another person. U can frame another of murder if u want to. And because there is a possibility of framing people, we let all offenders off easily ?
Nope it is not off-topic. IRs or gambling dens are similar in the effect of causing gambling addicts to commit crimes, including 'violent acts'. So in this sense, isn't gambling den aka casino or IRs operators (chose watever name u like
IMHO, drug trafficker do deserve the death penalty as the social impact is too great. Drugs is a potential catalyst for further future "violent" acts. Drug abusers in their desperation may resort to robbery etc. And finally talking about IR, I believe it is a topic for another thread.
That is why we still have a long way to go to convince people that life is precious and no one has the right to take that away from anyone else.
However there r people who believe tat death penalty is necessary, such as me myself.
I agree that there should be punishment or segregation (imprisonment) for people who bring harm or are dangerous to the society. However, is death penalty justifiable? Where do we draw the line?The system jails another for restricting a person free will by locking in a room. So the system becomes the system tat restrict a person free will himself as well ? The system canes another for hurting a person in a fight, so the system become the person who assault the offender himself ? As said before, it is punishment, and they r meant to strike fear even among adults. There is a difference between breaking the law, being guilty first, causing harm to society and meting out justice to protect the innocent, deter potential offenders and defend the innocent.
Are you saying that to deter and lower the crime rate, it is justifiable to kill another man? A murderer is to be punished for killing another man, so our supposedly 'fair' judiciary system now kills this murderer? Doesnt it make the system a murderer too? Like i said before, it is an undeniable fact that from time to time some people were wrongfully judged, no matter how small the percentage. Are you also saying that it is ok to risk the mistake of hanging these innocent people just so you can scare off potential offenders?
ning4 ke3 sha1 cuo1 bu4 ke3 fang4 guo4 ?I rather use the chinese saying to explain the death penalty
chinese saying: Rather kill all people wrongfully than to let one slip off?
Why I am totally against death penalty is not only because I believe that no person has the right to take another's life, but also that such a punishment is irreversible in the event of a mistake. There is no way that i can agree to the above chinese saying, it is meant to describe people who are ruthless, irresponsible and self-centered.Every punishment r irreversible. But we cannot not mete out justice.
I am against death sentence, be it SG or USA. As for the wrongfully sentenced, the harm is already done, true, at least he gets to live the rest of his life as a free man. Would it be better if he were dead and then found innocent?The harm is still already done to tis individual. For caning, the process is irreversible as well. The best way is to make processes tat prove an individual is innocent or guilty, not enacting punishment which require time to consume
Yes, we can be framed for anything. I'm just giving a very good example of how easily it can be done in the case of drug trafficking which carries a death sentence in SG.U can push the charge of murder easily to another as well. But wat to do ? Free all drug traffickers ?
Also, I'm not saying we should let offenders off easily, I'm not talking about how heavy or light a sentence should be. In this case, I am talking about the possibility of a mistake in pronouncing an innocent person as guilty, and to make it worse the possibility of a death sentence for an innocent person.How ? Wat is the right sentence to sacre off potential offenders and serve out justice ? Tis sentence will by itself again be cruel as well isn't it. Tis is not an ideal world.
By the way, in your opinion what's a light punishment and what's too heavy? Why not just have death sentence for every crime so that we can achieve the effect of "scaring off" potential offenders? Then theoretically we'll have a peaceful and crimeless state isn't it?
Nope it is not off-topic. IRs or gambling dens are similar in the effect of causing gambling addicts to commit crimes, including 'violent acts'. So in this sense, isn't gambling den aka casino or IRs operators (chose watever name u like ) equally as guilty as the drug traffickers by being the channel that provides the addiction, resulting in social problems caused by the addicts? Why does the drug trafficker gets death penalty while the casino operators get gahmen approved licences to provide services for promoting the vice?For drugs, the person who takes it DEFINITELY have harm done to his body. For casino, only very few people who gambles becomes an addict and commit crimes. Drugs is also physically addicitive, while gambling is at most mental, making it easier to kick or not be addicted. If u look at the law, even illegal casino operators do not get death penalty when they r caught since the harm, as deemed by the judiciary system throughout the world, agree tat the potential harm of casino is much lesser than drugs. It is different.
That is why we still have a long way to go to convince people that life is precious and no one has the right to take that away from anyone else.Tat is why a harsh punishment is necessary to "convince" people from not committing out heavy offences. Implementing death penalty to save more lives numerically r more meaningful
Originally posted by PRP:Stupidissmart,
[b]My main arguments
Firstly, death penalty is inhumane.Many advanced countries have abolished such punishment.S'pore has become an advanced country.We should similarily follow.
Secondly,drug traffickers do not intentionally want to kill anyone.They commit the crime for money and the addicts buy drugs voluntarily and most of them don't die after taking drug.So to use death penalty on drug traffickers is wrong under the principle of law.[/b]
U say capital punishment is absolutely necessary.Why can some advanced countries abolish it?America legalise firearms too. Why can't singapore have it ? Other advanced countries sell pronographic material by the roadside, why can't singapore have them ?
