Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Start the engine from where? Time have change, from the era of opening free trading, bringing in foreign talent to now having casinos ..... nothing now can be say to be stable now, it's all volatile & man eat man environment, GLCs also no longer staying SG.
We are already behind them, my friend. While other countries' economics are chuggling to life- [b]we are still struggling to get the engine started. PAP has no or little idea in simulating a dormant S'pore economy.
Some companies could be privatised to a greater extent, like M1, for instance. A management buyout should be a good idea. Same goes for the local operations of some MNCs.Originally posted by timothytsgsg:One way to attract investments is to reduce Temasek Holding's control of the private sector from 60% to a mere 15%.
Our private sector is struggling because the govt controls 60%. That means a lot of efficiency has been lost, there's little competition and when there's little competition, people in the industry lose their creative instincts, their efficiency and their quick thinking reflexes.
Obviously, that's not the only way to restart the S'pore economy but the most basic way of simulation is to liberalize the private sector and make it competitive again.
One way is to get the govt out of the private sector. They will have established rules so as to run the sector as an adminstration but the govt shd not control the private sector in a hands-on type of manner.
the government is hoping that out of the many they targeted one or two will be successful. it will keep us going for a period.Originally posted by ctstalin:How come singapore wanna be a hub in everything?
Banking, pharmaceutical, finance, biotech, medical, education, airline transportation, shipping, eye-ops, gambling, prostitution, etc
jus to name a few
singapore garmen si siao si bo...![]()
Our shipping industry still offers competitive prices. Problem is staffing these companies with locals. No one wants to do this kind of backbreaking work.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Shipping - already losing to a canal in Thailand
Aerospace - Was Good, Now going DOWN
Medical - Maybe
Banking - Just opening more foreign talent to the SPG in Singapore
Finance - With all the control and Obvious Intranspancies of GIC
Tourism - Where to go ? Do we provide any good service ???
Education - Good rip-off place for China student who want an free education
Omg dragg 6664 posts liao...how u did tat??Originally posted by timothytsgsg:We are already behind them, my friend. While other countries' economics are chuggling to life- we are still struggling to get the engine started. PAP has no or little idea in simulating a dormant S'pore economy.
They said the economy is improving coz their bonuses are improving! Do u think they really care how the people are faring?Originally posted by ctstalin:Omg dragg 6664 posts liao...how u did tat??
how come the garmen say the economy is improvin while the ppl say economy is still struggling....
wtf the garmen tryin to do???![]()
Originally posted by timothytsgsg:They said the economy is improving coz their bonuses are improving! Do u think they really care how the people are faring?
Like I said, we are already lagging behind. Let's put it in this way: we are drowning as we speak.Originally posted by starblue:be a hub good wad... if singapore dun strive to better it's economy, then how?? a small country like us will drown if we dun have a competency to give us a cutting edge over the rest of asia...
Our freaking government only make good for their pocket money and not to we singaporeans!!!Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Like I said, we are already lagging behind. Let's put it in this way: we are drowning as we speak.
Lemme raise an issue: South Korea's most famous worldwide brand is Samsung. Which is getting popular with the West and Asia as well.
Singapore's best brand is SIA- which is struggling to win over the Aussies regarding the Australia-US route from Sydney and Melbourne to San Francisco and LA.
Temasek Holdings is also viewed with suspicion from reputable financial magazines because Temasek doesn't have transparent business practices. Much of the stuff that happens in Temasek Holdings are shroud in secrecy. The people on the street has no idea how it works over there because the press here doesn't report it.
Singapore is struggling because our business practices, contary to what outside people think, is very opaque especially in state-owned enterprises. As long as the Lee family and its cronies continue to be head of the various govt boards and stated owned enterprises- Singapore will continue to struggle.
We must get the majority of GLCs out of the private sector and streamline the civil service system.
nothgin wrong lets try to be number one in crime ratesOriginally posted by Lingos:What's wrong with trying to be number one?
I think you have a longgg way to go for that one.Originally posted by hisoka:nothgin wrong lets try to be number one in crime rates![]()
What are we number one in.........? have you travelled to many and far away places to see what the world are happening and developing now?Originally posted by Lingos:What's wrong with trying to be number one?
HAHAHAHHAHAHA talking to someone who has spent the last 5 years overseas.Originally posted by Lowclassman:What are we number one in.........? have you travel to many and far away to see what the world are happening and developing now?
You mean you are the only one spent the last 5 years in overseas?Originally posted by Lingos:HAHAHAHHAHAHA talking to someone who has spent the last 5 years overseas.
OMG.
THere is nothing wrong in trying to be number one. I didn't say Singapore is number one in anything.
Althought.. duty free shopping at the airport is pretty awesome.
Aerospace: Singapore's is in a hot competitive as being a regional airport hub. Its still too early to say its going down. As for SIA, it is also dealing with major competitors. The most prominenet is Emirates. But still SIA still have alot of business routes to go.Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Shipping - already losing to a canal in Thailand
Aerospace - Was Good, Now going DOWN
Medical - Maybe
Banking - Just opening more foreign talent to the SPG in Singapore
Finance - With all the control and Obvious Intranspancies of GIC
Tourism - Where to go ? Do we provide any good service ???
Education - Good rip-off place for China student who want an free education
Maybe, maybe not. I dunno if Temasek Holdings have implemented them because they are so shrouded in secrecy. But I doubt their system is similar to the ones in the West.Originally posted by starblue:timothy, you talking about the performance-based salary scheme?? i thought that is being slowly put into place??? in place of seniority based wage system, a lot of compaines are moving towards paying by performance... there are ever more new and innovative ways to judge performance, all those test centres and such...
those older workers are not adapting well to this system i guess.. but for young people, it's more of a prospect for them, isnt it??