TwilightZone, appreciate your comment.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All,
How do you spur your children to excel and scale greater heights? Whilst you will tell them to be prudent and save for the rainy day, you will also in the same breadth encourage them to aim for the sky and take on the challenges of life.
For the young, buying a property should be viewed as one of the most exiting challenges in life. This is especially so in a city state like land-scarce Singapore where owning a property is viewed as a prize. Winning this prize should give them a sense of achievement and satisfaction, having to go through the trials and tribulations, the pain and agony, the tears and joy, and the fun and games to win it.
I notice that when the young people play computer games, they prefer the most challenging ones. They are so delighted when they win a Virtual Prize. But they are afraid to face the real challenging game of Life in Singapore. They want out. Too competitive, they say. No confidence to win the Real Prize. They dive for cover because the game is too challenging for them. They indulge in negativism and pessimism to hide their fear for hardship and pain, pointing to greener pastures elsewhere.
Yes, there seems to be contradictions for example when you express the fear to your child that he might drown if he is allowed to swim but at the same time you send him to swimming lessons with the intention of allowing him to swim eventually. So there is no contradictions in the government's policies.
I appeal to the young people to face up to the challenges and put their chests forward. The greener pastures which you dream of may not be that green when you arrive there. There is nothing like home where you are brought up and where you are with your own people.
Originally posted by TwilightZone:"Aim for the sky and take on the challenges of life" is quite different from being "prudent and save for the rainy day".
Dear All,
How do you spur your children to excel and scale greater heights? Whilst you will tell them to be prudent and save for the rainy day, you will also in the same breadth encourage them to aim for the sky and take on the challenges of life.
:Buying a property is indeed one of the most exCiting challenges in Life, and it can also make one eXit this world too !
For the young, buying a property should be viewed as one of the most exiting challenges in life. This is especially so in a city state like land-scarce Singapore where owning a property is viewed as a prize. Winning this prize should give them a sense of achievement and satisfaction, having to go through the trials and tribulations, the pain and agony, the tears and joy, and the fun and games to win it.
:What is the "Real Prize" after 20 Years of Paying the Mortgage, only to sell the house so as to be able to survive in one's later years ?
I notice that when the young people play computer games, they prefer the most challenging ones. They are so delighted when they win a Virtual Prize. But they are afraid to face the real challenging game of Life in Singapore. They want out. Too competitive, they say. No confidence to win the Real Prize. They dive for cover because the game is too challenging for them. They indulge in negativism and pessimism to hide their fear for hardship and pain, pointing to greener pastures elsewhere.
:Surely, there is no contradictions in Government Policies to take away private land and compensate them "peanuts", and sell the completed HDB flats that empty the CPF account of Singaporeans ?
Yes, there seems to be contradictions for example when you express the fear to your child that he might drown if he is allowed to swim but at the same time you send him to swimming lessons with the intention of allowing him to swim eventually. So there is no contradictions in the government's policies.
:What happen to the Government exhortation for YOUNG Singaporeans to spread their wings and help Singapore to breathe a new life into a Second Wave to our Globalized Economy ?
I appeal to the young people to face up to the challenges and put their chests forward. The greener pastures which you dream of may not be that green when you arrive there. There is nothing like home where you are brought up and where you are with your own people.
I agree with you about encouraging youth to face up to real challenge. But I disagree that there is no contradiction in the government policy. This 90% loan and 5% cash down payment policy is basically targeting at those people from the average and low income family and these are the same group of people that run the highest risk of losing job if there is going to be another major recession.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All,
Everybody young or old got to face up to the challenges and put thier chest forward. I fully agree with what u say.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All,
u got take inflation into consideration?Originally posted by Cindyfeh:I got the below cost of living comparision of Singapore of the 70s and 05 from another discussion forum. http://app.feedback.gov.sg/asp/dis/dis0003.asp?pg=2&topicId=1941&CatId=801
Can the senior forumites here verify the accuracy of the data below?
Dear Kai, Wei Bin,
Let's compare "apple to apple" on the public subsidy:
1969: Toa Payoh subsidised 3-room HDB flat : S$7,800
2004: Sengkang "Build to order" 3-room flat: S$89,000
------That is, a price increase of 11 to 12 times.
70's Toa Payoh Lorong 8 126 sq.m. 5-room HDB flat: S$35,000
2004: Sengkang 110 sq.m. 5-room HDB flat: S$320,000 to S$350,000
------Again, a price increase of almost 10 times.
late 70's 1,700 sq. ft. HUDC flat at Marine Parade: S$85,000.
2004: Pinnacle @Duxton Plain: 110 sq.m. 4-room at S$389,000
2004: Sengkang 1,500 sq. ft. executive: S$389,000.
----- Price increase of 4 to 5 times for a smaller apartment.
1960's: A terrace at Sembawang costed S$35,000.
1992: Pasir Ris 1,500 sq. ft. 99-year private condominium: S$440,000
1992: Pasir Ris 1,500 sq. ft. executive flat: S$350,000
------ that is, a 10 times increase in property price from the 60's.
(Note that the price was so low due to Gulf War and collapse of the property market, and dwelling units were priced to sell at that time. A 1,700 sq. ft. Waterside Apartment was going at S$900,000!!!!)
COmapred to COst of Living at HDB Estates:
1970's: HDB open carpark was S$15 pm.
2004: HDB open carpark at S$75 pm???
