Yes, why did LTA not ensure that the workers were properly equipped to do the job? These are not areas that you should save on.Originally posted by Joshua1975:another LTA peanuts projects... where is MOM... safety infringement leh...
1. no safety helmet.
2. no eye protection for the workers.
3. the supervisor not in safety boots.
4. no proper warning sign on display that work in progress.
5. no fire prevention measure. hot work in progress but missing fire extinguisher.
6. the generator not earth proper.
7. ...
8. ...
9. ...
10. ...
ahem i said lose balane due to the hump not fly off a hump...... anyway one incident would be enough to warrant the attention that this case has since this case is also just one sincgle incident. and the bar can be painted yellow and white as easily, in fact i would say a chest lvl yellow and white object is more visible than on on the goround.Originally posted by Gun:
Flying off a hump ? u must hv been watching to much motorcross lately.
The barrier has a 50% chance of running into. Not taking into the fact this is chest-level steel-piping which is erected like a fence in the path of a overhead bridge.
Humps are usually painted in yellow-white strips. Clearly visible for all even in poorly lid conditions and do not incure bodily harm easily.
Actually.. That device...Originally posted by Joshua1975:it always someone fault and not oneself...
1. the one fell pointing at LTA say why with toopid device...
2. LTA pointing at man who fell say he should not have...
3. many more taking side say who at fault...
4. many other like me sitting down watching monkey show.
noted...Originally posted by sbst275:I am more mad with LTA for the screwed up job @ that Bt Timah flyover... Instead of relieving congestion, it made it worsen
1. almost all are jobless now as not so many project on goingOriginally posted by lwflee:Yes, why did LTA not ensure that the workers were properly equipped to do the job? These are not areas that you should save on.
Any experts on Health and Safety regulations here?
your arguement is irrelevant by stating ''You don't need to be educated to be socially responsible. You don't go around killing people just because you are not educated and don't know the law, would you? '' Would you agree.....Even an animal would not kill its own kind for no reason, right?Originally posted by Agressor:You don't need to be educated to be socially responsible. You don't go around killing people just because you are not educated and don't know the law, would you?
There are similar signs at my place and guess what did I observe. Only the Bangladesh workers and the China workers obey to the signs to push their bicycles along the walkway. Singaporeans simply ignored and still have the cheek of ringing the bell at the pedestrians. I personally had ticked off a few of them in several instances.
These are typical Singaporeans' reaction in blaming others first before self.
Try thinking it the other way, if there is no barrier installed, and a cyclist hit a pedestrian on the bridge such that the pedestrian is paralysed, in this case, LTA will once again be blamed for not taking safety measures.
If only everyone do their part, life will be more wonderful.
The reason why this tragedy happens :
1. Cyclist cycling on the bridge when they are supposed to push.
2. All bicycles cycling on pedestrian walkways should switch on headlights for the safety of cyclist and pedestrian. This was not done in this case.
If only the cyclist had done his part, this tragedy would not happen.
KNBu what talking you?Originally posted by crazy monkey:knn see you post like tat make me wonder whose clone you are![]()
Originally posted by Lowclassman:
your arguement is irrelevant by stating ''You don't need to be educated to be socially responsible. You don't go around killing people just because you are not educated and don't know the law, would you? '' [b]Would you agree.....Even an animal would not kill its own kind for no reason, right?
You are right. Animals don't bump head on to a obstacle too.
Why can't LTa doing something that is more constructive rather than the barrier that may cause someone's life!!!
Can you smart guys suggest what is the best to safeguard both pedestrian and cyclist on the bridge?
What the hell are talking about? If everyone do their part; there's no need police force, no need enforcement of laws.
So you are suggesting that everyone adhere to SAF's 7th core value :" DO ANYTHING BUT DON"T GET CAUGHT."?
Why there isn't sufficient lighting and where terroristism is the hot topic now.
Because people like you are more dangerous than the terrorist.
If it is not LTA's fault and why LTA is taking the pricking Barrier out?? Can you tell me?
Please get your facts clear, LTA did not remove the barrier, it was the MP with a typical Singaporean LOW CLASS MAN mentality who ordered the town councel to remove the barrier.
NOW MY QUESTION FOR YOU : "NOW THAT THE BARRIER IS REMOVED, IF A PEDESTRIAN IS HIT AND PARALYSED BY A CYCLIST ON THE BRIDGE, WOULD YOU NOT BLAME THE MP FOR REMOVING BARRIER????????"
I don't think so, bec ppl here (walkers, pedestrians, roller-bladers, dog walkers, cyclists included) don't keep to their designated lanes. Just check out the ECPark, Bishan Park, and even designated directional lanes for commuters at MRT stations.Originally posted by karn123:I still support the building of restrictions that can protect the safety of pedestrians from those few inconsiderate cyclists.
