every country has its problems. our tax is not as high as australia.Originally posted by HarryPussy:This is the greatest joke of the day. Cheap prices for HDB flats???? With 200k, i can buy a 2-storey detached in Perth with a swimming pool.
Honeybunz, u are really happy to be livingb in ur pigeon hole? Wanna cum to my luxurious bungalow in Perth, i invite u. I pay only 1Million and i get a 15,000 sqft bungalow with swimming pool, sauna, Indiania Ocean Sea View...
U will never wanna go back to that pigeon hole of urs ever again![]()
Yeah, during those times.Originally posted by Xprobe:To be fair, LKY rose to the occasion and calling of his time and did his job well for the survival of the masses and creating wealth. It was relevant during those times.
Eh...our tax not as high as australia?? Hmm...what abt alternate tax...like GST, ERP, High petrol cost, high housing cost tat's sucking s'porean high n dry??Originally posted by dragg:every country has its problems. our tax is not as high as australia.
good or bad depends on what each individual wants. if a luxurious bungalow is all you ask for then of course singapore is not as good a place as australia.
How about puuting LKY to run Malaysia or Indonesia??? You think he can manage like singapore? My ballsOriginally posted by gorby107:Ok here, now in the modern Singapore we have the luxury of having so many things like computer, MP3, radio and etc. If not for LKY and his team doing, Singapore will not be like that today and will be like Malaysia or Indonesia still developing. Your can have the pleasure and time using this technology to write all the crticism on the government which we are allowed here but not to the extend. If we don't have this technology and still backward and want to complaint. How to do it? Do in violence and fighting break out and not having peace. You all don't want to have this right?? We should be grateful for LKY and his team and not crticisng as they build up Singapore to become a high-tech country and if want to complaint do it in a peaceful way and everyone benefit like that. So you all should be happy to be in this state now even though there is some harsh laws by the government. Our Life is better now than the 60s and if not for him we today complaint the government also but also worrying about yourself without food, job etc. So think carefully before action
he can only manage countries where citizens accept policies with unquestioning obedience. like S'pore inc or Japan inc. not a tough job. he not around, we find Forrest Gump to replaceOriginally posted by Lowclassman:How about puuting LKY to run Malaysia or Indonesia??? You think he can manage like singapore? My balls
i agree with you that our cost of living is too high. but again it depends on the individual. you are not an aussie even if you get a australian citizenship, regardless of how well you adapt. there are always pros and cons. many singaporeans choose to stay because their parents and friends are in singapore. if landed property, brand new car and money is what you desire then of course australia is probably the choice for you.Originally posted by HarryPussy:Eh...our tax not as high as australia?? Hmm...what abt alternate tax...like GST, ERP, High petrol cost, high housing cost tat's sucking s'porean high n dry??
To be frank, i have lived extensively in both countries and assuming with 3000 bucks (the currencies abt the same in both countries)...my quality of life is much much better in aussie land. I have my own landed house, brand new car and still have much to save. In singapore, cant even start a family, got to get my parents to down the deposit for my 4room hdb flat...
Try talking to the hdb heartlander, everywhere i heard is complains...
If you compare the development of Singappore to African and south america countries and Indonesia, we are definitely better. I wouldn't want to compare to Malaysia though. I don't see the standard of living any lower in Malaysia.Originally posted by gorby107:Ok here, now in the modern Singapore we have the luxury of having so many things like computer, MP3, radio and etc. If not for LKY and his team doing, Singapore will not be like that today and will be like Malaysia or Indonesia still developing. Your can have the pleasure and time using this technology to write all the crticism on the government which we are allowed here but not to the extend. If we don't have this technology and still backward and want to complaint. How to do it? Do in violence and fighting break out and not having peace. You all don't want to have this right?? We should be grateful for LKY and his team and not crticisng as they build up Singapore to become a high-tech country and if want to complaint do it in a peaceful way and everyone benefit like that. So you all should be happy to be in this state now even though there is some harsh laws by the government. Our Life is better now than the 60s and if not for him we today complaint the government also but also worrying about yourself without food, job etc. So think carefully before action
i am sure a lot of people are frustrated at what is going on. (tight job market, high cost of living, overworked and whatnot) but i noticed you are extremely negative about singapore. care to share the reason?Originally posted by Cindyfeh:If you compare the development of Singappore to African and south america countries and Indonesia, we are definitely better. I wouldn't want to compare to Malaysia though. I don't see the standard of living any lower in Malaysia.
But I think we should compare ourselves to more relevant countries or cities like Japan, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur and even China (Shang hai, beijing, guangzhou etc). Whatever benefits you wrote up there, people in those places enjoy as well. No doubt LKY and PAP made Singapore a not-so-corrupted country, but as for the economic success, I think their contribution weren't much, just a matter of following textbook and economists' recommendation. Singapore in the 50s, 60s, 70s, is just riding with the after-war-world 2 economic boom experienced by many countries.
Try travelling more will ya? and take what was written in our local media with a BIG pinch of salt -> for example, many Singaporeans believe China Chinese are very hardworking. NOT SO. Many of them enjoy 8-5pm work life balance and 5 working days! Another misconception is China media very restrictive. Again NOT SO. China media did alot of social work by exposing many im-moral businesses and government officials. In Singapore what? Just NKF?
So let me repeat again. Travel more and you will see that Singapore is not very much different from KL, Beijing, Shanghai, Japan, etc.
