Originally posted by robertteh:aiya.. argument can be that the rules were drawn up after NKF has been dishing out money to the board and installing gold taps etc... Hey, I used to work for a big MNC. The local chief also never get a suite and he uses the common toilet! I know the China big shots in govt has ensuite toilet facilities... COMMUNIST!!!
PM has just drawn up a list of rules for the ministers to prevent abuses, underhand or corruptions or receiving or gifts etc. which can happen due to similar loss of control over potential influence peddling or misuse.
It's 600k a year works out to be 50k a monthOriginally posted by carevin:I am very agitated on hearing that Durai earns 25K a month. A charity organisation that has been getting its funding from the public. But we must admit he is a capable man, successfully establishing NKF as one of the most known and trusted charity organisation.
There doesn't seem to be a problem if he has used his entitlement for business class to travel on first class. Afterall, he is not a volunteer. He is an employee who has been hired so as to lead the organisation forward.
What is the justifiable amount of bonus that one should get in a charity like NKF? Shouldn't this be benchmarked to some where? A 12 month bonus is grossly exorbitant, especially when the message thrown across was that -though there is a huge reserve, it will dry out some day. Shouldn't any extra income collected in the annum be put into the reserve or spent for the benefit of the patients?
The bottomline is that who is keeping all these tabs on these charities? Why were they allowed to have such an operating budget where they can afford to have expensive taps and all. Shouldn't the funds mainly go to the welfare of the patients? Extra funds other than put in the reserves should go to purchasing more dialysis machines or higher subsidies for the patients. Is there a necessity to establish NKF as a world class professional body? Is this the vision of NKF?
Can we stop the donations because we are furious with the management of funds? The stopping of funding does not mean that the reserves will be used FOR the patients. This shortage of funding may just turn to be a reason for increasing the payment by the patients themselves!
These are just my thoughts. The accountability of charity organisations has really become questionable.
Originally posted by robertteh:aiya.. argument can be that the rules were drawn up after NKF has been dishing out money to the board and installing gold taps etc... sure get acquitted one lah..
PM has just drawn up a list of rules for the ministers to prevent abuses, underhand or corruptions or receiving or gifts etc. which can happen due to similar loss of control over potential influence peddling or misuse.
Originally posted by Boyish84:Work for NKF lor. Ever wondered why staff of NKF still rally solid behind their head man? I don't think being noble is character is a pre-requisite to work in NKF.
How how how? Many Singaporeans are trying to meet their ends meet and hardly have much savings in their bank account. I am very disappointed with the comment from Mrs Goh,$600,000 is peanuts. Fantastic i should say. I can buy a WRX + a condo with some spare cash. Comment is given without thoughts bout the norm of Singaporeans conditions.
$600,000? Only if u are a $5k-er monthly and a hardcore saver.
Don't judge GCT based on his wife's actions. He is not a mcp and he can't control how her mouth shoots. If you don't support GCT, who else can you vote for? He is already having a difficult time making his contribution to Singapore in the shadow of the dynasty. How many more years can he be in parliament? Lets continue supporting him!Originally posted by crazy monkey:she shd learn from wife of Ong Teng Cheong.
i like gct too....saw him close two yrs ago and realise his hair grew white for singapore, walk also got a bit of unsteadiness....he is a good man!!!Originally posted by niehur:Don't judge GCT based on his wife's actions. He is not a mcp and he can't control how her mouth shoots. If you don't support GCT, who else can you vote for? He is already having a difficult time making his contribution to Singapore in the shadow of the dynasty. How many more years can he be in parliament? Lets continue supporting him!
GCT is the best and most respectable PM I've ever known! He has only made friends for Singapore with his steady mature ways. He can't control his wife if she will not be influenced by his good character.
You can bring the monkey to the banana but if she prefers peanuts, what can you do?
Originally posted by siaokao:Maybe it won't last 30yrs from the way they pay their staff. Think if the following years, they may launch even more glitzy shows on mediacorp, satellite charity shows (inspired by durai and much appreciated with 12mths bonuses) in kopitiams with pole-dancing to raise money!
Seems to me CNA is trying to help salvage the suituation for NKF.
Penalise the kidney patients? - [b]By stop donating, patients will not be affected as they have 30~40 years of reserve left to operate!