Perhaps we use this simple but effective idea from Hong Kong.
I'd seen an overhead bridge with 2 lanes separated by a railing. You'd guessed it. One for cyclist, one for pedestrians and the wheelchairbound. It works quite well from what I've seen. The bridge need only be a little wider from what I gather, the pedestrian lanes 2x bigger than the cyclists lane (since there're not as many cyclists in Singapore as compared to HK or China so they can afford to go single file if need be). Wheelchairs, shopping carts, prams can then also fit into the pedestrian lanes. Would this idea work in Singapore and make everyone happy?![]()
I dunno... I had thought of that too. I suppose that cyclists might be deterred from the pedestrian lane cus it moves 'slower' than the cyclist lane. I mean You're a cyclist, you come to the split into the lanes, you'd probably take the cyclist lane cause there would be people on the pedestrian lane and probably no cyclist on the cyclist lane, given the relatively low number of cyclists here anyway. Also maybe certain deterrances could be put in place like fines for cyclists who use the wrong lanes etc. etc. Of course I guess there'll always be blacker sheeps no matter what solutions we come up with ba.Originally posted by Wanda:I don't think so, bec ppl here (walkers, pedestrians, roller-bladers, dog walkers, cyclists included) don't keep to their designated lanes. Just check out the ECPark, Bishan Park, and even designated directional lanes for commuters at MRT stations.
it always someone at fault but not myself. the more talk, the most likely solution for LTA... ERP on overhead bridges... the FT will not just sit there do nothing when thing happen know. oni when nothing happen than they will just sit there.Originally posted by Joshua1975:LTA ~ ai zai mai chap (want to know but dun care) even it a problem known, they dun care how it was to be rectify or was it rectify at all.
things happen, start pointing because they know who did wat but not themself.
it happen all in 1st MRT stage 1 start, NEL, CCL, all road works.
out of point... SG really no talent? for 10 over year LTA been doing MRT projects and today LTA still paid peanuts to FT?
all the amg mo are paid 22k and above with housing? some indian FT are paid that much as well and a few are getting more than that. one of them who had just resign recently are getting about 35k to 40k. but again they are not to made known to the public.
b4 NEL start, SBS or now SMART say they are losing $$$ but now? hazi...
back to topic, LTA may want to build ERP on overhead bridges and make bicycle install IU on it. to them that will solve the problems just like CTE. (CTE still jam now)
Originally posted by hisoka:ehem, notice how my logic follow yours ?
ahem i said lose balane due to the hump not fly off a hump......
in fact adding humps might just be more dangerous as some pple wobble on humpps meaning increased "surface area" and thus chance of collision if a person is nearbyWobble ? Sounds more like a novice biker taking risk by riding over it. Ramming into a chest-level steel bar, however, is guranteeed A&E case that even skilled riders can encounter.
So that's what you think? Huh? The only reason why they removed it is that it is not safe to use it on a bridge w/o lightingOriginally posted by Profounder:"quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Lowclassman:
your arguement is irrelevant by stating ''You don't need to be educated to be socially responsible. You don't go around killing people just because you are not educated and don't know the law, would you? '' [b]Would you agree.....Even an animal would not kill its own kind for no reason, right?
You are right. Animals don't bump head on to a obstacle too.
Why can't LTa doing something that is more constructive rather than the barrier that may cause someone's life!!!
Can you smart guys suggest what is the best to safeguard both pedestrian and cyclist on the bridge?
What the hell are talking about? If everyone do their part; there's no need police force, no need enforcement of laws.
So you are suggesting that everyone adhere to SAF's 7th core value :" DO ANYTHING BUT DON"T GET CAUGHT."?
Why there isn't sufficient lighting and where terroristism is the hot topic now.
Because people like you are more dangerous than the terrorist.
If it is not LTA's fault and why LTA is taking the pricking Barrier out?? Can you tell me?
Please get your facts clear, LTA did not remove the barrier, it was the MP with a typical Singaporean LOW CLASS MAN mentality who ordered the town councel to remove the barrier.
NOW MY QUESTION FOR YOU : "NOW THAT THE BARRIER IS REMOVED, IF A PEDESTRIAN IS HIT AND PARALYSED BY A CYCLIST ON THE BRIDGE, WOULD YOU NOT BLAME THE MP FOR REMOVING BARRIER????????""
LTA has removed the barriers and acknowledged the stupidity of their design.
Do you read English at all?Originally posted by sbst275:So that's what you think? Huh? The only reason why they removed it is that it is not safe to use it on a bridge w/o lighting
Just shut up... You wanna boast your language very well, go ahead...Originally posted by Profounder:Do you read English at all?
They removed all the barriers.
"It" is a singular pronoun referring to a single subject.
Here's a link for you while I search for courses on how to increase a person's IQ:
http://www.britishcouncil.org/sg-english-primary.htm