I dont see how you can make money from investing in SG property if you have to take up to 90% loan and stretch it over 35 years.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Government is telling u - time to buy. Our property prices are way below their true value. I just returned from Hong Kong. A 350 sq ft apartment (50-year lease) without a carpark space is going for HK$2,400,000 or about S$520,000. In the prime district, the same sized apartment is going for HK$6,000,000 or about S$1.300,000. They have to pay separately for a carpark. I visited 2 apartments and find that the kitchen has only standing space, the room is the size of our storeroom, and you can touch both walls with your outstreched hands. So we are really cheap for living in a prime city - for the moment. Our limited land space will guarantee sky high property prices in the future. So young men, dont miss out and lament to your children when you are 55 years old.
Buy now, borrow from back at 5% interest rate p.a. Sell next year at 50% gain, ok maybe 45% gain after you minus your interest rate. I am sure the rich are thinking of that now. ok, maybe most people are thinking of that now. Me? I am thinking of my popcorns and setting up a counter at how many people are going to be bankrupt when the next economic crisis hit.Originally posted by Gazelle:I dont see how you can make money from investing in SG property if you have to take up to 90% loan and stretch it over 35 years.
Sound like you are more optimistic than my Kwek of CDL huh? 50% gain in one year...Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Buy now, borrow from back at 5% interest rate p.a. Sell next year at 50% gain, ok maybe 45% gain after you minus your interest rate. I am sure the rich are thinking of that now. ok, maybe most people are thinking of that now. Me? I am thinking of my popcorns and setting up a counter at how many people are going to be bankrupt when the next economic crisis hit.
haha, i exaggerate but some might be thinking of that. It did happened in some parts of China.Originally posted by Gazelle:Sound like you are more optimistic than my Kwek of CDL huh? 50% gain in one year...![]()
china n singapore very different leiOriginally posted by Cindyfeh:haha, i exaggerate but some might be thinking of that. It did happened in some parts of China.
Do you think what you are suggesting is a good solution? Maybe for property agent, but for first time home buyer or young couples, they will suffer.Originally posted by TwilightZone:If the Gahmen's intention is to clear stock, it can easily let ALL Singaporeans of all income groups, of all marital status, and of all property ownership status to buy a NEW HDB Flat
Its good to be optimistic, but got to be realistic also.Originally posted by TwilightZone:If the Gahmen's intention is to clear stock, it can easily let ALL Singaporeans of all income groups, of all marital status, and of all property ownership status to buy a NEW HDB Flat. This is because the socialistic conerns of earlier years are no longer valid today. The existing stock will be cleared within days. So I dont think this is its intention. There is no trap at all. Dont trap yourselves in your pessimism and negativism. Ladies and Gentlement, prices will never be the same again in future, especially now that the HDB is bringing in private developers into the game. History will repeat itself again. Wake up from your slumber and sccale new heights.
Leddy you are right, bank and property stocks have already gone up, many institute investors should be popping champaign now. But dont forget, if there is a winner, there must be a loser. What I see here is that the property giant, banks and goverment will be the winner, while those dumb arse who rush into buying private property with 90%, 35 years loan will end up being the loser.Originally posted by leddy:think about it, they also not forcing u to buy what. they only relax the rules, which could be detrimental if u earn little but go and loan alot to buy.
by relaxing, they allow ppl who earn enough to borrow more so their excess cash can be put into other use. if the real estate value go up, it actually boost many sectors in the economy, think... when u buy house, u need to buy furnitures, curtains, tv, lightings, paint. and when ppl sell at profit, they become more cash rich, they can spend more many like retails, cars, food, holidays. a boost in the real estate sector helps to boost other sectors indirectly or directly. property stocks go up, bank stocks go up, insurance stocks go up. more opportunities will be opened up, whether u r knowledgble to seize the chance is another thing. overall it may be good for the overall economy. think bout it, 50% of the world's wealth is in real estate. Economics is more of an art than a science, it's not like u can do everything to improve everything. u gotta give n take with what u have
having additional options is like having an extra weapon in the arsenal.. can use to your benefit or can dun use.Originally posted by leddy:think about it, they also not forcing u to buy what. they only relax the rules, which could be detrimental if u earn little but go and loan alot to buy.
ya but with Surbana Consultants Private Limited dun think any will...Originally posted by TwilightZone:If the Gahmen's intention is to clear stock, it can easily let ALL Singaporeans of all income groups, of all marital status, and of all property ownership status to buy a NEW HDB Flat. This is because the socialistic conerns of earlier years are no longer valid today. The existing stock will be cleared within days. So I dont think this is its intention. There is no trap at all. Dont trap yourselves in your pessimism and negativism. Ladies and Gentlement, prices will never be the same again in future, especially now that the HDB is bringing in private developers into the game. History will repeat itself again. Wake up from your slumber and sccale new heights.
Even for buying cars, I personally think that it is always good to avoid paying the minimum and avoid the cash back installment plan. It is ok to have your car towed away, but for house, I think we have to be extremely careful and mindful before signing the dotted line.Originally posted by k4korny:having additional options is like having an extra weapon in the arsenal.. can use to your benefit or can dun use.
But what is worrying now is after getting the loan, if along the way, there's a recession.. then those who takes up 90% loan at high interest rates will be hardest hit. Anyway, I still think prudence is best. Unless you are really sure that you know what you are doing, it's best to save til you can put down at least 20% downpayment.. at least your debt burden won't be so much.
Maybe they should come out with some counter measure to prevent people from borrowing beyond their means.
The last line is very true. But we need to expand a bit on that. You need to put in the location too.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All,
If Mr LKY and his team were to be so pessimistic in 1965 we would have remained a slum city and continue to shit in bucket toilets.
Young men, do you think your children with stick it out with you if you keep diving for covers and be so pessimistic about the future? Negativism begets negativism. It spells big trouble for your family and the future of our nation.
So please think positive and have the confidence in your future.
Others can have no confidence in you, but if you have not confidence in yourselves, your life is finished.
No so long ago, I believe you will remember that Government was complaining about singaporeans not having enough money for retirement, negative equity, asset rich, cash poor, and bla bla bla. As a result, they have adjusted the CPF policy to ensure that we all will have enough money for retirement.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All,
If Mr LKY and his team were to be so pessimistic in 1965 we would have remained a slum city and continue to shit in bucket toilets.
Young men, do you think your children with stick it out with you if you keep diving for covers and be so pessimistic about the future? Negativism begets negativism. It spells big trouble for your family and the future of our nation.
So please think positive and have the confidence in your future.
Others can have no confidence in you, but if you have not confidence in yourselves, your life is finished.