i no money in cpfOriginally posted by crazy monkey:initial plan was 10 % cash 10 % cpf which HDB has been implementing quietly by adjusting the cash ( in your bank account ) by 2 % each year until they reach 10 %.
i dun understand why HDB is so "low-profile" in implementing this change because a lot homeowners are not aware of it.
the hardest hit are the downgraders who have difficulty coming up with the money.
5% seem to be a compromise now that GE is round the corner.
but considering an average 4-room flat cost $200 k it would be $10,000 if a family has financial difficulties they would have problems. why cant the downpayment be made out of cpf ? its our money also.
I don't think people earning peanuts every year can think in our shoes. Think NKF's golden taps.Originally posted by shinta:i no money in cpf
why can't they think in our shoes? ppl who earn enuff to clear their tuition loans n eat.. ppl who cannot afford to have savings
haiz..Originally posted by Cindyfeh:I don't think people earning peanuts every year can think in our shoes. Think NKF's golden taps.
erm u can always rent ;p nono me not rental agent ;pOriginally posted by shinta:haiz..
they wan singaporeans to have a place of their own.. how to?
my mother side... must share room lei..
ah nel side.. oso must share room lei..
i stay my place he stay his placeidea hor~ den when the birth rate goes down... not our fault
renting is not cheap a 4-room flat would cost around $800 -$1000 per monthOriginally posted by Peppermint:erm u can always rent ;p nono me not rental agent ;p
nt sure if u read before, but i'm VERY against renting..Originally posted by Peppermint:erm u can always rent ;p nono me not rental agent ;p
ya lor if you have you own flat you can pay the installments from cpf, renting means cash, after paying the rent where got money to eat ?Originally posted by shinta:nt sure if u read before, but i'm VERY against renting..
if at anytime the owner decides to cancel the contract, i'd hav to move again. i've moved enuff by age 21 to last me for a lifetime.... i can take just 2 more times of movin... after that i'm gg to go bonkers..
sorry i meant rent a room instead of whole flat...they can just close the door and scan for hidden cams if they want privacyOriginally posted by crazy monkey:renting is not cheap a 4-room flat would cost around $800 -$1000 per month
yeah.. that's what's happening at home. thankfully my mom managed to get a loan from hdb to get a resale flatOriginally posted by crazy monkey:ya lor if you have you own flat you can pay the installments from cpf, renting means cash, after paying the rent where got money to eat ?
utilities included would mean another 100Originally posted by crazy monkey:renting is not cheap a 4-room flat would cost around $800 -$1000 per month
not only that.. ppl every mth earn 1.2-1.5k... barely able to support ownself.. how to support a place lei? n babies too..Originally posted by leddy:making it easier to buy house does not help much when we are suffering a relatively high unemployment rate for such an educated country. Easier to buy houses now but ppl no work how to make monthly payment
i am sure a lot of people share you sentiments. but not everyone has the ability to migrate.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:I think gov is only offering lip service about low birthrates.
If you are the rich and famous, what will you care?
Money and power right?
Who cares about birthrates when I am getting more money.
I am sure by now, you know that work-life balance is only a lip service. You work dam long hours by the time you go home, its time to sleep and no strenght to have intercourse.
How to get more money?
By welcoming in FT and foreign investors who will invest in properties and drive property prices up. It is proven in history that the rich can become much richer by investing in property.
Everything is an illusion in Singapore. It is your choice whether you want to wake up and migrate or stay back and suffer in the illusion.
Plan for it. Migration is not an easy choice and it involves everyone you love and know. Sound out your parents, spouse, children, cousins, grandparents, friends.Originally posted by dragg:i am sure a lot of people share you sentiments. but not everyone has the ability to migrate.
Typical Harry Lee's style of answering.Originally posted by crazy monkey:when steve chia ask mabro tan whether there is a leakage of info because SGX has reacted before the announcement mabro tan say : " if got evidence let him know. " knn wat kind of attitude is tat.
you are married right?Originally posted by shinta:not only that.. ppl every mth earn 1.2-1.5k... barely able to support ownself.. how to support a place lei? n babies too..
damn.. i'm startin to get depressed

10k liaoz?Originally posted by dragg:you are married right?
there's no turning back.
congrats on your 10k posts.
Marbodo Tan style has been well know for arrogant and blood sucking leech too.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Typical Harry Lee's style of answering.
Heh...in our 10 years of marriage, my wife and I moved 7 times. Society is becoming more mobile, and times have changed. If necessary, and I got a job in another city or another country, we'll have to move again. My wife doesn't like it thoughOriginally posted by shinta:nt sure if u read before, but i'm VERY against renting..
if at anytime the owner decides to cancel the contract, i'd hav to move again. i've moved enuff by age 21 to last me for a lifetime.... i can take just 2 more times of movin... after that i'm gg to go bonkers..
Forget about iron rice bowls. Those days are over. What u need to do, as with your wife, is to work hard for a company that not only values you but also gives u a good feeling about it.Originally posted by StMichael:Heh...in our 10 years of marriage, my wife and I moved 7 times. Society is becoming more mobile, and times have changed. If necessary, and I got a job in another city or another country, we'll have to move again. My wife doesn't like it though. It'll be wonderful if the times of our parents, when we have permanent jobs in one place, remain.
What are the procedures to get all our CPF monies if we are granted a citizenship elsewhere?Originally posted by timothytsgsg:Forget about iron rice bowls. Those days are over. What u need to do, as with your wife, is to work hard for a company that not only values you but also gives u a good feeling about it.
If you work hard by taking up difficult but significant assignments and succeed in them, the company is more likely to retain you. If your company has job training schemes for their best employees, then you should also sign up for it- so as to better yourself and also give a good impression on your immediate boss that you are a person who doesn't stay there- but someone who always want to improve on his abilities and always wanting to learn.
if you can do that, you not only will get a higher chance of getting retained but also get promoted consistently. And moving abroad for work is certainly one opportunity you and ur wife shouldn't dimiss.
It will be difficult but your family can get out of Singapore and its oppressive feeling. At least your son will experience freedom and a better education as compared to here. You also can find much more happiness outside as compared to staying here.