If S'pore has no drug,drug addicts can still take drug in foreign countries such as JB.Even with capital punishment,there are still drug traffickers.So the punishemnt is really not effective.There is death penalty In JB too
Why don't u answer the question:Is death penalty a murder?Yes. So ? Is caning considered intentionally hurting a person ? Is Jailing restriction of freedom ? Is fining forceful possesion of individual ?
1. Please distinguish between NO CAPITAL punishment and no punishment at all. There should be some system to keep the society safe from certain people. I am against DEATH SENTENCE/capital punishment, not against the whole judiciary system. Removing the Death Penalty DOES NOT automatically mean all criminals are free to go. The punishments for fines and imprisonment can remain WITHOUT the death penalty.
There r always cases tat people get punished for an offence they never do, but then if u r the judiciary system, wat should u gonna do ? We can't let everyone be freed isn't it ? It is sad to punish an innocent person but there is no better solution. If u do not want to punish the innocent, the only way is to free all criminals, which obviously is worst off for the society
Yes, I agree punishment is necessary, the question remains - where to draw the line, and whether capital punishment is effective at all.
I hope u understand tat punishment is necessary isn't it ? Now if we do not have the death penalty, the possible greatest punishment is simply lifeterm imprisonment. Is tat enough to deter people from committing serious crimes ? There r many people who don't mind jail sentence, especially people who had lived in jail for a long time before being released. They in fact may yearn to go back to jail, a system where they r already used to. Wat is going to stop them from committing offences such as bank robbery, murder, drug trafficking or acts of terrorism ?
"Any humane criminal justice system could not continue to justify the retention of the death penalty based on retribution."
Secondly, if a person hate another very deeply and killed him. Is tat fair for the innocent person who was murdered ? The innocent gets a heavier punishment than the guilty.
Chinese saying: When a men works in society, they cannot afford to be idealistic and have little choices in the things they doSo u agree to the idea to "kill all people wrongfully than to let one slip off?" Wow! You have no regard for the innocent??!
Men have to be realistic, even making decisions tat may cause harm to a minority to protect the majority. There is no way a justice system can be removed. There is no way to be sure all prosecuted r not innocent. There r no better options. So wat to do ? Free all criminals ?
Of course every punishment is irreversible. It is also a fact that no justice system in the world can be free from the risk of error. Justice is not revenge.
Every punishment r irreversible. But we cannot not mete out justice.
You have not yet answered: would it be better if an accused was executed and then found innocent? Harm is already done in either cases, but you do not see the severity of the wrongfully EXECUTED, as compared to the wrongfully imprisoned.
The harm is still already done to tis individual. For caning, the process is irreversible as well. The best way is to make processes tat prove an individual is innocent or guilty, not enacting punishment which require time to consume
In order to prove a person guilty of murder, there must be evidence, backed with a motive and the actual act itself, to back the claim.
U can push the charge of murder easily to another as well. But wat to do ? Free all drug traffickers ?
Drug addicts harm their own bodies, so what has it got to do with anything? Are drug traffickers responsible for the addicts' decision to take up drugs? The decision for harming their own bodies are by the addicts themselves. Since drug traffickers are punished for being the channel that provides the addiction, other people who provide channels for crimes and vices should likewise be punished, but why the disparity in the sentencing?
For drugs, the person who takes it DEFINITELY have harm done to his body. For casino, only very few people who gambles becomes an addict and commit crimes. Drugs is also physically addicitive, while gambling is at most mental, making it easier to kick or not be addicted. If u look at the law, even illegal casino operators do not get death penalty when they r caught since the harm, as deemed by the judiciary system throughout the world, agree tat the potential harm of casino is much lesser than drugs. It is different.
There is no evidence that harsh punishment works effectively to deter potential offenders. Most people think they will not be caught.
Tat is why a harsh punishment is necessary to "convince" people from not committing out heavy offences. Implementing death penalty to save more lives numerically r more meaningful
Of course every punishment is irreversible. It is also a fact that no justice system in the world can be free from the risk of error. Justice is not revenge.Actually, one of the reasons for justice may be to right out the wrong for the victim. Though it was never stated as such, it do gives the idea tis is a form of revenge
You have not yet answered: would it be better if an accused was executed and then found innocent? Harm is already done in either cases, but you do not see the severity of the wrongfully EXECUTED, as compared to the wrongfully imprisoned.If u ask me, it is true tat if the victim was executed, the result is much worse than if he is jailed. However we have to compare between the final result of the soceity instead of just individual. DO u agree tat if a death penalty, it do deter many forms of serious crimes such as murdering, firearms transaction, kidnapping, bank robbery and drug abuse ? If u compared statistic, u will find tat overall, more people benefited from tis system. It make little sense to save an apple by throwng away a basket of them
In order to prove a person guilty of murder, there must be evidence, backed with a motive and the actual act itself, to back the claim.Wa about firearm ? It is the same isn't it ? U r deemed to possessed firearms when u really have firearms isn't it ? Wat else could have been added in to prove a person is a drug trafficker ? Maybe the best way is to make the public wary of being a victm to such a crime and be more careful in dealing with their belongings.
