cannot... if not we will have a nation of sick and chow keng men and a women's army liao...Originally posted by hisoka:..... free some of them from having to serve ns.
wah scary thought.. women rambos..Originally posted by mistyblue:So the commander should put all the angry, bloated, PMS-ing women together and they can act like Rambo and gun down all the enemy ... the men stand aside and lah-kopi..
can lah those who want to chao geng and can will chao geng to get service appointments anyway so no diff except they no ns. i seriously feel those serving as clerks or as service medics, storeman etc should be freed since we dont really need THEM to defend the nationOriginally posted by commonsense:cannot... if not we will have a nation of sick and chow keng men and a women's army liao...
actually want women to chiong, they can lah.. but men still can do combat better. combat roles that suit women are probably those that can be deployed far from frontline like artillery units.. (heard arti women do reservice too, not sure true or not). one more possibility is for them to clear landmines .. since women usually are more meticulous and take their own sweet time
otherwise they can be put to better use in navy or airforce.
i cannot imagine platoons of women laying bridges or doing recce or laying signal cables...
he suggested using women as bullet absorbers in the front line(really in front of the troops)Originally posted by hypercurry:Yes. Please say it .
That's so bizzare, yet I have heard that argument before. It is said, I can't remember my source, PES C guys that go for BMT and reservist are used for the same purpose too...Originally posted by bismarck:he suggested using women as bullet absorbers in the front line(really in front of the troops)
the whole class was stunned silent.
even the open minded ang moh teacher also abit..lost
hey y not let the men be nanny?do household chores?take care of children n wash the ladies clothes n clean our room? u take the woman as wat ur maid izzit...go f#@king eat sai la uOriginally posted by Hells:Y not let women serve ns n do minute things, for eg, cleaning rifles for ns man after live firing exercises, cleaning our uniforms n boots, do the dishes... etc. saves money for saf plus the new generation ladies can learn how to be better housewives.<--------- to tt A'star scholar i hope u will understand the S$%^ tt nsman endure..
Negative. We can make NS compulsory in the future. In say 5 years time. Employers will have plenty of time to prepare.Originally posted by nasiusanna:Concerning the issue of whether females should serve national service, I believe that the status quo should be retained.
I would like all of you to consider the impact of females being drawn into national service.
Firstly, the changes would lead to a whole batch of female undergraduates/workers being withdrawn from their academic and job persuits. This has serious economic consequences, given the fact that there would be fewer graduates/workers introduced into the job market for that particular year and the subsequant years to come (depending on how long they decide females should serve).
Some might argue that this might be the perfect solution to our close to stagnated economy. We might be able to get 'foreigners' to fill in the jobs. However, another problem arises when the females together with their male compatriots ORD! We will have to compete with foreigners for jobs, and there might be even a shrtage of jobs and this problem will be here to stay with a surplus of graduates entering the job market after fufiling their academic persuits.
Eventually, a rise in unemployment (our current predicament is that we are struggling to create new jobs) may see a rise in social problems and that is just the beginning of it all
Secondly, the changes would require a radical overhaul of the structure of the SAF. How would such changes affect the operatability of the SAF? In such precarious times (with the ever looming threat of terrorism and rising oil prices), what would be the consequances?
Thirdly, are Singaporean men willing to give due recongnition to their female compatriots after undergoing NS. The females will demand for greater gendar equality. Are we men prepared to recognise this? Are we prepared to face the social consequances of 'a more independent-minded woman'? Male-Female relations will never be the same, I'm talking abt a cultural shift here.
Have you served NS yet? If not then you have absolutely no idea on what you are saying..Originally posted by lwflee:Negative. We can make NS compulsory in the future. In say 5 years time. Employers will have plenty of time to prepare.
What flooding of the job market? I do not follow.
Re the structure of the army, is it really that difficult? Further, the suggestion is that women be drafted into the civil service as well. That would include hospitals, etc etc. Those not in the army will be able to stay at home. As for the army, we could have unisex toilets, or, alternatively, we could make all the guys use one toilet while the girls use the other. Most barracks will have two toilets serving a corridor anyway.
What effect will more manpowert have for the op eff of SAF? Well, we could have larger infantry sections for one. We could be able to deploy the SAF on more POI missions for another. Plenty of poss.
As for the equality issue, eh, women are already on par with men in almost all areas. I say almost because i'm sure there are some areas of the law that haven;t been updated. I can't think of any such area though. To make them serve NS would serve to create gender equality. Not the other way around.
While we ar eon the issue of egnder equality, whats this nonsense about women abnd older people having to attain lower stds of Ippt? The logical system would be one where the pass standard is uniform across all genders and age groups. The logic of the current system eludes me. Is the field pack gonna be lighter simply because you are 35?
