Think out of the box and you will find the solutions you need.Originally posted by runningismylife:Dialysis was and still is the favorite treatment for kidney patients namely because the waiting list for spare kidneys is so long. Unless you can come up with a super duper way to ensure our capacity of kidneys available for transplant increase, i don't see how your idea is practical.
You don't expect people to sell kidneys, caus first and foremost it's illegal.
And it stinks of exploitation.
Kidneys can be harvested using pioneering stemcell research, but than again, that's years from completion and many countries are imposing curtails on stemcell research.
So tell me, what's your idea for making kidneys widely available as you claim possible?
Lots of parents I know actually complain about this. Schoolteachers refuse to allow pupils to return empty cards. The authorities should look into NKF's hardsell tactics.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):Once upon a time
mi back for holiday recently... and my sis pass mi a donation card.... then i see.. knn NKF one....so i told her i wont donation... then she told mi about a story..... that card belong to her son.. and last yr... she say the same thing as mi.. so her son lan lan no choice listen to his mother and return a empty card to the teacher as he is only pri 1 so dunno what is going on what.... then his teacher suan him in front of the whole class as he is the only guai kia that got $0 donation.....so he end up crying when he reach home lor....so this yr my sis no choice lan lan have to donation a few dollar and write different ppl name lor......then make mi so guilty never donation..... but.. knn i wont donate to NKF....
Moral of the story.... i rather donation to LAF's Livestrong thing better...![]()
They remove such conditions from the card liao. And I believe its the school that impose such condition. Cos they said we are being lazy and that if we really try very hard, $10 is no big deal.Originally posted by fudgester:I can still remember how NKF donation cards were forced onto us when I was a student. I can't remember clearly, but the cards stated that we had to collect 'a minimum amount' - $10, I think... I can't remember. When we asked our teachers what would happen if we failed to get this 'minimum amount', they said that the school would get into trouble with NKF.
Then we, the students, would in turn get into trouble with the school.
What the ****.... We get into trouble for not 'giving enough' to charity? For goodness' sake - if every student in SG gets the same donation card, who the heck are they gonna solicit donations from?!?!?! Our parents!?!?! Not every kid in town is loaded, alright!?!? I myself had to skip meals sometimes just to buy lecture notes!!!
We were all so pissed off that we just gave this 'minimum amount' and washed our hands off the matter.
It sucks that I'm thinking badly of a charitable organization which has indeed done some good - but the way I see it, NKF has a lot to answer for.
Sometimes I ownder...You need big and nice buildings to attract big and nice donors or "investors".Originally posted by chunyong:i donate S$6 monthly and dats all i give...in return i go for the health checks, the S$72/yr i just take it dat i am paying for the health checks....
reason why i am not donating is becos they spend too much on themselves then on patients...they have nice buildings etc...look at KDF...their operation cost are very low, run down buildings, no saltwater aquariums and no un-needed stuff....most of the $ went to the patients....
want to know how much $ went to patients is not hard, just see how much 'un-needed' things u see in NKF buildings....
but i think $ should go more to patients, even if someone donates 1M, i think they will use it to decorate the buildings better....just look lor....Originally posted by ?????:Sometimes I ownder...You need big and nice buildings to attract big and nice donors or "investors".
I think either you or your sister should complain to MOE or write to the press.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):Once upon a time
mi back for holiday recently... and my sis pass mi a donation card.... then i see.. knn NKF one....so i told her i wont donation... then she told mi about a story..... that card belong to her son.. and last yr... she say the same thing as mi.. so her son lan lan no choice listen to his mother and return a empty card to the teacher as he is only pri 1 so dunno what is going on what.... then his teacher suan him in front of the whole class as he is the only guai kia that got $0 donation.....so he end up crying when he reach home lor....so this yr my sis no choice lan lan have to donation a few dollar and write different ppl name lor......then make mi so guilty never donation..... but.. knn i wont donate to NKF....
Moral of the story.... i rather donation to LAF's Livestrong thing better...![]()