It was set up to help needy families through the latest rise in public transport fares.Originally posted by InnoHippo:what does this fund do har?![]()
sarpose to off set the hike..Originally posted by InnoHippo:what does this fund do har?![]()
election comingOriginally posted by f.1:$50... barely enuff to subsidize 1 family's 1 month transport expense... and after the fare adjustments, every1 is expected to pay higher prices henceforth....
just another pr exercise... of course have better than dun have at all lah...![]()
Looks like those who dun qualify will have to fork out more.Originally posted by shinta:it's 50 per household with gross income lower than 1.5k hor..
if per individual i happy liao.. nxt mth de transport fee no need to think liao
i often wonder how difficult it is for the needy to get real helpOriginally posted by dsnake1:Looks like those who dun qualify will have to fork out more.
LPPL.
Still, it will help to cushion the impact for those who are really needy.
hmm.. If you're lookin at govt, not muchOriginally posted by InnoHippo:i often wonder how difficult it is for the needy to get real help![]()
i posted bursary but no request whatOriginally posted by InnoHippo:i often wonder how difficult it is for the needy to get real help![]()
Won't know, but guess could be slow, go here go there, sign this form and that. u know SG.Originally posted by InnoHippo:i often wonder how difficult it is for the needy to get real help![]()
Originally posted by zaxis:i posted bursary but no request what
so how to help needy? or may by needy do not come to sgforums
Originally posted by f.1:loopholes.... did u try appealing to MP, HDB... bang doors, write letters... etc etc... sometimes, it helps..![]()
most i am sure dont even know how or where to look for help.Originally posted by InnoHippo:i often wonder how difficult it is for the needy to get real help![]()
and Malay and Tamil too..Originally posted by dragg:most i am sure dont even know how or where to look for help.
our 'help' arent exactly easily accessible.
i saw the stupid posters at the void deck. all in english.
why not in chinese too.
most poor family arent that educated.
They'd come only when election's nearOriginally posted by BillyBong:It's one of the ways the gahmen is trying to promote to bridge the gap between the rich and not so rich.
Rebates like this for the needy are welcome and will go a long way to alleviating transportation issues. However, people must not become dependent on such freebies, lest they fall victim to election day carrots. Eventually, if people currently in the doldrums can lift themselves out of poverty, do so.
Rather than wallow in self-pity and hoping for more pickings from big brother.
x2Originally posted by dragg:there are actually a lot of poor people around. especially the older folks.
i can offer help, from Singapore buddhist Lodges, NKF cancer fund, community development council, CCCOriginally posted by dragg:most i am sure dont even know how or where to look for help.
our 'help' arent exactly easily accessible.
i saw the stupid posters at the void deck. all in english.
why not in chinese too.
most poor family arent that educated.
my family still not eligible..Originally posted by DeadPoet:To get this one-off payment of $50, your total household income must be less than $1,500 a month or $450 per household member. That mean if your total household income is $1,700 but you have 6 persons in your household, you are still eligible for the vouchers.
What I am unhappy about is firstly, instead of $50 per household, it should be based on the number of people in the household. $50 for a family of six is way too little. Secondly, some not that needy people are abusing this fund. A friend of mine who is working in the CC told me that they have been receiving applications from residents living in condominiums, and even those living in landed property.
I asked him how could they accept these applications? I thought these vouchers are for the needy? Obviously these people do not need the $50 vouchers. He told me these applicants are usually senior citizens who are no longer living with their children. They rely on their pensions, rents collected, allowances from their children, etc. And since these "income" are not taken into consideration, they are entitled to the vouchers.
Frankly, I am not convinced. Yes, they may meet the requirements but do they really need it?