I don't think you got my point. My point is that we should say "OK, this is the minimum level of fitness that a combat soldier will need in order to be effective in combat". After having determined that level, it should be applied uniformly to all combat soldiers, across all age groups and across all genders. In other words, it should be like a qualifying test.Originally posted by DriftingGuy:First of all, how many lean mean 35 year olds do you see around? After so many years of work stress, aging etc many have lost their inherent fitness to the point of no return... At the very least, they have lost the flexibilty and strength that they have at the tender age of 21...
To impose a fitness criteria of a 21 year old to a 35 year old is ridiculous... its like asking your grandfather to run 2.4 right now... Granted you might think that a 35 year old is not much different from say a 24 year old... That is wrong.... there is a huge difference.
Even if a 35 year old wished to continue adopting a fitness regime that he had 14 years old, it would be impossible to expect him to be as fast, flexible and strong as he is before... After the age of 25, the body begins to deterioate.. hence the new test class for age 25 and above...
If you are a fit 35 year old, good for you. But remember that majority of the Singaporean guys at your age is unable to achieve what you can.
Exactly, the minimum level is already uniform. Cat X, Cat Y and Cat Z all shows the minimum fitness requirements a person is expected to perform for his age.Originally posted by lwflee:I don't think you got my point. My point is that we should say "OK, this is the minimum level of fitness that a combat soldier will need in order to be effective in combat". After having determined that level, it should be applied uniformly to all combat soldiers, across all age groups and across all genders. In other words, it should be like a qualifying test.
I have no objections to varying the standards required for the various silver or gold awards. Those awards are there to motivate soldiers to do better. As such, we should take into account that older ppl will generally have a harder time keeping fit.
The minimum level required should, however, be uniform. To suggest otherwise is surely absurd.
Perhaps I wasn't clear about what I meantOriginally posted by lwflee:Is the minimum level uniform across all cat. levels?
If you were to set the minimum for all cats as 13.30, that would provide too much leeway for those age 21 and below.Originally posted by lwflee:I feel that the scheme should be like this:
Pass std across all cats and genders:
13:30
Silver for Cat x: 11.40
Sivler for cat y : 12:00
Gold for cat x: 9:45
Gold for cat y: 11:50
etc etc
Obviusly you do not agree. Yes, it gets harder as one gets older. But i think it makes sense to set one standard that all must pass.
Perhaps this is already in place. Maybe a study has been done and it has been concluded that the passing grade required for cat z soldiers is the minum required for any combat soldier to operate efficiently. In that case, i have no real objections. But is that really the case? Or is it a case of granting oldies more leeway?
your 1st point i guess its valid but i would say restructuring of the economy and job market occurs all the time i doubt it will really have as much an impact as you would infer. out of point but perhaps takign a leaf out of malaysia's system where balloting is done might be a good idea where the problem you describe is negated but the guys do not feel as shortchanged.Originally posted by nasiusanna:I am currently serving my national service. While I wish to be in the university with my female compatriots, I fully understand the responsibilities I have to fufil as a citizen of this country. So, I have no qualms whatsoever abt servin my nation though this is sometimes put to the test - this being a free to view site, I dun wish to go into details.
Concerning the issue of whether females should serve national service, I believe that the status quo should be retained.
I would like all of you to consider the impact of females being drawn into national service.
Firstly, the changes would lead to a whole batch of female undergraduates/workers being withdrawn from their academic and job persuits. This has serious economic consequences, given the fact that there would be fewer graduates/workers introduced into the job market for that particular year and the subsequant years to come (depending on how long they decide females should serve).
Some might argue that this might be the perfect solution to our close to stagnated economy. We might be able to get 'foreigners' to fill in the jobs. However, another problem arises when the females together with their male compatriots ORD! We will have to compete with foreigners for jobs, and there might be even a shrtage of jobs and this problem will be here to stay with a surplus of graduates entering the job market after fufiling their academic persuits.
Eventually, a rise in unemployment (our current predicament is that we are struggling to create new jobs) may see a rise in social problems and that is just the beginning of it all
Secondly, the changes would require a radical overhaul of the structure of the SAF. How would such changes affect the operatability of the SAF? In such precarious times (with the ever looming threat of terrorism and rising oil prices), what would be the consequances?
Thirdly, are Singaporean men willing to give due recongnition to their female compatriots after undergoing NS. The females will demand for greater gendar equality. Are we men prepared to recognise this? Are we prepared to face the social consequances of 'a more independent-minded woman'? Male-Female relations will never be the same, I'm talking abt a cultural shift here.
NS is a way of life in Singapore. Hate it or like it (I saw some Officer wearing his number 4 in orchird road. Really feel like slapping him!) We lanlan have to serve. Change, we do need change from time to time, but the changes we take have to be calculated.Personally, I'm all for gender equality and thus there should not be one law for man and another for woman. The introduction of females has several permutations; which in this present climate might lead to undesirable consequances for our nation as a whole. This, we cannot afford to bear.