Who is to decide what constitute a "wimp"?? Philip Yeo????Originally posted by w88:Let's try to be constructive & remain objective. The issues raised could be true, although not everyone may agree to the strong words chosen by Philip Yeo.
To me, the saga raises a question: Is the scholarship selection process robust enough to pick the truly deserving ones? Why have we picked "whimps" to be scholars?
Based on Philip Yeo's observations & experience, we have failed badly in some cases. Thus he was disappointed. Perhaps it's time we review and improve the selection process.
But keep in mind that selection process can never be perfect. At the end, you got to take some risks. Especially when it comes to people. Hopefully you get it right most of the times. And cut losses when you fail.
If there is a problem w the selection processs...Originally posted by w88:Let's try to be constructive & remain objective. The issues raised could be true, although not everyone may agree to the strong words chosen by Philip Yeo.
To me, the saga raises a question: Is the scholarship selection process robust enough to pick the truly deserving ones? Why have we picked "whimps" to be scholars?
Based on Philip Yeo's observations & experience, we have failed badly in some cases. Thus he was disappointed. Perhaps it's time we review and improve the selection process.
But keep in mind that selection process can never be perfect. At the end, you got to take some risks. Especially when it comes to people. Hopefully you get it right most of the times. And cut losses when you fail.
Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Judging from the replies, many people think it's just isolated into one issue of scholars' temperament.It shows that the majority have not realised the whole shebang is interconnected and its about our socio-political system.
It's not about one damn single issue, it's a whole lot of issues by itself. I hv said it time & time again, if the system was so good, then why are there such discussions about the A*Star system now?
If people have had complaint in their various blogs about the way the system is, then obviously there's something wrong somewhere and it means that not only one person is responsible for it.
And again, the way some "I love kissing the PAP's ass" A*Star scholars, like the US based racist scholar and that Chng woman responded only shows how idiotic our system has become.
In this respect, the selection system has become completely flawed, the person and people who implemented the system(and whose head is Yeo himself) is similarly flawed and a smart aleck as well, and also the people whom were selected are people who [b]absolutely do not deserve these awards- based on their character, the way they preceive things and current issues, their maturity, their leadership and the way they conduct themselves.
The system needs reform as I said, from top to bottom, from left to right. And the people who implemented the system, both Yeo and the PAP needs to be sacked for total incomptency. And those scholars who take their awards as their god given rights to education, needs not only to wake up but needs to be a total violent shot(such as sacking them from their scholarships) so as to remind them that they are not divine gods just because of their backgrounds and the As that they have. [/b]
Work towards their own selfish gains? Can you please name them? The scholars have yet to even start work, and are blasted for their risque comments in their blogs. BLOGS. Not even true proof of work which they are doing for their selfish gains.Originally posted by bratpig:i agree with him...scholars should not deem it their rights to have the public funding their studies...it's their priviledges...they should repay the public for paying for their education...not work towards their own selfish gains...some even have the cheeks to appear on paper to whine...Mr Yeo is not whining...he is just lamenting on the pathetic state Singaporean youth have degraded into
i like to see her dig a fire trench overnite...Originally posted by deathscythe99:Did u read the lady scholar's quote on Sunday Times....kaoz....
someone can't stand being criticised...Originally posted by deathscythe99:Work towards their own selfish gains? Can you please name them? The scholars have yet to even start work, and are blasted for their risque comments in their blogs. BLOGS. Not even true proof of work which they are doing for their selfish gains.
And they were not appearing on paper to whine, they did so on blogs. Did they wish to attract media attention? I doubt so. If they wanted, they could jolly well write in to ST and other foreign newspapers to save this whole lot of trouble! This time, it's A*Star which sought trouble by publicly naming and rooting out these bloggers.
So...who's the whiner now? Mr Yeo, the big-time whiner, or the scholars making their remarks on their OWN blogs?
i feel national service is necessary...Originally posted by macjoe:Singapore needs a National Service Reformation!!!!
Shared NS - 1 year male, 1 year female makes up 2 years of NS.