In order to prove a person guilty of drug trafficking, there is NO requirement to prove actual physical contact or knowledge of the possession, just as long as the drug is found in the accused's possession, he is deemed guilty. Also, as long as the person is found in possession of a certain quantity of the banned drugs, it is AUTOMATICALLY presumed that the person is drug trafficking. This works against drug abusers who possess more than the allowed quantity, because they would otherwise be charged under drug abusing which does not carry the death penalty. In either cases, the requirements are far too easily established and superficial and the accused is guilty unless he can prove himself innocent. The death sentence is mandatory, meaning the judge have no chance to weigh the situation and perhaps decide in a lighter sentence.
Once again, no death sentence don't equate to "free all drug traffickers"... overtly simplistic view of the situation, even extremist.
Drug addicts harm their own bodies, so what has it got to do with anything? Are drug traffickers responsible for the addicts' decision to take up drugs? The decision for harming their own bodies are by the addicts themselves. Since drug traffickers are punished for being the channel that provides the addiction, other people who provide channels for crimes and vices should likewise be punished, but why the disparity in the sentencing?It have because the potential harmful effect is much more than gambling addicts. I am sure u realise tat if I hit a person till he is paralysed is different from if I hit a person till he is only blue black. The final effect is different. A car driving at 120 km/hr is speeding but a person driving at 200km/hr is worse still. The resulting impact is different. Furthermore, I have shown u tat most the judiciary system in the world treat drug abuse more seriously than illegal gambling operator. Surely there is a sign tat drug abuser is on a different scale than gambling
The assumption that gambling is an easier addiction to quit is highly hypothetical, even if it were so, there is a much larger number of gambling addicts compared with drug addicts, resulting in MORE occurences of social problems. The social problems that can be caused by both types of addicts are similar - theft, robbery, murder, etc.Tat is not an assumption tat drug abuse is easier to be addicted and harder to quit since it is physical in nature. If u talk about more gambling addicts, tat may not be true for some countries but true for singapore. Tat is simply because the problem of drug trafficking has been lowered significantly due to heavy punishment and education involved. If they r given free play such as hollad, u will find more people who r drug abuser than addicted gamblers
There is no evidence that harsh punishment works effectively to deter potential offenders. Most people think they will not be caughtIf u compare the durg adbuse problem in singapore with the rest of the world tat have no death penalty, u will fidn them to have a lower % of drug addicts per 1000 population or something. Also u will find tat the drug addict cases drop drastically after harsher laws were implemented. Furthermore, I believe it is common sense to know at harsher punishment give higher deterence. Otherwise migt as well free all criminals again since if the lower the punishment the more deterence it gives out
U can't understand reason rather than we are not talking sense.According to u,drug traffickers kill someone.Do cigarrette sellers kill ppl?In fact,the business is legal.the harm tat drug trafficking bring to society is not lesser than a murder. Cigerrettes, as said countless but ignored countless times before, r much harmless compared with drugs
Stupidissmart said fine was cruel and banning smoking is inhumane.Then he support capital punishment.Readers,can u believe the opinions of this person?I said all punishment r cruel but necessary for perhaps the 3rd time. If it is not cruel, then everybody commit crime isn't it ? Capital punishment r cruel but nevertheless necessary.
Exactly my sentiments. There are people who have been wrongfully condemned to the gallows. THe hands of the state are dripping with the blood of the wronged.Originally posted by PRP:Kentona,
U can't understand reason rather than we are not talking sense.According to u,drug traffickers kill someone.Do cigarrette sellers kill ppl?In fact,the business is legal.
Capital is murder -- even Stupidissmart agree but then he still support murder.
hmm...Originally posted by skyline63:I really admire Singaporean have the cheek to say it out.
Compare with other countries.
I can tell you.... there is no country on this earth that have such low-crime rate, in the crime that deal with death penalty. At such a high dense places. When you can meet another person ( Not your family members ) just 5 steps away. Outside your door ( HDB, CONDO ) ! Even you live in outer outer part of city ( OWN PRIVATE LAND ). 300 meters sure will meet someone !
Don't tell me USA, Canada. That place is a chaos ! Murder crime are high high high. But only in some states that is low. Because you need to travel 5KM to see another person. Your neighbour loh ! Just like AUST and new Zealand. No people around already so lonely. How to do crime ? Equal to lock-up already loh !
That came from Keynesian philosophy, didn't it?Originally posted by PRP:I said "if there is no demands, there would be no drug traffickers",don't u understand?Why there are drug addicts?Blame them & the govt.
Wah Lau, u read up on some news article in other countries and applied that to Spore, dont u have the faintest idea that this is Singapore we r talking about? How often do u hear of such cases in Singapore? Dont go shooting off ur mouth juz bcos u feel u r so damn self-righteous ok. Supply us with FACTSOriginally posted by iveco:Exactly my sentiments. There are people who have been wrongfully condemned to the gallows. THe hands of the state are dripping with the blood of the wronged.
I would love to see the expression on Kentona's face when his own relative meets the fate I was talking about.