GST is only 5% in Singapore. Housing cost is not high, considering the fact that we do not have much land here. At least, most ppl can afford a decent flat to live in, with the help of CPF. You may think that government is sucking us dry by forcing us to save money in CPF. But we have to admit that this generation is so spoilt that we do not know how to save anymore.Originally posted by HarryPussy:Eh...our tax not as high as australia?? Hmm...what abt alternate tax...like GST, ERP, High petrol cost, high housing cost tat's sucking s'porean high n dry??
To be frank, i have lived extensively in both countries and assuming with 3000 bucks (the currencies abt the same in both countries)...my quality of life is much much better in aussie land. I have my own landed house, brand new car and still have much to save. In singapore, cant even start a family, got to get my parents to down the deposit for my 4room hdb flat...
Try talking to the hdb heartlander, everywhere i heard is complains...
Sure dragg. You can refer to this thread:Originally posted by dragg:i am sure a lot of people are frustrated at what is going on. (tight job market, high cost of living, overworked and whatnot) but i noticed you are extremely negative about singapore. care to share the reason?
Japan, Brunei, Malaysia, blah blah all don't have LKY, I don't think too many people there are cutting rubber tree barks. I think LKY's effect is less corruption not really good economics.Originally posted by Honeybunz:Without LKY, I will probably be living in a kampong and now cutting rubber tree barks at the rubber plantation, instead of comfortably surfing internet in an air con room..
I lived two yrs in KL, just sold the condo at Tamah Seputeh, tell me how you compare singapore with KL?? KLCC, mega mall, bukit bintang, jalan pertaling are no difference from any cities, but try raising a child in KL.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:If you compare the development of Singappore to African and south america countries and Indonesia, we are definitely better. I wouldn't want to compare to Malaysia though. I don't see the standard of living any lower in Malaysia.
NKF is indeed a big lesson for singaporean and it just remind us that our society is by no mean better than any other societies in the region. we have our life style, and misconception about other societies? there will always be. If you have travelled as widely as you claim, why don't you show some comparisons about the different societies in the region, anything singapore can learn and do better?
But I think we should compare ourselves to more relevant countries or cities like Japan, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur and even China (Shang hai, beijing, guangzhou etc). Whatever benefits you wrote up there, people in those places enjoy as well. not very much different from KL, Beijing, Shanghai, Japan, etc [/quote] In China, you get everything cheaper but are you sure of the quality or if these are not fake? do you pay the same prices in Japan for the same items you buy here? Ever look at how much it costs to buy a small apartment in japan and hong kong? Ever heard of having to buy parking lots if you want to own a car? In australia, can you afford a maid?
every country, every city is different, nobody has everything and nobody has nothing! Appreciate what you have.why din yr grandfather follow the textbook and economists' recommendation and today you might the heir to the throne? such over simplification shows great disrespect to all singaporeans involved in nation building. Remember, not all singaporean are PAP worshippers and singapore is not built by PAP alone!!!
just a matter of following textbook and economists' recommendation. Singapore in the 50s, 60s, 70s, is just riding with the after-war-world 2 economic boom experienced by many countries.
[quote]and take what was written in our local media with a BIG pinch of salt -> for example, many Singaporeans believe China Chinese are very hardworking. NOT SO. Many of them enjoy 8-5pm work life balance and 5 working days! Another misconception is China media very restrictive. Again NOT SO. China media did alot of social work by exposing many im-moral businesses and government officials. In Singapore what? Just NKF?
Beijing and Shanghai are two very different cities and even the ppl there think very differently! How can KL and Japan (tokyo, kagoshima or Sapporo) be not much different??Try travelling more will ya? ....So let me repeat again. Travel more and you will see that Singapore is not very much different from KL, Beijing, Shanghai, Japan, etc.
i agree with you.Originally posted by sgdiehard:Beijing and Shanghai are two very different cities and even the ppl there think very differently! How can KL and Japan (tokyo, kagoshima or Sapporo) be not much different??
If you choose to look only at the misgivings, ill treatment or whatever bad experience you have had in singapore, you will only see the bad things about singapore and you WILL have the misconception that everything outside is better. Then you are blind to the beautiful world. Flowers are not of the same colour, trees are not of the same heights, birds don't sing the same tune, cities cannot be "not very much different", ppl cannot be the same!!
don't need to repeat yrself, just speak the same language as we do here. "ya" does not mean "you" here. We speak singlish but you gong angmoh, don't blame us for catching no balls.
Open your heart and your eyes will be opened, then you will enjoy wherever you go. Good luck!
all these country citizens now employ foreign workers, no need to do the dirty work. in singapore with or without LKY they stil the same.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Japan, Brunei, Malaysia, blah blah all don't have LKY, I don't think too many people there are cutting rubber tree barks. I think LKY's effect is less corruption not really good economics.
To sgdiehard's post below,
It really depends on what individual wants. The will always be debates on why people want to migrate and why some want to stay. You have your points and I have mine.
Thanks for bringing my grandfather into the picture. But he is not LKY, so its quite irrelevant.
By the way, can you share why is it difficult to raise a child in KL? in terms of study, child happiness, and future potential. You can mention about the biaseness of the system towards bumiputra but i think most in Singapore know about this.
High crime rates. Some of my relatives have been victims of crime. Snatch theft is rampant all over Malaysia.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:By the way, can you share why is it difficult to raise a child in KL? in terms of study, child happiness, and future potential. You can mention about the biaseness of the system towards bumiputra but i think most in Singapore know about this.
dangerous crime is a problem.Originally posted by iveco:High crime rates. Some of my relatives have been victims of crime. Snatch theft is rampant all over Malaysia.
in singapore?Originally posted by AF2005:dangerous crime is a problem.
and also same for singapore.