That was after Dhanabalan's sppech in Parliament that HDB cannot afford to continue subsidising public amenities and conservancies services and should "price to the value of the actual land cost".
hence, the exponential increase in HDB carpark charges.
Toa Payoh Coffeeshop:
- 60's & early 70's: F&B drink: S$0.25.
= 2004: S$1.10......an increase of 4.4 times.
- a plate of hor fun or nasi padang: S$0.50
- 2004: S$3.50......an increase of 7 times.
Our Salary:
- 1971: Skilled Shipyard fitter - S$210 pm.
- 2004: Skilled foreigner worker - S$670 pm.
------- a salary increase of 3 to 4 times.
- 1971: Poly diploma holder - S$450.00
- 1971: Nantah graduate S$450 (police inspector)
- 2004: Poly diploma holder - S$1,200.00 to S$1,500.00
------- a salary increase of 2.67 to 3.3 times
- 1971: University of SIngapore graduate - S$900.00
- 2005: SMU graduate - S$2,200 to S$3,000????
------- a salary increase of 2.4 to 3.3 times.
Therefore, for an average SIngaporean families, with salary increase of average 2.4 to 3.3 times over a 30-year span,....and with "affordable" HDB flats ncreases by almose 10 times (3-room), how can you said we are better off as compared to those who benefitted the most in the early 80's?
When we talk about "affordable" public housing and subsidised level, on what basis and quantum level we are basing on?
The highly inflated land and housing pricing started in the early 80's?
Or the actual subsidised pricing level in the 60's and early 70's?
That is, basing on our salary increase, 3-room HDB flats should price at about S$23,400 to S$31,200 basing on the average 30-year span salary increase of 3 to 4 times, starting in 1971.
Then, I will bow my head to PM Lee Regime and said:
It is true. Public housing is heavily subsidised for the hoi polloi.
When launching this "Public Private Partnership", the private condo "price to sell" policies is cery telling to the future pricing level of this PPP Scheme.
That is, there is always a pricing differential of S$100,000 between "bigger" units built by HDB Corp and those by private developers.
It is based on the rationale you have to pay for "better private architect's design" to get away from the homogenuous "HDB look" and the perceived expectation that "private developers" meant "better quality" fitting-outs, furnishings and finishes.
By 2008, at the end of the 5-year moratorium at first refusal to "design and build" HDB housing estates, HDB Corp becomes a full-fledged "private developer".
Perish that thought as the differences between HDB Corp and "Private Developers" are best summed up by ol' Daisy at the conclusion of "Animal Farm":
- "Looking thru' the window with her old and blurred vision, she cannot distinguish the difference between pigs and men."
There is no need to consider inflation because flats themselves are the causation of inflation. The price difference between a flat in the 70s and 2000s is an indication of inflation of high cost items.Originally posted by shinta:u got take inflation into consideration?
i am out of job but still paying.Originally posted by Joshua1975:so... loaned from HDB... than 4get what it say.... interest add on or what FUCK let them add....
you have a 5 room... after sometime you dun pay, HDB ask you sell off and pay them but will let you have 1 or 3 room de lah.... same story again.... dun pay.... dun pay
PDP? PAY DUN PAY.........
how many of you in here dun pay/dun service your loaned anymore, reason like out of job....
Actually why not? With most of us either diploma or degree holders, our pay will be $700 to $900 at 1970s level. The 70's Toa Payoh Lorong 8 126 sq.m. 5-room HDB flat cost S$35,000. Say the household only save $350 for the mortgage payment. It will only take 100 months to pay it off. That equals to 8+ years!!!Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All.
Would you people be happier if property prices were all reduced to 1970's level, and your salaries reduced to $180 per month to commensurate with the reduction and the wives stay home to take care of the babes?
Would your parent's who now own the properties be happier?
I think what most people here are asking for is for government not to manipulate the property market and create the false impression that properties are becoming more affordable.Originally posted by TwilightZone:Dear All.
Would you people be happier if property prices were all reduced to 1970's level, and your salaries reduced to $180 per month to commensurate with the reduction and the wives stay home to take care of the babes?
very true. out of the 4.5 million population here, only 2.5 million are true singaporean.Originally posted by timothytsgsg:My dear Twlight Zone,
And in case u didn't know, Singaporeans are already becoming 2nd class citizens. Chinese and Indian nationals are coming over and they are replacing Singaporeans in almost every single job. It's not that I'm against them from coming but I do understand that some of these 'talents' are actually not talented.
Originally posted by TwilightZone:In the 1970s, if the people's salary was $180 per month ( ? ) , the Minister's pay was $10,000 (with all perks thrown in) - everyone was happy.
Dear All.
personally i have no problem with how much our ministers are drawing as long as they are doing a good job for the people (especially for those low income families) and bring prosperity to our country.Originally posted by TwilightZone:So you people think that if you are the Ministers you will be able to bring down prices for the people of Singapore, do a better job and the existing ministers, and you will be more than willing to draw 2 or 3 times the salary of an average graduate and serve the country with all your hearts?
And how do you propose to do all these? Give us, the dimwits, your alternatives.
Originally posted by TwilightZone:What is the salary of an "average" graduate, and in which period of time are we referring to, 1975 or 2005 ?
So you people think that if you are the Ministers you will be able to bring down prices for the people of Singapore, do a better job and the existing ministers, and you will be more than willing to draw 2 or 3 times the salary of an average graduate and serve the country with all your hearts?
And how do you propose to do all these? Give us, the dimwits, your alternatives.