we are not a military power but considering our size we are an economic power.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Consider this , a country , ravaged by a war. almost 20 years ago , had to pay reparations amounting to billions and billions of marks , add a economic downturn which was much worser then the 1997 asian economic crisis , and
a inflation rate going on.
Even Japan , took more time then Germany to recover itself , Japan had many factors in which it could recover fast after WWII.
Note that the period after WWI was filled with troubles and uncertainties.
And yet, after 20 years, a 1st world country , in which has a military which is among the most powerful in the World.
For this fact , even LKY , or even if you put our minister of education in charge of Germany , they couldn't even did better.
LKY took 35 years , and SG is not even a world power...![]()
Germany was worser , after the first world war , alot of restrictions on the army, and the resources ..etc..etc..imposed on it.Originally posted by shinta:sg no resources lei... even its population cannot fight liao
Under the Treaty of Versailles the Reichswehr was only allowed 100,000 soldiers split between Heer and the Marine. In 1933 the Nazi party came to power and began dismantling the treaty. The Heer was founded as part of the Wehrmacht in May 1935 with the passing of the "Law for the Reconstruction of the National Defense Forces". The Wehrmacht was expanded to include the Heer and Navy and with a third branch known as the Luftwaffe. Initially, the Heer was expanded to 21 Divisional sized units and smaller formations. Between 1935 and 1945 this force grew to consist of hundreds of Divisions and thousands of smaller supporting units. Between 1939 and 1945 close to 13 million served in the Heer. Over 1.6 million were killed and over 4.1 million were wounded. Of the 7361 men awarded the initial grade of the highest German combat honor of WWII, the Knights Cross, 4777 were from the Heer making up 65% of the total awarded. The Allies dissolved the Heer on August 20 1946.Originally posted by dragg:we are not a military power but considering our size we are an economic power.
Israel can do it...Originally posted by dragg:we are not a military power but considering our size we are an economic power.
not comparable.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Israel can do it...
Consider this , put this in our shoes , in 1995 , you've got only 5 fighter jets ,Originally posted by dragg:we are not a military power but considering our size we are an economic power.
Everyone country is basically focused towards survival.Originally posted by dragg:not comparable.
their focus is survival. economy is not as good.
jews have lots of support from jews worldwide.
our focus is only economic development.
Got A2 onlyOriginally posted by shinta:smappy history student last time ar?
their population is around 5.6 million.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Everyone country is basically focused towards survival.
Even switzerland.
Economy survival is also as good as military survival..and vice versa
"1 United States 12,438,873
2 Japan 4,799,061
3 Germany 2,906,658
4 United Kingdom 2,295,039
5 France 2,216,273
6 People's Republic of China (Mainland) 1,843,117
7 Italy 1,836,407
8 Spain 1,120,312
9 Canada 1,098,446
10 Russia 755,437
11 India 749,443
12 Brazil 732,078
13 South Korea 720,772
14 Mexico 714,530
15 Australia 692,436
16 Netherlands 629,391
17 Belgium 387,840
18 Switzerland 384,642
19 Sweden 383,816
20 Taiwan (Republic of China) 345,105
21 Turkey 340,263
22 Austria 318,343
23 Poland 312,257
24 Norway 285,604
25 Saudi Arabia 284,895
26 Indonesia 284,072
27 Denmark 265,934
28 Greece 230,684
29 South Africa 226,486
30 Republic of Ireland 206,467
31 Finland 204,385
32 Iran 195,200
33 Portugal 185,091
34 Thailand 174,545
35 Hong Kong, SAR, PRC 172,932
36 Argentina 172,123
37 Malaysia 127,942
38 Czech Republic 125,709
39 Israel 122,987
40 Venezuela 122,301
41 Singapore 116,326"
GDP
How do you explain HK then?Originally posted by dragg:their population is around 5.6 million.
GDP is not a fair indicator.
even malaysia is more than us.
wah... my history i wrote 3 lines, den i hand up liao worOriginally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Got A2 only![]()
ask nellie to teach uOriginally posted by shinta:wah... my history i wrote 3 lines, den i hand up liao wor
i forgot to study![]()
Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:ask nellie to teach u![]()
it only goes to show that HK has a better economic position. their population is in excess of 7 million.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:How do you explain HK then?