Why should Sg males bear the brunt of 2 years of NS and Sg females zero
years of NS and Sg females step on Sg males all over? It's really so unfair
to Sg males. Right guys?![]()
*Ahem*Originally posted by deathscythe99:Work towards their own selfish gains? Can you please name them? The scholars have yet to even start work, and are blasted for their risque comments in their blogs. BLOGS. Not even true proof of work which they are doing for their selfish gains.
And they were not appearing on paper to whine, they did so on blogs. Did they wish to attract media attention? I doubt so. If they wanted, they could jolly well write in to ST and other foreign newspapers to save this whole lot of trouble! This time, it's A*Star which sought trouble by publicly naming and rooting out these bloggers.
So...who's the whiner now? Mr Yeo, the big-time whiner, or the scholars making their remarks on their OWN blogs?
yes those scholars or scholars to be are so cb kia ... but i am more disgusted with the judgement of this interviewer that is pay by PUBLIC MONEY.Originally posted by bratpig:*Ahem*
There was a newspaper article on a few scholars who broke their bonds, in case you don't remember. They were complaining and complaining.
Anyway, it does not make a difference whether you are whining in public or in your own blog. You are still whining.Agree or Disagree?
Besides, I believe that people should listen to both sides of the story first before making such critical judgement. Mr Yeo did nothing wrong. You should speak to some of the scholars. Maybe even those who had yet to get a scholarship, but went for several interviews. You will feel so absolutely disgusted by some of them. To them, getting a scholarship is something normal to them because their peers are doing so. They also feel the need to get one as a prove of their academic achievements. They never did realise that they are USING PUBLIC MONEY. They never feel the need to repay the public for sponsoring their education. They feel that it's their goddamn right because they are oh-so-smart. Oh yah, some of them are my so-called friends.
Do not blast Mr Yeo beacuse of the gender issue.
it is the mentality of those scholars. They can well projected themselves to be the perfect candidates during the interviews. It's not difficult to fake you know.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):yes those scholars or scholars to be are so cb kia ... but i am more disgusted with the judgement of this interviewer that is pay by PUBLIC MONEY.
when 1 or 2 break bond it's maybe that person faults.. but if so many ppl break their bond then what?
1) something is wrong with sg that we cannot provide them with what they can get else where .
2) something is wrong with the selection system and the ppl that is doing the selection.
which is it?? u guess lor..
When you post a comment of the system in your blog, it is just a stand and personal opinion which you have of the system. Mr Yeo labels it as a whine as it directly attacks his personal integrity and his company, and in any case, would definitely find the dictionary and use the best words to describe this type of opinion. He's trying to defend his own company and I seriously dun see anything's wrong with that, except that you take it up so personally and become a kid yourself, calling others whiners. Then, has he gone through NS without a single word of dissatisfaction? I'm not too sure, but most likely not...esp. when undergoing the tough training.Originally posted by bratpig:*Ahem*
There was a newspaper article on a few scholars who broke their bonds, in case you don't remember. They were complaining and complaining.
Anyway, it does not make a difference whether you are whining in public or in your own blog. You are still whining.Agree or Disagree?
Besides, I believe that people should listen to both sides of the story first before making such critical judgement. Mr Yeo did nothing wrong. You should speak to some of the scholars. Maybe even those who had yet to get a scholarship, but went for several interviews. You will feel so absolutely disgusted by some of them. To them, getting a scholarship is something normal to them because their peers are doing so. They also feel the need to get one as a prove of their academic achievements. They never did realise that they are USING PUBLIC MONEY. They never feel the need to repay the public for sponsoring their education. They feel that it's their goddamn right because they are oh-so-smart. Oh yah, some of them are my so-called friends.
Do not blast Mr Yeo beacuse of the gender issue.
Precisely why people like Lazerlords (& possibly myself) would decline such a juicy offer. There are better opportunities out of town. Singapore is just too small. ANyway, it is almost like selling your soul because you cease to be your own person, but a mere pawn of a corrupt system.Originally posted by bratpig:Yes, SG may not be able to provide those scholars with that many opportunities. But it is because of those scholars' stupid mentality. When the public sponsor you for your education, you must jolly well be prepared to repay the gratitudes shown. You should be prepared to serve the nation. If you are not prepared to do all those, then give others the opportunities to do so. Do not apply for any scholarships.
that is what i am trying to say... no system is prefect but this ppl selecting always think they are right...there are good liars out there. but are there so many of them??? and if they are really liars.. cant our SMART WELL PAID interviewer tell?? 1 or 2 or even 3 is ok.. but so many of them??Originally posted by bratpig:it is the mentality of those scholars. They can well projected themselves to be the perfect candidates during the interviews. It's not difficult to fake you know.
