that's a good one.Originally posted by crazy monkey:you must be one of the wimps she is toking abt
hmmm... you have a point there...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Your argument does not hold water..the same considerations apply to men.
Guess who is giving first aid to soldiers with legs blown off in war? The medic in your reservist unit may well be an accountant or bus driver ordinarily...hence the need for yearly reservist training.
Hospital staff nurses will remain, NS gals will work as assistant nurses. The training is not that long...our medics have much shorter training cos' they have to handle the physical and military components as well. It will not be new either..it has worked successfully in Israel for many years.
actually i was thinking tat they are to serve in public hospitals...Originally posted by greengoblin:Well if our medics can do it... I am sure they can as well...
I think we can make them medics at the medical centre and free up more guys for combat roles...
However, there is no guarentee that these will change the mindset of girls...
they may just think that all guys who report to medical centre are chao gengers
y dun bring ur maid to ns?Originally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
If that were the case, then you can't really trust conscripted medics either at the medical center who can also mix up medicines.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:hmmm... you have a point there...
i didn't think bout our combat medics...
1 question though... do combat medics have to deal with as many types of medicines as those nurses in hospital?
i do worry that those girls forced to serve do not take their jobs seriously and make many mistakes... esp with patients medicine...
somehow i dun like the feeling of some spoilt qian jin da xiao jie taking care of anyone in my family...
for eg... a bed ridden patient, will the conscript nurse do a good job of cleaning up the patient after he/she does the big biz on the bed...
also regarding the many medicines that patients take...
if professional nurses can mix up the patients medicines... i cannot trust that conscript nurses make fewer mistakes than professional nurses...
i really dun like this idea of conscript nurses...
Yes. Please say it .Originally posted by bismarck:u guys wanna hear a bloody sexist statement i once heard in a class debate on women serving NS ?
Medics in our medical centres certainly dispense medication too. If gals are serving national service, they have to take their jobs seriously or they will be charged under SAF Act. There will be black sheep everywhere but that is not a reason whey we should hold back.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:hmmm... you have a point there...
i didn't think bout our combat medics...
1 question though... do combat medics have to deal with as many types of medicines as those nurses in hospital?
i do worry that those girls forced to serve do not take their jobs seriously and make many mistakes... esp with patients medicine...
somehow i dun like the feeling of some spoilt qian jin da xiao jie taking care of anyone in my family...
for eg... a bed ridden patient, will the conscript nurse do a good job of cleaning up the patient after he/she does the big biz on the bed...
also regarding the many medicines that patients take...
if professional nurses can mix up the patients medicines... i cannot trust that conscript nurses make fewer mistakes than professional nurses...
i really dun like this idea of conscript nurses...
Originally posted by fudgester:
since you all feel it can work...Originally posted by oxford mushroom:
I think women should serve NS,just like the Israel government did......But not the things as u mention above,what u mention above is putting women as a slave for men,this is not right.Originally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
If the above is true then why aren't single women accountable for the following?Originally posted by fudgester:Nah.... if we talk about why women should do NS, they'll come up with excuses like, 'We give birth to babies what... that is our National Service.' and continue to complain that we guys are whiners who can't even afford to give up two years of our lives to make sure that Singapore is a safer place for everyone to live in.
Evasion of NS is an offence and the offender is liable, on conviction, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding three years or a maximum fine of S$5,000, or both imprisonment and fine.
That's exactly the point. Not many women are going to enjoy taking up the gauntlet of doing NS and will instead come up with lame excuses to get around it.Originally posted by Typhoon:If the above is true then why aren't single women accountable for the following?
heard some where the men could not bear to see their women killed in the front line. But I guess with sg men, I don't think they would feel at all..Originally posted by Hells:new either..it has worked successfully in Israel for many years."
AGREED.
heard some where the men could not bear to see their women killed in the front line. But I guess with sg men, I don't think they would feel at all..Originally posted by Hells:new either..it has worked successfully in Israel for many years."
AGREED.
but nobody here is suggesting tat women go chiong the frontline...Originally posted by mistyblue:heard some where the men could not bear to see their women killed in the front line. But I guess with sg men, I don't think they would feel at all..
Anyways, this topic has been discussed till damn sian liao...
maybe when technology can make men become preggies ... and that would be an interesting debate.
The official explanation is really flimsy. NS is not the same as army services alone. NS is national service and doing service in the army is just oneOriginally posted by bumbleb:Have been to my share of seminars, and hereÂ’s the official stand as I rememberedÂ…
The primary reason why female conscription for medical/clerical roles is not implemented is because there is already a surplus of personnel in those vocations. Lots and lots of guys with downgraded PES status - all classified as non-combatants.
yeah .. later the men wail, complain that women invade yet another male domain and lament (whine more likely) how it used to be when there was only men and they can strut around and etc. Frankly, i've been in uniform groups all my life unlike other girls who actually turn their nose up and poo poo the idea. Seriously, I don't mind and to me, these kind of service is simply a bit of character building for people. And some girls really need some character building. Seriously, in war scenario, do you truly think the women will sit aside and not do anything? If they did, I would suggest our men shoot them instead. But on the converse (if technology allows), when a girl have a baby, how many guys would enthusiatically proclaim he wish to get pregnant too and experience himself first hand the pregnancy and gush to everyone how wonderful it feels to have crazy hormonal surges, cravings, carry the baby to full term and have a c-section and see how the doc lift the baby out. I think men rather go to war than give birth.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:but nobody here is suggesting tat women go chiong the frontline...
we're talking bout whether its fesible for women to serve on the support side like nurses or admin...
even in frontline there are things women can do, all those admin stuff like indent ammo, distribute ammo, set up range for practices etc.. repair vehicles.. or even armourers to check weapons.. currently a lot of such jobs are held by combat-fit guys.Originally posted by hyuuga neji:but nobody here is suggesting tat women go chiong the frontline...
we're talking bout whether its fesible for women to serve on the support side like nurses or admin...
So the commander should put all the angry, bloated, PMS-ing women together and they can act like Rambo and gun down all the enemy ... the men stand aside and lah-kopi..Originally posted by commonsense:even in frontline there are things women can do, all those admin stuff like indent ammo, distribute ammo, set up range for practices etc.. repair vehicles.. or even armourers to check weapons.. currently a lot of such jobs are held by combat-fit guys.
drivers also can! the way most women drive on the roads now will make them zigzag targets.. enemies will find it harder to gun them down..