Let put it straight, even when SMRT started, it was bleeding either...Originally posted by Joshua1975:LTA ~ ai zai mai chap (want to know but dun care) even it a problem known, they dun care how it was to be rectify or was it rectify at all.
things happen, start pointing because they know who did wat but not themself.
it happen all in 1st MRT stage 1 start, NEL, CCL, all road works.
out of point... SG really no talent? for 10 over year LTA been doing MRT projects and today LTA still paid peanuts to FT?
all the amg mo are paid 22k and above with housing? some indian FT are paid that much as well and a few are getting more than that. one of them who had just resign recently are getting about 35k to 40k. but again they are not to made known to the public.
b4 NEL start, SBS or now SMART say they are losing $$$ but now? hazi...
back to topic, LTA may want to build ERP on overhead bridges and make bicycle install IU on it. to them that will solve the problems just like CTE. (CTE still jam now)
check back the PICTURE LAH....there is a BIG BLUE sign on the right say NO riding on the bridge...its the rider's fault.Originally posted by dragg:the issue is not about the device being there but the fact that there was no warning sign.
not to mention eslink suxzOriginally posted by pkchukiss:The LTA has been wrought with plenty of scandals recently, which calls into question the capability of certain people.
Scrapped bus arrival estimation system
Deaths on the construction of the NEL (I know there were 2 reported in the newspapers.)
Labelling of NEL in direct competition with EWL and awarding it to SBSTransit
Rationalising of bus services
Rising bus fares with no improvements to service (I don't believe standards have improved when people still crowd each other out on MRT trains during peak hours)
Employment of security personnel without arms for personal protection
Implementation of costly and buggy automation for NEL when the SMRT system was better (LTA thought it was hip to be the first to have automated trains)
Yes! I agreed people should be responsible for their actions. What if those people whom are low or not even educated. Or out of urgent matter, inevitably it may happen to someone who have out of thought in the midst of their actions; and this inconsiderate deterent by LTA that cost someone's live and at the expense of their family members? These are pros and cons in life!!!Originally posted by Bloop...:It's only dangerous if these cyclist insists on cycling on the bridge/ramp. If you feel it's "poorly installed", then how would you install it? Any lower and a bicycle can't be pushed under. Any higher and these bull-headed, irresponsible idiots will just cycle under. Any further out and they'll cycle around it. Any softer and within a week someone would have broken it so they can keep cycling there.
So what? Status quo? We are to rely on the signs that have already been there for the last 4 years at least telling them not to ride on the bridge? That obviously did not work.
My point is that people should learn to take responsibility for their own actions. If they choose to do things they are not supposed to and get hurt in the process, do not go pointing fingers in all other directions.
It is tragic that that man got hurt, but he would be home with his family now had he pushed his bike like he was supposed to.
Think back on how many times you've read in the papers of people gettng hurt by cyclist on pavements, etc; Places they aren't supposed to be cycling. Even all that still failed to appeal to these cyclists who will bend the rules to suit themselves.
When my shoulder got dislocated by a damn cyclist on that bridge, do you think he stopped? Do you think he offered to pay for my medical bills? No, he just picked himself up, barely mumbled a sorry and left. What if I was an older person?
So no, it is time to take enforcement of that "no cycling on the bridge" rule one step higher than just signs on BOTH sides of the bridge, which these idiots ignored for the last 4 years.
NEL??? CCL lah...Originally posted by pkchukiss:The LTA has been wrought with plenty of scandals recently, which calls into question the capability of certain people.
Scrapped bus arrival estimation system
Deaths on the construction of the NEL (I know there were 2 reported in the newspapers.)
Labelling of NEL in direct competition with EWL and awarding it to SBSTransit
Rationalising of bus services
Rising bus fares with no improvements to service (I don't believe standards have improved when people still crowd each other out on MRT trains during peak hours)
Employment of security personnel without arms for personal protection
Implementation of costly and buggy automation for NEL when the SMRT system was better (LTA thought it was hip to be the first to have automated trains)
knn see you post like tat make me wonder whose clone you areOriginally posted by Lowclassman:Yes! I agreed people should be responsible for their actions. What if those people whom are low or not even educated. Or out of urgent matter, inevitably it may happen to someone who have out of thought in the midst of their actions; and this inconsiderate deterent by LTA that cost someone's live and at the expense of their family members? These are pros and cons in life!!!