1 Luxembourg 66,821
2 Norway 41,941
3 United States 41,557
4 Republic of Ireland 40,003
5 Iceland 35,686
6 Denmark 34,718
7 San Marino 34,600*
8 Canada 34,444
9 Switzerland 33,168
10 Austria 32,962
— Hong Kong SAR (PRC) 32,292
11 Belgium 31,549
12 Japan 31,384
13 Australia 31,020
14 Finland 30,818
15 Netherlands 30,363
16 United Kingdom 30,309
17 Germany 30,150
18 Qatar 29,607
19 Sweden 29,537
20 Italy 29,414
21 France 29,203
22 Singapore 28,228
That brings us to the other countries around the world , they got army also , but yet GDP per Capita is also higher.Originally posted by dragg:it only goes to show that HK has a better economic position. their population is in excess of 7 million.
but they have no army.
many countries are better and stronger because of their access to natural resources and their longer history.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:That brings us to the other countries around the world , they got army also , but yet GDP per Capita is also higher.
how do you explain it?![]()
Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Yes I agree with you. Our govt is forever so overly protective.
This is where you are wrong , there are many forms of leadership adopted by the leaders you've mentioned above , Hitler's style of leadership was more towards public speeches,propaganda and motivational.
An evil leader , is still a leader.
Ponder about that please.
I chose to disagree, if i were in that group , i would have agreed with them to choose Hitler as the name , You need not see hitler as a perpetrator of racial crimes , but rather someone with great leadership skills.
The thing we are looking here is not about the character/morals about the leader , its about the [b]Leadership of the leader.
This is where our minister of education have gone wrong , in fact , i noted that he has digested it down on the wrong context.
So im just correcting you and him.[/b]
Originally posted by Agressor:Sadly, Singaporeans are indeed conformists. Our education and social policies have not allowed/encouraged them to think differently. They may also not know that to challenge the status quo we can improve the society. One good example is the PC. Before Bill Gate the status quo then was that only corporates and not private individuals could have access to computers.
I had stated that I am against students idolising Hitler. However, in terms of leadership capabilities, Hitler is no doubt one person who had great leadership qualities. This was acknowledged by several books written on leadership skills. Therefore, obviously the students had done some research before naming their team creatively for the [b]Leadership Camp. ( Though they might get better response if they chose LKY).
Through this minor incident, it was obvious that our system limits our students' creativity. There are several threads in this forum comparing foriegn and local talents, many acknowledged that local talents lack of creativity, risk taking and articulation. Putting yourself into the shoes of the students, would you, after this incident still try again to dare to be different? Or would your rather follow the model answers of the 10 years series (Like most of our scholars and elites did)? Or worst of all, most, like me will choose not to participate in such activities again?
Sounds familiar, yes, this is what our society is. There is no room for creativity. If you think out of the box, you are out of the game. We are moulded from young to become a "yes" man. We grew up memorising model answers from 10 years series. My son learnt to find the odd one out when he was in K1. It was imprinted in him that if you are different, you are the odd one out. However, I have always asked him to look at things in a different angle, I have always thought him that If you are different, you are special
Lastly, I would like to once again stress that I am against students, or anyone from idolising Hitler. However, I felt that once in a while, we should always give rooms to our students to let their imagination run wild and to do what they had wanted to do. I believe that was in the mind of the teachers running the camp and thats why they did not stop the team from using the name. To these teachers, I would say, good job. To those who do not agree, I would urge you to think twice, otherwise, we will be like what the Chinese says: "Scared of human in front of the ship; afraid of ghosts at the tail of the ship"(Chuan2 Qian2 Pa4 Ren2, Chuan2 Wei3 Pa4 Gui3) and end up doing and gaining nothing. [/b]
That is called entrepreneurship.Originally posted by shinta:leadership involves leading, managing ppl and etc. rebelling against old biz practices and etc would mean sth else... not leadership.
I can think of new industries to enter, but i Suck big time when it comes to leading/managing ppl and resources. Am i a good leader?
No.
They are leaders of their respective fields and industry that they are in. I'm only offering newer ones just in case people think that only considering political leaders is a narrow mindset.Originally posted by shinta:this kind of leaders.... are not the kind of leaders this thread is talkin about lei![]()
Leaders makes decision.Originally posted by BeEtHoVeN:Hitler was a good leader, u got to be joking, Hilter refused to listen to others, believed in himself only, and when things go wrong, he shot himself in the head. Tell me what leadership qualities he possessed.
The only thing to learn from him is, well, dun be like him
No doubt he was a leader, but definitely not a gd leader by any way
Blitzkrieg's widest effects were against Western Allied leadership of the war, some of whom drew inspiration from the Wehrmacht's approach. United States General George S. Patton emphasized fast pursuit, the use of an armored spearhead to effect a breakthrough, then cut-off and disrupt enemy forces prior to their flight. In his comments of the time, he credited Guderian and Rommel's work, notably Infantry Attacks, for insight.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Leaders makes decision.
Whether he makes good or bad decisions . He is still famous for "blitzkrieg"