No selection process is perfect. There are good liars out there.
Yes, SG may not be able to provide those scholars with that many opportunities. But it is because of those scholars' stupid mentality. When the public sponsor you for your education, you must jolly well be prepared to repay the gratitudes shown. You should be prepared to serve the nation. If you are not prepared to do all those, then give others the opportunities to do so. Do not apply for any scholarships.
P.s. May I ask why are you so disgusted with public money...or me?
It's a system fault, and Mr Yeo refuses to acknowledge so. Many years have this system been in place, yet, it has yet to be changed or tweaked to root out such scholars.Originally posted by bratpig:it is the mentality of those scholars. They can well projected themselves to be the perfect candidates during the interviews. It's not difficult to fake you know.
No selection process is perfect. There are good liars out there.
Yes, SG may not be able to provide those scholars with that many opportunities. But it is because of those scholars' stupid mentality. When the public sponsor you for your education, you must jolly well be prepared to repay the gratitudes shown. You should be prepared to serve the nation. If you are not prepared to do all those, then give others the opportunities to do so. Do not apply for any scholarships.
P.s. May I ask why are you so disgusted with public money...or me?
Personally, it does not matter to me where you choose to make your stand or opinion. A whiner is still a whiner. Everybody should understand that a blog is no longer a personal diary that you can keep hide. It is hosted in public domain. You should go read those newspaper articles on bond-breakers first before you condemn Mr Yeo.Originally posted by deathscythe99:When you post a comment of the system in your blog, it is just a stand and personal opinion which you have of the system. Mr Yeo labels it as a whine as it directly attacks his personal integrity and his company, and in any case, would definitely find the dictionary and use the best words to describe this type of opinion. He's trying to defend his own company and I seriously dun see anything's wrong with that, except that you take it up so personally and become a kid yourself, calling others whiners. Then, has he gone through NS without a single word of dissatisfaction? I'm not too sure, but most likely not...esp. when undergoing the tough training.
U seem to have failed to understand the gist of his statements. Haven't u?
Ok. I dont know about the interviers. But good liars are aplenty out there.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):that is what i am trying to say... no system is prefect but this ppl selecting always think they are right...there are good liars out there. but are there so many of them??? and if they are really liars.. cant our SMART WELL PAID interviewer tell?? 1 or 2 or even 3 is ok.. but so many of them??
In singapore term (not hip hop term) = eyes got stamp?
p.s I am disgusted with the way it is used, pay so much to idiot that cant tell who is lying and are not.. after that then come to hourse behind cannon..sighz...![]()
that is what i am trying to say lah....dun complain that the selected are whiner when they are the one who choose them in the first place....Originally posted by bratpig:Ok. I dont know about the interviers. But good liars are aplenty out there.
Idiots are also aplenty. But you should realised that many of those idiots interviewers are scholars themselves![]()
Ok lah..I know what u wanna say liao lahOriginally posted by I-like-flings(m):that is what i am trying to say lah....dun complain that the selected are whiner when they are the one who choose them in the first place....
1 or 2 is ok.. but so many whiner??? something is wrong somewhere...![]()
whiner in some eyes maybe honest ppl on other's eyes...some ppl just cannot admit that they choose the wrong ppl in the first place..then start calling other ppl names....well to mi that is the real whiners.... lost liao come kpkbOriginally posted by bratpig:Ok lah..I know what u wanna say liao lah![]()
I'm not part of the system...I dont care how those whiners work..I just wanna say that I hate whiners lah
Bottomline...i feel that those whiners should at least be grateful to whoever is sponsoring them for their education lor....
One thing I hate more than whiners....I hate whiners who are ungrateful![]()