But again, being as an Authority, it would ought to be considerate, that simple..
Originally posted by Joshua1975:There are thousands of bikes in singapore, how to install IU on them?
LTA ~ ai zai mai chap (want to know but dun care) even it a problem known, they dun care how it was to be rectify or was it rectify at all.
things happen, start pointing because they know who did wat but not themself.
it happen all in 1st MRT stage 1 start, NEL, CCL, all road works.
out of point... SG really no talent? for 10 over year LTA been doing MRT projects and today LTA still paid peanuts to FT?
all the amg mo are paid 22k and above with housing? some indian FT are paid that much as well and a few are getting more than that. one of them who had just resign recently are getting about 35k to 40k. but again they are not to made known to the public.
b4 NEL start, SBS or now SMART say they are losing $$$ but now? hazi...
[b]back to topic, LTA may want to build ERP on overhead bridges and make bicycle install IU on it. to them that will solve the problems just like CTE. (CTE still jam now)[/b]
so sorlee... there are oni 10 cars in SG roads...Originally posted by seow:There are thousands of bikes in singapore, how to install IU on them?
Originally posted by Pyoro:are they removing the thing?

you add hump some one will lose balance due to the hump and fall off the bridge then they whole thing repeat itself againOriginally posted by Gun:
Hope they do remove that barrier asap. Adding a couple of humps along the ramp is suffice.
WHY ON EARTH did the authorities allow such poorly designed "safety" device in public places? It simply makes no sense !
I say remove hv it removed quickly since it already caused serious injury.
another LTA peanuts projects... where is MOM... safety infringement leh...Originally posted by crazy monkey:
You don't need to be educated to be socially responsible. You don't go around killing people just because you are not educated and don't know the law, would you?Originally posted by Lowclassman:Yes! I agreed people should be responsible for their actions. What if those people whom are low or not even educated. Or out of urgent matter, inevitably it may happen to someone who have out of thought in the midst of their actions; and this inconsiderate deterent by LTA that cost someone's live and at the expense of their family members? These are pros and cons in life!!!
But again, being as an Authority, it would ought to be considerate, that simple..
You are living in a cave and it's better off for everybody if you learn to pass some intelligent comments before you leap like a lizard to defend SBS.Originally posted by sbst275:NEL??? CCL lah...
Rationalise of bus rts? SMRT came, also like that...
SMRT trains are driverless also...
Originally posted by hisoka:you add hump some one will lose balance due to the hump and fall off the bridge then they whole thing repeat itself again
I guess I should be laughing at you... You dun know how SMRT trains are operated. The train officer is to control the dwelling time @ each stationOriginally posted by Profounder:You are living in a cave and it's better off for everybody if you learn to pass some intelligent comments before you leap like a lizard to defend SBS.
SMRT trains are DRIVERLESS?? Gosh, I must have been seeing ghosts...
And by the way, time for some English lesson for you again.
A "wet blanket" is used to describe someone who snuffs out the joy of an ocassion. An example: Everybody's enjoying the party now, why do you want to leave? DOn't be a wet blanket!
GET IT?
And well, here's an allegory: assume SBS has a fleet of 1000 buses. One day, the wheels of 2 of the buses come off while on the road and 50 passengers get injured. Are you telling me that it's not the engineer's fault because obviously with 1000 buses, there will be 4000 wheels to check and we can't expect them to check every wheel?
WHAT A BLOODY JOKE.
Yes. But LTA is at fault for installing a very stupidly designed barrier. Read my post.Originally posted by av98m:The cyclist himself was at fault for
1. cycling on the bridge
2. speeding on the bridge
3. not having a bicycle lamp installed so he can see in dark conditions