it really depends on the individual. there is nothing the system can do to fully stop such exploitations. there are lots of well-to-do people taking advantage of the loopholes.Originally posted by DeadPoet:To get this one-off payment of $50, your total household income must be less than $1,500 a month or $450 per household member. That mean if your total household income is $1,700 but you have 6 persons in your household, you are still eligible for the vouchers.
What I am unhappy about is firstly, instead of $50 per household, it should be based on the number of people in the household. $50 for a family of six is way too little. Secondly, some not that needy people are abusing this fund. A friend of mine who is working in the CC told me that they have been receiving applications from residents living in condominiums, and even those living in landed property.
I asked him how could they accept these applications? I thought these vouchers are for the needy? Obviously these people do not need the $50 vouchers. He told me these applicants are usually senior citizens who are no longer living with their children. They rely on their pensions, rents collected, allowances from their children, etc. And since these "income" are not taken into consideration, they are entitled to the vouchers.
Frankly, I am not convinced. Yes, they may meet the requirements but do they really need it?
If less than $2,250 still eligible mah.Originally posted by shinta:my family still not eligible..
2k plus over 5 ppl
go apply if you are eligible.Originally posted by shinta:my family still not eligible..
2k plus over 5 ppl
you really should. this is singapore and every dollar counts.Originally posted by shinta:is it based on salary after cpf deduction? or before?
tell mama go apply n give the money to my xiao di
Originally posted by dragg:and this suckz..
you really should. this is singapore and every dollar counts.
i am sure you understand how difficult it is surviving on a pittance. and you have loans to clear.Originally posted by shinta:and this suckz..
yeah..Originally posted by dragg:i am sure you understand how difficult it is surviving on a pittance. and you have loans to clear.
Never stated clearly in the application form leh.Originally posted by shinta:is it based on salary after cpf deduction? or before?
tell mama go apply n give the money to my xiao di
life is tough... bureacratic notions are difficult to overcome in standard applications. hope all is well now.Originally posted by shinta:![]()
yeah we went to many mps..
finally HDB allowed my mother to purchase a flat via HDB loan
she was once a bankrupt so no banks in sg would loan her the money base on her records
hmm.. the first time we went to HDB was in Nov 2002...
Originally posted by DeadPoet:Never stated clearly in the application form leh.
No harm trying.![]()
yup yup!Originally posted by f.1:life is tough... bureacratic notions are difficult to overcome in standard applications. hope all is well now.
government trying to be funny is it?? ask ppl to be long-sighted, but to give $50 is very short-sighted (explains high myopic rate in SG!Originally posted by DeadPoet:What do you think of the Public Transport Fund? Do you think that $50 per household is too little?
what's new?Originally posted by 105090:government trying to be funny is it?? ask ppl to be long-sighted, but to give $50 is very short-sighted (explains high myopic rate in SG!)
very obvious $50 ismnt enough.. not sincere enough.. $50 per individual for 6 months is more likke it.. come on.. its no big deal to the issuing authorities, considering the amount of taxes paid here and there, not to mention individual donations from the public....
the public is taken for a ride on a wild goose
too little just a wayang show by the transport co. give some of the needy family concession pass better. help them out in the long run.Originally posted by DeadPoet:What do you think of the Public Transport Fund? Do you think that $50 per household is too little?
Well said!Originally posted by Atobe:Another publicity stunt by the Ruling Party to endear themselves to the mass of ignoramus serving as economic digits that enrich the goverment coffers.
Paying $50 per household with less then $1500 in total income ?
What benefit does that $50 do?
If there is a realistic sincerity in helping those who are in need of such help, will it not be more realistic to pool all the $50 and pay the total sum to the various Transport Companies to help these companies to be more efficient and-or subsidise their operational costs ?
Similarly, the annual exercise with Government contribution to our individual Medisave Account that require all Singaporeans to frantically top up their CPF.
Will it not be more effective to pool all the individual contributions, and use it as a Stand-by fund to be drawn by the families of those who are hospitalised and need to pay for the massive medical or surgical bills?
Can the one time small top up into our Medisave Account help to pay a bill that average at least $20,000 plus from any one visit to a hospital ?
Or for that matter, even a two to three day stay in the hospital for observation, will result in at least a cost of $1000, can one pay this full sum from the Medisave Account, or does one need to pay partially by cash also ?
How does the Annual Medisave Top Up help the needy in such an instance ?
As matters stand, the Ruling Party has been very clever to "score points" in this highly publicised payouts, but collect far more after the price increases in transport and hospital fees (and also other services) - as the "Payouts" are only for a short duration, while the Price Increases are here to stay over the longer term.
Agreed. Government is just wayanging for the elections. YESH GOV GIVE ME 50 SO I VOTE FOR PAP. Shares and all these stuffs to help people out with rising GST to 5%,wayang again. Might as well dont raise GST.Originally posted by Atobe:Another publicity stunt by the Ruling Party to endear themselves to the mass of ignoramus serving as economic digits that enrich the goverment coffers.
Paying $50 per household with less then $1500 in total income ?
What benefit does that $50 do?
If there is a realistic sincerity in helping those who are in need of such help, will it not be more realistic to pool all the $50 and pay the total sum to the various Transport Companies to help these companies to be more efficient and-or subsidise their operational costs ?
Similarly, the annual exercise with Government contribution to our individual Medisave Account that require all Singaporeans to frantically top up their CPF.
Will it not be more effective to pool all the individual contributions, and use it as a Stand-by fund to be drawn by the families of those who are hospitalised and need to pay for the massive medical or surgical bills?
Can the one time small top up into our Medisave Account help to pay a bill that average at least $20,000 plus from any one visit to a hospital ?
Or for that matter, even a two to three day stay in the hospital for observation, will result in at least a cost of $1000, can one pay this full sum from the Medisave Account, or does one need to pay partially by cash also ?
How does the Annual Medisave Top Up help the needy in such an instance ?
As matters stand, the Ruling Party has been very clever to "score points" in this highly publicised payouts, but collect far more after the price increases in transport and hospital fees (and also other services) - as the "Payouts" are only for a short duration, while the Price Increases are here to stay over the longer term.
How much?Originally posted by shinta:as a form of updating, my family dun qualify..
i had no idea our household income was that high until i talked to my sis the day before
3kOriginally posted by Boyish84:How much?