What if someone in your family gets kidney disease or cancer? - Go to KDF if have kidney problem, go Cancer Foundation if have cancer! NKF is not the only "Charity" serving kidney and cancer patients!
The NKF still needs to raise funds here and there - Singaporeans stupid or wat? With more than $260K in reserves, NKF dun need ANY donations for the next 30 Years!![/b]
Rich can look but they might not see... maybe they think we are camouflaged as rubbish. Or maybe they are afraid of paparrazi so can't see clearly with their expensive sunglasses. Or maybe her lawn is so big she can't see the HDB from where she stays... Bukit Timah??Originally posted by C J:Mrs Goh!! Time you look around you!
Look out your window! Yoohoo!
Surprise!!! There's actually some of us poor ppl here!
Be a sport, give us some peanuts... please...
Now that Mr Durai has tested his scheme here in Singapore,
it's time for him to pack up and bring this charity scam to the USA.
Imagine the perksssss and entitlementsssss... phew...er.. Durai, any space for one more in that 1st class cabin?
Cos i'm all packed too...
For the same peanuts you get,
I'll gladly serve NKF for the rest of my life.
18hrs you say? Make mine 24/7, 31/365, always close but never closed.
I have my respect for Goh as a pm and sm, but it is inevitable that when some stupid and insensitive remarks were made, Goh CT would be affected, for that woman who made the remark is known as Mrs Goh, not ah huei or ah lian, and she would not be the patron of NKF if she were not the pm's wife. If his brothers or children were to be involved in any possible abuse of public funds, hmmm..... what do you think should happen?Originally posted by niehur:Don't judge GCT based on his wife's actions. He is not a mcp and he can't control how her mouth shoots. If you don't support GCT, who else can you vote for? He is already having a difficult time making his contribution to Singapore in the shadow of the dynasty. How many more years can he be in parliament? Lets continue supporting him!
GCT is the best and most respectable PM I've ever known! He has only made friends for Singapore with his steady mature ways. He can't control his wife if she will not be influenced by his good character.
You can bring the monkey to the banana but if she prefers peanuts, what can you do?
$600,000 peanuts is certainly more attractive then any banana!Originally posted by niehur:You can bring the monkey to the banana but if she prefers peanuts, what can you do?
Originally posted by sgdiehard:If Goh can't control or influence her, and cannot tell her to shut up, then don't allow her to be in position dealing with the general public. Is LKY's wife, nathan's wife, Ong TC's wife or even LHL's wife in any such posts???
Hey if you have proof that GCT wrote a recommendation letter for her to be patron, then say what u say. If not, leave him alone. He wasn't the one who shot that stupid comment. He has done enough good for Singapore for one to believe in his integrity and wisdom.Originally posted by sgdiehard:I have my respect for Goh as a pm and sm, but it is inevitable that when some stupid and insensitive remarks were made, Goh CT would be affected, for that woman who made the remark is known as Mrs Goh, not ah huei or ah lian, and she would not be the patron of NKF if she were not the pm's wife. If his brothers or children were to be involved in any possible abuse of public funds, hmmm..... what do you think should happen?
If Goh can't control or influence her, and cannot tell her to shut up, then don't allow her to be in position dealing with the general public. Is LKY's wife, nathan's wife, Ong TC's wife or even LHL's wife in any such posts???
Or maybe that Mrs Goh was one of the senior lawyers in Lee & Lee and not because she is married to GCT?Originally posted by CPTMiller:SM Goh wife is a professional lawyer.
She knows very well what she can say and cannot say in public.
I dont think we need to teach her.
The question is why she dare to mention S$600K peanuts and many
people will be unhappy.
Those people that is unhappy cant do a thing to her or husband.
Why she care?
Think carefully who is GCT and his position and who is his superior?
Durai must be regretting having popped the suggestion of stepping down. He must have imagined that Mr Khaw would persuade him to stay on!Originally posted by the Bear:whatever it is, i think the stupidity of TT Durai and his rush to sue SPH has backfired..
Khaw is right now on Live TV saying that TT Durai and the whole NKF Board is going to step down...
TT Durai is looking very pathetic beside the minister right now..
Originally posted by niehur:Durai must be regretting having popped the suggestion of stepping down. He must have imagined that Mr Khaw would persuade him to stay on!![]()